Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIrV Kid's Devotional Bible, Updated & Expanded Hardcover

Zondervan NIrV Kid's Devotional Bible, Updated & Expanded Hardcover

Fire up children’s imaginations and you’ll stoke their spirits as well. That’s the idea behind the NIrV Kids’ Devotional Bible—created especially for young readers. The short sentences and easy words of the complete NIrV text make it a Bible kids can read themselves. Engaging questions, eyecatching illustrations, a year’s worth of devotions, a new feature designed to get kids deeper into the Word, and a dictionary make this a Bible they’ll want to read and apply to their lives. Will God ever stop loving you? How do you show respect to older people? Are animals and plants special? The NIrV Kids’ Devotional Biblehelps kids learn simple, important lessons about their world—and gives them a stepping-stone to today's most widely read translation, the NIV. Recommended for ages 6 to 9.

  • New feature "Theme Summary" is in 40 books of the Bible, and will help children apply the theme to their own lives
  • Updated artwork
  • Updated daily and weekend devotions
  • Presentation page
  • 9 Point text in dark blue
  • Two-column format
  • Dictionary
  • Subject Guide
  • Hardcover
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIrV Kid's Devotional Bible, Updated & Expanded Hardcover
Review 1 for NIrV Kid's Devotional Bible, Updated & Expanded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product was perfect for my seven year old

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michele
Location:Norwood, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son likes his new Bible because he can read it himself
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIrV Kid's Devotional Bible, Updated & Expanded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect reading level for my 7 yr old. Nice bible

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
bowzer
Location:Peoria, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son for his 7th birthday. It is a very nice bible and very appropriate reading level for him. Written age appropriate to help him understand and keeps him interested with the pictures and reading level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIrV Kid's Devotional Bible, Updated & Expanded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for Elementary Kids!

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
Location:Erie, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There's been a big push in our kids programs lately to get kids to bring and use their Bible at church (we've even started a Got Bible competition!). However, we don't want to stop there. We want kids to begin to form a habit of daily Bible reading at home as well. In order to do that, they need a Bible they can connect with and easily understand. As a result, we're constantly on a search for age-appropriate Bibles to recommend for parents.
In the process, we've come across some great Bibles and some great Bible tools. One Bible I'm especially impressed with is the The Kids' Devotional Bible by ZonderKidz. Here's some of the things I love about it:
**Introductions to books are short and easy. They usually tell the author of the book and some of the major stories. Just enough to give kids a bit of background without bogging them down.
**Daily Devotionals: Obviously, this was one of the big features in this Bible. I like that each day has its own devotional, and kids have a place to check off when they have read/completed that day's reading and thinking. Usually there's some kind of personal reflection included in the devotional and sometimes a follow-up action.
**The Pictures: The graphics in this Bible are appealing to elementary kids and maybe even a bit older. They are somewhat realistic and somewhat cartoony - a perfect mix for kids. Most of the graphics are pictures of other kids (a pretty diverse bunch at that). It would have been nice to see a few illustrations of the Bible stories along the way as well. The length of the devotionals is just about perfect, especially when you consider the time it will take the kids to read the Scripture passage as well.
**The Translation: I didn't have any real experience with NIrV (New International Reader's Version), but it seems to be pretty close to the NIV (accurate translation) and easy to understand for kids.
Got It! Section: At the end of some of the books is a Got It! Section that highlights an important theme in the book such as staying away from the occult, trusting in God when life doesn't make sense, and repentance. It's a good way to cement in some crucial theology in a quick, concise way.
**Real Life Stuff: Some of the devotionals deal with some hard-hitting stuff such as abuse in the family, evil in the world, evangelism and persecution. It's presented in an age-appropriate way and seems like and effective way for kids to start thinking seriously about the role of God in their lives. It also gives comfort and advice in hard to manage situations.
**Cool Bible Tools: Of course, after our latest unit, I'm a pretty big sucker for Cool Bible Tools and this Bible has plenty of them! They include: the Dictionary, Subject Guide (with page references to corresponding devotionals), and a place to take notes at the end. Kids seem to love those Bible maps, so it would have been nice to see a few of those thrown in, but its certainly not worth complaining about.
All in all, a great buy and a two-thumbs up recommendation for the elementary age!
Check out more Bible reviews on my Growing Kids Ministry blog.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIrV Kid's Devotional Bible, Updated & Expanded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
gee gee
Location:LOS ANGELES
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Church kids love the bible we bought from christianbook.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIrV Kid's Devotional Bible, Updated & Expanded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
SukiFer
Location:Griswold, CT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy enough for a first grader to read - with some help - and visually attractive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIrV Kid's Devotional Bible, Updated & Expanded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nancy Wofford
Location:Florence, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these for our children's pastor to give to kids without bibles. She requested a study bible and seemed very delighted with these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIrV Kid's Devotional Bible, Updated & Expanded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Kid's Bible

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wades Daddy
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, my son loves it. He was very excited and reads it with me every night before bed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIrV Kid's Devotional Bible, Updated & Expanded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamel Furman
I absolutely love this product. It helps my daughter who is age seven now have a since of ownership with her bible. She understands now what a devotional is now and looks forward to daily reflections. She even reminds me sometimes did I take time out to hear from God and read my devotional! Which is absolutely allowed we must keep each other accountable. Mrs. Furman/Middletown
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIrV Kid's Devotional Bible, Updated & Expanded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Georgia Seabolt
I just wish the type was a little larger. As a teacher my eyes are not at good as the children . Other wise the Bible is great.Georgia
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIrV Kid's Devotional Bible, Updated & Expanded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Crystal May
When our 6 year old daughter outgrew her bible, we chose this one as a replacement. She is so proud. We added the Kids Tabs and she now follows along during church services and has showed her "grown up" bible to everyone in church. She also decided to join the decipleship class. This really opened her world, it's the full BIBLE on her level. We're very blessed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIrV Kid's Devotional Bible, Updated & Expanded Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Helen
This is an excellent Bible for children and preteens! They can read it and understand it all by themselves, allowing them to take on the responsibility for their own daily quiet time and relationship with God. This Bible helped my children transition from "Mom-controlled" Bible reading to "Kid-controlled" Bible reading, which is a critical transition in their spiritual life. My teens now have ownership of their relationship with God, and this Bible helped them make that change. Although this Bible was written for younger children, my 13 & 14 year olds still use to help them understand some difficult portions of Scripture. Thanks for a GREAT product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.