Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Downtown Green, Green Series #5

Abingdon Press Downtown Green, Green Series #5

When the short bypass around Green opens with much fanfare, downtown dries up faster than cement on the roadway. Businesses close and the hospital becomes a clinic. Mayor Eva must decide whether to sell her historic store or close it. The Holey Moley Antique Mall seems less like a dream and more like a nightmare. While the road is progress to some, it seems to be leading Green toward a national trend--a town that is merely a shadow of itself.

With the town going backwards, Lois is both intrigued and jealous when a fellow business owner come up with a strategy to save Green. But can his plan rescue the town from the path it's on?

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Downtown Green, Green Series #5
Review 1 for Downtown Green, Green Series #5
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just One Off Center

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Judy's narrative writing style is spot-on. Her character development leaves just enough holes to keep you intrigued. The dogs are a fresh twist from a traditional sounding board or side-kick. Each of the five books in this series are enjoyable. The 'political' issues were solid and needed to be addressed. My 'off-center' perspective came from Jean, a woman' pastor. Call me a stickler for biblical accuracy, but Jean kept Green from hitting a home-run. Why not have had Jean, as the pastor's wife being that incredible role model? Conforming to the world pushed Green to gray.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Downtown Green, Green Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another cute read.

Date:February 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This installment takes us though the year that the community sets out to save downtown, starting with Lois and Chris buying the local ice cream store and restoring it hoping it will draw people downtown again. We also get to solve a decades old mystery and see some old friends and foes.
The book was written well as were all the others, and the characters remained true.
The only thing I was very disappointed in was that this book picks up with Lois and Chris's child already born. I would have loved to go through Lois' pregnancy. That would have been so much fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Downtown Green, Green Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Green fights for its life

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy Stewart
Location:Houston TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The new highway bypass opens and downtown Green promptly starts to shrivel and die. What can be done to draw people back to downtown and save the businesses there? If they die, the town dies. One solution, reopen the drive-through dairy that has been closed for years, that holds nostalgic memories for everyone. But who will take it on? Lois and Craig, of course! With a lot of help from friends and business owners, the old Dairy Freez is slowly remodeled. But will that be enough? Have a lot of fun finding out as you enjoy this latest addition to the series. I can hardly wait for #6!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Downtown Green, Green Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great book in this series

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 5th book in the Green series by Judy Christie. Christie continues to keep my wanting to read more about my friends in Green, Louisiana. I want to move there myself and have one of the Bayou Freeze's tasty milkshakes. Let's hear it for smalltown USA!!
NOTE: Be sure to start with book 1 in this series or I'm afraid you'll miss some of the connections if you jump into Book 5.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Downtown Green, Green Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lois and Chris have a baby and look forward to raising their son in downtown Green, Louisiana. As the highway bypass. Draws business away from their beloved small town, the business owners downtown work together to bring life back there. I hope that this is not the last book about Green. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing Lois & Chris find out where God wanted them to be. I would love to read more about what happens to the younger reporters on the paper, as they finish college and search for God's place in their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Downtown Green, Green Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Small Town USA Struggles to Survive

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
PatWKirk
Location:Kansas
Gender:female
Lois Craig, owner of the Green News-Item newspaper, new mother, and proud citizen of Green, watches the downtown businesses wane without customers. Zach Price, her ex boss, wants to acquire the newspaper to merge with his large one. Major Wilson, newly released from prison, and Jerry Taylor fight to bring an industrial development to replace the main streets. Meanwhile, the scenic lake becomes not as scenic as the weed, giant salvinia, doubles, rapidly covering it.
Lois and concerned friends struggle to bring business to downtown. She and her husband, Chris, buy an ice-cream parlor to prevent Jerry Taylor from buying the land. The town gathers to fix the dilapidated building.
The large cast of characters becomes confusing. The book would benefit by a who’s who index to keep track. It doesn’t help that the dog has a people name. The reader may wonder whose child is that. A few of the background stories resolve themselves too easily. Vince should have tormented them longer.
Despite these flaws, the reader will enjoy the people and small-town ambiance of Green—the sense that the town belongs to all of them. The pace of the story moves well. Worth reading.
I received this book from NetGalley. This is an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Downtown Green, Green Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I wasn't sure about this book, but after a few chapters I kept wanting to see how it turned out. It is a great story of how friends and a community can come together to overcome obstacles when working together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Downtown Green, Green Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved the characters in this book!

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is actually number 5 in the series. I have not read the others and feel like if I did I might have enjoyed the story even more. I loved the town and the characters and will be sure to pick up the others in the series and read them as well.
This book centers on Lois the owner of the towns’ newspaper. Changes are coming to the town and she has to decide whether she wants to support these changes or walk away from it all. How the town people interact with each other and react to the different circumstances they all face is what makes the book a fun read. I read the book in one sitting because the story just got better and better with each page.
I gave this book 5/5 stars because of the great character development and fun plot!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Downtown Green, Green Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

delightful

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book as with all in the series, keeps the reader hoping. It is fast paced but thoroughly entertaining.
Downtown Green, book 5 in the Green Series, begins with the opening of the highway bypass. It's not long until the convenience of a quicker commute lures even Lois away from the local roads--as a new mom she needs every extra moment she can get.
When the highway claims it's first victim, someone who Lois has strong ties to, she is devastated. When businesses close and the hospital becomes a clinic, Lois knows that, barring a miracle, Green is soon going to dry up like so many small towns.
Lois is insulted when the Midwest newspaper she used to work for sends someone to buy her out, but with the way things are going is it time for her and Chris to move on? When someone comes up with a wild suggestion to save the town, Lois and Chris must decide if they are willing to put everything on the line for the sake of the town. Can the hope of the town really lie in an abandoned milkshake shoppe?
The Green Series by Judy Christie follows the story of Lois,owner of the Green newspaper, but is filled with plenty of other well developed characters who each have their own plot-lines.
I received this book from the publisher to review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.