Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Divine - eBook

Tyndale House Divine - eBook

Mary Madison was a child of unspeakable horrors, a young woman society wanted to forget. Now a divine power has set Mary free to bring life-changing hope and love to battered and abused women living in the shadow of the nation's capital. Mary is educated and redeemed, a powerful voice in Washington D.C. - both to the politically elite and to other women like her. But she also has a past that shamed polite society. Her experiences created in her paralyzing fear, faithlessness, addiction, and promiscuity. At the crossroads of her life, only one power set Mary free and gave her a lifetime of love and hope. A power that could only be divine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Divine - eBook
Review 1 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not Quite Kingsbury

Date:September 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Saint Albans, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I must say that this is one of Karen Kingsbury's better books in regard to theology, doctrine, and true Christian living. Although there were one or two parts (statements, really) that do not agree with Scripture, the rest of the book is quite accurate in a biblical sense.
In all, okay, most, of her other books, Kingsbury tries way too hard to express drama. She attempts to make a dramatic situation out of the most trivial, least emotional occasions. However, I do not think this is the case for Divine. I do feel she prolonged the story somewhat and had a bit TOO many "bad things" happen (not to say that they *can't* happen, but in a book you sometimes need to say 'enough!'), but it's not nearly as severe as in her other less biblical books. I found myself saying, "Oh, come on!," only once or twice. Otherwise, I COULDN'T PUT DOWN THE BOOK!
Also, in her other books, the majority of her characters are so ridiculous in action, thought, and word in order to (attempt to) make the story more dramatic (but it really makes it barely tolerable to read). But in Divine, she hit on reality; the characters seem more real, with more realistic reactions and emotions.
She relayed the love of Christ exceptionally, as well as redemption, forgiveness by others (Christians), and the love of Christians and the fact that they WILL be different than the world.
I do recommend this book for older teens (17+) and up due to the very mature content (not necessarily graphic, mind you, but enough to make you shake your head, cringe, and sometimes tear up because you know it happens to people!).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Divine - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
laura
Location:Arkansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i enjoyed this book very much and would recommend books by this author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:November 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
reds
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book far exceeded my expectations from Karen Kingsbury. I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Divine - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
mswrfw
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wan't sure what to expect when I purchased the book. The book was a very good read an one that I had to make myself put down. I have only read a few of Karen Kingsbury books an everyone that I have read was wonderful an would read her books always.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Divine - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent author! Every book I have read that she has written has been very enjoyable reading.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Divine - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Neen
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Found that the story was interesting and a topic that needs to be addressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Divine - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sescites
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
An excellent story of forgiveness and self worth. I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very graphic, hard to read

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
JJ27
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted to like this book, but couldn't. One of my sons and I just read Kingsbury's "A Treasury of Miracles for Teens" and were so touched and blessed by it. However, Divine was so sad that I found it hard to read. I am not so naive as to think these things don't happen. My job involves counseling child abuse victims and I've worked some horrible cases. I understand Karen was making a point that God can redeem ANYTHING. However, I don't think it is necessary to portray rape after rape in detail to make that point. We get that it's horrible. The Bible mentions many prostitutes and rape victims. However, we don't need to see all the detail. It seems gratuitous. The Bible uses simple phrases that convey a ton of meaning, like, "Rahab the prostitute," or "He took her and raped her." That is plenty graphic enough for me--"Divine" was too much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great Kingsbury book!

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
green
Location:Thornton, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just started this book and am having difficulty putting it down. Karen delves into areas where other authors won't and exposes things of which a lot of people are unaware. Where I work I know first hand that these things occur - way too often. I just pray this opens the eyes of readers to know what truly goes on in our world. Thank you, Karen, for exposing some of the atrosities that occur and thank you for doing it in such a godly way, showing that Jesus cares about all of us and loves us very, very much even as we experience such horrible things and especially when we go through heinous acts perpetrated by others. And thank you for sharing that He is with us as we walk our paths and that He wants to cleanse us and be our Strength and Salvation.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Izolde Alexander
This is one of the most wonderful books about redemption that I have ever read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sheila Roution
This was so totally different than her other books (and I have read them all) but I could not put it down from the minute I started it. All I can say is have a box of kleenix close by - I enjoyed it from the beginning to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gretchen Zesiger
As all of Kingsbury's books are, this book is excellent. I wouldn't recommend that someone under high school age read it though due to some of the situations. Though they aren't graphic, they are adult.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chantell Snyder
I read this awhile back, and it was quite good. I can't help but to think that maybe both Mary and Nigel were in love, but obviously knew, that they were both meant to be alone and help others. Does anyone else think this? I could be wrong, but this is what I think.Karen didn't say one way or another, but it seemed that way. If that is how it was between Mary and Nigel, they were obviously able to resist temptation. Which is admireable if they could do that, even though it would be hard.Chantell Snyder
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pat Hale
I absolutely loved this book. Karen is a terrific, truly gifted author. I have enjoyed many of her books. But this was absolutely terrific. Very inspiration. I hated to see it end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
I found this book to be very good! A must read for anyone who has ever been abused in any way or has an addiction. It leaves no doubt that Jesus forgives and heals broken souls. If you have never been abused or dealt with addiction, it will open your eyes to what those around you may be suffering. Even though this is fiction, it is filled with very real situations and the truth that Jesus alone can save you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
S. Koeiman
I absolutely LOVED this book. I was in tears and also in awe when Nigel, a character in the book, was telling the story of Stephen. You will LOVE this book. I couldn't put it down. It's a wonderful story about God's redemption no matter where you've been in life and about serving a very mighty God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2007
This novel is one of inspiration. A novel that show us God's redemption. This is a book that shows us God sometimes answers prayers differently then we think He might. If you are looking for a great book,here it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ginny
This is the most inspirational hope-filled book I've read. I've enjoyed every one of the books I've read by Karen Kingsbury, but this one is something special.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Brianna
Although I have loved all of Karen Kingsbury's novels, I didn't expect this one to be that great, because I had previously read other works of fiction on Mary Magdalene that were boring. However, this book surpassed my expectations--it was beautifully written and had a captivating storyline, as all of Kingsbury's novels do. If you are unsure as to whether DIVINE will be as good as the other books by this author, take my advice and put this book on your list to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Divine - eBook
This review is fromDivine.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Brittany
This book was beautifully written; I was completely captured in emotions and I wanted to fight for Mary as if I could save her in reality. And I loved the way that Karen Kingsbury created a plot in which her character draws strength from the hardships that life deals her. Though I have never been in Mary's situation, I know that I have learned much of hope and endurance in Christ from this very in-depth novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>