Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Paid in Blood - eBook

Tyndale House Paid in Blood - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Paid in Blood - eBook
Review 1 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

thank you cbd, for such a great gift !!

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:Goldendale, Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a great read, that makes you think ! What a fantastic free gift from a great store! THANK YOU CBD!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting

Date:May 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
aheb
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book met my expectations and more. I loved the NCIS crime scene investigations. They were detailed, but understandable. The Christian values were seen throughout the book. I look forward to a next book if there is a sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good action, good story line

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doranne
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the book, it is well written and the action keeps it moving quickly. Couldn't put it down. Highly recommend it to us action junkies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Novel

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
charlesgm
Location:Pensacola, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this novel. It was educational and well as exciting. The writer really delivers action, as well as the stuggle someone would have with doing his duty and still maintaining his faith and devotion to God. I'm sure believers in our armed forces battle some of the same things mentioned in this book.
Very well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting and fast-paced

Date:April 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Paid in Blood" is a detective suspense novel which ended like an action-packed military thriller. While the reader knows who the main bad guy is and the broad picture of his evil plan, the reader had to learn the details of the scheme along with the heroes and hope they'd solve it in time. Suspense was also created by the various family problems that the characters were dealing with and the physical danger at various points.
The forensic details of the investigation were excellent and woven into the story without slowing the action. However, apparently there were many inaccurate details about how the Naval Criminal Investigation Service is actually run.
The characters were interesting, varied, and complex. They dealt with realistic family problems (a marriage falling apart, an unwanted marriage, a single mom feeling guilty about leaving her child so much, etc.) in addition to the investigation. The bad guys seemed unrealistically unwavering in their motives (a.k.a. cliche bad guys), but that's true for many thrillers.
Several of the main characters were Christians. Mel was bitter toward God for letting his marriage fall apart after all his prayers and efforts to save it, and several other main characters felt that God had let them down in their family situations. However, their parents or friends urged them to trust God despite circumstances.
There was no sex. There was a very minor amount of "he cussed" style bad language. Overall, I'd recommend this fast-paced, exciting novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Looney
I have read all three books in the "Blood" series by Mel Odom. They were exciting and heartwarming. The stories of the folks that work for NCIS hit very close to home. Nita especially. The action parts keep me on the edge. I feel like I have to hurry to make sure it comes out okay.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melissa Lorimer
Great book!!!! I love Forensic Science, but the shows on T.V. such as CSI and NCIS are full of foul language and sex. I was so pleased to fin these books. Lots of twist and turns that I did not expect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Skip this one, and read a book where the author does his research. Try Joel C. Rosenberg or Oliver North for true-to-life, heart-racing action. Odom has written a military fantasy that shines little spiritual light. From a gun battle in Okinawa, Japan, to NCIS officers making their very first HALO jump into battle, this book is full of incredibly unbelievable scenarios. As a military wife who lived in Okinawa and whose husband is airborne, I laughed my way through this one, and then threw it away. I bought it to share with soldiers, but there is no way they would take it seriously for a moment, and neither should any reader.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Reuben Vollrath
Great book, one of the best I ever read. It had lots of action. Would recommend to anyone who loves to read action packed books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
J.C.
This was a good book.I like how it mixes crime scene/murder mystery with international intrigue and military action to make for just a great novel.My favorite character was Shel the Marine and his black lab dog,Max.The plot is a fast paced thriller that takes you to a murder crime scene in North Carolina,then a drug bust,than a shootout in South Korea with a Muslim sniper. It eventually climaxes to a battle aboard a ship with nuclear weapons headed for America.It's a fight to the death between the NCIS team and the Navy SEALS versus the terrorists.The only problem with it was there wasn't enough Christian emphasis throughout the book,I mean the main character only runs to God for help when his family life is a wreck or when his life is endangered,and the only other Christian in the book dies.So it would have been better if there we're more Christian characters in the story,but other than that it's a great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2007
NCIS on television is one of my favorite shows and this book was fast pace like the television show. I thoroughly enjoyed it, even if the gun language was too technical for me. I like the characters, though I think the woman could be more "motherly". It seemed that many of the woman were lousy mothers, which I didn't like. It is very interesting how the story is pieced together. I give it 4.5 because I did object to how lousy the woman were portrayed at times. The dog is great in the book and the the author should definitely expand more on the ex-marine and dog team.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
Narelle Mollet
Mel Odom's foray in to military suspense is riveting and appealing to both male and female readers. This first book in his NCIS series contains non-stop action, intriguing characters and great locales.Commander Will Coburn heads a specialist NCIS team undertaking covert investigations in potentially lethal situations. Each member of his team brings with him or her specialist skills which uncover the evidence necessary to put terrorists and criminals behind bars. When NCIS agent, Chief Petty Officer Helen Swafford, is found murdered, Will's team is plunged into a global terrorist plot which could jeopardize the security of the United States and its allies. As evidence in the North Carolina crime scene is gathered the team is led to South Korea and confrontations with Colombian drug lords and Russian mobsters.Mel Odom's attention to detail makes this book a thrill to read. The plot is tight with unseen twists and the characters are fascinating, not only for their occupational skills, but for their complicated personal lives that have shaped the way they view the world. I hope Tyndale's decision to limit the series to two books changes as there is scope for plenty more action and character growth from this NCIS team!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
Though somewhat immune to murder having been a Naval Criminal Investigative Services Agent for a few years, in Wilmington, North Carolina Commander Will Coburn sadly looks at the corpse of NCIS Chief Petty Officer Helen Swafford, who was on her own unauthorized hook when her throat was slashed. As he wonders what she was involved in, Will and his team (Maggie Foley, Shel McHenry, Estrella Montoya, Dr. Nita Tomlinson, and Frank Billings ) begins tracking clues involving the illegal trafficking of military weapons being sold to rogue states and terrorist groups. Their efforts lead them to Chainae, Republic of Korea where they spy on a suspected weapons dealer.<P>However, to their shock and chagrin, hooligans working for a drug dealer abduct their prime suspect. When they finally catch up to the kidnappers and their victim, the NCIS team find corpses only, as if someone knows what they are doing and wiped out the evidence. The Navy takes control of the body of their prime suspect, only to have it snatched from them leaving behind a dead NCIS agent. With no time to mend fences at home though each, except perhaps Frank, face personal crisis, the unit finds clues in South Korea, Colombia, Russia, and the Middle East, but how drug dealers and weapons sellers converge as their commodity markets are so different remains just out of reach.<P>Though the investigation turns over the top with global repercussions, Mel Odoms fine NCIS thriller is an exciting tale starring real people as the Navy investigators. Each of the team members has issues back home with family members or with themselves as they struggle with personal demons while battling an insidious unknown enemy who may be connecting two major illegal commodity selling groups into a super power. Fans will enjoy observing the dedicated team members follow the clues in North Carolina and overseas trying to save the big world while their little world teeters on the brink of implosion.<P>
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
Cora
Attention grabbing quick read, excellent character development, international theme, respectful of our military men and women. Eagerly awaiting book #2!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Paid in Blood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Christian Book Previews.com
A dead NCIS agent and a cache of illegal military weapons lead Commander Will Coburn's NCIS team on an international hunt with stakes bigger than the team can imagine in Mel Odom's Paid in Blood. Even as they follow the suspected weapons dealer, their suspect is grabbed by a prominent South Korean drug dealer's thugs. Then someone murders both the suspect and the thugs. When one of their team member dies trying to prevent the theft of the suspect's body from a U.S. military morgue, the hunt becomes personal. As they pursue the case, the team faces attempted murders of themselves and witnesses. They face down drug dealers and find complications in Colombia, Russia, and the Middle East. The investigation leads to a conspiracy to engulf the world in World War III. Odom develops his characters well with realistic friendships, tensions, and problems. Commander Coburn's wife serves him with divorce papers as he leaves for South Korea. Tough "guys," Maggie Foley and Shel McHenry, have problems with their parents. Estrella Montoya, the team's computer whiz, is a single mom trying to raise a young son by herself following her husband's suicide, and Dr. Nita Tomlinson, the team's medical examiner, struggles with alcohol and a marriage that she is driving to ruin. Only Frank Billings, Will's number two, seems to have his life and relationships together. Taking advantage of the popular interest in forensic science, Odom uses his crime scene investigative background to write a military page-turner. He also draws on current international tensions to create a suspenseful story that is hard to put down. Though the plot is complicated, and, at points, borders on bizarre, Odom smoothes out the wrinkles with skill. My only real problem with the series is that Tyndale House plans to limit it to only two books. With Odom's characterization and plotting ability, two is simply not enough! Debbie W. Wilson, Christian Book Previews.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.