Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Honor Redeemed, First Responders Series #2

Abingdon Press Honor Redeemed, First Responders Series #2

Highly skilled Search and Rescue (SAR) team leader, Honor Mackenzie, works almost as hard at guarding the dark secrets of her past as she does when training SAR dogs. As for widowed Sun reporter Matt Phillips, not even his former SAR work is as important as protecting his ten-year-old twin boys.

When a jumbo jet crashes outside Baltimore one cold night, their respective jobs put them face-to-face at the grisly scene--and force Matt and Honor to reconsider the difficult decisions that resulted in their long-standing "single forever" status.

Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
6 out of 967%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Honor Redeemed, First Responders Series #2
Review 1 for Honor Redeemed, First Responders Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

SAR story

Date:December 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I looked forward to reading this novel as I have read others about SAR teams but did not read the first one in this series; and with that scenario it is not always easy to pick up on the storyline as it carries over. This storyline was basically interesting and could have been very moving. The characters do much introspection and soul-searching as they strive to reconcile their feelings, their pasts, and their doubts. The two main characters are strongly presented and compelling. The young reporter (former SAR worker), widower was very powerful as a father of twin boys as he balanced work and the care of his children. His struggle with relationships and their impact on his boys was very realistic.
However, the timeline and flow were confusing at times and I felt that in several places things just did not continue in a smooth fashion that allowed you to move forward eagerly to get to the next high point. You were left during those places wondering what just happened?? The end of the novel seemed almost contrived to get you to buy the next novel! Hopefully, that one will fulfill the emotional needs of these characters and the needs of the reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Honor Redeemed, First Responders Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Into, out of, and into tension and heartache

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book Two in the First Responders Series, Honor Redeemed by Loree Lough, takes up from where Ashes to Honor left off.
Honor lost her fiance to rescue operations after the towers collapsed and hasn't been able to dig herself out of that constant soul-eating grief. Until Matt.
Matt is an investigative reporter, her worst favorite type of person. He has a set of mischievous and delightful ten-year-old twin boys that capture her heart, but Matt doesn't know that. All he knows for sure is Honor seems to be his other half--she knows what is in his mind before he does. She speaks his thoughts and completes his actions. But does she love his sons?
He loves his sons more than anyone or anything other than God. He won't allow them to be hurt by a woman who doesn't love them enough. So he...
But wait--I don't want to tell you too much. You might not get the book if I tell you the end. Let me just say this: I just bought A Man of Honor, the third book in the series, and it is fudging in front of some others on my "to read" pile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Honor Redeemed, First Responders Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

believable characters and plot

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
auntiem
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always appreciate an author and book(s) that take the time to make their characters realistic. This series consistently achieves that goal and makes the read engrossing. As we move farther away from domestic terror incidents like 9/11, these books should provide younger readers the opportunity to experience the confusion, sadness and loss of those terrible times. It also allows others to understand the personal and professional toll for first responders, and to consider a career in that arena. Thank you to the author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Honor Redeemed, First Responders Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great series to get lost in!

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honor Mackenzie has dedicated her life to honoring the sacrifice of her finacee John who died in the search and rescue efforts of 9/11 as a volunteer. Now Honor has taken up a similar task as a SARs trainer. Since she is the best, she is the one that is most likely to be called upon whenever someone goes missing. Today she is at the scene of a jumbo jet accident that has crash landed on a busy highway with subsequent debris falling miles away. Now searching in the national park, she comes across the tail section of the plane along with the wing and survivors still trapped inside. This is where her heart is, finding and rescuing survivors.
Matt Phillips is the roving news reporter that has been called the the scene of the biggest headline, a plane crash and he's there to make sure that he captures all the details and takes the first pictures to make it to the papers before the morning edition. Dressing like a first responder, he hopes to find a rookie member of the rescue team that will allow him to blend in and capture the story, what he didn't hope to find is a face to face meeting with Honor Mackenzie who loathes reporters of all kinds especially one dressed as a search and rescue team member.
Both Honor and Matt are struggling with learning to let go of their pasts and learn to move forward even though the costs might be greater than they had hoped. Both are dealing with the losses of people that they have loved and lost and now just when their are hopes of them falling in love, both of them gain a sense that the risk of losing someone they love again, keeps them at arms lengths apart. When tragedy strikes one of them, will they find a way to put their past behind them and finally admit they are ready to take a second chance at love?
I received Honor Redeemed, book two in the First Responders Series by author Loree Lough compliments of Pump Up Your Book Tours and Abingdon Press for my honest review. Being a huge fan of Loree's since reading her first book in the series From Ashes to Honor, I knew that I would read this one the moment it came to print. Loree's writing style will hook you right from the beginning and genuinely make you love her characters. Designed to showcase the lives of First Responders, this one spotlights the actions of SARs or Search and Rescue responders and shows just how difficult and rewarding their lives can be as well as that of their canine companions. You will not be disappointed to read this one as a stand alone, but trust me, once you do, you'll have to go back and read her first book in the series as well where the story of Mercy and Austin first came to life. They are now supporting characters in this novel. I highly recommend this one to animal lovers, first responder fans and those looking for a great suspense romance and easily award this my highest rating a 5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Honor Redeemed, First Responders Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

lots of emotional drama, little rescue drama

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The second in this series is very much like the first. Honor is involved in Search and Rescue, working with her two dogs. Matt is a past rescue worker, but when his wife died and left him with twin boys to raise, he became a newspaper reporter.
When these two meet, there is attraction on both sides. The novel consists of the struggles the two have over past hurts, trying to come to a point where each can make a commitment to the other.
This is a very character driven novel. Much of the text consists of the characters thinking, trying to convince themselves making a commitment is the right thing to do, pulling back, then being sorry, then thinking of making a commitment, worrying about it...
There is a little more action in this novel than the first in the series as Honor actually does go out on a dangerous rescue. However, the action of the rescue is missing as we go from her arriving on the scene to to her being in need of rescue herself. It is rather odd, though, to have novels about the important people who first respond in times of crisis yet the response work actually not being part of the novel (while it is talked about by some of the characters). Lough is a writer of ruminating thoughts, not of dramatic scenes.
The ending in unsatisfactory. The characters at the end of the novel have not worked through their issues and are no more ready to make a commitment than they were at the beginning. So what is the point of the novel? There's no growth in the characters, no resolving of issues. So why even read it? Why go through a couple of hundred pages of emotional drama and end up right where you started?
Lough writes for emotional drama and sometimes, it seems to me, with unsatisfactory results. One example is at the end of chapter 19. Honor has fallen asleep in the arms of Matt, at Honor's home. He is thinking some serious thoughts about their relationship, about when she wakes up. Thoughts that will have an immediate effect on their relationship. Yet the next chapter begins in a totally different situation. There is no Matt leaving her house, no further action on those serious thoughts Matt was thinking. Granted, reference was make a bit later about his leaving in the morning, but only in reference to his nanny for the boys, not in regard to the relationship between Matt and Honor. I felt Lough had brought the novel to a serious point, and then just moved on to another scene, as if the night before had never happened.
In my mind, an editor needs to go through her writing an point out these areas of heightened emotion which do not move the novel forward but are only for drama.
I received an egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Honor Redeemed, First Responders Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Honor Redeemed

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Honor Mackenzie started working in search and rescue after her fiance, who was a firefighter was killed in the days after 9/11.She also worked as a firefighter, but nasty rumors spread and when a reporter got hold of the story her reputation was ruined causing her to quit the fire department.Now her day job is working in the billing dept for the local hospital, and she volunteers for SAR with her two Golden's Rowdy and Rerun. She also trains SAR dogs and their owners. When she meets Matt Phillips she decides to avoid him because he is a reporter, but as she starts to know him, and learn about his twin sons, she can't help but feel something for him. Matt feels drawn to Honor, but also feels guilt because his wife Faith has only been dead for a little over a year. His life revolves around his ten year old twins Warner and Steve, and while he wonders if there could be a relationship between him and Honor, he has also heard the rumors about her past. Will their friendship turn into something more, or will the past stand in their way?
This book pulled me in immediately. At the loss of her fiance Honor decided to become a First Responder, what a wonderful tribute to pay to someone. As I was drawn into her story,her character became very easy to like, but I couldn't help but wonder what it was that was haunting her from her past. I thought Matt made a great male lead character. Some of his friends called him the Defender because of some of the things he had done. As the story unfolded I couldn't help but become invested in the lives of the characters and wanted to know how things would work out for them, and even though the plot moved along at a pretty brisk pace, the ending felt incomplete.While this book is the second in a series it can be read as a stand alone work, I didn't read the first book and didn't have any problems following this story.
Overall if you enjoy stories with compelling, easy to like characters,a slow building romance, a faith based message,and a fast moving plot that certainly gives us a glimpse of the sacrifices First Responders make then your going to enjoy this story. The ending certainly leaves me anxious to read the next book in the series.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Honor Redeemed, First Responders Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Excellent Writing but an Abrupt Ending

Date:January 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the second book in the First Responders series, following From Ashes to Honor: Book #1 in the First Responders series. If you liked the first book, I'm sure you will like this one, as it has the same excellent writing, and elements of the sub-plot carry on fron the first book. But if you are one of the readers (like me) who found that From Ashes to Honor ended too abruptly without sufficient resolution of the plot, then I imagine that you won't like this sequel either.
Honor Redeemed follows Honor Mackenzie, who trains search and rescue dogs, and Matt Phillips, a widower with two small children, employed as a newspaper reporter. The two meet and a relationship develops, but there are dark secrets in Honor's past which have not been dealt with that causes struggles for them both. Then (and this is a direct quote from the book blurb) "he's told Honor has disappeared during a rescue effort".
But this happens in the last quarter of the book. One of my pet hates is when the book blurb or title talks about something that doesn't happen until well into the book. How is it that a book review should not contain plot 'spoilers', but the advertising copy can? Again, this was a good story of a sweet relationship as it progressed, but parts of the story, especially towards the end, felt rushed, as though something was missing. We do find out Honor's dark secret at the end, and we don't get to see what will overcome it - at least not in this book.
Loree Lough is an excellent writer with engaging plots and likeable characters, and From Ashes to Honor was looking to be a solid four star plus read, until the end. It just finished. No happy ever after, no resolution of the main conflict, nothing. Honor Redeemed was the same, and I didn't like it. I admire Lough's desire to honour those who work in first response situations. But authors such as Dee Henderson, DiAnn Mills and Irene Hannon have written romantic suspense series covering similar professions, yet, in my opinion, were much more satisfying.
Thanks to Abingdon Press and NetGalley for providing free ebooks for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Honor Redeemed, First Responders Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First Responders Book 2

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Honor Redeemed by Loree Lough
First Responders Series Book 2
The first book in the series is called From Ashes to Honor, if you enjoy series books you may want to read it first as they hint towards things that happened in it.
Matt is a reporter and Honor is a SAR who also trains search dogs and teaches their handlers. The press had done Honor wrong so she immediately becomes defensive around Matt. But he breaks through her hard shell and soon she enjoys being around Matt and his twin boys. They both struggle with believing they can make it though. Matt is concerned of his boys getting hurt and Honor is always waiting for the past rumors to come between them or that they could harm Matt's family.
This book was excellent as far as “seeing” how a search and rescue is and what a rescue dog and their handler would do while searching. The book did not have the clear closure at the end that I like to see but that is my personal preference.
**Book received through NetGalley for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Honor Redeemed, First Responders Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Journey of Honor! I LOVED IT!

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loree Lough as brought us the second installment in, "The First Responders Series", entitled, "Honor Redeemed". Now, before we begin, I would encourage you to begin with book one in the series, "From Ashes To Honor". I have had the great pleasure of reading both of these titles and I can tell you that they are at the top of my favorites list!
If you have read the first book and got to those last pages and thought, "Wait, it can't end like this", don't worry. We get to see, Mercy and Austin, return along with with more amazing characters. Just a hint.. your going to love their story!
Now we are introduced to Honor Mackenzie and Matt Phillips. Once again, I fell in love with these characters. Yes, Loree, takes us through the journey of those lives touched by 9/11. We see the scars left behind and the struggles these characters must overcome.
Book two is just as AWESOME as book one in this series! I love how Loree names her characters to fit the story. We meet, Honor, in this book and she comes across as being tough and hard. We soon understand why. Both, Honor and Matt, come with pasts that seem to hold them back from trusting and letting go. Honor is a huge theme in this story.
Again, Loree, brings these heroes to life right before our eyes. We see them at work and we see how their job isn't just a job, but a part of them. They almost define themselves by the service and sacrifice they give. Honor works with Search and Rescue and Matt is a reporter, with a background as a First Responder. When they meet you would think they were worlds apart, but they have much more in common than they realize.
Once again, Loree, takes us on a journey through the depths of pain and into the days of joy. We see these characters come to life before our eyes. Loree has the gift of allowing us to feel what the characters are experiencing. This story brought me to tears on more than one occasion.
If you haven't picked up a book written by Loree Lough yet, you are missing out, my friend. She is gifted with the pen and you will not soon forget the pages that bring faith alive.
Watch for book three,"A Man of Honor" out in fall of 2012.
This book was a gift from Abingdon Press for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.