Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Beside Two Rivers, Daughters of the Potomac Series #2

Abingdon Press Beside Two Rivers, Daughters of the Potomac Series #2

From the banks of the Potomac to the misty moors of England, Darcy follows a path where the secrets of the past slowly rise to the surface. She meets Ethan Brennan, an aspiring English horse breeder, who embraces her independent spirit and marvels at the simplicity of her faith. Ethan and Darcy fall in love, but are kept apart by a promise to another and a sworn oath to a dying woman whose long-hidden secret threatens Darcy's and Ethan's lives.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beside Two Rivers, Daughters of the Potomac Series #2
Review 1 for Beside Two Rivers, Daughters of the Potomac Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beside Two Rivers is Darcy's story. We find her grown and living with her aunt and uncle and cousins. When Darcy and her family attend a house party across the river, she meets Ethan and they find that they are mutually attracted to one another. Soon though both Ethan and Darcy are deceived by the wicked Miss Roth who has her eyes on Ethan as marriage material. When Darcy's grandmother asks her to come to England Darcy is sets off on the adventure of her life.
I truly enjoyed this book. I felt the author really got her feel for her characters and they were very believable. I detested Miss Roth, and wanted to shake Darcy for believing what her lies. Ethan was what he was, the son of a minister so he was not fighter by nature, but when he needed to be he found his courage.
Within the story there lies the concept that while not all hurts can be forgotten, they can begin to heal when forgiveness is offered and then received.
The only thing I was disappointed by was the missing reunion scene with Darcy and her mother Eliza. We got to see Darcy reunited with her father Hayward, and Madeline's reunion with her son Hayward, and Eliza and Hayward's reunion, but not with Darcy and Eliza. That seemed to be the one thing that the whole book was building up to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beside Two Rivers, Daughters of the Potomac Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blessed in Texas
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this book. Enjoyed reading. Beside Two Rivers is a good Christian fiction book. Would give more stars if allowed. Don't miss this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beside Two Rivers, Daughters of the Potomac Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beside Two Rivers

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beside Two Rivers is a story of love and forgiveness. The time period is just after the Revolutionary War, and takes place in Maryland and England.
Although this is the second book in this series, one does not have had to of read to the first to enjoy this one, however, I highly recommend you do.
I loved the way Uncle Will and Aunt Mari treated Darcy as one of their own, and made her feel like she was their daughter. Darcy though, has always wondered why her father left her, and never came back?
You will feel drawn to these character's, and the Grandmother was not what I expected. Time has a way of healing old wounds. The author has such away with words, I felt I was in these old English cottages, and visiting the ruins. She has also done a great job of presenting a look into Colonial America, and we go with her in this journey.
I love how things appear one way and turn out another, this is a real page turner, and a very quick great read.
I received this book through Pump Your Book Virtual Tour, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beside Two Rivers, Daughters of the Potomac Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great historical romance!

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
linda
Location:IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really enjoyed this book! Loved the history portion, and of course, the romance. I was instantly engrossed in the lives of the characters and was anxious to see if the story ended the way I had hoped it would. Anxiously awaiting next book in series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beside Two Rivers, Daughters of the Potomac Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, love, LOVE this book!

Date:October 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathi Macias
Location:Southern California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a busy author/speaker myself, I almost never have time to read for pleasure, but I'm so glad I made time to read Before the Scarlet Dawn. By the time I was done, I was thrilled to realize book two, Beside Two Rivers, had just released, and I ordered and read it immediately. I was not disappointed. I enjoyed it every bit as much as the first book. I am now anxiously awaiting the next installment. Great stories, believable characters, beautiful narrative!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beside Two Rivers, Daughters of the Potomac Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance, Secrets and Forgiveness = Great Read

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rita Gerlach in her new book, “Beside Two Rivers” Book Two in The Daughters of the Potomac Series published by Abingdon Press takes us into the lives of Darcy Morgan and Ethan Brennan.
From the back cover: A tale of love won and love lost, and the faith to find it again.
From the banks of the Potomac to the misty moors of England, Darcy follows a path where the secrets of the past slowly rise to the surface. She meets Ethan Brennan, an aspiring English horse breeder, who embraces her independent spirit and marvels at the simplicity of her faith.
Ethan and Darcy fall in love, but are kept apart by a promise to another and a sworn oath to a dying woman whose long-hidden secret threatens Darcy’s and Ethan’s lives.
You know I think it is entirely possible that Rita Gerlach has a time machine in her basement. This is how she is able to describe these wonderful scenes where you feel as though you are there watching the event instead of reading about it. Ms. Gerlach does a wonderful job at bringing historical events to life while weaving in the fictional aspects of the story in a seamless flowing pattern. I commend Ms. Gerlach for all the research she had to do to before she could begin writing. Thank you for all your efforts as they clearly shine through in your writing. ”Beside Two Rivers” is the story of the romance between Darcy Morgan and Ethan Brennan. Ms. Gerlach makes you care for all the characters and their journey. Then there are secrets and promises that threaten to keep the two of them apart. They have to learn how to trust God and each other to deal with these issues so that they can let go and embrace their future. It is watching all of this happen that is just plain fun and exciting. Well done Ms. Gerlach. I look forward to the next book in the series.
If you missed the interview for “Surrender The Wind”, a different book from Rita Gerlach, and would like to listen to it and/or interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beside Two Rivers, Daughters of the Potomac Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beside Two Rivers

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
graceful
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very eager to get my hands on this book due to the way Before the Scarlet Dawn ended. Set both in Maryland and England, the author beautifully details each place. Would highly recommend one read the first book in the series, Before the Scarlet Dawn, to have a clearer understanding of the plot surrounding Beside Two Rivers.
Several years have now past and twenty year old, Darcy Morgan is curious of her parents and has little recollection of them. Mr. Ethan Brennan, an Englishman, travels to Maryland on business and is attracted to the adventurous young women.
Some time later, she is receives a letter from her grandmother requesting her to join her in England. There are misunderstandings, secrets and one man trying to keep Darcy and Ethan apart. Lovely inspirational message of forgiveness.
I would have enjoyed the book more if the romance was a little more developed. I was also expecting a little more emotion and drama when former relationships meet. So I felt I couldn't give this book more than 4 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beside Two Rivers, Daughters of the Potomac Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Exciting Historical Novel by Rita!

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 Stars*****
Rita once again captivates us with a story set in the beautiful and breathtaking wilds of the Potomac Heights in Maryland. In this tale, the second in the Daughters of the Potomac series, we are reintroduced to Eliza and Heyward Morgan’s beautiful daughter Darcy, now a grown woman of twenty.
Darcy is a high-spirited young woman who loves nothing better than being outside exploring the magnificent area where she was born. Her favorite spot to go to when she wants to be alone is the beautiful Potomac River. Darcy isn’t sure where she gets her adventuresome spirit from, her father or her mother. All she knows is that she wishes she knew more about her parents. Darcy doesn’t remember much about them since she was a small child when her father left her with his brother William and his wife Mari.
While out exploring the river one afternoon, Darcy does the exact thing her Aunt has feared for years, she falls in and is swept away by the strong current and is just seconds away from drowning when she is rescued by a handsome young Englishman, Ethan Brennan.
Ethan Brennan has come from England to purchase a horse from the renowned stables of Twin Oaks, a plantation across the river from Potomac Heights. After rescuing the beautiful Darcy from the raging river, they begin to spend time together and it doesn’t take Ethan long to realize he cares deeply for Darcy. What will happen when they are torn apart by circumstances? How will Darcy cope when word comes that Ethan has left for England without saying goodbye? Will she ever see him again and find out the secrets that he knows about her past?
Shortly after Ethan leaves for England, Darcy receives a letter from her grandmother who invites her to visit her. Could this be God sending Darcy to England so she can at last find the answers she has been searching for about her past? What will happen when Darcy realizes she is but a few miles from Ethan’s home?
When I read Before the Scarlet Dawn I found out that Rita is an exceptional author who knows exactly how to pull you into the story and keep you there. If you haven’t already read that masterpiece you may want to read it before you start Beside Two Rivers. I feel it will give you a better understanding of Eliza and Heyward’s story. Both of these books will leave you with a heart filled with overwhelming emotions; there will be joy and happiness and then sorrow when you realize you have come to the end of an amazing read. Rita I can’t wait until February to see what other marvelous things await us in your Daughters of the Potomac series.
*I was given an arc by the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beside Two Rivers, Daughters of the Potomac Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting Historical Fiction!

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In “Beside Two Rivers,” Rita has penned a gripping, beautiful, emotionally charged literary saga--that takes us from the waters of the Potomac River in Maryland, to the lush, green, sheep-filled hills of England.
Darcy Morgan lives with her kind aunt and uncle, and remembers little of her mysterious childhood, and the circumstances surrounding the disappearance of her parents. Filled with an adventurous spirit, Darcy loves her life along the beautiful Potomac River, filled with forests, bubbling creeks, and a vast array of wildflowers and raspberry bushes. Always giving vent to her exploring nature, she wanders too far out in the river and is swept away to certain death, until she is rescued by a handsome stranger, Ethan Brennan.
Ethan has come to Maryland from England to purchase a stallion, accompanied by his lady friend, Miss Roth, who clearly makes it known to Darcy that she and Ethan have an understanding. Ethan is quite taken with the lovely Darcy, however, and is shrouded in secrets concerning her that he cannot reveal. As he returns to his home in England, he takes Darcy's broken heart with him for she has quickly fallen in love with him.
Soon Darcy is summoned to her grandmother's home in England--Havendale, a place that is permeated with secrets. Who is the mysterious vagabond with the familiar eyes that Darcy keeps seeing around her grandmother's property?...and who is the beautiful lady living at Ethan's home?...who remains isolated within its walls. What evil and treachery wind its way around Darcy and Ethan, and will it prevent them from ever being together?
In this exciting, heart-pounding sequel to Before The Scarlet Dawn, Rita Gerlach has once again written a literary masterpiece, and is now among the top ten of my favorite authors! As always, Rita surrounds the reader with such beautiful imagery one is immediately drawn into another place and time, not wanting to come back until that last satisfying page is read.
Filled with the message of God's love and forgiveness, romantic tension, and heart palpitating excitement, this is one not to miss. Because it is a sequel, I would recommend (though not necessary), reading the first book as well, to get a better feel for all the characters in the book. And as with all of Rita's books, make sure to keep the tissues nearby...you're going to need them!
Fabulous, Rita Gerlach!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beside Two Rivers, Daughters of the Potomac Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An Anticipated Sequel to "Before the Scarlet Dawn"

Date:July 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beside Two Rivers is the anticipated sequel to Rita Gerlach's bittersweet novel Before the Scarlet Dawn. I was drawn into the plot of Before the Scarlet Dawn, and was anxious to read the continuing story in Gerlach's latest book. Beside Two Rivers picks up several years later. Darcy Morgan has grown up, sadly without the presence of her mother or father. As she discovers the truth of her childhood, the reader is reminded of the heartbreak faced by Hayward and Eliza Morgan in the first novel.
Before the Scarlet Dawn ended on a sad note, so I sought closure in Beside Two Rivers. I was happy to learn that Darcy's childhood was pleasant and loving despite the troubling circumstances that defined her early years. Both Darcy and Ethan are upstanding and warm-hearted characters, but I had difficulty finding a connection. Their responses to situations are relayed more factually than emotionally at times. The love story between Darcy and Ethan does not find resolution until the end of the novel, but their love is quickly established in the first section of the plot. I always enjoy slower love stories, so I prefer strong feelings to progress more gradually.
Rita Gerlach's writing is somewhat reminiscent of classic romances, which is a quality I enjoy in her descriptions of the Potomac and Derbyshire, England. There are also times when the formal style creates stiff dialog and slows the plot. Beside Two Rivers is divided into three parts to correspond with significant changes in the plot. Part I moves the slowest for me, but once Darcy ventures to England in Part II, the plot picks up speed.
I am glad that Gerlach incorporates the main characters from Before the Scarlet Dawn to provide readers with a conclusion to their stories. Gerlach does not shy away from heartache and tragedy in her plots. Beside Two Rivers does not provide a happily-ever-after ending, and there are hardships that occur near the end of the novel. Last minute surprises keep the reader questioning how the novel will end; but at the same time, the changes can be unsettling. The reader does not directly witness some of the significant events, but reads about them after the fact.
The last chapter of Beside Two Rivers is the happiest and most promising of the novel. After the sad events of both books in the Daughters of the Potomac series, I hoped for happiness to linger longer. After anticipating a reunion of the Morgan family, I would have found much satisfaction in observing the reestablishment of familial bonds, especially between mother and daughter. Although I did not enjoy Beside Two Rivers as much as Before the Scarlet Dawn, it does provide a much needed conclusion for readers who were left wondering what would become of the Morgan family.
I received a complimentary e-copy of this book from NetGalley, courtesy of Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.