Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1

Abingdon Press A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1

Past promises will be tested as new ones are given...

When Clayton Proffitt, foreman of the Circle Z Ranch in Texas, discovers Vanessa Grant is the victim of her stepfather's advances, Clayton knows he must spirit her away to safety.

As they make their way west, a deep bond develops between Vanessa and Clayton- far more significant than mere friendship or his sense of duty. But their journey also brings unexpected confrontations with Vanessa's stepfather. As Clayton and Vanessa place their faith in God, will they find healing and hope for the future together? Written by NY T bestselling author Shelley Gray.

Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Review 1 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an attention-grabbing, heart-riveting tale of love, redemption and hope! Whew! I absolutely loved the first book in this new series from this new author to me. I was looking around for new books to read and was granted the opportunity from a publisher to read the second book in the series. When I found out there was a book one and three, I bought those books and have been planted in a comfy chair lost in a story that speaks volumes of sometimes waiting for others to find the Lord or hear from Him.
Here are two characters with very different backgrounds. Clayton Proffitt is the foreman at the ranch owned by the father of Vanessa Grant. After her father’s passing, within a short period of time, her mother rushes into a new marriage because of the overwhelming responsibilities of running such a large ranch. The decision to marry quickly turns from one of what appears as happiness to one of horror experienced by Mary, who is Vanessa’s mother, Vanessa and her younger brother Miles. The villain, Price, is a cruel man who would go to the ends of the earth to take what was never rightfully his to own!
Through the pages the audience will begin to see the past scars both Vanessa and Clayton have, as well as what each hopes the future holds. For the present time, the main concern is keeping Vanessa’s whereabouts unknown to her step-father. Miles, Clayton and Vanessa are characters with different paths before them and each must learn to love and trust the Lord with the burdens their hearts carry.
I cannot wait to begin book 2 in the series to see what happens with a couple of the minor characters stories that weren’t the focus of book one. Readers who enjoy westerns stories that have the themes of friendships, dependency on the Lord, and belief in prayer will eat up this book! Such a great work of fiction did I enjoy and am thankful Shelley Gray took time to write and share. No one will be sorry to pick up a book that explores the human heart so deeply along with the facets of family and faith. The Heart of a Hero Series is one that will be on my shelf available to reread again sometime in the future, but also to share with a friend or two. Grab a copy, a comfy and quiet place then enjoy getting lost in the pages of A Texan’s Promise!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great story!

Date:February 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cassy
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Texan's Promise is a story filled with faith and hope in the face of difficult times. I really enjoyed the historical setting. It was written so vividly I felt completely transported back in time to the west. Clayton and Vanessa's relationship was developed really well throughout the course of the book and kept the reader engaged. A Texan's Promise was inspiring and I would recommend it to anyone who loves a good story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a heartwarming Christian western romance.

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Clayton Proffitt is foreman of the Circle Z Ranch. When he discovers that Vanessa Grant, daughter of the ranch’s owner, is the victim of her stepfather’s advances he knows he must protect her honor and move her far away from the ranch. They find that an unexpected, deep bond develops between them as they make their way west. Clayton’s biggest concern as they travel is that Vanessa’s stepfather won’t let her go so easily. They have to place their faith in both God and each other as they try to get away from his control.
I loved this book. The characters were very well developed. From the very start of the story Vanessa’s plight broke my heart. I was rooting for them to get away from her stepfather and any control he had over both of them. I loved the fact that Clayton was relying on God for His direction and protection throughout the book. He did everything he could to help point others to look to God also.
I’m looking forward to reading everything else that I can find by this author. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Texan's Promise

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Digging4Pearls
Location:Shippensburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Texan's Promise by Shelley Gray is a delightful tale set in Texas in 1873. Shelley weaves a story about Vanessa Grant, a young woman who has suffered tremendously, after undergoing advances from her stepfather. Clayton Proffitt, foreman of the ranch, comes to her rescue.
Clayton chooses the honorable thing in taking care of Vanessa, and getting her away from her stepfather's evil clutches. But will he ever choose to love her or will he always just be honor bound?
I found A Texan's Promise to be a wonderfully written novel and highly recommend it.
* This book was provided free for review by Abingdon Press.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
This review is fromA Texan's Promise - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynelle
Location:South Africa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was for a long time on my shelve. To much books, to little time.
But once I started I could not stop. The gripping tale of promises made to a father and not saving the daughter tore at the heart of Clayton, the main character in the book. A True hero of the Confederate war in the 1800 he struggled to get to grips with this and almost lost the woman he deeply cared for. Later after their marriage he realised that he fell in love with his wife but did not know how to tell her and fled. He firmly believed that this was the best way.
But then the woman Vanessa finally got some back bone and chased him down. Telling him of her love and that his promise to her father was honored.
The struggle for survival and shelter her from a man that raped her was gripping. Some think that faith is when you commit your live to Jesus that all will be smooth sailing. But in live that is not the case. You looked for answers, taking responsibility for your actions and know that God would come through for you. Even if it meant he had to use Indians to safe you.
Loved the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
This review is fromA Texan's Promise - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
pati
Location:UK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A book showing that courage and self-sacrifice for the good of another does get rewarded.
All things do work for good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
This review is fromA Texan's Promise - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book.

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This is the first book I have read by Shelley Gray. I was very impressed. It was interesting right from the start. Realistic characters and great plot development. I can't wait for the sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Escape...

Date:March 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After Vanessa is assaulted by her step-father, Clayton, the foreman on her family ranch, comforts her and offers to take her to safsfety. Knowing that Price will only continue to abuse her, nineteen-year-old Vanessa accepts. While Vanessa suffers from night terrors in the aftermath of Price's attack, Clayton has his own demons to conquer, in particular, his need to keep the promises he has made to God, to his father, to Vanessa's father, and to Vanessa herself. Meanwhile, Price is on their trail, wanting to claim Vanessa for his own, despite his wife. He is accompanied by Miles, Vanessa’s older brother, who has also suffered under Price’s belt.
Vanessa and Clayton marry to protect her reputation, each of them hiding the fact that they have feelings for the other (despite the ten-year age gap). I don't usually like stories where the hero is much older than the heroine, even though I know it was normal at this time. What I particularly liked about A Texan's Promise was the theme about how age was not the factor. Clayton was a Confederate Captain, and it was the things he had seen and experienced during the war that made him the man he was, a man that Miles would struggle to become at any age. Although young, Vanessa had "lost her innocence at Price's hand", which forced her to grow up too. What we don't know is what Vanessa would have done if it were not for Clayton, although the fact that she fought Price once suggests that she would have continued to do so, which speaks to her character in comparison to that of Miles.
Despite the dark beginning, this was an enjoyable read. The author dealt with Vanessa in a sympathetic manner, and wrote a realistic recovery. The book was immediately engaging, and easily held my interest with a likeable hero and heroine and an interesting cast of supporting characters. A Texan’s Promise is the first book in the Heart of a Hero series, with the second book, A Texan’s Honor, to be published in March 2012. The author has also published a series of Amish novels under the name Shelley Shepherd Gray.
Thanks to Abingdon Press and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviewing A TEXAN'S PROMISE

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
BevK
Location:WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is tops; covers so many 'touchy' subjects well, and keeps you interested until the very end. Even though it's placed back in time, the issues covered are still prevalent today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
This review is fromA Texan's Promise - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book. Easy reading.

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
MsMarilyn
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book holds the reader's interest. I enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart of a Hero - Promises Made

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Clayton Proffitt, foreman of the Circle Z Ranch in Texas, finds eighteen year old Vanessa Grant in the barn crying. After he gets a closer look at her he notices she has bruises and blood on her. She confides in him that the injuries were caused by her stepfather, Price Venture. In fear of Vanessa's well being Clayton convinces her it would be best if he take her away from her stepfather and her home to find a safe haven at his sister's home. Clayton is very aware that Price will not give up searching for her.
Clayton's character is definitely a hero and he is a take charge kind of man. I loved how protective he was over Vanessa and was a gentleman at all times. Clayton seems to be able to calm a situation that has gone out of control. He shares his love and belief in God to all who were willing listen.
Vanessa's character was needy and very naive. She had a crush on Clayton since he began working on the ranch when her father was still alive. Yet she had no one to protect her after her father died. Her mother and her older brother, Miles had their own problems with Price. But Vanessa was unaware that Clayton had made a promise to her father to protect her. She agreed to go away with Clayton to hide away from her stepfather. While on the trail to their destination there were trials they had to endure. In her journey she matures from a girl to a young woman falling in love with her hero. But does he just see her as a young girl?
I highly recommend this book.
I rate this book a 5 out of 5.
Disclosure:
I purchased a copy of this book for my own personal use. I was in no way compensated for this review it is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
This review is fromA Texan's Promise - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the author and the story

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
debbie
Location:Aguadilla, PR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's just so easy to read. I love the story so much and I already recommended it to my daughter. We both love cbd, so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Texan's Promise by Shelley Gray

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I'll be the first to admit that I'm not the world's biggest Amish fiction fan but I thoroughly enjoy each of Shelley Gray's Plain stories. When I learned that she was writing and historical western series I knew I had to read it. The first book, A Texan's Promise did not disappoint. Ms. Gray's stories are traditional but in the best sense. In A Texan's Promise she takes the damsel in distress plot and adds a bit of faith and hope in the mix and the result is a finely told love story for any reader's keeper shelf.
From the very first page I can almost guarantee you will be hooked. The chemistry between Vanessa and Clayton is terrific. In spite of the unthinkable circumstance that led them away from the Circle Z Ranch I loved the way that their romance developed--slowly and tenderly. I was slightly frustrated by Clay's actions midway through the book but what is a romance without a man getting some fool notion in his head now and then?
If you're a fan of Shelley Gray's smooth style of storytelling and characters you can connect with you won't be disappointed. A Texan's Promise is a journey across the West that will capture your heart and quench your thirst for danger. I enjoyed this book and look forward to A Texan's Honor releasing soon!
* I received my complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for posting my honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Christian Western Romance

Date:November 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leah Courtney
Location:Rock Hill, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When Vanessa is a victim of her stepfather's attack, Clayton, her family's ranch foreman, takes her away to save her from him. As Vanessa and Clay travel to safety, Clay realizes what it means to keep a promise and the two grow closer to God and to each other through their trials.
This was a sweet, though sometimes predictable, Christian romance. The author, Shelley Gray, is new to me. I enjoyed the characters. Vanessa and Clayton both made an interesting hero and heroine. The story line, with its setting in the Old West, was exciting enough to hold my interest. The characters' spiritual journey was inspiring without preaching at the reader. There were some predictable parts in Vanessa and Clayton's relationship, and a few times I thought the story dragged out a bit. But, for the most part, I really enjoyed this read from a new author, and I look forward to reviewing the second book in the series- A Texan's Honor.
I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for review purposes. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Great Novel!

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4.5 Stars!
Clayton finds Vanessa crying in the barn one night. He soon discovers that her stepfather has beaten her. With out thinking twice he takers her away in the middle of the night to keep her safe. He made a vow to her dead father to keep her safe and he plans to do just that. Can he keep his feeling for her at bay in order to keep her safe?
Vanessa is dealing with the emotions of her attack and is very happy to be with Clayton as she feels safe with him. She has also had feeling for Clayton for many years and when they must marry on the trail in order to keep her safe she soon finds herself wishing for a real marriage. Can she over come what happened to her in order to be the wife to Clayton she has been dreaming about?
Shelly Gray AKA Shelly Shepard Gray is in my top 5 favorite author list and this new series does not disappoint! I just love her writing style. I feel like I get drawn into the book like I am there with the characters and I have trouble putting her books down. This book deals with the personal and heart retching subject of rape and abuse. The author does a great job of expressing the hurt from Vanessa who has to deal with the pain and fear of her attack as well as Clayton who deals with the grief of not being able to keep Vanessa safe.
The plot was some what predictable. From the beginning you knew that Clayton and Vanessa cared for each other and by the time they finally admit there feelings it feels like old news. I also wish the story of Clayton’s sister and her husband had been in a book of its own. She tells their story through out the book but I was left with wanting to know them both more. I also hope Lacy gets a chance to tell her story in this new series at some point.
Over all I enjoyed this book and look forward to the next book due out next year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've read several of Shelley's Amish books (written under the name Shelley Shepard Gray) but my favorite genre is Christian historical fiction. The Heart of a Hero series, Shelley's historical series, begins with A Texan's Promise. The book is set after the Civil War, and almost every chracter in the book has been scarred by the war in some way. The setting changes from Texas to Colorado to Nebraska. I liked Vanessa and Clayton, though I found them both immature at the start of the book. Their growth throughout the story, and their growing closer as a couple, was great to see. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series.
With thanks to NetGalley and Abingdon Press for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

an enjoyable escape to the old west.

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
nataliagortova
Location:Boise, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The story of Vanessa and Clayton jumps straight into the action, with the ranch foreman finding the family's daughter (whom he's watched grow up into a woman) in the barn crying.
After finding out her step father attacked her they pack their things and set out to get away from him. But Vanessa lies about exactly how far the attack went.
The danger wasn't benign, as happens sometimes in stories that deal with sensitive topics. It was a realistic instance of a young woman helpless (her mother and brother did nothing) against a man who intended on getting what he wanted no matter what. It's also important to note that the incident happens before the book starts.
The relationship between Clayton and Vanessa develops a little predictably since they are two unmarried people, traveling alone. When a friend they turn to for help suggests they need to marry, Clayton reacts a bit like, "Yeah, I guess we do." Lucky for the two of them they happen to be each other's true love.
Vanessa's brother starts out as a pitiful excuse for a man who proves himself by the end of the book.
At the beginning, the step father is suggested to have some kind of illness that has led to his behavior. I thought this should have been developed, since it would have been an interesting point of the history of medical science. In the end it turns out he's just a horrible person.
Clayton's sabbatical as a Sheriff (because he's dealing with fears about his marriage to Vanessa) was an interesting direction for the plot to go. However, it didn't track with the usual hero in these types of stories since it just showed him succumbing to his fears, and making a bad choice. In the end, it's Vanessa who pulls them back together.
All in all, an enjoyable escape to the old west. I'm a big fan of, not just historical romance by itself, but some suspense thrown in the mix too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Shelley Gray takes a Stab at Historical CF

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first read that Shelley Shepard Gray was going to have a go at writing Historical Christian Fiction , I was interested in seeing whether or not she could pull it off as I really loved her Sisters of the Heart series and her Seasons of Sugarcreek novels set in the world of Amish. I have to admit she has done a wonderful job and reading A Texan's Promise , I noticed that bits of her writing style and themes were similar to Hidden. A Texan's Promise is set in the year 1873 , West Texas of course hence the title :). It starts with the main female character Vanessa crying outside and coming out to comfort her is the main male character Clayton. Clayton is one of the main foreman for Vanessa's family farm. As we discover Vanessa's stepfather Price is an abusive drunk who has tried and will try relentlessly throughout the novel as we discover to have his way with her. Before Vanessa's father died , Clayton made a vow to protect Vanessa from any danger that comes her way. So doing the only thing he can imagine, the pair of them escape and run off into the wild wild west. As the novels goes along , we discover as Clayton fearing for Vanessa's life marries her to keep her safe but what will happen when his feelings turn from caring for her as a promise to actually falling in love with her ? Does Vanessa feel the same way for Clayton as he does ? What happens when Price tracks down Clayton and Vanessa with a gun in his hand and men at his side ? Will it be Clayton or Price we say goodbye too ? Is a Promise that can ruin and end one man's life worth keeping ?
Find out all this and more in A Texan's Promise - Book #1 of The Heart of a Hero - A Series by Shelley Gray that I look forward to reading more of :).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gritty and Realistic yet Truly Inspiring

Date:July 17, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vanessa Grant has always loved Clayton Proffitt, foreman of her family's ranch, the Circle Z. When Clayton finds Vanessa crying in the barn one night he discovers that her stepfather, Price Venture, made unwelcome advances toward her and left marks on her back with his belt. Remembering the vow he made to her real father to watch over Vanessa, he packs a few things and takes her away that night. As they head West together their feelings for each other grow deeper and deeper. Price and her brother Miles are also heading west in search of them. The journey is long and difficult. Will their love and faith survive all the things they must face along the way?
A Texan's Promise is going down as one of my top favorites! A gritty and realistic tone gave this tale a real authenticity. From the first page until the hair-raising conclusion I was absolutely glued to the pages. I loved everything about this story including the cover. The characters were very well drawn and fully fleshed out. The dialog was totally awesome. The romantic tension between Clayton and Vanessa sizzled. The electricity between them was so strong it lit the room I was reading in. I loved it! One thing I thoroughly enjoyed was that there was lots of interaction between Vanessa and Clayton. Clayton was a swoon-worthy hero! I loved the way he was with Vanessa. Vanessa was a great heroine with lots of spunk but a tender heart. The author tackled the subjects of abuse, trust, forgiveness, war, honor, friendship, love and faith. I especially liked watching the growth of the characters. It really felt natural and not forced at all. God is always with us was the theme running through the story. A good reminder when we face difficult things. I highly recommend A Texan's Promise. It's truly inspiring. This is book one in The Heart of a Hero Series and you can bet I'll be watching for the next installment. Fantastic job Shelley!!! A thank you goes to Abingdon Press for this complimentary copy for my review.
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: Abingdon Press (October 2011)
ISBN-10: 1426714599
ISBN-13: 978-1426714597
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Texan's Promise, Heart of a Hero Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent new author

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clayton Proffitt is foreman of the Circle Z ranch in Texas. He been there six years. After the war he was an empty shell, little Vanessa Grant had filled that shell from the first day there. When her father died he promised to protect her.
When Vanessa woke Clay up with her crying in the barn he went to her. Her step father had beaten her and she had gashes in her back. Clayton decided he would take her away that night. After reprimanding her brother for being spineless and allowing this to happen he packed her clothes and they set off for Colorado. When staying with an army buddy along the way Ken talked him into marrying her. Vanessa always cared for Clay but did not want to trap him, but they knew to protect her name and from Price Venture it was what needed doing.
In this story we travel from Texas to Colorado. There are many hidden emotions both character hide. Clay's memories of war and Vanessa keeps hidden all that happened that night Price attacker her.
Miles Grant struggles as he goes with Price in search of her. Miles just wants to be cared for by anyone who will.
We meet Lacy in Denver. A childhood friend of Clay's sister Corrine. Lacy's life has taken a bad turn.
The author does not leave out the dark side of life. The temptations and desires that call to mans sinful nature. The emptiness of man without God in his life.
I look forward to more of her writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.