Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3

Abingdon Press Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3

When her comatose husband dies in the ICU while on life support, the whispers about Dr. Elena Gardner begin. Another death during her training puts her under suspicion. When the pattern is repeated in the hospital where she is attempting to start over, the whispers turn into a shout: "mercy killing."

What is the dark secret that keeps Allison's lips sealed when she should be defending herself? Despite her move to a new city, the midnight phone calls that started after her husband's death follow Elena. Who is the woman who sobs out, "I know what you did?" What does she mean by "You'll pay?" And what can Elena do to prevent it?

Two physicians, widowers themselves, offer support, telling Elena they know what she is going through after the death of her husband. But do they? And is it safe to trust either of them with her secret?

Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
Review 1 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Richard Mabry brings us his third installment in the Prescription for Trouble series. This time the drama and action take place in Dallas as well as Dainger, Texas. Dainger was introduced in the first book of the series, Code Blue, and the main character from that story appears in this third book.
Elena Gardner has only 30 days until she finishes her residency and starts her dream job of practicing family medicine. She is still reeling from the death of her husband 6 months ago and the fact that she was the one to make the decision to put a Do Not Resuscitate order on his chart after he experienced an aneurysm. The guilt she feels is overwhelming. However, there are those who whisper she might have helped her husband on his way to his demise. Elena doesn’t remember shutting off the machines that kept her husband alive, but maybe she is suppressing the memory. Then, another patient she initially admits succumbs to the same fate of life support being turned off when everyone saw Elena in the room alone with the patient. He also miraculously has a Do Not Resuscitate order on his chart with her signature. Elena swears she didn’t sign the order. What is going on? Is someone trying to ruin her career?
Elena depends on her one friend, David Merritt, to listen and offer her support. He wants more than friendship, but is being patient while Elena deals with her grief and these new problems. He is soon to finish his residency and begin practicing obstetrics in Dainger, Texas. Coincidentally, Elena receives an offer to practice there as well. She will be filling in for a doctor who will be out on maternity leave with the potential to join the practice as an associate. She grabs this chance after her job offer with another physician is pulled out from under her. The staff end her last 30 days early and she leaves for Dainger. Will the phone calls that come every Tuesday at midnight continue in her new town? She is hoping for a fresh start.
This story has some similarities in characters and plot to book 2 in the series, so I am lowering my rating for some lack of originality. However, the book is still worth reading as there is suspense and mystery to entertain. This is a good addition to the series. I will be reviewing the fourth book in the series here, so stay tuned for more medical suspense stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
This review is fromDiagnosis Death - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rod Man of God
Location:Concord NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great medical fiction. Loved every minute of it. Very gripping story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
This review is fromDiagnosis Death - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Luv2Read
Great read! Enjoyed the mix of medical and legal in this book. Will definitely check out more of this author's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
This review is fromDiagnosis Death - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very interesting story line, keeps your attention.

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
greens4bama
Location:Russellville, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Diagnosis Death is a good read. Interesting story line that keeps your attention. Proof there is hope in dark times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
This review is fromDiagnosis Death - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great read

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Inna Matveev
Location:usa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Medical mystery, keeps you guessing. However, not faith based story, it mentions a little about christian faith, however, not enough to encourage my walk with Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
This review is fromDiagnosis Death - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
ball
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a good book. I was a little disappointed in the solution of the mystery but it was overall a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
This review is fromDiagnosis Death - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sherrel Hailstone
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put it down. It was an interesting modern story with lots of twists and turns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
This review is fromDiagnosis Death - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THis story will keep you on the edge of your seat!

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ann from Georgia
Location:Marietta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a Christian and I have great respect for someone that uses God Almighty in their books. I have now read all 3 books; Code Blue, Medical Error and Diagnosis Death. I wasn't able to put them down! Book 4 is now out, Lethal Remedy. I'm sure it will be just as good, if not better!
Thank you so much Dr. Mabry for having such a heart for God and for your readers. So please, keep writing those wonderful books of yours!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A page turner that keeps you guessing!!

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read in the, Prescription For Trouble Series, and I must say, it ROCKED! I kept turning pages into the night until I was finished. For all of you who love suspense this book is for you. If you love watching those medical dramas you too will enjoy this read. Who doesn't enjoy reading a book more than watching television anyway? I know I do! There is something exhilarating about turning pages deep into the night as you try to figure out, "Who did it?"
We meet, Dr. Elena Gardner, and follow her through the twists and turns as chaos seems to follow her. Elena's a widower of six months now. Six long months of learning how to grieve. As she is trying to move forward there is someone lurking in the shadows of her life. Calling nightly at the same time. As, Elena, picks up the phone, all she hears is the sounds of crying. But there is more, oh so much more!
As her husband died in the ICU, something happened that, Elena, cannot remember. She wrote the DNR and signed it, but she can't remember if she pulled the plug. A phrase that is not welcomed. Everything seems okay, until it happens to another and yet another. Elena doesn't know who to trust and who to fear. Her residency has quickly ended and she is moving on to practice with another doctor. They quickly form a close relationship and Elena opens up to her telling her all the strange activities that keep happening around her. She thought when she left the hospital and moved on everything would come to an end, but now more than ever, Elena, is fearful.
Mabry is astounding at the medical detail he brings to these pages. It was like a real life suspense filled drama unfolding before me. But, unlike other suspense books I have read, I didn't know who did it until the last chapter! You are literally on the edge of your seat. I am now a Mabry fan for sure!
Elena is one of those characters you fall in love with. You see her struggle as she tries to overcome her grief. There are so many lessons to carry away from this book. Most of all, I think, be true to yourself. Stay grounded in your faith and believe God will see you through. Even in those dark times when we walk through the unknown. He will shine a light of truth before our steps.
"Code Blue" is the first in this series, followed by, "Medical Error". Next to be released is, "Lethal Remedy."
Richard L. Mabry, M.D. is a retired physician and medical school professor who achieved worldwide recognition as a writer, speaker, and teacher before turning his talents to non-medical writing after his retirement. He is the author of Code Blue and Medical Error, the first two novels in The Prescription for Trouble series, one non-fiction book, and his inspirational pieces have appeared in numerous periodicals. He and his wife, Kay, live in North Texas. Visit Dr. Mabry at his website: http://www.rmabry.com
This book was a gift from Abingdon Press for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Medical ECF

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Diagnosis Death - Prescription for Trouble #3 - Richard MD Mabry - April 2011
Has the words Euthanasia ever crossed your mind ? How about the initials DNR - for those who aren't aware of the medical terminology DNR means Do not resucitate ? In Diagnosis Death we are presented with main character Dr Elena Gardener who has just lost her husband due to a brain tumor and her decision to put him out of that suffering was to write a DNR order on his file before it was too late - the next thing she knows is that somebody pulled the plug, and then it happens again with one of Elena's patients - a similiar case except this time somebody has faked her signature ? What really happened in the last hour of Mark's life and is somebody trying to frame Elena for it ? We read as Elena gets midnight phone calls, threatning letters and rumours ablaze as she tries to start anew in the small community of Dainger , Texas. With the help of newfound friends Cathy , Dora, Will - the local pastoral family who have opened their doctor clinic and church and home up to Elena , can she find out who is behind the antics and save not only herself but her medical career ?.
I ahve to say personally I found Diagnosis Death a much more enjoyable and easier read than Medical Error - Book #2.
A great novel for fans of Christian Medical reads along the lines of author Dr. Harry Kraus and Candace Calvert
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good medical drama and believable characters.

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dianna Karnes
Location:North Manchester, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm enjoying reading this book - the 3rd in his series. Very good with suspense and a little romance, too. I appreciate reading books with good moral and godly values.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Did she turn off the life support or not?

Date:April 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wynd
Location:Saskatchewan Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An excellent medical mystery. The continuation of the series but it stands alone without any confusion whatsoever. It would be horrible and confusing to find yourself in Elena's position. Accused of turning off the life support for your husband and another patient, being pretty sure you didn't, but not knowing for sure. The author has presented the emotional wringing, exhaustion, and trepidation in what I believe to be an authentic way. Elena's struggle with moving to a new town with new people and hospital rules but bringing the uncertainty and suspicions with her allows for a melodramatic mystery and a great twist in the mystery because who would be able to follow her? Of course, I had my suspicions and one was correct but the other totally wrong. I like when that happens, it makes reading the book right to end enjoyable and interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

3rd in Prescription for Trouble series thrills

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Diagnosis Death by Richard L. Mabry Ph.D. is the third book in the Prescription for Trouble medical thriller series. Dr. Elena Gardner is still grieving the death of her husband Mark, who died after a cerebral hemorrhage left him brain dead. The circumstances of his actual death are under suspicion because while Elena doesn't remember turning off his ventilator, she can't swear that she didn't do it either. She's only a few weeks away from the end of her residency when a patient, in similar condition to Mark, dies after his ventilator is turned off, and someone has forged Elena's signature on his medical file. Coupled with strange phone calls every Tuesday night at midnight from a sobbing woman, make Elena a bit relieved to leave her position early and take up her new position helping out a pregnant doctor in Dainger, Texas. She hopes that the distance will give her time to recover from her grief and repair her reputation as a doctor, but it seems as though she can't run from them, no matter where she goes. While this is the third book in the series, readers don't need to be familiar with the previous volumes to dive right into this thrilling story. Mabry uses medical detail to raise the tension without ever becoming overly technical. Elena is a sympathetic character, but readers will occasionally want to give her a good shake when she insists on taking some not-so-bright moves. The ending was a bit contrived, I can't say much without giving it away, but it took a bit more suspension of disbelief to accept the identity of the villain(s). Still, Mabry does a good job of selling it, and his ability to ratchet up the tension while adding twists and turns makes him a writer to follow. This reviewer's prescription is to sit back and enjoy the ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good medical mystery....

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Martha
Location:Kalispell, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dr. Elena Gardner, a new doctor, just finishing up her residency, finds her sorrow from losing her husband, Mark, plagued by midnight threatening phone calls. Whispers that her husband did not die without some help begins to circle the hospital, and results in more talk when another patient dies in a similar way around Dr. Gardner. She finds herself in a new town, new hospital and wonders if the plague will follow her, but she hopes for a new start.
She finds herself vulnerable, wondering if she can trust anyone. Her only bright light is a fellow doctor, who is a good friend through it all.
This book is a good medical mystery, filled with questions on ethics, and will have you wondering who is the bad guy...or are there more than one?
I really enjoyed this book and felt like Dr. Mabry has used his experience as a physician to make this a very realistic medical fiction book. He interweaves faith into it and you are encouraged to see Elena when faced with the hardships and loss, she turns to the Lord for strength. While this book has a slight romantic bent, it is a good mystery novel, with romance not the focus. However, it does briefly mention some topics like euthanasia, adultery and other adult topics, although not in great detail if you were looking for this book for a teen reader.
I have enjoyed each of Dr. Mabry's books and will be looking forward to reading any others that he writes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspenseful and interesting

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Diagnosis Death" is a medical suspense novel with a romance. While I was able to figure out whodunit before the big reveal, the answer to the last mysterious bit was a surprise. While the reader wasn't told from the beginning who was behind the calls, etc., the story wasn't really about investigating the mystery. The mystery wasn't solved earlier only because Elena was terrified that she might be the killer. She avoided investigating what was going on though she hated what not knowing as doing to her and what the rumors were doing to her career. She had to find the courage to face the truth.
The suspense was created by wondering who was behind the calls, what was going to go wrong next, various medical emergencies, and some physical danger to the characters near the end. The characters were complex and acted in realistic ways. The details about the job and setting brought the story alive in my imagination without slowing the fast pacing.
Many of the characters were Christian. Elena struggled with why God didn't answer her prayers to heal her husband. She wasn't on "speaking terms" with God during most of the book though she still believed in Him. The story had a Christian theme running throughout it. There were frequent mentions of "I'm praying for you," a brief sermon summary by a pastor's wife, and a Bible verse that impacted Elena.
This book was the third in the series, but you don't need to read the previous novels to understand this one. However, the characters from the first novel, "Code Blue," show up in this one, so reading this novel out of order will spoil the romantic outcome of "Code Blue." There was no sex and no bad language. Overall, I'd recommend this well-written and suspenseful novel.
I received this book as an eBook review copy from the publisher, provided through NetGalley.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Medical Drama Thriller

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Review…..Diagnosis Death By: Richard L. Mabry, M.D.
To Dr. Elena Gardner, live seems to be crashing down on her from all angles. After her husband’s tragic unexpected death, the threatening midnight phone calls, and the letters started coming. How can she survive not only the grief involved with losing her husband, but the fear she is now facing from this unknown harasser. And as if this isn’t enough, another death happens in the ICU similar to her husbands, and Elena just happened to be in his room around the time of his death. The whispers among her fellow workers begin and the phone calls continued, this time with a message,”I KNOW WHAT YOU DID! YOU’LL PAY!”
Elena doesn’t feel she can trust anyone except David, another Dr. she works with. David is her friend, and she feels she can go to him or call him when she needs someone. Should she be taking to him, since her husband has only been gone 6 months? She just can’t do this alone.
Dr. Gardner is relieved when a she is accepted for a position in a Family Practice in Dainger. Will the move stop the danger she is in? Will the caller know where to contact her? And then at her new hospital, in the ICU, the unbelievable happens, and another patient dies, this one similar to the two at her old hospital. Will everyone have their eye on Elena again, even though this is a different place, with different people?
And what about her relationship with David, can it survive all of Elena’s troubles? Does he believe Elena, or the whispers of those blaming her?
Ok…to start with, the characters in this book are just real! As you read, you want to think they are people you can go visit, or call, and be their friends. And the plot just keeps you going and going. I couldn’t put the book down. He tells little mysterious tidbits but then makes you wait a while to find out the real answer. And being a Dr for four decades gave him the knowledge to make the medical part of the book real life. And his knowledge of the Bible gave him the scripture and how to explain throughout the book how God can work in our lives, even when we think things will never be better for us.
Dr. Mabry is an awesome story teller. He has a way of making you want to keep reading until you finish the last word. He keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout the entire book. I’ve read the first two books in this series, and now I can say that all three of them are just plain awesome! I can’t wait for the forth one to come out! I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended

Date:March 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book on Friday and finished it on Saturday...we did have a Birthday party here this weekend!
It will keep your nose in the book....wishing there were more hours in the day! I really enjoyed it.
Dr Elena Gardner has had a horrific year, with the death of her husband Mark. She is just about to finish medical school, when another patient presents with the same illness that took her husband. When this patient is found dead, the finger is pointing at Elena. She is offered an early end to her studies and accepts a job Dainger, TX..about 2 hours from Dallas.
The scary things that happen to her...the phone call, people following, the peeping. Enough to drive you over the deep end.
God had a wonderful way of putting the right people in her path. Love that she ended up living with the Kennedy's, and her wonderful Godly friend David. I love that there is an Epilogue at the end of this book, I really appreciate it when an author provides the update.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Diagnosis Death, Prescription for Trouble Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Series Just Keeps Getting Better and Better!

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
tweezle
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Mabry has done it again with "Diagnosis Death"! I swear with each book in the series, they just get better and better!! I love Dr. Mabry's prose and style. He creates characters that are real and what I find most fascinating is that he writes from a woman's point of view (and does it very well I may add).
"Diagnosis Death" centers around a young doctor, Dr. Elena Gardner, who's training is just about to complete when a patient in a coma suspiciously dies. She has been rumored to have "helped" her husband who was also in the same situation a few months before and is now under suspicion for this death as well. She knows she didn't do it - or at least cannot remember doing it, and needs to find out the truth. This story is full of twists and turns that will keep you guessing all the way to the end!! Truly a page-turner, this book kept on the edge of my seat wondering what would happen next.
"Diagnosis Death" is the third novel of the series, and it was said to be the last. I have since heard that Dr. Mabry has signed on to do a fourth book called "Lethal Remedy" that is due out in September. To say that I'm excited with this news is a tremendous understatement!
If you love medical thrillers, mysteries - especially cozy mysteries, then you'll love Dr. Mabry's books. Make sure to mark you calendar for the release of this exciting book in April 2011. While you are waiting, treat yourself and pick up the first two in the series , "Code Blue" and "Medical Error" - you won't regret it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.