Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1

Abingdon Press Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1

Mary Katherine is caught between the traditions of her faith and the pull of a different life. When Daniel, an Amish man living in Florida, arrives and shares her restlessness, Mary Katherine feels drawn to him and curious about the life he leads away from Lancaster County.

But her longtime friend Jacob has been in love with her for years. He's discouraged that she's never viewed him as anything but a friend and despairs that he is about to lose Mary Katherine to this outsider.

Will the conflicted Mary Katherine be lost to the Englisch world, or to Daniel, who might take her away to Florida? Or will she embrace her Amish faith and recognize Jacob as the man she should marry and build a life with?

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1
Review 1 for Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her Restless Heart

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book in the author's new series Stitches in Time. Mary Katherine is restless and hounded by others to join the Amish church. Raised by an overly strict father and a pushover mother, Mary Katherine has little confidence in herself, but begins to heal emotionally when she moves in with her grandmother Leah. She works in Leah's craft shop, along with her cousins Anna and Naomi. Each cousin has talent in various handcrafts, and Mary Kathrine's is weaving. Thanks to her father's criticism, Mary Katherine knows that words can hurt more than physical wounds, and the emotional pain takes much longer to heal.
I found myself pulling for Mary Katherine right away, and also drawn into Naomi and Anna's lives as well. Leah is the kind of grandmother that we all wish we could have, wise and compassionate, knowing when to push a bit and when to back off. In some ways, Leah reminds me of my grandmothers. I also enjoyed the cameos and short updates on characters from Barbara's Quilts of Lancaster County series. I can't wait for the next book in the series, scheduled to release this autumn. :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Three Worlds, One Decision And Romance

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barbara Cameron in her new book, “Her Restless Heart” Book One in the Stitches in Time Series published by Abingdon Press takes us into the life of Mary Katherine in the Amish community in Lancaster County.
From the back cover: Looking outward, searching inward
Mary Katherine is caught between the traditions of her faith and the pull of a different life. When Daniel, an Amish man from Florida, arrives, Mary Katherine feels drawn to him and curious about the life he leads away from Lancaster County.
But her longtime friend Jacob has fallen in love with her, and he’s afraid of losing Mary Katherine to this outsider.
Will the conflicted Mary Katherine be lost to the Englisch world, or to Daniel, who may take her away to Florida? Or will she embrace her Amish faith and recognize Jacob as the man she should marry and build a life with?
In ”Her Restless Heart” worlds collide; Lancaster County, Florida and the Englisch world. For Mary Katherine each has something to offer that she needs and she is torn between them all. This is a story of self-esteem and the things we do as human beings to build our self-esteem when our parents have not given it to us. We build our relationships on who is helping to support our self-esteem whether they are good or bad. On top of everything Ms. Cameron manages to weave a romance into this story that just captivates you. She makes you care for all the characters and their journey. This is also just plain fun and exciting as well. Don’t start this book late at night because it will cost you sleep. I look forward to the next book in the series.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really liked this story.

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary Katherine lives with her Grandmother, actually she feels like she was given a new lease on life when her Grandmother asked her Father if she could live with her and help in her shop in town. Mary Katherine's Daed never treated her right and ridiculed her about everything. There was no physical abuse but there was emotional abuse, not only to Mary Katherine but toward her Mother also. Weaving was Mary Katherine's favorite thing to do and since moving in with her Grandmother she was free to weave whenever she felt like it.
Jacob has known Mary Katherine since they attended school together. What she didn't know was that he loved her quietly, he never said or did anything to let her know. Love and marriage was the farthest thing from her mind though, she wanted nothing to do with any man, she thought all men were like her Daed. She was confused as to where she belonged in this world, she has an Englisch friend, Jamie, and sometimes feels like the Englisch world would be a lot better than being Amish.
When Daniel, another schoolmate, returns from Florida to sell the family farm, he shows an interest in Mary Katherine. Jacob doesn't like what he see's and starts to show an interest also. Mary Katherine doesn't realize that they are both vying for her attention.
When Mary Katherine's Mother has a heart attack she returns home to take care of her because she knows her Daed won't do anything for himself and her Mother will be doing the daily chores before she's completely recovered. She was right too! Her Daed had not changed at all during the time she'd been staying at her Grandmothers house, IF he ever talked to her, it was to cut her down. She finally had enough of his treatment and leaves, taking off walking to town on a rainy day.
What will happen to Mary Katherine? You'll have to read for yourself, no hint from me. I really did enjoy this book, I think it's the first book I've read that Barbara has written and I must say that I'm looking forward to finding some more by her. You will not be sorry if you purchase this one.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the NetGalley book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Her Restless Heart

Date:July 2, 2012
Mary Katherine was doing what she loved - weaving items to sell at her grandmother Leah's shop, Stitches In Time. A year ago, Mary Katherine left her mother and controlling father's farm to live with Leah and help run Stitches In Time with her cousins Naomi and Anna. She should have been happy but she was feeling restless. She was attracted to her English friend Jamie's lifestyle. Mary Katherine was 22 years old and not yet baptized into the Amish faith. She wasn't ready for that commitment yet. Nor was she ready to commit to dating a young man, even though Jacob Miller had an interest in her. Does Mary Katherine ever get baptised? Will she ever be ready to date? Read Her Restless Heart to find out.
This story didn't seem well thought out at times. Mary Katherine was 22 years old and her grandmother was in her late forties. What age does that leave Mary Katherine's mother? Mary Katherine lived with her grandmother yet the only time they had heart to heart talks was at the shop. The Amish in this story used a lot of English phrases, like dating instead of courting. It got to be annoying how many times it was said that Mary Katherine was restless. Every week-end Mary Katherine went out to dinner with Jamie and spent the night at her house to watch movies. I thought this kind of friendship was discouraged among the Amish. Daniel Kurtz was not a main character like the book description makes it appear.
I like Barbara Cameron as a writer from her previous stories that I read. I thought A Time For Peace: Quilts of Lancaster County Book 3 was a well written story. You can read my book review on my blog. I also read An Amish Christmas: December In Lancaster County and liked that book. I didn't enjoy Her Restless Heart as much as I hoped I would. I do plan on reading Journey Of The Heart: Stitches in Time Book 2.
I received a free copy of this eBook from NetGalley and Abingdon Press for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wunderbaar! (4.5 stars)

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Her Restless Heart, Book One of Stitches in Time Series, Barbara Cameron has crafted a wonderful Amish tale which takes place in Paradise, Pennsylvania; with its small town atmosphere, Amish quilting shops, quaint restaurants, and beautiful scenery! Our heroine, the lovely Amish Mary Katherine, works at Stitches In Time with her grandmother and two cousins, busily creating artistic quilts, handknit items, and other beautiful handmade articles for both the Amish and Englisch communities alike.
After a lifetime of abuse from her father, Mary Katherine is determined never to marry, and is hesitant to make a commitment to join the church. The Bishop is seemingly very cold and the rules very stringent, leaving Mary Katherine to wonder if there is something else out there she may be missing out on. When Daniel, a handsome, charming Amish Mennonite from Florida, shows up in Paradise to sell his parent's house, Mary Katherine becomes even more restless, and wonders if the grass might not be greener on the other side.
Jacob has been Mary Katherine's friend since childhood, but feels very threatened by Daniel's appearance in town, even though she has made it clear to Jacob that she only wishes to remain friends. Will Mary Katherine be able to overcome her fear of her father and ever commit to any man?...to the Amish church and to Jacob? Or will she choose the church in Florida that seemingly offers more freedoms?...and Daniel? Will she ever overcome her lack of self-esteem that has been brought on by years of verbal abuse from her father?
I have been wanting to read a book by Barbara Cameron seemingly forever, and I was not disappointed. Her intriguing storyline kept me turning those pages to see what the outcome was going to be, and her characters were very likeable and realistic; unlike many Amish books that make it seem as though the Amish are infallible. *Spoiler Alert* One disappointing factor for me was the fact that Daniel wasn't around as much as I would have liked (to really provide competition for Jacob), but that didn't ruin the story for me. What a wunderbaar book, Barbara Cameron!
I received a copy of this book from Net Galley and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary Katherine has grown up with a father who she feels will never be proud of her and a mother that never stands up for her. A year ago she left her parents house and went to live with her grandma Leah who runs a store called stiches in time she works at the store with her cousins Naomi and Anna who are more like sisters. Mary Katherine loves to weave and spends hours at her craft. Mary has no plans to find a man and settle down as she fears marring a man like her father or being like her mom and never standing up for herself. So when Jacob asks to get to know her better she tells him no. He offer to just be friends and slowly she finds him breaking her defenses and causing her heart to stir.
Jacob has been fond of Mary Katherine for years and deep down knows she is the woman for him but he has to first convince her he is the man she needs. When an old friend Daniel returns and shows interest in Mary, Jacob may need to work fast to keep Mary from falling for the wrong man.
Barbara Cameron has become one of my favorite Amish fiction authors. This new book the first in a series was a great read.
What I liked: Barbara Cameron tends to write novels with complex storylines that deal with a lot of emotions. She does a wonderful job of pulling the reader into the story and can make it very hard to put her books down. I really liked Mary Katherine and Jacob. We also meet the main characters for the next two books as well, Naomi and Anna. Even though this is Mary’s story we get enough of a back ground on them that when it comes time to read their stories your going to feel like you know them pretty well already and I can’t wait to read their stories as well.
What I did not like: Mary is very hurt by her father and towards the end of the book things change but I was left feeling like it was unfinished and I wish there had been a little more to that story line.
Over all this was a great book. Mary Katherine also had a English friend who she was close and it was neat to see the relationship between them and how some in the community reacted to it. I also liked how the characters from the last series made a small appearance and gave some details on how they where doing which was fun to read. I am really looking forward to the next book in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her restless Heart

Date:May 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Mccue
Location:Toledo, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVED this book, one of the best Amish fiction I have read in a long time and I read all of them. I can't wait for the next one, this was one really hard to put down. You won't be disappointed in this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her Restless Heart - Mary Katherine's Decision!

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary Katherine was fed up living at home with her controlling Father; besides being controlling her Father was never satisfied with anything Mary Katherine did. There wasn’t any way of pleasing her unbearable Father. When she couldn’t stand it at home any longer she moved in with her Grandmother Leah and works in her Grandmother’s shop called Stitches in Time. Mary Katherine loves her life working in her Grandmother’s shop. She also loves to weave and enjoys coming up with her own designs using textures of cotton, wool, and silk.
Mary Katherine’s cousins Naomi and Anna works in her Grandmother’s shop too. It seems like one happy family. She feels the love from her Grandmother and cousins that she doesn’t feel at home.
Jacob has been a friend of Mary Katherine’s for a long time. Jacob wants more than friendship and hopes to court her. Mary Katherine has told Jacob she isn’t interested in being anything but friends.
Daniel, a long time school friend of Mary Katherine’s and Jacob’s, has come back to Paradise to sell the family farm. Daniel’s family decided to move to Pinecraft, Florida several years ago. Daniel too shows an interest in Mary Katherine and urges her to come visit him in Florida.
To the dismay of her parents and grandmother Mary Katherine hasn’t joined the church yet. Her heart is restless and she doesn’t know where she belongs. Does she have enough faith in God to trust Him?
Will Mary Katherine leave her Amish upbringing and move toward the English world? Will she go visit Daniel and his family in Florida and end up staying there? Will she fall in love with Jacob and join the church? What will Mary Katherine do to calm her restless heart?
The author takes us through the private life of Mary Katherine and her parents. She shows us a side to Amish families that other Amish fiction authors might not. We are taken into the real life of what happens and does happen in some relationships. I really liked that about this book. We can compare it to our way of living also. Are we really so much different?
This was another great read of Barbara Cameron’s and I loved it from beginning to end. I can’t wait for book 2, Journey of the Heart, to be released. This will be Naomi’s story. I get the feeling there’s a lot going on in Naomi’s life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Amish Book!

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I typically don't read the books that are set in Amish communities because I find them bland (sorry!), or I can't relate. But I loved this book. These characters had real feelings, struggles and flaws. Although it wasn't a terribly "deep" book and she could have done a better job with the father/daughter issues, the author did a good job mixing humor with drama. I'm looking forward to reading the next in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved It!!

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary Katherine has grown up with a very strict Father, and a Mother who never stood up for herself.
She is now living with her Grandmother, and loving being there, and working in the shop with her cousins.
Mary Katherine is weaving what she wants to sell, and is in conflict with the Bishop. He wants her to stop making such English goods, and to join the Church.
Because of her upbringing she has a lot of doubts, and wonders about the English world. She has a long time friendship with Jacob, and Daniel, and her English friend Jamie.
Love the interaction between Leah, the Grandmother and the cousins, Mary Katherine, Naomi, and Anna. You will wonder if this will be enough to hold her here, or will she go to Florida with Daniel?
You will enjoy having Tea with these great people, and interacting with Jacob. A really good read, and can't wait for the next book in this series.
I was provided with a copy of this book Abingdon Press, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Growing up in the Amish faith for many holds an easy future, one that many accept gracefully and happy. To be raised in the Amish world , work and then be married to a fellow Amish and attend faithfully the church and follow their ways of life. However, not all are convinced that this is the right way and are often swayed by the views and opinions of those living the worldly life in what the Amish call the "Englischer" way.
One thing that is quite common in many Amish novels is that the main character is swayed by decisions that need to be made and will feel torn between the two worlds. What makes the great ones stand out though is the author's writing style and whether they are able to capture the author in a way that other Amish fiction and similar stories may have failed.
One of my favourite Amish fiction writers is Barbara Cameron as her stories are easy to read and they are set at a pace that keeps the reader entertained and contain characters that are easy to relate to,
Her Restless Heart focuses on Mary-Katherine , she is stuck in a rut and in what way of life to choose - does she continue to follow the Amish way of life or as the tourists come in each week from the Englischer world , does her heart belong with them.
Mary-Katherine, unlike all the other girls too does not yet want to date but she can't get away from the commitments as local Amish follower Jacob has his sights set on Mary-Katherine and will do everything he can to get her to be his one true love. When a surprise visit from an old family and school friend Daniel - a now turned Englischer turns up in Lancaster County, Mary Katherine can't help but be drawn to him. As the story goes on we read as Mary-Katherine's heart becomes torn further apart, till the time comes when she needs to make a decision. Will Mary Katherine follow her Restless heart and be with Daniel in the Englischer world or will she realise that her heart is at home with Jacob in Lancaster County following the Amish way of life ?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This series provides healing through its stories!

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes the words we speak can hurt people worse than any physical pain we can inflict on them. That's just what is happening to Mary Katherine. Finding solace and a place to heal her emotions and her heart and find the love she needs from family, she works for her Grandmother Leah at her store, Stitches in Time, along with her cousins Naomi and Anna. Her father is more than just mean and abrasive to her, he's also been that way to her mother. No longer able to tolerate his unkind words, and avoiding speaking out against her father, she leaves. She's the only child of her parents and finds it difficult that her father can treat her so cruel.
Perhaps that's why Mary Katherine has been avoiding falling in love with those Amish boys who seem to gather around her, most recently Jacob, a young man she grew up with and went to school with. However, Mary Katherine can only see him as the friend she grew up with even though it's obvious to everyone else that Jacob has more than friendly feelings for her. Yet with Mary Katherine still undecided on whether she wants to commit to the church just yet, she spends some time getting to know what she really wants out of life.
Her best friend is an English girl named Jamie, whose outrageous hair and clothing styles, have most of the Amish church community frowning. Thinking that this will only encourage Mary Katherine to leave the Amish community, more and more of the elders and bishop continue to pressure her to make a decision and soon. They are even going so far as to criticize her weaving creations and quilts for sale at Stitches In Time saying she is moving away from the Amish traditions.
In her latest series of Amish books, Stitches in Time, Barbara Cameron is introducing the readers to a new cast of characters in the first book, Her Restless Heart. In this book, all three girls are seeking the love and attention of men in their lives and it seems like only Grandmother Leah has just the right advice to dispense over a cup of hot tea. Ah how we all wish we had a grandmother like her. Unwilling to push and pressure to make the woman face their difficult choices ahead, Leah merely provides a willing ear to listen while they pour out their feelings. Deep down inside she can only pray they will come to make the right decision in the end.
I received Her Restless Heart compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and I can see why so many readers are now her fans of her Amish series. She writes them so well readers can not only relate to the characters but more importantly to the story and issues the characters are dealing with. I, myself, can completely relate to Mary Katherine, having an emotionally abusive father growing up. I can relate to her feeling less than worthy and dealing with a lifetime of self esteem issues never seeing herself as good enough, even in God's eyes. I found healing in hearing not only the advice from Leah but also in Jacob's kindness as her friend. This book does provide needed healing to restless hearts everywhere and I highly recommend this one with a 5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Her Restless Heart, Stitches in Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Amish Love Story

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Amish Love Story
The single child in an Amish family with, Mary Katherine moved into town to live with her grandmother and work at her shop to get away from her domineering father. Jacob a local Amish man wants to court Mary Katherine, but she has some problems to work out, so Jacob agrees to be friends. Then, Daniel, another Amish man from Florida, turns up. Mary Katherine has to choose whether to join the church or not, but problems come up at the store, then when her mother has a heart attack, Mary Katherine has to move back home. Mary Katherine has to find her way through her problems, making choices that will affect the rest of her life.
This is a great Amish love story, not too sweet, with enough twists to keep it interesting. It is always interesting to read about the Amish way of life, and this is an interesting example of some of the difficulties they face. the characters have enough depth to keep the story interesting, and the troubles ring true.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.