Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Delivered with Love

Abingdon Press Delivered with Love

When 23-year-old Claire finds a 35-year-old love letter in the glove compartment of her inherited '72 Volkswagen bug, she decides to leave her life in L.A. and visit the town of Capitola, California. She just has to meet the man who sent that letter to her mom . . . whether he wants to be discovered or not! 352 pages, softcover from Abingdon.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Delivered with Love
Review 1 for Delivered with Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
AJH
Location:CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our book club read this book and it was a very easy, very quick read. Yes it was somewhat predictable, but I have to say even though I knew what would probably happen, I still wanted to read it and to me that says a lot. Very cute story, very touching moments for single, married, and widowed. Just cute all around with nice Christian backgrounds and stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Delivered with Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read in 2 days!

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Orla
Location:Ireland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good, funny read about a girl who travels to discover who wrote a love letter to her mum 30+ years ago only discover a whole lot more. Funny and well written and kept me entertained. Great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Delivered with Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Story line was too predictable

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
TechyLady
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not enjoy this book. Light fiction with an entirely predictable outcome for every character.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Delivered with Love
This review is fromDelivered with Love - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paulus
Location:South Africa, Gauteng
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good read and the author story line was good. I liked it how the characters was used in bringing people to Christ and reconcilliation of seperated family members. Also how someones hurt and loss was adres in the story for the process of healing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Delivered with Love
This review is fromDelivered with Love - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stacey
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book with fun twists and uplifting material. Finished it in 24 hours! Would love a sequel! This new author definitely has a gift!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Delivered with Love
This review is fromDelivered with Love - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Read.
I received this book for free from christianbooks.com. The story is about a young girl who losses her mother to cancer, losses her job and then gets kicked out of her home. Then she finds a love letter written to her mother so many years ago. With nothing left she begins the journey to find out who wrote her mother the love letter. While on her journey she runs into some very special people and each one of them helps her out. She not only discovers the writer of the letter, she also discovers who she is, and the new relationships that stumbles into. The story has many twist and turns and you will never believe what happens to her next. I really hope you enjoy the book as much as I did. God Bless
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Delivered with Love
This review is fromDelivered with Love - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice read to remind us God is in control

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
bsc1
Location:ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy read to remind us God has control in our lives if we allow Him. He only wants the best for us. The young woman in this book finds God's blessings when she didn't believe she was deserving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Delivered with Love
This review is fromDelivered with Love - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Inspiring and Engaging Novel

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sherry Kyle delivers a delightful read in her latest novel Delivered with Love. The pace of the plot is steady and consistent with an intriguing amount of mystery. Claire James is a likable character who is fighting to get her life on track after the death of her mother. On her journey from Los Angeles to Capitola, Claire is continuously awed by the kindness and love she receives from strangers. Piece by piece, Claire's life begins to mend, and secrets from the past are revealed. The past, present, and future weave together in unexpected and inspiring ways as Claire learns about love, faith, and forgiveness.
Delivered with Love also introduces the reader to several other core characters, each of whom are coping with issues of their own. Michael Thompson is stressed about his job, his daughter's upcoming marriage, and secrets from his past that may threaten his marriage. Claire's sister, Haley, struggles with a difficult marriage to an alcoholic. Meanwhile, one of Claire's new friends attempts to mend a 20 year rift with her own sister and overcome the pain of previous tragedies. Sherry Kyle combines each story into plot that is realistic and ultimately triumphant. A novel with various layers of emotional struggles has the potential to be heavy and sad, but Kyle creates an engaging novel that offers a satisfying amount of depth. Of course, there is also some romance, courtesy of Blake, Claire's neighbor, and some humor, courtesy of Geraldine, Claire's 80-something room-mate. Geraldine can always be counted on to lighten-up a tense moment, for both the characters and the reader.
The novel is told from the perspectives of both Claire and Michael. I felt a connection with both characters and empathized with their worries and burdens. The secondary characters are equally as developed and quite realistic. Kyle describes the town of Capitola in picturesque detail, helping readers to envision the setting of the novel. After reading Delivered with Love, I found Sherry Kyle's video tour of Capitola on her website. I almost felt like I had already visited some of the restaurants, beaches, and stores featured in the video; and seeing that they exist in real-life just delivers an extra helping of realism.
I highly recommend this novel, and I definitely plan to read more novels by Sherry Kyle.
I received a complimentary e-copy of this book from NetGalley, courtesy of Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Delivered with Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes me want to buy a VW bug and head for CA!

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
BookLoverKaren
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a gorgeous day here in the Pacific Northwest--the kind that makes me long for one of two things: a road trip or an afternoon sitting in the sun with a good novel. Today's book pick fulfills both of those dreams. Author Sherry Kyle has served up a delightful story with her debut novel, Delivered With Love. When you pick up this fun book, you will follow 23-year-old Claire James on a California road trip that will change her life forever. Already longing for a fresh start, when Claire finds an old love letter in the glove compartment of her late mother's 1972 Volkswagen, the idea of finding the mystery writer is simply too tantalizing to resist.
While Delivered With Love is Sherry Kyle's first novel, her tween-age non-fiction title, The Christian Girl's Guide to Style is one of my daughter's favorite books and the librarian at our Christian school recently mentioned that it has been such a highly requested book that she's ordering additional copies. With such amazing writing talent and versatility, I look forward to seeing more of Sherry Kyle's books on our shelves in years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Delivered with Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fresh and unique!

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
fulluvjoy
Location:Brighton, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loved the whole mystery thing of the letter. I had to find out why Claire was determined to find the person who wrote the letter she'd found in the glovebox of her deceased mother's '72 Volkswagen. As God so often does in our own lives, only He could orchestrate the ginormous chain of events that led Claire to the author of that letter. Finding that person, however, was more than Claire had bargained for. Once that can of worms had been opened, there was no turning back, and Claire's life would never be the same again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Delivered with Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delivered With Love

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Title: DELIVERED WITH LOVE
Author: Sherry Kyle
Publisher: Abingdon Press
April 2011
ISBN: 978-1-4267-0866-4
Genre: Inspirational/contemporary
A thirty-five-year-old love letter is about to change her life forever.
Claire James is ready for change. Her mother has died, she’s just been fired from her waitressing job, and her brother-in-law kicked her out because she could no longer pay for his drinking habit. When Claire inherits her mom’s 1972 Volkswagen Beatle, she finds a love letter addressed to her mom, and signed only by the initial M. It’s a long shot, but Claire feels driven to find this mysterious M that once loved her mom. So, she starts heading for the town, Capitola, California, where the return address is located.
The journey isn’t as easy as it sounds. She runs into the back of a camper when it stops unexpectedly on the road, but thankfully, the elderly couple is friendly, hooks her now not-running vehicle up to their trailer hitch and tows her to a campground. From there a host of other friendly and super accommodating characters get Claire to Capitola where she finds the address of the house the letter was sent from. And it’s for rent!
Great news, except, Claire doesn’t have a job, money, or prospects. And she is still no closer to finding who wrote the letter. Is there any hope of finding her mom’s old lover?
DELIVERED WITH LOVE is a heartwarming contemporary romance that will warm your heart. I fell in love with Claire, and with a host of other characters, all of whom will play a part in Claire’s stories. Even a casual acquaintance on the trip turns into a best friend, so they are all important.
I figured about halfway through how the story would end but I had to keep reading to see how it would get there. This is an awesome story by a wonderful debut writer. I can’t wait to read more by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Delivered with Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun Heartwarming Read

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review
Claire James is fired from her job after finding a mysterious letter in her mom’s car, written to her mom from an unknown lover many years ago. Claire’s mom lost her battle with cancer a year before, and Claire has been living with her sister and her drunk of a brother-in-law. Since she can no longer pay rent, the brother-in-law kicks her out of the house. This gives Claire a perfect opportunity to pursue finding the unknown author of the letter with the address of Capitola. Her journey takes her into the path of a Christian older couple living out their retirement in a RV traveling. A Christian family at a camping site with a daughter who ends up being a best friend. A truck driver and his wife who were Christians and a Christian police, and finally the mysterious writer of the letter. During that time, she finds a job, strangle taking care of Michael’s spunky mother that lived in the apartment building her mom lived it back home. Plus living with Michael’s mother in the house that just happens to be the address the letter came from. She becomes like a daughter to the truck driver and his wife, and falls for the police officer.
And she meets who she thinks is the letter writer, but he denies it. Whew! She sure has a lot going on!
Will Claire finally find out for sure who the letter writer was? Will she stay in Capitola, even though her sister wants her to move back home? Does she continue to get along with the trucker family Michael’s mom? And what about the Police officer Blake, will he charm his way into her life? I know I don’t like reading reviews that give away enough of the plot to give the good stuff away, so I won’t do that. I though this book was a very enjoyable light read. And as for it being to coincidental as I’ve read in several reviews, well God can and will direct our paths to the exact people we need in our lives at a pacific moment. Our God is a great God, He can do anything, and though it doesn’t seem natural to us for things happening like what happened to Claire, it does happen, and God can make it happen. I feel it shows God’s divine power, and shows just what He can do in the lives of people.
As for the characters, I loved the attitude of the camper couple, and families, the way they took Claire in to help her, even though they didn’t know her. Michael’s mom was spunky independent and adorable, and though Michael started out being kind of a jerk, he did finally come through and acted like a decent person. And then Blake, he was just a sweetheart, and was always there to help anyone, and especially Claire. And of course Michael’s mom adored him too! I recommend this book to anyone who just like a fun, light enjoyable read.
Thank you to Abingdon Press for the generous copy of this book. I was in no obligation to write a positive review. The opinion in this review are mine only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Delivered with Love
This review is fromDelivered with Love - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story Filled with Miracles

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Delivered with Love - Sherry Kyle - April 2011
When Claire's mother Emily dies after a battle of Cancer, Claire is left at a still as at twenty , she doesn't know what to do with herself. So when thinking in her inherited VW Bug from her mother, she finds an old love letter written thirty-five years ago when her mother was seventeen. After losing her job, Claire decides to go on a road trip to find out the owner of the letter but what she doesn't expect is that God will be looking out for her and that a truckload of miracles will occur. From crashing her VW then ending up staying the night at the tow-truck owner's house to finding a small rental which get ready for it - the address is the same one on the letter to her mother. Soon Claire will discover, that the world is actually smaller as people from her past start appearing and will Claire finally recieve what she has been seeking for the past twenty years - her father ?
Find out in Delivered with Love , the journey to discovering not only the owner of the letter but also a journey of self-discovery.
This is one of those books that if you truly believe in love and soulmates and destiny and all that follows as well as along the lines of Message in a Bottle , Youv'e got Mail and Jojo Moyes Book "The Last Letter from your Lover".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Delivered with Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous debut novel

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
WordyKaren
Location:Watsonville, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivered With Love--delivers--romance, suspense, conflict, humor and terrific true-to-life characters. Every one of them has something special that drew me in. And the setting, Capitola, California, is a lovely backdrop to this heart-warming story that will keep you turning the pages. A great start for debut novelist Sherry Kyle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Delivered with Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved it!

Date:February 20, 2011
In her debut novel, Sherry Kyle skillfully draws us into a young woman’s quest to unravel the secret behind a decades-old love letter. Claire treks up the California coast in her VW Beetle to search for her deceased mother’s lost love, and in the process finds fulfillment for the deep emptiness in her own soul. Delivered with Love is a beautiful story of forgiveness, healing, belonging, and what it really means to come home. I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Delivered with Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Very Enjoyable Book!

Date:February 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Claire found a letter addressed to her mom from "M" in her VW beetle that Claire inherited. Her life in LA had been uninteresting and unfulfilling while living with her sister Haley and her husband Mark and working as a waitress. She decided to go to Capiola to search for the mysterious "M". Along the way she meets some interesting people while discovering that kindness and trust can be found in the most unlikliest of places when Jesus is involved. A very enjoyable book! I felt like I was there witnessing the turn of events! I really loved Geraldine, an elderly character and found myself laughing at her views on life. She was very refreshing! A highly recommended book to sit and relax with, story flows easily and I was drawn into the book with the first chapter. Thanks to Abingdon Press for providing this ARC copy for me for my review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.