Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press A Time for Peace, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #3

Abingdon Press A Time for Peace, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #3

After Years of Hardship, Jenny's Life Appears Perfect. So Why Does Something Seem to Be Missing?
Jenny Bontrager finally feels loved and cherished by her husband, Matthew, and his children. Life seems golden with both her family and career as a writer. Then one day her grandmother, Phoebe, falls ill, and Jenny cares for her. As she reaches into Phoebe's closet for a robe, Jenny finds a letter from her father dated the summer when she was nearly eighteen. As she struggles to understand her father's words, Jenny's love for him, and her recently renewed faith and trust in God are thrown into question again. And without warning, her perfect life is thrown into question . . .
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Time for Peace, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #3
Review 1 for A Time for Peace, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #3
This review is fromA Time for Peace - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
cdmeeker
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an amazing series that celebrates family, love and faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Time for Peace, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the third book in the series, Quilts of Lancaster county. Out of the three this was not my favorite. While the first two books had elements of action and romance that held my attention, this book did not. I got bored about half way through the book because the only thing that was happening was that people were sick and had to be rushed to the hospital. Once is fine, it moves the story along, more than that is just repetitive. Based on the first two book, I expected a lot more. For those of you that like relationship books then you will really this book, but this was not the book for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Time for Peace, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Time for Peace - A Wonderful Story of Love!

Date:May 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenny Bontrager has settled nicely into married life with the exception that she longs for a baby of her own. She loves Matthew’s three children as her own; especially since their mother died of cancer several years back leaving them without a mother; but oh to have a child that was through the union of her and Matthew. Hannah, Jenny’s sister-in-law is expecting a child and that doesn’t make it any easier for Jenny. Jenny is trying her best to be happy and supportive of Hannah.
As the story line progresses Jenny’s grandmother has taken ill with pneumonia. Phoebe is so dear to Jenny. Several years earlier Phoebe encouraged Jenny to come stay with her so she could take care of her while Jenny healed from the wounds she had suffered while working as a news reporter overseas. While staying with Phoebe Jenny slowly healed from her injuries. What would Jenny do if she lost her precious grandmother? Will Phoebe survive her life threatening illness of pneumonia or is it God’s will to take her home?
While getting a sweater for her grandmother Jenny accidental caused a box in her grandmother’s closet to fall to the floor. The contents of the box spilled out and Jenny noticed a letter addressed to her grandmother that her father had written several years ago. Jenny knew it wouldn’t be right to read the letter but she couldn’t resist and so she read it. She felt betrayed by what her father had written to her grandmother. Will this information that Jenny stumbled upon change her relationship with her grandmother? Will it change her relationship with her husband Matthew if he was privy to what this letter was implying?
I found it hard to put this book down because I just had to know what would happen and how it would end. I laughed, I worried, I cried, and I hoped for the outcome that I wanted. Did the book end the way I wanted it to?
I found the characters in this book to be strong but yet vulnerable too. The Godly message comes through loud and clear. Have faith, have trust, have love, and you will find hope.
Thank you Barbara Cameron for a wonderful Amish fiction read. I loved your other books in this series, A Time to Love, A Time to Heal and now this one A Time for Peace. I can’t wait to begin your new series Stitches In Time, with book 1, Her Restless Heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Time for Peace, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #3
This review is fromA Time for Peace - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
beegirl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very well written. The storyline was so believeable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Time for Peace, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Time For Peace

Date:February 17, 2012
Jenny Botranger wasn't always Amish. She was raised by parents who were Englishers, although her father had left the Amish faith years before. Jenny was a news reporter. She was working overseas when she was injured by a car bomb. She returned to the US and went to her grandmother's house in Paradise, PA to recover. Her grandmother Phoebe was Amish. Phoebe lived next to widower Matthew and his 3 children. Jenny knew Matthew from visiting her grandmother when she was younger. She was in love with him then and never stopped being in love with him. Now he was her husband of three years.
Jenny enjoyed her life as an Amish woman, being a wife and a mother to Matthew's children, whom she felt were like her own. She was only unhappy with one thing, not being pregnant, year after year, She was wallowing in self pity until Phoebe became very sick. Jenny no longer had time to think about much but her caring for her grandmother. She realized she was no longer dwelling on being pregnant. Then she found a letter from her father to Phoebe. She suddenly felt betrayed by everyone she loved. Jenny's relationship with her husband and grandmother was strained and it appeared to be affecting her health, let alone her relationships.
This is a story of finding faith and forgiveness in God and family. By the end of the story Jenny began to truly understand what it meant to be Amish. She accepted that it is God's will if something happens or doesn't happen. She found peace with all that had happened to her. Jenny's emotional journey was interesting to read. I liked that story because it showed that we can have so much to be thankful for but we let one thing or another get in the way. We need to be thankful in all things.
This book is #3 in the Quilts of Lancaster County Series.
A Time to Love -Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1
A Time to Heal -Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2
I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Time for Peace, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #3
This review is fromA Time for Peace - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
judy
Location:Dyer, In
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love reading books about the Amish. Their ability to forgive is amazing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Time for Peace, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unique Amish Story

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Time of Peace
Barbara Cameron
This was a story that is third in a series. A unique concept in the fact that seldom do people convert to the Anabaptist faith. The author does a credible job of making it work with all the things a person in the modern world would fail at. Especially defending a loved one. While reading I found the story to be big on relationships. It seemed at times that the reality of Amish life was missing: preaching, church authority (hard to believe that outside converts would not be watched closely for help and continuing to assure the brethren that they were following the Ordung and those raised in the Anabaptist faith are know to have -cousins. I understand that these were not the focus of the story. I remember Barbara Cameron from my teenage years and the moving stories she wrote, I learned from the start that books can be very real with endings that are not simplistic. I found the overall story to be enjoyable and always a reminder that the only things important in life are faith and family. I am thankful to NetGalley for this opportunity to read and review this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Time for Peace, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patti
Location:Waymart, Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must read book. Once I started reading it I couldn't put it down until I finished it. Every page keeps you interested in the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Time for Peace, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Wasn't the Right Fit For Me

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
As someone who reads a lot of Amish fiction, I was eager to read a book by a fairly new Amish author, Barbara Cameron. Several reviewers have had wonderful things to say about her books, and I was curious to see if I would enjoy them for myself.
In my opinion, fans of Wanda Brunstetter and Shelley Shepard Gray would enjoy Barbara's stories and writing style because neither was really a fit for me with this book. Without going into a lot of detail lest I spoil the experience for someone else, there were several areas that seemed to need some improvement. For example, the first 60-70 pages were used to set up the story, and it could've been done in about 30-40 without the repetition that was present. Also, the faith aspect of the book was watered down and almost non-existant. I expected there to be at least one mention of them going to church, or a visit with the bishop about spiritual matters, but neither was a part of this book. Knowing that the Amish have a faith and belief system that is very important to them, it was a big surprise to see that it wasn't included.
Now, I've not read either of the previous books in this series, but that wasn't a problem. This book was great as a stand-alone, and I had no trouble following along with some of the other characters from those previous novels. Another bonus from this book was all the content in the back--a glossary (which is always helpful for those words you think you know, but don't), discussion questions (don't read them until the end because there are spoilers), and lots of yummy recipes (potato soup, here I come).
Even though it wasn't my favorite book, I do plan to read another of Barbara's novels in the future because I've always been a firm believer in giving an author a second chance. There's no telling sometimes when they'll surprise us next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Time for Peace, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Vist With Old Amish Friends

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book in the Quilts of Lancaster County Series, and I'm going to miss these sweet friends. Jenny is married to Matthew, and his children have become her own. Hannah and Chris are about to have a new baby and Jenny's longing for her own baby has become even stronger. She is so disappointed not to have had a child of her own yet.
When her Grandmother becomes ill she Jenny moves her in the dawdi haus to take care of her. While she is retrieving some of her Grandmother's things from Hannah's and Chris's. she finds an old letter where her Grandmother's has informed her father of Matthew. She later finds out that Matthew yielded to her Father's wishes and didn't pursue Jenny. Jenny feels betrayed by both her Grandmother and Matthew. She has to learn to forgive and accept all the blessings that God has granted her.
A real glimpse into a wonderful Amish family with everyday struggles. I wish there were more books in this series, but be sure not to miss this one!
I was provided with a copy of this book by the publisher Abingdon Press, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Time for Peace, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Time for Peace

Date:August 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The final book in the Quilts of Lancaster series is just as enthralling as the the other two. I've come to expect real-life themes and lessons from this series, and this time the author covers God's will and forgiveness. Jenny fights God's will when things don't tun out the way she thinks they should, and struggles to forgive people who she loves but she thinks have wronged her. I suggest reading the series in order to really understand everything that is going on in the final book.
A Time for Peace will be available the end of August from Amazon and Christianbook.
With thanks to the author for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.