Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press River's Call, Inn at Shining Waters Series #2

Abingdon Press River's Call, Inn at Shining Waters Series #2

Anna Larson's daughter, Lauren, is confused, brokenhearted, and misguided. It's the turbulent 1960s and feeling alienated from her mother, Lauren chooses to stay with her paternal grandmother. However, repelled by the woman's manipulative and spiteful ways, Lauren returns to her mother, the river, and the Inn at Shining Waters.

There, Lauren begins to appreciate the person her mother is becoming - and she loves the river. However, her mother's romantic interest throws a wrench into the works and Lauren, jealous and angry, returns to her grandmother yet again.

But as time passes, and Lauren, now a mother to her own defiant teenager, faces a new crisis, one that puts the entire family at risk.

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for River's Call, Inn at Shining Waters Series #2
Review 1 for River's Call, Inn at Shining Waters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

makes you be right there with the characters

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
donelca
Location:Torrance, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anne remains steady amidst a family of varying strenghts and attitudes. Melody, as usual, characterizes women in stressful, family situations, like no one else. This sometimes frustrates the reader, who sees avenues of escape, only to find the author finds the exit from the maze.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for River's Call, Inn at Shining Waters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Anxiously awaiting Book 3 in this series!!

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been waiting to get my hands on this book and was so excited to be able to review it. After reading the first book in this series, River’s Song, I was hooked!
In these books, Melody transports readers to a time when some things were simpler. But the conflict and the characters are complex and draw the reader into a plot full of ups and downs. What I love about these books is that even though there are multiple characters and twists in the storyline, it’s no work to keep up with!
I lose myself in these books and feel like I am right there on the river, watching as the story plays out. River’s Call continues where the first book left off, and we meet up again with Anna Larson who is a newlywed. She and her husband Clark, are finishing up the cabins along the river and preparing to open for business. Anna’s daughter, Lauren is the one with most of the conflict in this story and just when Anna feels that her life is settling down and she’s finally ”home” where she belongs, she faces an overwhelming crisis that she never imagined she’d be dealing with.
Having dealt with her own conflicts with her mother, Anna now experiences tension in her relationship with her daughter and sees history repeating itself in many ways. This is a wonderful story and I could have easily finished it all in one sitting!
Unlike the first book though, this one leaves readers hanging – there’s no bonus chapter to clue us in on what happens next. Aggggh! The waiting and anticipation starts all over again, for book three!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for River's Call, Inn at Shining Waters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding Peace and Healing in this story!

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Shining Waters Inn offers its guests a place to relax, and find peace and healing beside the Siuslaw River. Now that it's gaining more popularity, Anna Larson is staying busier than ever before. Now that she and Clark are working full-time at expanding the Inn's lodging by building more cabins, she isn't prepared for the news that arrives during one late phone call from her daughter Lauren. She is sick and physically exhausted and needs her mom. When Anna sends for her daughter and offers her time to be cared for at the Inn, Lauren gratefully accepts.
However what was thought to be a severe case of the flu, turns out to be worse than anyone expected. Lauren's pregnant and the father, Donald Thomas has no idea. Now all Lauren can think of is how her college life is going to be ruined by her baby and considers abortion. Anna cringes at the thought but realizes she can only support her daughter, she can't make her do anything even if that goes against anything she believes.
Worse yet, when Donald does find out, he is already seeing another girl and doesn't know what to do. When Lauren's grandmother, Eunice finds out however, she figures she can manipulate everything so Lauren gets her way, marriage and happily ever after. But life doesn't always offer a happily ever after ending as soon everyone will find out as the river calls all of them back.
Melody Carlson once again has created a beautiful story of what forgiveness means through her second novel in the Inn at the Shining Waters series, River's Call. Even though it can be read alone, you will want to understand the story about Anna and Eunice which is revealed in more detail in the first book, River's Song. I received this book compliments of Glass Roads Public Relations for my honest review and wish there was really a Shining Waters Inn because this story is amazing. The healing and peace that just being at the Inn offers is such a wonderful way to draw the reader into the story of Lauren and the difficult relationship between her and Anna. I love the Native American references that appear all throughout the book as Anna's heritage is explored more in this book. I would easily rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and look forward to the next one, River's End due out soon!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for River's Call, Inn at Shining Waters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Continuing Journey

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just closed the last page to, "River's Call" by Melody Carlson. I was captivated by this book. I was blessed to read the first book in the series, "The Inn At Shining Waters", entitled, "River's Song".
In this newest addition we find ourselves in the 1960s. I had to continue to remind myself of the time period. Things were so different then. I loved the relationship trials and blessings of mother-daughter, daughter-grandmother and grandmother-daughter in law. Generations of women struggling. There is something that hasn't changed in time.
Anna has to the sweetest of all characters I have ever read about. Her first husband has died and she still battles and allows her mother in law into her life and her daughter's life. I wanted to scream at her and say, "Why don't you just tell her to leave?" But she still feels connected to this woman. She isn't one to give up on anyone and after reading more of the story I found that to be a wonderful character trait.
I love the connection she has with her new mother in law. One that I sadly miss. Anna is devoted to her husband and seems to have it all together even though battles are going on around her. That kind of peace can only come from God.
While reading this book it opens our eyes up to the trials between mothers and daughters. The battles, the blessings, and all that reap from our choices. Choices that seem to touch all generations. This book is filled with grace and forgiveness.
You feel a calmness come over you as you have this great portrait of a river inn who welcomes all with grace and hospitality. A perfect picture of the love of Christ.
This was a lovely read to a time passed, but a message that is timeless.
This book was a gift from Glass Road Publications for it's review. This book is published by Abingdon Press.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for River's Call, Inn at Shining Waters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Teen Pregnancies in the 60's

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a big fan of Melody Carlson , I have loved all her books and the majority of them are all set in today's time so it was interesting to read a book she had written that was set in the late 50's/ early 60's. As usual though , as most of us know Melody Carlson is infamous for writing Edgy Christian fiction and in River's Call she has written about a young college girl who gets pregnant. What should have been the happiest time for Anna and her new husband Clark , after getting back from their honeymoon and starting their new business running the River Inn turned out to be one of the hardest times that they will have to deal with as a new family. Anna recieves a phone call from her daughter Lauren asking her to pick her up as she has been sick , vomiting etc. Anna thinking that it's just a nasty bug agrees and Lauren returns home but as the days pass and Lauren still isn't well. Anna starts to notice Lauren's behaviours and realises that her teenage daughter is pregnant. Anna must deal now with the fact that she has a teenage daughter that is pregnant whilst trying to keep up with her christian values , what will her friends think , what will the church think ? Lauren wants to get an abortion but Anna believes abortions are illegal and wrong , she believes that Lauren should marry Donald - the father of the baby ? What should Lauren do ? Read as we journey through the next nine months with Lauren and Anna through their up's and downs.
River's Call was an interesting read as it shines a light into what that day and age was like for those young unmarried mothers or teens that were pregnant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for River's Call, Inn at Shining Waters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sound second book in series

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Millstreetreader
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book One, River's Song, in Melody Carlson’s Inn at the Shining Waters series ended as Anna juggled not only a new business as innkeeper, but a new marriage. The only unsettled area of her life was her relationship with teenager daughter Lauren. Book two, River’s Call starts months later as Anna settles into her life on the river and Lauren begins her first semester at college. Battling an unknown, recurring illness, Lauren reaches out to her mother and comes to the inn for a few days R&R. It will surprise no reader that Lauren is not really sick, but is pregnant. Anna’s domineering, former-mother-in-law will re-enter the story as she swoops into “solve” the problem. The three women (and soon to be four) representing different beliefs and different generations will struggle across the 1960s and the 1970s. The title River’s Call hints at the peace that life on the river can provide, and for the most part Anna is able to achieve that. She re-embraces her Native American heritage and grows in her Christian faith. Her marriage is solid and loving, but you will need to read the novel to see how she copes with her adult daughter and new granddaughter.
The book covers over fifteen years and yet it is not a lengthy novel, therefore there were gaps in time within the story that I felt would be unrealistic for a family living just a few hours apart. I guess that is part of fiction, especially series fiction, that I find lacking. I did feel that Lauren’s grandmother (Anna’s ex-mother-in-law) was the most interesting character within this novel, and I accepted her changes as the story progressed. I would recommend reading both books in close succession since the stories are so closely tied and the books are not long.
I received an advanced reader’s copy of this title for review purposes. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for River's Call, Inn at Shining Waters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great novel of mother daughter relationships

Date:January 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
River's Call is the second in The Inn at Shining Waters series. Clark and Anna are now married and running the inn on the Siuslaw River. Lauren is off at college.
Anna receives a desperate call from Lauren. She is very ill and Anna makes arrangements for her to come to the Inn to recuperate. It becomes apparent that Lauren has morning sickness. Lauren is pregnant.
Eunice, mother of Anna's deceased first husband is a manipulating woman. She insists Lauren marry the boy, Donald, and live with her. Eunice and Donald's mother make it happen. Eunice is wealthy and can provide for all the needs of Lauren and her family.
When Sarah is born, Lauren does not do well. Anna invites her and the baby to come to the river inn for a while. While there is some bonding, Anna is disgusted with Lauren's behavior and the two part with strong words.
Over the years, Anna tries to remake the connection with Lauren. But Lauren remains aloof. Sarah does come to the inn for summers and Anna forges a strong relationship with her granddaughter.
In the turmoil of her life, Lauren turns to alcohol and prescription drugs.
This novel is a good study on character and forgiveness. Anna, Eunice, Lauren and Sarah are all women with strong feelings and with lots of hurts. How they manage to work through the pains and the misunderstandings is a strong theme in this book.
There are other interesting aspects of the novel as well. The era is the 60s and the Inn has no TVs. Some guests are at a loss, not being able to see the cruelty of the Viet Nam war on a nightly basis.
But others find healing by the quiet river. When Lauren is at her lowest, she senses the river calling her. She responds to the river's call and finds her own healing.
Another major theme is the mother daughter relationship, first between Anna and Lauren and then between Lauren and Sarah. The 60s and 70s were turbulent times for families and Carlson does a great job recreating that in this novel.
We also learn more about Anna's native American heritage, an added plus.
My only criticism of this book is one I often have with sequels. While it is not absolutely necessary to read the first in the series, doing so would certainly help readers understand the complex relationships in the novel, especially between Eunice and Anna. A one page synopsis of book one, at the very beginning of the book, would be helpful. Unfortunately, I rarely see this in sequels and it is missing in this one.
And we know there will be another in the series. Sarah is missing, apparently run off at age sixteen. I trust we'll hear her story in the next book.
I received an egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for River's Call, Inn at Shining Waters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mothers and Daughters

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a mother, there are never moments when I don’t worry about my children. Are they making good choices? Are they prepared for the life they have to lead? I’ve never met a parent that wasn’t concerned or at least unsettled about the decisions their children make and the paths their children walk along. At some point, though every child becomes responsible for their own lives. To put it as Grandma Pearl did, they have to paddle their own canoe. And sometimes, as a mom or dad, all you can do is watch and pray.
This story is the second in a series called “The Inn at Shining Waters” and Melody Carlson effortlessly puts words on a page that carry the reader through the crises of several generations. As she writes of mothers and daughters and the ways in which their lives weave together and then fray, only to ravel together more completely, you feel the weight of the worries, the joy of the reconciliations, and you recognize the tumults and triumphs that often characterize your own relationships.
This is a tale of forgiveness and healing, and it holds the story of women who have a tradition of being strong enough when it counts. I heartily recommend the series. Read the adventures of the women of the river, and hear the way the waves echo in your own heart.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for River's Call, Inn at Shining Waters Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A solid second installment

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melody Carlson invites us to return to the banks of the Siuslaw River in this second installment of the Inn at Shining Waters series. Anna Larson is enjoying running her Inn together with her new husband, Clark. However, when her daughter Lauren phones her to report that she is sick, the discovery of what is truly going on changes everything for the family. Anna tries to support her as best as possible while dealing with old undercurrents of bitterness from Lauren's grandmother. River's Call follows the journey of the family as they grow older and Lauren starts a family of her own, until Lauren hits rock bottom and returns to the River to determine whether her shattered life can be pieced back together.
I enjoyed this second novel in the series, much as I did the first one, River's Song. Anna is a truly likeable character who continues to grow as she is confronted with new circumstances. Her Native American heritage adds a deeper flavor to the story as Anna is confronted by prejudices but is still able to celebrate her family's origins and what they have to teach her and others. The time period that the story is written in, that of the 1960's and 1970's, is a fascinating one to read about, especially as viewed through Anna and Clark's eyes. For instance, it was quite interesting to see their reaction to the use of television becoming more common., when the idea of watching violent news shows on television was considered to be "grotesque"! River's Call is written in an easy to read manner, and upholds faith in God as well as going back to nature and being silent and still, and finding God therein.
I highly recommend this book and give it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
This review is based on an electronic copy provided by the publisher via Netgalley for the purpose of completing this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.