Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. Money, Possessions, and Eternity - eBook

Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. Money, Possessions, and Eternity - eBook

It's time to rethink our perspectives on money and possessions. In this thoroughly researched and extensively updated classic, Randy Alcorn shows us how to view them accurately---as God's provision for our good, the good of others, and his glory.

Alcorn presents a biblical and comprehensive view of money and possessions, including the following:

  • Why is money so important to God?
  • Is prosperity theology right or wrong?
  • How can we be liberated from materialism?
  • What should we do about debt?
  • How much does God want us to give?
  • How can we best help the poor and reach the lost?
  • What about gambling? investing? insurance? saving? retirement? inheritance?
  • How can we leave our children a true heritage?
  • How can we use money in ways that God rewards?
This practical and refreshing theology of money contains topical and Scripture indexes, a study guide, and five helpful appendices.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Money, Possessions, and Eternity - eBook
Review 1 for Money, Possessions, and Eternity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:February 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
mom read to me
Location:Lawrenceville, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My curiosity about this book was piqued when an older gentleman in our church said it was the BEST book he had ever read on finances. He has an extensive library and has worked in Christian ministries for years.
I have not been disappointed. The book is extensive, covering many topics, including the following: materialism, eternal rewards, ministry finances, borrowing, investing, and inheritance.
Does the author strongly urge tithing regularly, giving generously, living sacrificially? Yes, and he backs everything up with Scripture. Can it be convicting? Yes, but sometimes those of us in the West need to be awakened to additional ways we can serve God's kingdom. Will you agree with him on everything? Probably not, but this book will give you much to prayfully consider.
Additionally, Alcorn shares a bit of his personal journey on the subject of finances, and he seems well qualified to speak on the topic. His humility shines through many times.
I am planning to have all four of our children read this book in order to graduate home school, and I wish I could buy one for everyone I know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Money, Possessions, and Eternity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
zoey
Location:Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I feel that the product or book was great. The price was reasonable but the delivery time from order to receiving the book was way to long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Money, Possessions, and Eternity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susie Elliott
I teach at a Bible College and this was my students reading assignment. I have heard nothing but good reports concerning the information and revelation expressed by the author. I found it very informative too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Money, Possessions, and Eternity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
The best book I have ever read on the subject. It makes you think about money and posessions in an entirely new way. It really helps you understand the importance of tithing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Money, Possessions, and Eternity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
I bought this book for a Christian Finance Homeschool course for my daughter, planning on doing the book as a family. 6 chapters are all we could take! The contradictions and obvious bias Mr. Alcorn has against wealth was hard to take---add to that his obsession with obsessing about money! What do I mean by that?---well, in the first few chapters he establishes that materialism and asceticism can both cause one to be obsessed with money or lack of. But as the chapters go on, he never establishes the middle ground. Even if you are monetarily successful, he still advocates shopping at second hand thrift stores and buying used. Why? This seems obsessive and overly focused on money and saving a few pennies to me. Honestly, I don't think Mr. Alcorn has every worked for commission or in retail---otherwise he wouldn't advocate being totally cheap about purchases and living. I agree with being generous with giving if you are successful, but there is SO much to this book that seems I can't agree with that we will no longer be using this for a Finance curriculum for our daughter---SHE was very offended at much she read.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Money, Possessions, and Eternity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeffrey Sisemoore
I've read many financial books, both secular and faith-based, and consider myself reasonably well-versed on money issues, both theological and financial. I bought this book on the advice of a speaker at a recent church conference. I'm glad I did. Although I have not finished reading it, Mr. Alcorn's book is several cuts above many others available in book stores. I believe I am reading what will eventually be considered a "classic" on this topic. It is well-researched, well-constructed, thought-provoking, challenging, and biblically sound. Mr. Alcorn is also refreshing in his willingness to express his reservations with what is his opinion when he is not 100% sure of biblical interpretation or instruction, alerting and allowing the reader latitude to evaluate his analysis.I heartily recommend this book to anyone who wants to live his or her life in a manner so as to walk the walk while on this earth and one day in the future hear the words "Well done, good and faithful servant..."Of less importance, I also like the design of the book, its font type and the paper on which it is printed. My eyes are not what they once were, and despite the relatively small font, I am having no problem reading the book.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Money, Possessions, and Eternity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Blessed Hope Evangelistic Mini
This book is a must read for everyone. It will clear up a lot of questions about tithing, and serving the Lord. once again, Excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Money, Possessions, and Eternity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeremy Gardiner
Absolutely rocked my world. There is definitely no better book on the topic of money/possessions than this one. It is the best book I've ever read period and I can't wait to re-read it over and over as a reminder until I die. Thank you Mr. Alcorn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Money, Possessions, and Eternity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda
This is the most compelling, thought-provoking and challenging book I've ever read other than the Bible. I'd love to see every Christian in the US read it. God could then use us to change the world, one soul at a time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Money, Possessions, and Eternity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
Phil
This book is rock solid for anyone who wants sound Biblical insight to money possessions and finances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.