Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2

Abingdon Press Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2

Dr. Anna McIntyre's life was going along just fine until someone else started living it. Her patient died because of an identity mix-up; her medical career is in jeopardy because of forged prescriptions; and her credit is in ruins. She thought things couldn't get worse, but that was before she opened the envelope and saw a positive HIV test with her name on it.

Her allies are two men who are also competing for her affection. Dr. Nick Valentine is a cynic who carries a load of guilt. Attorney Ross Donovan is a recovering alcoholic. The deeper Anna digs to discover who's behind the identity thefts the higher the stakes. Finally, when her life is on the line, Anna finds that her determination to clear her name might have been a prescription for trouble.

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
Review 1 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the second book in Richard Mabry’s Prescription for Trouble series. The first book is titled, Code Blue and was reviewed here previously. This story is set in Texas, which is also where the author lives. His experiential knowledge lends great detail and information to the story.
Nick Valentine is a pathologist, trying to gain a promotion to assistant professor at a medical school. He receives an order for an autopsy of a patient to be done stat. Don’t all doctors want that? He performs the autopsy, but has some questions when he is finished. He contacts the doctor who had ordered the autopsy and they agree to meet. Once he lays eyes on Dr. Anna McIntyre, Nick decides he would like more than a professional acquaintance. He asks if he can help her with some other problems she is dealing with and she agrees. Soon he is spending much more time with Anna and thinks they have the potential for a serious relationship. Anna just wants to be friends until her problems are solved. Is she just saying that so she can pursue a relationship with her attorney instead of Nick?
Anna McIntyre is due to complete her residency in a month. She had a job all lined up, but that was suddenly pulled out from under her. She unexpectedly has a patient die and some blame her. Someone is using her name and DEA number to prescribe narcotics, someone has used her credit cards fraudulently, her car breaks down and she must hire an attorney as she faces more and more serious legal problems with arrest looming on the horizon. Due to these problems, she is temporarily suspended and charged by her attending physician with finding out who is prescribing these drugs. She enlists Nick’s help. She and her attorney both find each other attractive, but neither act on this. Anna discovers she has feelings for Nick, but the timing couldn’t be worse. The police are breathing down her neck, thinking she really is the one prescribing the drugs and just angry she got caught. Is someone framing her? Is there a connection between her identity theft and her dead patient?
The storyline had the potential to be really good; however, I found this not to be true at the end of the book. It was just average. Nick’s behavior toward Anna sometimes borders on stalking. There is not enough suspense and tension to create a feeling of anticipation for what’s going to happen next. The story drags a bit. I found the characters to be a bit shallow. There was a good plot twist at the end. I’ve read other books by this author that are better, and I still plan to read the next book in this series, Diagnosis Death.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
This review is fromMedical Error - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting and a great read.

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nubian
Location:Yonkers, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I really enoyed the book. It was wonderful to read something that is not only a pager turner, but also grabs your heart as you root for the heroine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
This review is fromMedical Error - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book was very interesting.

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Claudette
Location:Sault Ste Marie, On
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book kept me riveted all the way through. Very interesting with a surprise finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
This review is fromMedical Error - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read, full of suspense!

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzanne
Location:New York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. If you enjoy Christian fiction and are drawn to medical mysteries then this is a must read. You'll be on the edge of your seat with this author's suspense building techniques.
The protagonist, Dr. Anna McIntyre, is busy enjoying a satisfying medical career when the walls come crashing in on her. She becomes a victim of identity theft and nearly loses her license to practice medicine and her life. But, in the end her faith in the Lord is renewed and she has developed a very close friendship with one her colleagues, Dr. Nick Valentine, who works in Pathology.
I only gave it a 4 for "meeting my expectations" since I can't say for sure if an actual romance ever developed between the two. It would have been nice if we were told that they became more than just friends. Had this detail not been left out, I would have given it a 5 in all categories.
Overall, it was a very good book and once you pick it up, you won't want to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
This review is fromMedical Error - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting book.

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kayla Johansen
Location:Virginia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was very interesting. It kept me in suspense until the end, and I never came close to guessing who the culprit was. It got a little slow at times, but not very often. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
This review is fromMedical Error - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book, lifelike

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Readsalot
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this to be one of those books that draws you into the plot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
This review is fromMedical Error - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great reading

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Crumblegram
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great read. Medical, mystery, romance all in the same book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
This review is fromMedical Error - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ann from Georgia
Location:Marietta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've now read 3 of the 4 books in this series.... looking forward to getting book 4, Lethal Remedy. Praying for there to be a book 5....(hint, hint).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall, a good read!

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maria
Location:Cumming, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Things are going from bad to worse in the life of Dr. Anna McIntyre. Losing a patient was devastating. Add to that, the forged prescriptions using her name, and identity theft, and you have a Prescription for Trouble – the second book in this series by Richard L. Mabry, M.D.
Medical Error, is both fast-paced, and a quick read. Early in the book, Anna meets pathologist, Dr. Nick Valentine, who offers to help unravel the problems that plague her. With the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) and the local police suspicious that Anna may be involved in more than practicing medicine, Anna doesn’t have much time to prove her innocence. She accepts Nick’s offer of help.
At a point in her life when she’s overwhelmed with difficulties, Anna realizes her relationship with Nick could easily move beyond friendship. But is she ready for that? And then there’s her lawyer, Ross Donovan. He’s determined to help Anna clear her name, and she’s extremely grateful. Are her feelings for him born out of his ability to rescue her, or do they run deeper?
The plot thickens when Anna finds her identity has been further compromised. A report from a credit agency shows new accounts opened in her name. But the addresses assigned to the accounts aren’t hers. Anna decides to do some investigating on her own. An upset mailman and a wayward policeman are part of the surprise ending that will keep the reader’s attention until the last page has been turned!
*Dr. Mabry does an excellent job weaving credible medical scenes into his stories because of his expertise. Although there were some Christian themes woven throughout the story, they seemed to be added on and not a major part of the book. I also found several similarities between this book and the first one in the series, Code Blue. But overall, a good read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
This review is fromMedical Error - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Story

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
JudyD
Location:Arkansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is full of twists and turns. I'm still reading it but it won't take me long to finish since I can hardly put it down. This has already reminded me to check my online medical records for accuracy.
I downrated quality not because of the story itself - it is still excellent - but there are a few glitches in the electronic version. Whenever I open the book, I have to go back a page in order to be able to "turn the page" to continue reading. And it got stuck at the end of one chapter and could not move forward to the next chapter. I couldn't select the next chapter from the chapter list either but was able to select the following chapter then move back to the beginning of the "stuck" chapter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book With Take Home Value.

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased Medical Error, Sept 2010, at the ACFW conference in Indianapolis. I do love books and still have quite a few on my TBR (to be read) pile.
I prefer to read paper books at home, but I take my kindle when I travel so save the weight of a suitcase of books.
Recently I was getting ready to take a trip, and to my delight, Medical Error was offered free on Kindle. So it worked out great for me. I can give away the paperback book on my blog and keep the Kindle version. How great is that?
I found this book to be very gripping. It has a timely message about identity theft. We somehow think it can't happen to us. I like a book that makes me think and is relevant to my own life.
If you enjoy the medical and hospital setting you will enjoy this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed reading this book.

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dianna Karnes
Location:North Manchester, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Mabrey did an excellent job crafting book 2 in this series. Great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well-written & suspenseful

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Medical Error" is a well-written medical suspense novel with a romance. (While the culprit was unknown and was on my suspect list as someone who could have done it, there weren't enough clues to narrow it down to a specific name unless I missed something.) The suspense was created mainly by wondering what was going to go wrong next, but there was also physical danger to the characters near the end.
The characters were engaging, complex, and acted in realistic ways. The details about the job and setting brought the story alive in my imagination without slowing the fast pacing.
Anna was a Christian, but her main romantic interest felt he'd done something God wouldn't forgive. There were several comments made about God that occurred briefly and naturally in the conversation.
There was no sex and no bad language. Overall, I'd highly recommend this well-written and suspenseful novel.
I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Medical Error - a super read

Date:October 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marjorie
Location:Woodstock, Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This book has it all. Mystery, suspense, a little romance.
A page turner that will please all. A totally awesome read with a very unexpected ending.
Dr. Mabry has written the best Christian mystery yet.
I cannot wait to read his next novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Medical Error, Prescription for Trouble Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Eric Hatleys last day started out normal for a UPS driver. He ended up in the crossfire of gang warfare and wound up in Parkland Hospital OR. Life for Dr. Anna McIntyre changed that day due to a medical records mix-up on the patient.The DEA (Drug Enforcement Administration) was knocking on her door for over-prescribing Vicodin through excessive prescriptions and excessive refills, which she states are forged prescriptions. A day later, the Dallas Police, show up to prove she was behind the excessive number of prescriptions floating throughout the neighborhooda criminal trying to make a bust in the market.Later, Anna finds someone has maxed-out her credit cards and were into her bank account. Then she gets a medical report stating she is HIV positive. Mix all these circumstances with romance, muggings, and attempted murders, and you are hooked!My first thoughts about Medical Error had to do with identity theft that we hear so much about these days. Anna found out the hard way that she was way more careless than she realized, and way too impulsive to solve the problem.Im not sure which was more intriguing though, the medical issues or the identity theft. Both kept me riveted. Only problem was, they didnt know the source of the issues.Dr. Mabry was definitely on top of the medical school/hospital issues at hand, from medial malpractice, lawsuits, suspensions, etc. My only minor complaint is the continuous clichs, i.e, like fish to water, air to a bird, like a dog with a bone, etc., yet some of the clichs turned out to be some great word pictures!Was it a co-worker, prior patient, the DEA personnel, the police, or even possibly Nick that was perpetrating all this? Youll have to read it to find out! My lips are sealed.This book was provided free from Susan at The Suspense Zone for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.