Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven and Life Again

Howard Books Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven and Life Again

Thirty-two year old wife and mother Crystal McVea was a skeptic before her life-changing supernatural experience on December 10, 2009. But when her heart stopped and she lost consciousness for 9 minutes, as nurses and doctors worked frantically to revive her, she remembers awaking in a place she knew was heaven.

From that moment on, her doubt melted away and she was filled with the overwhelming knowledge of God's very real love for her. In Waking Up in Heaven, she shares her remarkable journey and the message that God is real. Heaven is real. And God's love for us is greater than we ever imagined.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven and Life Again
Review 1 for Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven and Life Again
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is worth reading.

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deedee
Location:Dumont, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book shares a different viewpoint of heaven and meeting God than others I have previously read. Crystal McVea is very open and honest about all aspects of her life, including the parts that she is not proud of. It shows us that we are all loved by The Lord, no matter who we are or what we've done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven and Life Again
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book can resonate with anyone.

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debra Caprella
Location:Lima, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meeting God in heaven, how can you not want to read about that? The fact that the story tells of her brokeness and human failures just makes God's love resonate all the more. Anyone can identify with her life and the tragedies and trials. Every one can glean a lot about who God is by how her life changes after meeting him in person. I highly recommend this book both to people who know God and to those who aren't sure he is there!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven and Life Again
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful Testimony..................

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
LLCoolPayne
Location:Millersville, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I truly enjoyed this book. Crystal has given me the courage to share my 'secrets' with others. God bless you !!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven and Life Again
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A True Story Of A Heaven Experience

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crystal McVea and Alex Tresniowski in their new book "Waking Up In Heaven" published by Howard Books gives us A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven, and Life Again.
From the back cover: Tell them what you can remember.
On December 10, 2009, Crystal McVea, a thirty-two-year-old mother of four, stopped breathing. Her face turned a dark shade of blue, then black. Her mother screamed for help, and a nurse tried to revive her . . . to no avail. Today, Crystal does not remember what happened in that hospital room during the nine minutes she was unconscious and unable to breathe on her own. She has no memory of the panic and the rushing nurses and the loud cries of "Code Blue." She simply remembers drifting off.
And she remembers waking up in heaven.
For most of Crystal's broken life, she felt utterly beyond the reach of God-- if God was even real. Then came December 10--and the nine minutes that changed everything. Waking Up in Heaven invites readers along on a journey to witness the relentless pursuit of God in a life that was shattered and seemingly beyond hope, an awe-inspiring account of love, forgiveness, and redemption, and the healing power of God's presence.
And that is why I want to share my story with the world. Because I was a skeptic and a sinner, and I didn't believe in God or in heaven. But God is real. Heaven is real. And God's love for us is the realest thing of all.
If you have any doubts that Heaven is a real place then you must read "Waking Up In Heaven". If you believe, like many individuals seem to that there is no after-life and certainly no Heaven, and by extension, no Hell, then you must read "Waking Up In Heaven". Crystal McVea was there! She died. She was gone for nine minutes before coming back to tell us her story. Ms. McVea does more than just tell us of what happened in Heaven she tells us of her life story with all the good and bad. Why is that important? I feel it is important because it makes her real with experiences that all of us can relate to in some fashion. This is not some college lecture that will make your eyes glassy. "Waking Up In Heaven" will keep you interested and flipping pages until the very end. Thank you Ms. McVea for giving us this wonderful story.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Howard Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven and Life Again
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A powerful life changing testimony!!!

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My name is Crystal McVea, and in 2009 I died and went to heaven.
"How is that for an icebreaker?
"I am sharing that story with you, in this book. I knew God's plan for me was to share what happened with as many people as I could. Now, are there people out there who will think I'm a fraud, or a religious nut, or crazy? I'm sure there are. The truth is, I know my story is hard for some people to believe. I know what I went through is beyond the realm of what we can experience on Earth. But I also know that this book deals with the biggest and most important question of them all: Does God exist? Is there a heaven? What is God's plan for us? Why are we even here?
"I certainly don't pretend to have all the answers. In fact, I still have plenty of questions. Nor am I claiming to be anyone special. But what happened to me did happen, and now I know - after a lifetime of not knowing - that God does exist. He gloriously, beautifully, wonderfully does exist.
"And since God told me to share my whole story, that is what I'm doing - even though much of my story is painful and not always pretty. You will learn as you get deeper into this book that for most of my life I lived with terrible shame and horrible secrets. For the longest time I hated myself and believed I was worthless, and as a result made so many bad choices.
"But it's important to realize who I was in order to understand who I became. Some of what I describe about my time in heaven may be familiar to you from other accounts of people dying and coming back - the quality of the light, the shimmering entranceway, the presence of angels - but some of it probably isn't. Everything I describe is absolutely, 100 percent how I remember it - that has always been my one and only rule for sharing my testimony. Nothing is embellished or exaggerated even the tiniest bit. What I describe is what I experienced, nothing more or less.
"What I can say is that the things God showed me were simply astonishing in their power and impact, and now the reality of God's presence bursts forth from my heart every day. The truth is, I was more alive in those nine minutes than I have ever been in all my years on this Earth. I can only hope that through my descriptions, however inadequate they may be, you will feel even a fraction of the power and the impact and the absolute glory of what I experienced." (pg 4-5).
In the book, Waking Up In Heaven, author Crystal McVea shares her experience not only of her incredible nine minutes in heaven standing alongside God, but also the testimony of her entire life before and after that moment. It is painful to know and read how her childhood was and how often times, these things go on right next door and we never know it's going on. The people we may interact with may have stories similar to Crystals but we can never know unless we are willing to get to know them more and have them peel back the layers of shame and pain to reveal the person they really are on the inside. The book toggles back and forth between the moments of Crystal's experience in Heaven with chronologically walking with her from her childhood to the present through the chapters.
I received Waking Up In Heaven by Crystal McVea and Alex Tresniowski compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publisher for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. I was excited to read this book because it's not just another book about a person's experience of dealing with a life after death encounter, but also incorporates a memoir of Crystal's life. It's not always easy to hear stories that aren't the happily ever after fairy tales, but then again, most our us have stories in our own closets we aren't willing to let anyone see. I applaud Crystal for taking the step to share her life story as well as her after life story with readers. The time she shares of her heavenly experience is one I have always imagined it would be. Difficult to capture in words that pale in their description in human terms and one is which I look forward to sharing in one day. I rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend it to anyone who questions if God exists and what Heaven will be like!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven and Life Again
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Majik
Location:Wi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
More than expected was shared. Very useful. This book confirms my faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.