Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cambridge University Press KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)

Cambridge University Press KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)

This Bible offers a wealth of reference material—a glossary, concordance, dictionary of names and phrases, fifteen color maps, and gazetteer. Bold-figure cross-references link passages of the text without cluttering the page.

In addition, a presentation page and family record, India paper, gilt edges, ribbon markers, and a real leather binding make this a very attractive Bible.

Features include

  • India paper
  • Cross-references
  • Concordance
  • 15 color maps
  • Presentation page
  • Family record pages
  • Black-letter text
  • Art-gilt page edges
  • Head and tail bands
  • Sewn binding
  • Two ribbon markers
  • 8.75 x 6.00" x 1.25"
  • 8-point type
Average Customer Rating:
4.792 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Review 1 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent Bible

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rosie32
Location:DeLand, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this Bible. It's a comfortable size for my hands, and very well made. I was pleasantly surprised at the wealth of information in this Bible. The Concordance and Bible Dictionary are quite complete, giving lots of information. The Glossary is helpful, too. Most of all, the type is very readable. The black is a dark black, and the red is really red, not washed out. That makes it comfortable to read for long periods. I use it every day. The only slight negative for me is that the French Morocco leather binding is a little stiff for my taste. However, that does not nullify my opinion that this is a lovely Bible which I would recommend to anyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a well made bible

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
christian59
Location:york, ME
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i cannot get over the excitement buying this bible, it is well crafted, and the print, even though i need glasses, i can read it clearly, it is compact enough to take anywhere, the French morocco leather has a great feel to it, and searching for one with a great price, i am glad i shop at Christian Book Distributors for their fantastic prices, plus; having a really great bible is a great way to enjoy God's word. CBD is always at the top of my list.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Location:Dallas,Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent, back ordered but kept on top.
Thank You
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A definative King James Bible.

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emrio3
Location:Corpus Christi, TX.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of this Bible is unsurpassed in many respects. The look & feel of this Bible lend to the sacredness of God's Word. I love how there are no distracting letters, numbers, or symbols within the text itself which provide for a rich & engaging reading experience of the true words of God. All Scripture references & notes are seperate and apart from the text but can be easily found within the center column. This Bible also includes a very interesting section not commonly found in most KJV .Bibles of today, i. e. The Translators to The Reader. This section gives you the translator's purpose, intent, diligence, & devotion in their efforts to bring a standard Bible which was "Appointed to be Read in Churches"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional , Very well done

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pawpaw
Location:cedartown, ga
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has a Great feel to it. Open it lays flat in my hand. I like the large dictionary and concordance, also the map guide resembles ones in a family bible. This bible is not only good to read but good to show. It carries Exceptionally well in my hand. Wish I had bought it years ago, I would have probably done bought one for others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The BEST Bible I Own...& I have had many!

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
A Bible Reader
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usually I write a review of a Bible within days of its arrival. This time I decided to wait a while to see how it wears. Well, for one who is familiar with the KJV, has a larger Bible that one studies from and marks up, and prefers a smaller Bible to take to meetings without sacrificing reference material and legible print size...the Cambridge Concord is your best option. I have the Wide margin of this Bible and an R.L.Allan Longprimer for my large print reference needs, but the Concord is always my first choice! It is the Bible I have chosen to study and memorize text from and the selection of sizes and clutter-free text makes it better than any other fine Bible publisher's offerings. You will always have subscripts in the text for the references in the RL Allan offerings. As I have developed my study techniques over the years, I find black text to be the best. I do wish this Bible came with the thumb-index option on the black letter edition, however I still love it. The print is darker and sharper than the older red letter edition of this Bible I also own. CBD is awesome and engraved my name perfectly...on goatskin nonetheless!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed with the Bible

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pentecostal Mom
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this Bible to replace the Bible that my Mother gave me for my birthday 28 years ago. It is so worn that I cannot carry it any longer. This Bible was the best choice when comparing features. My biggest complaint is that the Words of Christ in Acts and Revelation are not in red. There are a couple of other NT books that are hit and miss. It didn't appear to be a printing mistake because I bought another Cambridge Bible that wasn't thumb-indexed and it was exactly the same. I wish I had noticed this before buying the second Bible. My second complaint is that the print isn't as clear as I would've hoped. If you have tired eyes, you have to really focus to read the scriptures.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This bible is EXCELLENT!

Date:June 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
MikenLaura
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I cannot tell you how happy I am with this bible! I have the Cambridge Concord Wide Margin in goatskin and it is absolutely wonderful but it is BIG and I don't like to tote it around everywhere. I wanted a bible I could keep in my purse. All the bibles I have looked at that would fit in my purse were just not the right size, or the font was too small, and I couldn't find one I was satisfied with. I took a chance and ordered this one and I can tell you THIS is the bible I have been looking for! It fits right in my purse, yet it is easy to read. It is not as soft as the goatskin but the morocco leather is still very elegant and this bible is still gorgeous, like all Cambridge bibles are. It also has quite a few blank pages in front and back, which is something that is really important to me for note taking etc. I ordered the one with the thumb-index. This bible also has a bible dictionary AND concordance! Hard to believe all that is in such a portable, readable bible. The BEST thing about this bible, which is something I didn't expect, is that not only will I be able to tote in around in my purse so I can have a bible with me all the time, but it is sufficient to be the bible I use ALL the time so therefore I can become so familiar with it and do all my reading and studies in it and this is something I had really wanted. It makes it easier for witnessing to be in a bible you are very familiar with. The bible is beautiful and it has a concordance and a ribbon marker and as soon as I am finished writing this review, I am diving into it! SO, I have FINALLY found the perfect bible! Now if only I could find the perfect purse :)
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent craftsmanship

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
shedrock
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this beautiful bible about 3 days ago and I must say, I am rather impressed at the quality. I was also impressed at the small font size used, but to my surprise it was extremely readable and has no confusing letters or numbers between the text. The red used on the words of Christ are so sweet, you just have to see it for yourself.
The goatskin leather is so soft to the touch and the paper used is of the highest quality. The maps are by far the best I've see so far. They are rich in color and easy to understand.
The Translators to the Readers are rare in most bibles and this was refreshing to see in this bible.
I have one major complaint with this bible. For the price of this bible, they could have at least used some velvet book markers. It comes with two, but they are or very poor quality like any other cheap bible.
My overall opinion on this bible is excellent, but I also own an Allan Highland Goatskin - KJV. It was significantly cheaper than this bible but the velvet ribbons used on the Allan are so much better and much more durable.
The leather also feels softer than the Cambridge but one can see by simply opening the Cambridge bible that it is uses a better quality paper and press.
Buy this bible, you will not regret it and it will last you for a very, very long itme.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible.

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
DEH2109
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible has a very good quality for a good price! It is easy to carry when I travel because of it's perfect size. Highly recommended King James Version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the portable size and quality.

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Spartanburg, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all the binding on Concord bibles are second to none, and secondly the readable print quality and paper quality is outstanding. Third, the zipper works well protecting this precious Book as I travel.
I bought this small bible to read on long airplane flights and delays in airports as I travel. It has been a blessing and looking for years of use, unless perhaps today is the day we are all caught up in the clouds to meet our Wonderful Redeemer!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bible I've Ever Owned

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jackie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a ton of Bibles. Most of them are study Bibles. I found out that there were a lot of things that had been left out of my various modern translations and wanted a traditional KJV. I looked for months for a traditional, basic Bible. This Bible is wonderful! I got the gray imitation leather, which is perfect for me because it's my favorite color and I'm vegan. The price is amazing, especially considering the fact that I've been using it every day and will until I'm old.
It has every single feature I wanted and then some -- without any distracting bells and whistles to detract from God's Word. Not only is this a Cambridge, which has been time tested and always such high quality, but it's also red letter, gives you cross references so your studies don't come from men (i.e. half the page being taken up by various writers interpreting every single verse for you), but directly from God's Word, contains a great concordance, color maps and a Bible dictionary, which gives information on words, books of the Bible and a lot of other interesting things. It also contains the original letters from the KJV translators in the beginning, which is a nice historical touch. I feel like I'm holding something special, because I know people have been reading the same exact words for hundreds of years.
The size is perfect. It's maybe slightly taller than the length from my palm to the tip of my longest finger and about as wide as my hand with my fingers outstretched (a little less wide). So it's not tiny or hard to read (for me), but it's perfect for carrying around and slipping into my purse. I use it as a travel Bible and for daily reading. The sewn binding is really high quality and the Bible lays flat.
I've put all my other Bibles away and have only been using this for about the last year. I will continue to only use this Bible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Vintage Cambridge!

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Isaac Curtis Johnson
Location:Clinton, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cambridge is used to making high quality Bibles. They have been doing this for years and have it figured out. With that being said, the Cambridge Concord Bible in Goatskin leather stays true to form.
This Bible sports a package of having a lagre readible font, white and and bright paper, art-gilt page edges, portability and a down right wonderful edge lined goatskin leather cover.
There are a lot of hight quality KJV Bibles out there. This one has to be at or near the top of anyone's list.
Be Encouraged:-)
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing quality!

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Terrence
Location:Peoria, AZ
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is by far the nicest I have ever owned, it's well worth the price!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best KJV I've ever come across

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Timothy Husbands
Location:Pearl, MS
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had used a Concord KJV for years when it started to give up the ghost. Therefore, I simply had to get another Concord; no other bible would do. They're a bit on the pricey side now, but CBD had them for what I guess is the rock bottom price. I am extremely pleased with my new Concord KJV, and impressed with CBD's manner of doing business. They were no nonsense about things and got my bible to me very quickly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very happy with the bible

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
chloe girl
Location:San Diego CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice Bible, just what I was looking for. Great quality!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Baby
One thing to be aware of with Cambridge bibles is that1. They come away from the cover easily and2. The printing is not always stellarI own a Calfskin leather Cameo reference bible that is coming off of the backing. This started about 5 years ago and the bible is only 10 years old. It is the personal size like this one.I purchased another one in Burgundy and it was missing a whole book of the bible. Sometimes the printing is blurry on some pages. The covers themselves are quality, I just wish the rest of the bible was better made for the price.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phillip Nichols
I actually like this Bible very much and have ordered two (2) of them. Now that an index version is due out, I will add another to go in my car. A perfect coat Bible for when I am out and about and yet want more than just the New Testament. This is really good for Evangelism as you can bring the whole Bible in a size that does not intimidate. Or in case you need a small stealth Bible with big enough print to still read without a magnifier.Why dock 1 star? Because, every since I first ordered these, they were advertised as having Maps and yet neither came with them nor were they listed on the Cambridge box. I suspect that they are using the ad for the larger size, because neither of my compact versions contain them.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Norman Tipton
When I first felt it in my hand I knew that I would hold and read this magnificant Cambridge Bible for long hours with my Lord Jesus. Its lettering is so easy to read. It's soft like a baby's blanket, but ruggedly strong.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV Concord Reference Bible, Goatskin leather, black (black letter)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bruce Robinson
This is by far the best King James Bible on the market today. The quality in workmanship is supurb! I love it.The "Translators to the Readers" section is also unique. I didn't realize they had so much to say.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>