Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Sunrise - eBook

Tyndale House Sunrise - eBook

Dayne and Katy grow closer as they plan for their wedding day, but can they realize their dream of a ceremony free from paparazzi? John Baxter is thrilled that his oldest son will be settling down a few miles away, but he isn't sure how any of his kids will handle a situation he can no longer run from-the feelings he is having for his friend Elaine. And the Flanigan family struggles as boarder Cody Coleman fights for his life after an overdose. Only God's grace and a miracle can bring him back from the brink of death-physically and spiritually.
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sunrise - eBook
Review 1 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book is sensational

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Betty Monda
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book deals with kids who drink and what can happen. It deals with how our lives are so much better when we follow God's leading. The CKT kids are so amazing. Don't know what CKT stands for....read the books and find out. You will be glad you read this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tami Jones
I love Karen Kingsbury's books. This one just adds to the list. Her stories deal with real life issues that we all face or have faced at one point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sunrise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura Kotka
Read 4 chapters so far and the story sucks you in from page one - just as all Kingsbury stories do. You meet several families in the first chapter - and you just can't wait to see what unfolds in each of their lives. Love it so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vivian Williams
I have finished book #1 and have started #2. I enjoyed Sunrise. It brought a family in conflict together with their combined love for their Saviour and what was best in His eyes, not the worlds. It was real down to earth family life, dealing with real issues of today. Karen Kingsbury is one of my favorite authors. She starts her books getting my interest and keeps it all through the book. Can't wait to finish book #2 and see how God works in the life of each character. Keep up the good work Karen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Forest Hills Baptist Church
Karen Kingsbury's books are all so very relevant. I feel like the Baxter family is part of my family. This book was a great culmination of their family, all the ups and downs and finally John and Elaine getting married. I'm hoping this will not be the last we hear from the Baxter's.Thanks, Karen, for another wonderful series.Carolyn Eddings
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kevin Meadows
This book was as great as all the others! wish this series could go on and on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Sunrise was the fifth book I read by Karen Kingsbury and it makes me want to read more. I was shopping with my Mom and saw the book on a shelf with a bunch of newer releases. I read the front cover and was immediatly hooked! I read the book in 4 hours! Dayne and Katy's love for each other is so sweet! and I love all the characters in this book. If you are looking for a tender love story, you won't be disappointed! from the start to the finish Karen captures her readers and takes them on a journey no one will forget. This book is full of God's grace, goodness, and forgiveness. It's a must buy and definitly a must READ!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Julie Dunn
A great continuation of the series. I started in the middle of the Baxter family story and I loved it. I'm going to eventually read the beginning of the Baxter family story. These are great books. You can hardly put them down, but you don't want them to end either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Deborah Goodman
I really enjoyed this book as I have all of the others in the Baxter family series. As heart wrenching as the Ashley/Landon storyline was it was SO well written. Only downer was parts of the Dayne/Katy...they have been through so much I would have thought it would have taken a little longer to break through their protective shell! Definitely a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2007
THIS IS A NOVEL OF GOD AT WORK. NOT ONLY IN THE LIFE OF DAYNE AND KATY, BUT OF THE REST OF THE BAXTER'S AND THEIR FRIENDS. LETTING GOD SHOW THE WAY USUALLY LEADS TO SUCCESS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I enjoyed Sunrise immensely, probably because I became familiar with Dayne and Katy in Kingsbury's book Fame. While Kingsbury does a great job slipping in the back story a little bit at a time, sometimes it's just not as good as reading it for yourself. I loved Fame and I loved Sunrise. (Nothing like going straight to the wedding.) Actually, there were four books after Fame that led up to this point, so if you like soap opera drama in the sense that every book makes you crave the next "episode" then you'll love Sunrise as a prelude to the exciting things yet to come.The wedding scene was also the most beautiful and romantic that I've ever read. You can't help but love Dayne and Katy and want great things to happen in their lives. Especially after getting a feel for all that they went through even without reading the previous books. Their love is rich and deep and based on the foundation of Jesus Christ. Kingsbury is unabashedly Christian in that respect. She always emphasizes the importance of salvation in the lives of her characters. I love that. The subplot regarding the perils of drinking and driving was well done as was the budding romance between the senior Baxter, John, and his long-time friend, Elaine. Kingsbury is also the queen of secondary characters and subplots. Just like in the soaps, there are always several stories going at once. Of course that makes me crave the next book in the series, which I thankfully have, so I can immediately continue on. Kingsbury writes fast enough to make it possible to go from one story to the next. I've probably done myself a disservice by not reading everything in order (I plan to jump back to read Forgiven (which comes after Fame) and I still need to read Redemption, which was the book that started the last two series. But no matter which way you slice it, each series containing the Baxter family is addicting. I'm glad to be getting my next fix.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Barbara Nysse
This book was not my favorite. I really felt Karen got real "preachy" with this book and the plot was very much left behind. Sorry to be kinda negative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Olivia
This book is so good! I read it like the first day it came out but just never thought to review it. Anyway, it was sooooo good and I can't wait to read the next one in the series!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2007
"Sunrise" was a great book, and I was so happy to see Katy and Dayne finally married!! I thought the plot was just a little bit weak at points, and some details were skipped at parts... I would have liked to hear more about the wedding. Still it was a great book and I can't wait for the next ones in the Sunrise series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2007
This book was good, but it was not my favorite in the series. I think since I read that the Flannigan's were the focal point of the new series, I expect more of them. I also would have liked more about the wedding itself, but then maybe book #2 has that. When you as a reader have followed a family as long as all of us have, you need more details for about the key event.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lynn Porter
Plot a little too simplistic, but still I am anxious for the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
P. Seawright
Great book!! You need to read the series in order though to keep up with what's going on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Nicole
Once again Karen Kingsbury has managed to pull us into a story and make us feel like we are right there. Her writing has a way of putting us right in the story line and before you know it you are waiting anxiously for the next book to be released. I have read all of the books leading up to this series and am in no way disappointed in it's continuation. This story will draw you in whether you've read them all or are a first time reader. Before you know it you'll feel like Katy, Dayne and the whole Baxter family are old friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Renee
This book was wonderful! Karen's books are always great & I am stunned to see someone gave this book a bad review. The book itself was amazing- the characters are great, the message is great and the plot is great. I can't wait to read the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sunrise - eBook
This review is fromSunrise, Sunrise Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gentle Mother
I've been enjoying Karen Kingsbury's books for a while now. She's got several series on the Baxter family. In one of the books, one of the characters had a baby. She was talking about feeding him on a schedule. I thought "well, my kids eased into a schedule, so maybe that's what she's referring to."While I was reading Sunrise, I was extremely surprised and very disappointed to read John Baxter telling his friend Elaine that Luke and Reagan were taking a "Growing Kids God's Way" class through their church. In the next chapter, the Reagan is talking about how great the class is. I finished the book, but I will never read another book by Karen Kingsbury. Gary Ezzo is bad, bad news. His "advice" has lead to failure to thrive in infants. The AAP has spoken out against his teachings. I will not support anyone who gives praise to anyone who advises to hit an infant who is exploring their world. Their are gentler ways to help your child stop pretending to shoot people than anything Ezzo would suggest.I have never been so completely creeped out by fictional characters before or so disappointed in an author. It's too strong of an endorsement for something that is just so wrong.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>