Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Monday Night Jihad - eBook

Tyndale House Monday Night Jihad - eBook

Drawing on his NFL career, Denver Broncos kicker Jason Elam and Pastor Steve Yohn have spun a tale of sports and terrorism that will have you on the edge of your seat. Former special ops officer and pro football player Riley Covington is drawn into a web of terror that spans oceans and continents.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
Review 1 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

In a day in the heat

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
tenneniii
Location:Yuma AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
On the surface, Jihad is a clean quality upscale-thriller, (not one cuss word to be found, most unusual in this type of book) filled with a load of characters, and improbable plot twists. "Written by a member of the NFL; gives readers an insider look at the world of professional athletes and military intelligence. Examines the challenges of homeland security in large-venue events. Explores the tension between the desire for revenge and the constraints of the Christian faith, especially as it relates to Islam". Elam and Yohn are clever writers that lay down a story that matches in our expectations of structure, storytelling, and grammar, creating a kind of un-novel that is every bit as deep as it is entertaining. Unexpected humor helps leaven the serious themes, and the sparks of romance that fly help lighten the load. The determination and faith of a Riley Covington, a man willing to stand for what is right and to do what it takes to eliminate evil. Good Book, men and football fans should love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
This review is fromMonday Night Jihad, Riley Covington Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book!!

Date:December 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
maciemollysdad
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book a great deal. I recognized Jason Elam's name since I am a big football fan but wasn’t aware of how great of an author he is. This book had great action, suspense, and an awesome storyline. The main character, Riley Covington, seemed like a totally relatable individual that is somebody you would want to be like. In addition it was great to read a book that was so full of action but yet had a Christian message imbedded in the story. I also loved the fact that there wasn’t any sex or cursing present at all in the book. I am eagerly looking forward to the next book in the Riley Covington series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling story

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bill
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book from the first chapter. Will be reading all the authors other books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun read, fairly predictable, little long

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
hwbillm
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book in my new CBD e-reader. The story held my interest, had a couple of crooks and turns that kept my interest and a story line that is all too believable. The author wrote from his experience as a pro athelete with some interesting insights into the sport although the story was more related to current events and the threat of home grown terrorist. I did think that the book got a little long, however I would recommend reading Monday Night Jihad ifor its entertainment value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read.

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandma M
Location:Loveland, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almost done and can't put it down. What a fast-paced, sports-based masterpiece. Appreciate the moral values portrayed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dylan
AMAZING book. The second one is just as amazing. I strongly encourage this book for all! It doesn't make Christianity seem easy. Riley has feelings and emotions he struggles with including revenge and his feelings toward a women of another faith. It is amazing and a great in depth look.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
awesomest
Awesome totally awesome. You have to read this. Except for the romance between a Christian and a Muslim.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
This has got to be one of my favorite books of all time. It's a great story about a professional football player trying to save those he loves from terrorist attacks. On a scale of one to ten,I'd give it a 12. There is some parts that are rather violent and awful, but that's what makes it so suspenseful and real. If you like this book, make sure you check out "Blow Coverage" the next Riley Covington thriller!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deena Peterson
I wish I could rate this higher!Believe me when I say--do NOT start this book unless you have a solid block of reading time and do not have a weak heart! Jason Elam, 15 year NFL veteran brings realism and insight into the sport of professional football that will have you so enlightened as to what really happens in the locker room...and that is a GOOD thing for sports fans!Let me tell you, if he played football as well as he writes...those must have been some GOOD 15 years on the gridiron!His pastor and co-author, Steve Yohn has collaborated on a chilling thriller that plays 'what if' and messes with your mind on such a deep level--well, you'll be on your knees by book's end.Riley Covington has served his country alongside some of the finest in uniform while fighting in Afghanistan, and he has served well. Now, he's having the time of his life playing professional football for the Colorado Mustangs as one of their best line-backers.His old service partner, Scott Ross, now works for intelligence in the government, hunting down terrorists and their ilk. Both are excellent at their new callings in life--which is a very good thing when the unthinkable happens.Terrorism strikes at home, and this time it hits harder than ever. With time running out on the biggest and most deadly of plots in the works, Riley returns to his covert ops life along with Scott and their old team--be prepared to fall in love with these characters......and to lose your heart along the way. These men and women come to vivid life under the master craftsmanship of Elam and Yohn in a way that boggles my mind. Foreshadowing in suspense is a lost art, and these two gentlemen have found it, polished it off, and put it to good use in "Monday Night Jihad".The sports info is enlightening: the military and covert info is frightening. Both combined make for an adrenaline laced read that will have you praying for America and our armed services like never before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
This review is fromMonday Night Jihad, Riley Covington Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
don
An action packed thriller, reads like an episode of 24. Make sure you have plenty of time,once you start, you can't stop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
This review is fromMonday Night Jihad, Riley Covington Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paul Cockerham
An excellent action packed thriller without any profanity or filth. I am anxiously awaiting #2 in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
This review is fromMonday Night Jihad, Riley Covington Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Larry Cox
Excellent. Book would recommend to anyone . Well written . Will keep you interested in reading more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
This review is fromMonday Night Jihad, Riley Covington Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anne Smith
Of you like exciting and action packed mysteries you will really like this one. Ths only problem is---you can't put it down, so start when you have plenty of time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
This review is fromMonday Night Jihad, Riley Covington Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bernard Nichols
A very real page turner that was difficult to put down. It's not a matter of "if" but a matter of "when."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Monday Night Jihad - eBook
This review is fromMonday Night Jihad, Riley Covington Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
DKG
Excellent story. I can't believe it's his first try. Lots of action and the "hero" is very likable. I can't wait for his 2nd book. I'm recommending to everyone I know who likes action packed thrillers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.