Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AMG Publishers Galatians: Breakaway to Freedom

AMG Publishers Galatians: Breakaway to Freedom

Dynamic women's minister Howell takes you on a unique 6-week verse-by-verse study of Galatians---accompanied by today's most popular secular musicians. The song lyrics of Kelly Clarkson, band U2, Tim McGraw, and others urge you to leave behind the bondage of doubt, legalism, and the ordinary---and embrace the liberty found only in Christ. 144 pages, softcover from AMG.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Galatians: Breakaway to Freedom
Review 1 for Galatians: Breakaway to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Allison Murphy
My co-leader and I totally underestimated this study, and floundered about the first week or two trying get through the depth of the week's week's study into our hour and a half meeting... it was fantastic stuff! Our group is made up of women from age 28-66, and each of us were incredibly blessed by its content. Howell's study puts Galatians in the context of Paul's story, while also giving you a broad picture of the story of the Lord- a highly contextual study, which again, we completely underestimated its richness. The prayers that are included after each day are beautiful and simple- we ended up reading them together out loud every week. Don't blow past this book thinking it won't speak to you- the other two groups in our small group ministry are doing this study for our winter season while we crank up Ephesians, and I'd totally recommend it to anyone, hands down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galatians: Breakaway to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marcie Wimer
Ms. Howell is both a gifted writer and a true student of the Word. She clearly articulates scripture in a uniquely captivating way, and I thoroughly enjoy her books. Her newest, Ephesians ~ Finding True Love, is as masterfully written as Galatians. Both are scripturally sound works that leave the reader better able to live an overcoming life. I highly recommend Galatians as a great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galatians: Breakaway to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karen Sage
This book starts out very good. But, about midway through the book Sarah takes the bible out of context stating that we are commanded by God to love ourselves. Matt. 22:37-39. This is not a command to love ourselves and comments like these will lead younger Christians to believe they cannot love others if they don't love themselves. God's word states all throughout, the dangers of self-love. We are to imitate Christ and none of His attributes are self-love. Christ was all about selflessness and esteeming others better than himself. I recommend that anyone reading this book do a thorough study of the scriptures on this issue. Sarah has some very good thoughts and makes some very good points but this statement damages the entire book I am afraid. I would not recommend this book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galatians: Breakaway to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
Lucile Branch
I love Sarah's clear and beautiful message in this book!!Her heart and her passion for Jesus is evident in her life and in her writing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galatians: Breakaway to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
Molly White
Great book! Sarah did an awesome job relating Scripture as to how we should live as a women of Christ. Highly recommended! A+
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galatians: Breakaway to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
The book is an amazing study on Galations, maybe the best I've read. The studies are easy to read and can be applied to real life situations. This book has truly stolen my heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galatians: Breakaway to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
Carly
I really enjoyed this Bible study. Sarah has such a gift for writing and this Bible study was amazing. It really opened our Bible study group of girls up to each other and things going on in our lives. And being able to parallel it with secular music is definitely something that I would have never related to in the context of how Sarah related it to her different studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galatians: Breakaway to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kiele Akiona
Reading "Break Away to Freedom", helped me a lot through the tough times that I was going through with my family. It helped me relate to Saul and guided me to stay strong through all triumphs and tribulations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galatians: Breakaway to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Mulvany
I found that the Heart Stealers Bible study made Galatians real. After "hearing" it read in church all my life I now know what it MEANS. Sarah Howell has a gift for picking up different levels of meanings in many of the verses. Part of the majesty of scripture is that one verse can mean so many things - none of which anyone has ever taken the time to point out to me before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galatians: Breakaway to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
Krystee Edwards
Great book. I've taught the study to a group of young women and it is a great way to help people relate to the book of Galatians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galatians: Breakaway to Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
Natalie
This devotional is awesome! I was able to go through the study with a dynamic group of girls. Through our reading and the spirit of God we discussed the complex issues of legalism, grace, and bondage. Personal, this study encouraged me to get rid of the load I was carring and really hand it over to the Lord. I would recommend this devotional to any small groups that is looking for verse by verse teaching and is in need of some encouragement!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.