Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Individual Software Typing Instructor for Kids 4 on CD-ROM

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Individual Software Typing Instructor for Kids 4 on CD-ROM

This award-winning typing program is educational, entertaining, and motivating. It teaches all keyboarding basics, proper hand positions, and speed, and accuracy. Kids can learn in English and Spanish. Sit back, relax, and watch your kids get to the head of the class with this award-winning program, preferred by teachers and parents. For Children ages 6—12

Features
  • Keyboard & typing games add motivation and fun
  • Ten Typing Plans for different age groups, beginning with the home row
  • Children can learn in English or Spanish
  • Kid-appropriate content, proven typing instruction techniques and a strong typing curriculum
Minimum System Requirements
  • Pentium class PC or higher
  • Microsoft Windows Vista, XP or 2000
  • 128 MB RAM
  • 480 MB Hard Disk Space Available
  • CD-ROM Drive
  • 800 x 600, 16-Bit Color Display
  • Sound Card
  • Speakers or Headphones
  • Mouse
  • DirectX 8 Compatible Video
Average Customer Rating:
3.3 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
0 out of 10%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Typing Instructor for Kids 4 on CD-ROM
Review 1 for Typing Instructor for Kids 4 on CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Undesirable lesson content

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marie
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While the activities may be fun for the kids and do effectively teach the kids how to type, I was very disappointed in the content of what the kids are asked to type. This is what my son was asked to type : "Mary reads her horoscope every morning while eating toast." and "Ronald uses insect wings for spells." I do not want my kids spending time writing such things that go against what God would want them to think about. We will be looking for a new typing program.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Typing Instructor for Kids 4 on CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ina Wangerin
Our children love this program. Even our 7 year old is getting good in typing in just a few weeks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Typing Instructor for Kids 4 on CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Nigro
My kids love this program; it gives them many different "games" and keeps their interest. My very skeptical 10 year old son didn't want to try a new program because he liked our previous one, but I find him on this program well after our school day has ended:weekends even! I recommend it for the price and value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Typing Instructor for Kids 4 on CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nadia
LOVE LOVE LOVE! I have a 6 yr old and a 12 year old and they both love to play. I must admit that the 6 year old is beginning to catch up:) I have bumped my older daughter to the Typing Platinum which is more comprehensive and applicable to her age/skill. Also, Typing for Kids 4 is the older version, if you had issues with this try the Typing for Kids 5...Definitely the winner;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Typing Instructor for Kids 4 on CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bianca
Really disappointed in the games, with Egyptian gods, shooting so on....Some of them were scary for kids.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Typing Instructor for Kids 4 on CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
cindi
I am really disappointed in this program. The ages are listed as 6-12, but probably should be 5-8...it's very "slow, silly" for children who are computer/video game savvy. Also, the program would not load correctly on my laptop with Vista, and the "tech dept" at Individual Software was not the least bit helpful. After several unproductive emails, I just gave up. I will probably just give this to a friend with a child around 5 years of age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Typing Instructor for Kids 4 on CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jhan Sauer
After loading this product on our computer, we were unable to get any sound. The tech support suggested that we reconfigure our hard drive and remove many items from our hard drive just to get sound! This program is not worth the money if we have to remove all these things from our hard drive just to use it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Typing Instructor for Kids 4 on CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Acosta
This is an AMAZING program! It is high-end; entertaining, engaging and graphical. The animated characters are friendly, cute and quickly become connections...we love it! 5 stars are not enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Typing Instructor for Kids 4 on CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julie T
This a wonderful product. We were looking for a CD-Rom that works with Vista, but none were available. It seems most of the keyboarding is online (or using XP or 98 formats) so we were happy to find it. I've got four kids ages 8 to 13 using Typing Instructor and they all are learning and having fun. It varies the setting often and is good at little increments of difficulty. It progresses as fast as you can, or as slowly as you need to. I'd give it 5 stars, but i reserve my 5-star ratings for great literature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Typing Instructor for Kids 4 on CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2009
This is a pretty good typing program for kids, much better than the only other one I know of, which is Jumpstart Typing. My son has been using it for a few months and he is getting better at his typing. One of my main gripes is that they don't facilitate any kind of warm-up for the student to do to reaquaint themselves and their fingers with home row and the keys around them. That's crucial. My son used to like to just pop in the CD and go on his own, but now that the difficulty is progressing, I have to give him a two minute warm-up so he won't get too frustrated. This program values speed over accuracy. Even if your child types a test at 100% accuracy, they won't let him progress until he achieves a certain wpm (speed). I don't know if I like that. This emphasis on speed has caused my son to want to hen-peck the keyboard (the way someone does when they don't know how to type properly) if I am not watching him, to try to hit the keys as fast as possible. Currently, he has been working on the same test for three days trying to achieve their desired wpm. He is somewhat of a perfectionist and wants every letter to be right, even if it takes him three times as long to type the passage. That doesn't work with this program. Alas, our choices are few so we will continue to use this. It is a good program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.