Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Torn Veil Books Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Torn Veil Books Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1

TeamWork director Sam Lewis and volunteer Lexa Clarke are on summer assignment building homes in the flooded areas of San Antonio.

During their weeks together in the TeamWork camp, Sam and Lexa learn the power of forgiveness and healing. Enduring a chain of incidents which challenge their faith, trust and growing relationship, they look to the Lord for guidance as together they discover a love greater than either could ever imagine. At the end of the eight-week work camp, Sam is committed to a year-long, dangerous overseas mission for TeamWork. Can Lexa trust the Lord enough to let him go? Will Sam safely return and keep his promise to meet her at the Alamo?

Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Review 1 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Spunky Adventure

Date:August 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andrea Cox
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spunky adventure.
That’s the only way I know how to sum up JoAnn Durgin’s Awakening. Her witty sense of humor shines in the banter between Sam Lewis and Lexa Clarke, two characters I know you’ll love getting to know. This book is a refreshing read that will have you believing TeamWork is a real organization . . . and you’ll want to join their next mission!
Lexa Clarke may be running from her past, but it might just catch up to her while she’s helping as a volunteer for a two-month summer mission with TeamWork. As she assists in rebuilding houses destroyed by flooding in San Antonio, trouble seems to follow her around in all shapes and sizes. Sam Lewis quickly realizes he’s got to keep his eye on Miss Lexa Clarke if he’s to keep trouble from interrupting his work as director of this TeamWork mission. Watching the petite woman with the long blonde braid proves to be a challenge worth accepting, even if it means facing his own haunting past. Will Sam and Lexa let the problems they’ve never dealt with drive a wedge between them as they discover a passion for serving the Lord in new ways? What will become of the TeamWork group when trouble turns combustible?
Sam tells Lexa in chapter two, “I’m saying He [God] allowed it to happen. He has His reasons. It’s up to us to try and figure out what He’s trying to tell us.” It’s neat to see how Sam’s and Lexa’s differing levels of faith play such huge roles in their lives during their work with TeamWork and in the other parts of their lives, as well. Each character has their own trials to face, and they depend on their faith in God in such unique ways that it really does inspire the reader to take a good look at their own faith life and reconsider where they are with God. Are we following His will for our lives? Are we making a positive difference in the world around us? Is there something more we can do to better serve the God who loves us so completely? Is there something from our past that we need to face in order to be a vessel God can use to spread His message?
Awakening is a book worth reading for its sense of adventure, plot twists, witty humor and a glimpse at what it means to live what you believe. It’s the first in JoAnn Durgin’s The Lewis Legacy Series. I’m eager to add to my collection, and I have a feeling you will be too, after reading this first adventure. JoAnn sure has a knack for storytelling, and her pacing is spot-on. Just when I thought everything was wrapped up, she brought back yet one more loose end . . . and another one . . . and left me wanting to read the second book in the series to find out what adventure the TeamWork crew will find themselves in on their next mission.
Thank you, JoAnn, for sending me a complimentary copy of Awakening for my honest review. I enjoyed it immensely and hope those reading this will also find a little adventure when they pick up their copy of Awakening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joann Durgin has written a wonderful contemporary Christian romance set in Texas. Sam Lewis is the director of TeamWork, a missions-based operation that is rebuilding some homes lost in a recent flood out in the middle of nowhere in Texas. His heart is to be in full-time missions work, but right now he still owns a financial consulting business in Houston that he works at full-time with time off for his mission work. He is close to his family, caring, smart, funny, handsome and completely dedicated to God. He isn’t looking for a relationship, but soon discovers he can’t stop thinking about Lexa. After getting to know her a little better, he realizes during one of their conversations that one thing he wants that will make him happy is to make her happy. What a guy!
Lexa Clarke also is in the financial industry, but takes 8 weeks off to work with Team Work at Sam’s mission. She longs to be closer to God and thinks that by helping others she might be able to accomplish this. At first, she keeps to herself, but gradually allows herself to be drawn out of her protective shell. Her mother died when she was a young girl and her father was very distance. He, too, is now dead and Lexa is alone in the world. However, when she meets Sam, he brings out her sassiness, humor, dedication, and prods her newly awakened faith along the way. Lexa doesn’t think a relationship could ever work between her and Sam as she isn’t a good enough Christian. Sam lets her know she couldn’t be more mistaken in how he views her. Their fledgling relationship certainly comes across several bumps in the road. Can it survive once the 8-week camp is over? Can a man this good be for real? Can a love that happens so quickly and completely be one that lasts?
I really liked the two main characters a lot. Their personalities and emotions were portrayed so the reader could really identify with what they were feeling. The interaction and chemistry between Sam and Lexa was palpable and the witty repartee made me smile and laugh out loud sometimes. The chapters are short, which keeps the story moving right along. Again, great dialogue and character development make this a story not to be missed. This is a good summer read for relaxing poolside!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart Warming Love Story

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angel
Location:Trenton KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like a book full of romance,adventure and suspense,than this a must read for you. My favorite parts were the romance between Sam and Lexa. It is a real page turner. It kept me up last into the night and early into the morning reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely - captivating, charming, realistic,funny, romantic and ... everything!!!
Honestly I liked it so much that I am at loss with words, I feel like retelling each episode and tell you how it affected me (like i did to my poor husband) but I don't want to spoil it for you.
Well here it is- the book is long (which you are NOT going to notice after you start reading) and it is so "sinfully" interesting and captivating and emotion involving that if you start reading it, it will take all your sleep away, so if you are planing on getting it to just read a few minutes before sleep - don't fool yourself, after the first chapter you won't be able to put it down much less sleep! So, just get some strong coffee and brace yourself for an adventure.
I really liked their banter on the lines and the advises in between the lines. Here is Lexa that hasn't trusted no one much less God since she was eight-years-old, but the is hungry to find a way to make a difference in peoples lives (which we should be for God to be able to use us in the best way possible)... and here is Sam who was christian all his life but because of it became too judgmental and almost interrupted God's plan to use Lexa in Howard's and Shelly's lives as well as in bringing healing to Sam himself. We, life-long believers sometimes try too hard to prove our hunger to save non-Christians that we push them the opposite way without realizing it. This book is not just a great love story but also an awesome example of how new believers can teach us more then we teach them.
I am going to say again that this book is awesome and totally hit my Fave-list. I recommend it to all - please read it, enjoy it, and believe it because it is based on a true love story..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Delightful Read!

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
*All smiles* What a book! Lexa’s adventure with Sam starts in the first few chapters and DOES NOT let up until the last page!! Their car gets a flat tire right when they meet, Lexa has a couple coughing fits in the Texas heat/dust, she tosses a wrench to Sam while assisting him with the flat tire and the wrench accidentally slips and hits Sam in the leg, and Lexa is still in the car when she gets spit on by a goat! I simply loved it :) What do these characters think of one another at first? Lexa becomes Texas sized trouble in Sam’s mind. Sam is an inquisitive but distractingly handsome giant in Lexa’s mind.
I had to put the story away for a few days because I got busy with other things and it still managed to pull me in with nonstop enjoyment! There is nothing inappropriate about the book, the romance is pure and sweet throughout, and it was dynamite for me to read how Lexa transforms from cynical believer to full-fledged trusting in Christ. Some of the issues in this story are sex addiction, betrayal, true leadership, abuse, friendship, grieving for the death of a loved one, forgiveness, redemption and trust. These issues are illustrated with a variety of wonderful characters that I grew to love, there’s nothing graphic in the story. There’s lots of actions, unexpected twists (I was literally stunned more than once with revelations), and both Lexa and Sam are lovely characters who strive to honor God and support each other. There was only one scene where they get carried away with affection, but nothing happens and they prove that even heroes have flaws but that doesn’t make them less heroic.
I believe that Durgin has brilliantly created a story that will romance her readers, make you laugh, touch your heart, and make clear that in all situations we must trust God. I was genuinely impressed how Durgin mixes romance and faith with authentic characters without sugarcoating anything. I praise God for feisty heroines like Lexa, it was a pleasure reading her journey.
This is Durgin’s prayer stated before the first page: “The Lord is truly my Partner. He has paved the way and opened the doors of His choosing in this fascinating journey. It never ceases to amaze me the miraculous way in which He works in all things to accomplish His perfect will. May you each receive a unique blessing as you read this book. As Hebrews 12:1 tells us, we should run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes upon Jesus, the Author and Perfecter of our faith.” Your prayer came true, JoAnn, I received a unique blessing while reading this book. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful love story!

Date:March 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Emilee
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I loved reading this book! I could totally relate to the characters. I loved the setting, I felt like I was sitting right there around the camp fire and and could picture the dorms. Reading "Awakening" makes me want to visit San Antonio. The best part of the book is the love story between Sam and Lexa. Sam is strong in his faith where as Lexa struggles but throughout the book Lexa renews her relationship with the Lord. I am looking forward to reading all of Durgin's books! I would encourage anyone to read it. It would be great for a book club!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awakening -a memorable romance

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
LKGreer
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awakening is the first in a trilogy that introduces the reader to the TeamWork mission and its memorable characters. I typically read non-fiction, but I found myself drawn in right away to an interesting plot and characters that are vivid and personable-characters who are real, and like someone you’d want to be friends with. I most enjoy reading fiction when it feels like a movie playing in my head, and the author accomplishes that through her writing style. This is a book I would definitely recommend for someone looking for a fiction that has a bit of drama, mixed with romance, a great message and a satisfying ending that will leave you ordering book two!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Out-of-the-Box Romance

Date:August 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It’s 1997, and Lexa Clarke has decided to take the summer off her job as a financial planner to sign up for TeamWorks, a mission rebuilding houses ruined by a flood in Texas. Lexa’s spiritual life has been on hold for years. She’s seeking, but not very hard. She’s here for the humanitarian element.
Sam Lewis is the director of TeamWorks. It’s definitely not in his plan to fall for his newest volunteer almost as soon as he picks her up in San Antonio, but she’s so feisty and funny. A flat tire proves she doesn’t have a clue which tool is which, and Sam begins to wonder how she’ll manage on the work site.
Lexa’s spunk and resistance to leadership cause problems, even as she, in turn, is falling hard for Sam. But when Sam blatantly says he sees his future wife to be a strong Christian, matching him in spirituality, Lexa’s temper flares and she stalks off into an unsavory part of town. At night. And really hates to admit she needs rescuing.
Awakening is a unique novel in that it’s loosely based on the author’s own romance with her husband. The TeamWorks mission provides an interesting backdrop to this tale of two people struggling to align themselves with God first and foremost, and learning to deal with pride and selfishness while also finding love.
If you enjoy romance out-of-the-box, give this one a try!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awakening is one fantastic read!

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sissy Basset Hound Mom
Location:Jonesboro, Louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awakening is the first published book of JoAnn Durgin, but it reads like she has been well published for years! The characters and plot are so well written, you don't want to put the book down from the very first paragraph. Sam and Lexa do a lot of growing, maturing and learning about God, His perfect will, as well as life. The mystery theme woven into the story line just adds an extra special touch. Awakening is so true to life, it could be believed as a nonfiction book. JoAnn Durgin really used her God given talent to glorify Him and to bless all who read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awakening - A Romance With Many Twists!

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoAnn Durgin’s first published novel was a delight to read. This is a wonderful love story between TeamWork Missions director Sam Lewis and Lexa Clarke a TeamWork Missions volunteer. Lexa has signed up for 8 weeks of mission work in San Antonio, Texas. Little does she know what she is in for. Her desire is to put some meaning into her life by helping out others. She feels something is missing in her life but doesn’t quite know what she is searching for. There are times when she wonders what she is doing in a place like this and feels out of place. Everyone on the team seems to be strong Christians. She hasn’t been close to God in ages.
This book is full of twists and surprises. I loved the fact that the author’s focus is centered on God and trust. Lexa manages to get herself in hot water many times throughout this book. As she learns to turn her life over to God she finds that she is truly a witness for Him and no longer feels she has nothing to contribute to TeamWork. God uses her in a mighty way.
Of course you can’t help but want to see Sam and Lexa together. They butt heads a lot. Just maybe a relationship between the two of them isn’t God’s will in their life. Will they go their separate ways for good or will they end up together? My lips are sealed!
I must not forget the emotional ride of this book. There is of course the romance that is a great adventure in itself. I laughed, I worried, I cried, and I was cheering for Sam and Lexa right up to the end. It is one of those reads you can’t put down.
This was a thought provoking book for me. Oh I loved the romance part but I loved how God shows His hand in the lives of the characters. I reflected on my own life. I asked myself several questions. Am I seeking God’s will for my life or am I trying to be in control? Am I the person God intended for me to be? Would I be willing to go to a mission field if God was calling me to go?
I highly recommend this book. I can’t wait to read book two of The Lewis Legacy Series, “Second Time Around.” Thanks to the author for a wonderful read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Witty & fun!

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emily
Location:Sanford ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sam and Lexa’s story was a really fun, witty read that was a bit more “out of the box” in its handling of the romance between the hero and heroine. The story focused more on the growing relationship of the couple as a couple—rather than many romances where the hero and heroine tend to resist falling for each other until the end.
In Awakening, the author drew out Sam and Lexa’s relationship earlier in the story so the characters were a “couple” sooner and thereby had to face many “life issues” together, including the realistic temptations every couple faces. If I had a teen daughter, I’d want her to read a story like this, one that isn’t preachy but still shows the importance of purity in the midst of passion.
A well-done story, full of peppy conversation, a bit of mystery, and excellently drawn characters, including the minor characters. Looking forward to reading more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anastasias
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Awakening was absolutely fabulous, and I highly recommend it. I've read a lot of Christian novels over the last several years, and I would definitely say this is one of my favorites. I tend to read historical romance novels because I haven't found a contemporary romance novel I really liked. JoAnn did an incredible job of changing my mind on contemporary fiction! I couldn't put the book down, and I can't wait to read Second Time Around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read!

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Penny Zeller Author
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I had to do was read the blurb for "Awakening" to know that it was going in my must-read pile. I finished this book rather quickly, as I was unable to put it down. The plot is fantastic, the characters memorable, and the scenarios realistic. I could easily see why this has become one of the most popular books in contemporary Christian fiction.
JoAnn Durgin takes the reader inside the thoughts, emotions, and lives of Lexa Clarke and Sam Lewis in a way that made me care about the characters and the struggles they faced. She added doses of humor at just the right time, and I loved how she did a play on the last names of Lewis and Clarke.
Just when I thought I knew what was going to happen next, the book took another twist and turn, which made "Awakening" an enjoyable read and anything but predictable.
I can't say enough good things about this book, and I highly recommend readers to pick it up and savor the well-written words found on each page. I am eagerly looking forward to JoAnn Durgin's next book, "Second Time Around."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I highly recommend this book to readers

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:Louisville KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started reading this book. I thought this would be one of those books I would read a little here and there and maybe in a month I would finish it. Well I was so wrong. Once I started reading this book, I couldn’t stop. I quickly got caught up in the adventures of Sam Lewis and Lexa Clarke and finished it in less than a week. I found myself reading until the wee hours of the morning. It was one of those books I couldn’t put down. This book has romance, humor and intrigue. The author does an excellent job of capturing your attention and keeping it throughout the book. I fell in-love with the characters. It's a great book. I purchased another copy (because I couldn't bare to part with mine) and gave to a friend. I’m anxiously awaiting the author’s next book that is to be released next month.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GEAR UP FOR AN EXPEDITION.

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dora
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Featuring feisty Lexa Clarke and once-burned Sam Lewis, Ms. Durgin takes you on an incredible expedition of love and healing in AWAKENING.
Assigned to a TeamWork Missions summer project in San Antonio, Lexa overcomes emotional barriers from her past while Sam wrestles with forgiveness issues. Ms. Durgin loads the book with humor, ramped up sexual tension, action, and sweet romance. I found the characters to be true to life, charming and witty, with real and emotional struggles, taking a turn rather unexpected at times. Ms. Durgin doesn’t come across as preachy; rather, she gently weaves Christian themes throughout the course of Sam and Lexa’s journey.
Set aside a few hours to read AWAKENING because once you get started, you won’t want to stop. What a great read by this debut author. She’s now on my must-read list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Paula Thomas
Location:Pennsaylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not able to put the book down. It is so true to life. Lexa and Sam's struggles are so real. The struggles between this couple leaves them with an everlasting love. They never gave up on each other. Therefore leaving them with such a deep commitment and love for each other and God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ahhh...so romantic!

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
Location:Okmulgee, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The last thing Lexa Clarke expects when she signs up for a TeamWork mission project is to fall in love. But she hadn’t counted on the TeamWork director, Sam Lewis, being such a handsome, hard-headed, sexy, frustrating, magnetic, loveable cowboy!
I won’t reiterate the entire storyline, as the back cover text lays it out quite well. What I will say is that Awakening is an absolute treat to read. The dynamics between Lexa and Sam are delicious—and relentless. The author knows how to paint attraction and sensuality into a relationship without crossing the line into “graphic” content. Sexual attraction is an undeniable part of any romance, and pretending it doesn’t exist makes a storyline stale and unbelievable. Kudos to Durgin for handling this situation with grace, finesse and unapologetic realism.
Snappy dialogue and vibrant characters keep the pages turning. A thread of suspense and a snippet of mystery perches the reader on the edge of her seat. Beautifully woven into the mix, a strong gospel message speaks to the heart and feeds the soul.
I highly recommend Awakening and look forward to other works by JoAnn Durgin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Review of Awakening

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joanne Troppello
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lexa Clarke has a deep desire to make a difference in the world so she signs up for an eight week summer assignment with TeamWork Missions. Originally when she signed up, she hoped to venture off into another country but she gets assigned to serve on a team rebuilding homes destroyed by a flood, in San Antonio, TX. She is seeking the Lord and experiences many interesting events and meets friendly, Christian people at this mission. Lexa did not go to this summer mission looking for love, but God had other plans—will she give her heart to the handsome cowboy, Sam Lewis and turn back to the Lord…
When I first started reading Awakening, it threw me for a loop—but in a good way. Let me just say that I had recently finished reviewing a string of romance books, all great, but so unlike Ms. Durgin’s romance. From the first chapter, I knew something was different about Lexa’s story. As I read, it took me some time to put my finger on what that difference was. Then I figured it out.
Just a quick note—everything about Awakening was great, but the problem was me getting out of my comfort zone and reading a romance novel that was not the norm.
In this instance, not the norm is good. Ms. Durgin has succeeded in writing a romance novel that stands out among the crowd and breathes new life into the genre of romance. Sure, boy meets girl, they have issues and you probably can guess the ending, but this novel reads like a real life drama. This true to life relationship that Lexa and Sam develop shows real characters with emotional outbursts, believable dialogue, and fiery romantic chemistry.
There’s something for everyone in Awakening—romance, drama, interesting plot, dynamic character relations, strong faith-filled foundations, and some suspense woven into the end of the story.
Ms. Durgin’s debut novel certainly makes a great splash in the voluminous sea of the current romance market. Lexa and Sam’s characters made a deep impact on me and I related very well to their fiery and loving, budding relationship. I like the cover with the yellow rose. This flower plays a role in their relationship and it’s great that the characters were not part of the cover art. There was no need. Ms. Durgin successfully described the characters and painted such a wonderful picture in the reader’s mind of what the characters looked like and brought you right into every scene.
I look forward to reading Ms. Durgin’s next novel. Awakening is definitely a keeper on my bookshelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a great summer read!!

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to be honest, I usually don’t read romance novels, but this one was fabulous! I read it in one day… which never happens! I love the captivating characters of Lexa and Sam as well as the humor throughout the book. However my favorite parts were the unexpected events/situations in the book. So many times, I would be reading and suddenly think, “Whoa, I did not see that coming!” This made “Awakening” so much more intriguing than the previous romance novels I have read. It is also deals with many issues that so many of us face today: love, hurt, and forgiveness that are seamlessly entwined in the story. The story is elegantly written and I cannot wait for her next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Awakening, The Lewis Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WAKE UP TO A GREAT NEW AUTHOR!!!

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie Lessman
Location:St. Louis
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally! A contemporary romance that not only takes the pulse of love in the 21st century--it races it! Kudos to JoAnn Durgin for her debut novel, Awakening, which confronts real problems encountered by real Christians -- such as letting go of a painful past, forgiveness and even sexual pressures and spousal abuse -- countering them with a message of hope and faith that is so vital for Christians today.
Quite frankly, it's hard to believe this is a debut novel because Ms. Durgin has penned a compelling story with flesh-and-blood characters so real, they could live next door and a page-turning plot where the pages fly. Which is a good thing since you'll need a bit of breeze to cool you off when love "awakens" between Sam and Lexa, hooking you in with a tender love story that will make your heart sing. Can't wait for the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.