Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook

Tyndale House Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook

In this culture driven by material success, Tony Dungy reminds us what matters in the game of life. At the top of his NFL success, he demonstrates the value of making memories as well as money, seeing family as more important than fame, and building up a storehouse of eternal wealth that will never fade away.
Average Customer Rating:
4.905 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Review 1 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful and Inspiring Message

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Kooiman
Location:Arden Hills, MN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Things will go wrong at times. You can't always control your attitude, approach, and response. Your options are to complain or to look ahead and figure out how to make the situation better.” Just this quote alone is so informative and influential. Now imagine a whole book full of life-long advice like this. Well you’re lucky, because this book is exactly what you’re looking for and I promise you won’t be disappointed when you dig in.
This book is about Tony Dungys’ life as a former professional football player and eventually the head coach of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Super Bowl Champ with the Indianapolis Colts. It is an amazing story as he explains how life can be difficult to keep your eyes on God while walking through your life journey. Another quote Tony Dungy stated, “I need to treat everybody fairly, but fair doesn't always mean equal.” Not falling into the requirements of sports, and keeping a strong connection with his family while gaining respect from everyone in his life was very important to him as he explains throughout this book. On a less serious note, Dungy has many comical stories, for example, how he and his wife, Lauren, met and dated then eventually got married. So if you like a little humor, you will not be let down.
Quiet Strength is absolutely amazing in every single way. It is such an influential book to not only Christians, but also anyone in the world who would like to live a Christ-centered life. It is a book that can be enjoyed by the whole family, whether you are sport lovers or not. The moral of Dungy’s book is when you follow and trust God, you will be satisfied and not let down in the long run.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Even for non-football fans

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, I am not a football fan. I watch it only because I have two people in my life who do love football. The only time I even showed any interest in football was when I lived in the Tampa Bay area. I remember when Tony Dungy took over as their head coach, and I remember how impressed I was and how the team changed. I was horrified when he was fired, and then we he became the Colts coach, I was somewhat interested. I remember how my heart broke when I heard of his son's suicide. The constant for me with Tony Dungy was that he is a Christian, and he never yelled at the officials and the players like the other coaches did.
I was not looking forward to reading this book because I figured it would be filled with football stuff. I was pleasantly surprised as I read the story of Dungy's life, and on almost every page, his faith showed forth in a very simple manner. I was so inspired, and more than once he almost had me in tears. To have the faith that he demonstrated throughout the book! Goodness, he puts me to shame! He gave all glory to God for everything, and he learned to trust Him in all things.
Indeed, this is the best Christian book I have read in ages. I highly recommend this book to anyone who would like to deepen their walk with the Lord. It is autobiographical, but it is first and foremost a book of faith in God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

powerful book

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beth E
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already had a lot of respect for Tony Dungy, but this book brought it to a whole new level. He is a man who walks the walk. This book was very inspiring and fills you with belief and hope and makes you want to be a better person and truly "Let go, Let God" I have several people waiting in line for a turn to read the book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Satisfaction

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Smiley
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will help strengthen the inner self to please God and not man.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Umm...fantastic!!!

Date:December 5, 2012
Y’all he’s friends with Denzel Washington. What more do I need to say? The fact that Denzel (and his wife) wrote the forward to Tony Dungy’s Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life meant it was going to be awesome (and it was). But I mean seriously, they’re friends??? Two of my favorite celebrities…how do I get into that friendship circle??
Anyway.
This book’s definitely one I’m going to buy (along with all his other books). Dungy’s life is encouraging and inspiring on every level. He’s honest about his mistakes, his hard times, his joys and what it all comes down to – living a life for Christ. And when did I start getting teary-eyed? In the forward, page x.
Awesome.
His story is also such a great reminder of the power and influence we can have in people, like our youth today. I laughed a lot too, especially the way he told the story of how him and his wife, Lauren, met and dated. They truly are an amazing couple. Just when I thought they couldn’t impress me more, I turn to page 180 and learn about their adoptions. If this doesn’t provide further proof that we are meant to be friends (I have always had a heart for adoption), then I don’t know what does.
And if that wasn’t enough to make me cry, talking about his son Jamie (who took his own life a few years ago) was heartbreaking, yet profound. I cannot fathom their grief, but their response and unwavering faith through the circumstance impacted me greatly (and I know so many others).
Dungy’s life reminds me while the journey of life is full of twists, turns, valleys, hilltops and often not quite what we thought it would be, when we trust and follow the Lord, we’re exactly where we need to be.
Have I mentioned I want to be his friend?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for everyone - not just athletes!

Date:May 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Justin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was much greater than any of the expectations that I had for it. I thought that it would be all about sports and how Tony Dungy is such a champion but to my surprise, Quiet Strength revealed the honest, respectable, and biblical man that Tony Dungy is. I loved this book because when Tony is at the top of his game, he still gave all the glory to God. Tony was very vulnerable about the trials and struggles that he endured when he was in Tampa Bay, and even in those tough times he still managed to honor God. Also, when he's unsure about his future, he turns to God as his comforter and supporter. For example, when Tony Dungy was fired from the Tampa Bay, he used his platform to start a program called the 'All Pro Dads' which teaches fathers how to effectively raise their sons. Even if you aren't into sports, this is a great book for you! Tony talks about so much more than just sports, he talks about struggles, his faith, and how to be a quality father. I would recommend this book to anyone - especially those who are athletes or Christian who strive to learn how to trust God through thick and thin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Combo bio and leadership/character training

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jo Jenkins
Location:Ocala, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best book I have ever read on leadership and character. It is written in an easy-to-read narrative style, combining his biography with teaching about leadership and character. I am not a professional sports fan, but definitely a Tony Dungy fan. I read the book from my local library and then bought one for myself and a friend as a gift. I'm rereading now and learning new leadership skills. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gretch
Location:Selah, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well written, thought it might be another sports book but, I was surprised. I am enjoying very much. We are using it in our church small study group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
big j
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has life changing features it is excellent......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bernette Austin
I purchased this book for my teenage grandsons to read - as a rite of passage into manhood. It is interesting, well-written, and provides them with an example of what true manhood is all about - and from a Christian perspective. They are both enjoying the read, and I believe reading it contributed to one of my grandsons making a crucial decision in his life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie Meierhoff Martin
Inspiration and well-written. So refreshing to read the words of a man guided by God's Word, growing in HIm. Excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Virginia Winder
We bought this for our son who is a P.E. teacher and a coach. He was very pleased with this gift. Again a very nice book at a very good price. Praying it will encourage our son in his life as a teacher and a coach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Margie Halkowitz
I purchased Quiet Strength for a fellow worker who was retiring. I wasn't sure where he stands with the Lord. I prayed about what to get and was led to this story. I think this is an incredible book. He told me he is really enjoying it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wayne Turner
Ha, awesome I bought this book for my dad who's also 86 and hard to talk with about Jesus, being that he's caught up in the old catholic thing. He's into sports so I figure this is a good way of breaking down that barrier of resistance. Pray for him, and buy the book, it's so worth it, and give the glory to God, amen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laren Martin
Very engaging. The verbage was as though I was sitting across the table with Tony himself. He spoke as much or more about his struggles, team losses, as it built character in him. Clearly the very best sports-testimony ever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristina
I love this book! It's great to see the things that go on behind the TV broadcast. Those are the things that shape us as individuals and Tony has provided a wonderful testimony by talking about his experiences, struggles, and his faith & trust in God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Goff
Really powerful information with an easy to follow organization of ideas. Great for leadership! My son-in-law admires Tony Dungy and sees him as a great inspiration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ken Cummings
I thought this book was very well written. I appreciate Tony opening up about personal things with out invading family privacy. Tony and Nathan derserve a big thumbs up on this one. Nathan did an excellent job of capturing Tony's thoughts and emotions. I would recommend this book to anyone. I already let my nephew borrow my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kristiban
One word: Excellent! I love watching football on t.v., but I know that what you see on t.v. in a game is totally not all there is to it. There are the days of practicing, careful planning, and preparation, and none of those things is easy. Tony Dungy uses his faith in God to help him through trials off and on the field. His testimony is a great example to a lot of people, myself included. READ THIS BOOK!!! It is worth the time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices, and Priorities of a Winning Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vernon Wesley
What a wonderful testimony of solid confidence and strength in God! I sent this book to a few "fathers" in my family and they are loving it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.