Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2

Abingdon Press A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2

Christopher Marshall is a weary and wounded ex-soldier who just wants some peace in his life. He met Hannah in the hospital and later corresponds with her. When he visits her and Matthew, he envies them their happiness. Then he meets Matthew's sister, Rebecca Bontrager, and there's a clash of cultures and values between the former career military man and the gentle, pacifist Amish woman. Yet,there is also a deep attraction between them, and they fall in love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
Review 1 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
This review is fromA Time to Heal - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
cdmeeker
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series was an amazing celebration of family, love and faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The second book in the Quilts of Lancaster series is definitely a winner! It keeps up with the first book in quality. The plot line of the story was one that I have never read before. An american ex-soldier falls in love with an Amish woman and joins that Amish order so they can marry. Over the years I've read countless Amish books about a Amish person leaving their faith to come to live in the outside world. In almost all of those cases it leads the reader to believe that the outside world is better than the Amish one. This is very annoying to me, so this book was a breath of fresh air. The hero Chris, is willing to give up his was of life as well as all modern conviencences to be with the woman he loves. In my book that true romance.
All the characters from the first book return so we get to see more of their lives.
Overall, worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
This review is fromA Time to Heal - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gneissteacher
Location:Norfolk, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! I couldn't put it down and was sad when it ended because I was totally immersed in the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sequel stays strong!

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The second book in this series maintains the integrity of Barbara Cameron's work. Another great story that melds the Amish life together with the outside world with a little quilting thrown in for those of us that love that craft. This was a great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Charlene Dalrymple
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I most always find stories about the Amish to be great reads. They are spiritually uplifting and this book is no exception. The characters are believeable and the story line follows through.
This story is a good example of "good example"! A heart that seems unable to love is led to do so by one who gives so willingly of herself. The characters can see good in one another and this makes for a happy ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
This review is fromA Time to Heal - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
clueless
Location:South Dakota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a great read, once I started it I could't put it down. Writing is awesome!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blend of modern day issues and the Amish lifestyle

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yet again, Barbara Cameron manages to blend modern day war conflicts with the peaceful Amish life in the second book in her Quilts of Lancaster County series. Having encountered Jenny, the heroine of A Time to Love, while recuperating in a veteran's hospital, Christopher heads to Lancaster County in search of the Amish countryside that Jenny described so vividly to him. Unsure of where life will take him next, Christopher is content to rest on Jenny and her husband Matthew's farm, far from the horrors of war and the harsh treatment he received for reporting a fellow soldier for mistreating a civilian. He finds a kindred spirit in Hannah, Matthew's sister, and the two build an unlikely friendship. But when a series of attacks on the farm make Christopher think he's still being punished for turning in his old comrade, he begins to regret bringing his troubles to Lancaster County, particularly when Hannah might get hurt. Will Christopher run from his past, or place his trust in God and believe that he has brought him to Lancaster County for a reason?
Barbara is a refreshing voice in the Amish genre and her second "bonnet" novel is just as strong as her first. Fans of the series will be pleased that Jenny and her new family feature heavily in this novel, and that Hannah gets a story of her own. As with A Time to Love, a wounded soldier falls for an Amish local on a visit to Lancaster County, and, as can be expected, this creates a lot of culture clashes. While I'm not always a fan of the conversion-to-the-Amish storylines, I do find it quite believable that someone who has witnessed the horrors of the war zone first hand would turn to a rural, old-fashioned, pacifist society for solace and fall head over heels in love with it. When Chris arrives on Jenny’s doorstep, desperate to talk to her about his worries, it’s clear that he sees her as a the key to his problems – but instead, he finds freedom in the beauty of God’s nature while working on the farm. Barbara has clearly done her research into military court cases and PTS, making Chris a very realistic character with whom readers will instantly connect and sympathise.
The relationship between Chris and Hannah was fun to read, and it was sweet to witness their friendship slowly developing into something more. Both of them tried to fight any feelings of attraction, and it was particularly amusing to see Jenny and her grandmother, Phoebe, pushing both of them forwards in their relationship. While some Amish novels portray the Plain people as being hostile to outsiders, Barbara’s characters were entirely welcoming to Chris, even entertaining the idea of an outsider developing a relationship with Hannah. Hannah is not your typical “Amish miss”, as Chris remarks on several occasions, but her desire for a husband and family is one that all readers of romantic fiction will be able to understand.
However, I have to admit that something didn’t sit right with Chris’s decision to stay in the Lancaster County. While I felt it was convincing when Jenny made the same decision in A Time to Love, the fact that she had visited her Amish grandmother every summer as a child made her conversion to the faith so much more understandable. I felt that Chris was drawn in by nothing more than the allure of escaping the modern world and, of course, Hannah. While I can’t condemn him for appreciating how freeing the Amish lifestyle appears to outsiders – I’m sure all readers of this genre are equally guilty – I felt that there was no sign of Chris having made a spiritual connection with the Amish way of life. It seemed almost as if Chris was considering converting only so he could be with Hannah, and I find it hard to imagine that he would be making the same decision if a girl wasn’t in the picture. I have a feeling that this is something that more critical readers of Amish fiction might take issue with. If you can suspend disbelief and get wrapped up in the romance of this novel, this issue is very minor, but it is a point that remained in my head days after I’d finished the novel.
If you’re a romance fan who wants a subtle change to your Amish fiction, A Time to Heal is the book for you. Blending modern day issues into the lives of the Amish, Barbara Cameron brings context to her fiction, and a contrast between the Plain folk and the war zones of the Middle East that will make the lives of her Lancaster County residents even more appealing. While I wasn’t entirely convinced by Chris’s final decision, it didn’t spoil my reading experience and I was still thoroughly pleased with the conclusion to Hannah and Chris’s romance. 9/10
Review title provided courtesy of Abingdon Press.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Read from Start to Finish!

Date:June 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Time to Heal is book two in the "Quilts of Lancaster County series". One of the main characters of the book is Chris Matlock an ex-soldier. Even though this book is written around his story the book updates us on the life of Matthew, Jenny, Hannah. Phoebe, Mary, Joshua, and Annie.
Chris met Jenny at a VA Hospital while he was recouperating from his war wounds and Jenny was under going further testing for her war wounds as a reporter. He came to Paradise to speak to Jenny about how she coped with her pain and memories during her recovery period.
Chris is drawn toward Jenny's sister-in-law Hannah but refuses to give in to the feelings he is having toward her. Hannah is drawn toward Chris but after all he is an Englischer and a rude one at that!
I just loved this book and I could not put it down. I read it in 1 1/2 days. Barbara leaves you wanting more and I can't wait until "A Time For Peace" is released.
Barbara also puts in several yummy recipes in the back of this book. I hope to try some of them soon.
Rush out and pick up a copy of this book. I promise that you will not be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
bluebonnet
Location:Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barbara did another outstanding job on "A Time To Heal." The story hooked me from the first page and didnt let me go until the final page. I went back and read ""A Time to Love."" I was totally immersed in the story of the characters with their faith, forgivenesss, hope and love. Wow I can't wait for "A Time of Peace."" These are a must to buy and read. You will come back time and time again to read these books. What a nice gist to give someone. These books will become so alive when you read them that you fill apart of their life. Excellent job Barnara and cna't wait for book 3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: A Time To Heal - Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2 - Barbara Cameron- March 2011
When I was going through Netgalley and saw this book the other day , I thought that it looked like a good read and left it at that with not too much thought -just the fact that I was going to add it to my read and review pile . Then at work today , I saw a book come through called A Time to Love and it had a similar cover and as I was about to read this I clicked that the book I have put aside on my desk to read when I get a chance is actually Book #1 in this particular series. It's funny how things work out. So this is to be one series which I will read back to front , though gathering from after finishing this book , I have a fair idea what book #1 could be about.
In Book#2 A Time to Heal , we meet outsider and war veteran Chris Matlock , he was injured in Afghanistan when he met Jenny - a reporter in the local hospital there , they became good friends. Now home from Aghanistan, Chris is searching for something to fill the gap in his heart and mend the heartbreak and nightmares from being in the Army. He decides to drop in and visit Jenny who is now married to an Amisher Matthew. Chris accepts Matthew's offer to stay on his farm and help work , from the start we can tell that this is to be Chris and Matthew's sister Hannah's tale of love , as many of these books follow the same formula. From the start we see than Chris brings out a side in Hannah that is rare for her and we start to see the old wives tale of opposites attracting becoming a reality. However can Hannah accept an Englischer to be her one true lover and is Chris ready to open his heart up to love and share his deepest desires though it scares him to share anything about his life ?
Is Lancaster County , the Amish Paradise that Chris has been needing to Heal his wounds and is Hannah is band-aid ?
Find out in this amazing book , that is easy-to-read and keeps the readers entertained. It is one of the best Amish set books I have read in a long time. Barbara Cameron's writing is more along the lines of Shelley Shepard Gray and Janette Oke rather than Beverley Lewis and Suzanne Woods Fisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great, quick read!

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me just parts of a couple of days to read A Time to Heal by Barbara Cameron, book two in her Quilts of Lancaster County series, and that was time very enjoyably spent. Barbara has a way of sharing lots of interesting information about the Amish way as she brings her characters to life and weaves them together into a great story.
It was fun to revisit Jenny, Matthew, Phoebe, Hannah, and the kinner in Paradise. Chris, an Englisch acquaintance of Jenny's, comes looking for peace while dealing with physical and emotional injuries of war. He finds the peace he's longing for, and much more, as he is attracted to the outspoken and determined Hannah. But he and the Bontrager family face questions, unrest, and tragedies when his past follows him and brings harm to those he has grown to love.
I would recommend that you curl up under a cozy quilt and enjoy this story of love, hope and forgiveness from a great author. I'm looking forward to coming back for a visit with old friends when A Time for Peace comes out in the fall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very captivating

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Missey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I loved the story line. It kept me interested. I felt the emotions that the characters felt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Amish Fiction

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Time to Heal is the second book in the Quilts of Lancaster series, and it is just as wonderful as the first book in the series. The story yanked me in from the first page and didn't let go until the final word. We get to follow more of Jenny & Matthew's life together, in addition to the primary focus on Matthew's sister Hannah, and Chris, the newcomer Englisher, who helps Matthew during a busy harvest-time. Chris is an ex-soldier, searching for peace, after doing the right thing costs him more then he counted on losing. Like it's predecessor, A Time to Heal hits on hard themes, such as doing the right thing even when it hurts, forgiveness, and trying to understand God's Will. This is Amish fiction with an edge.
A Time to Heal is a value-added book, with authentic Amish recipes, a glossary, discussion questions, an interview with the author, and snippets from A Time to Love (Quilts of Lancaster County book 1) and A Time for Peace (Quilts of Lancaster County book 3). Amish fiction lovers will love this story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharise
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A time to heal tells a story of man whose past has caused him to go visit a friend who lives in a world much different than his. This story will captivate your attention. In a way it leaves a reader feeling on the edge of their seat. Waiting and wondering what would happen next. This story captures the heart of fear, healing and love. It shows a series of events that make you wonder, what’s going on, will everything be okay? Upon realizing that it is all his fault Chris decides to leave his new found friends, and the place he’d love to call home to save them. However, the rather out spoken Hannah has no desire to see him go and is determined to stop him. Follow this adventure and see for yourself how Hannah and Chris work through their differences to see the good in each other. See how they together stop the man who’s trying to sabotage Chris as well as those around him. I was given the opportunity to read this book through Net-Galley. I am not required to write a positive review although I do so willingly. Happy reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Time to Heal, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely a must read

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sue Laitinen
Location:North Huntingdon, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We each have our own way of expressing ourselves.I just think that life gives us things, situations- people- to make us see how much we have to learn...how much we need to remember to stay humble and realize we are just like children. We don't know everything."
This is just one of the many quotes in A Time to Heal, Barbara Cameron's newest installment in her Quilt's of Lancaster County Series, that really spoke to me. This was an excellent book that definitely left me wanting more. You see more of Jenny and Matthew (my favorite characters), read the wonderful story of Chris and Hannah, and learn lessons about love, acceptance, forgiveness, and doing what's right, even when your circumstances make it difficult. And for those who are Quilting fans, there's the added treat of learning the meaning behind a few quilting designs. The book drew me in in the first chapter and kept me entangled through the last page. It doesn't dissapoint. Definitely a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.