Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book

Zondervan Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book

Normal? While family dinners and vacations to touristy destinations are ordinary events for her "normal" friends, fifteen-year-old Jessie Hatcher's normal life means dealing with her ADHD and her mother's bipolar disorder. So why is Jessie shocked when the unexpected happens? Now her "normal" includes living in Florida with the father she always thought was dead and learning the secrets of sushi from a man who teaches by tormenting her. Life isn't any saner with her dad, but a cute guy and a mysterious book might just be the crazy Jessie needs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book
Review 1 for Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Funny and thoughtful

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by Jill Williamson
Fifteen-year-old Jessie Hatcher has a system to deal with her with her mom’s bipolar disorder and her own ADHD—until her father shows up. Her dead father. Apparently, mom told a little lie. And on the day her dad comes to meet her, mom ends up in the hospital. And now Jesse’s only relative is her dad, who lives in Florida, far away from all her friends. So Jesse goes, but she isn’t staying, even when she starts to like her job at the local sushi restaurant, the cute guy who works at the bike shop, and the mysterious book she “stole” from the airport.
Loved it! And let me just say, I could relate to Jessie’s randomness and mood swings. This is a really fun story about a girl who is searching. She’s had to depend on herself for so long that it’s hard for her to trust anyone. But her dad isn’t like her mom at all. It’s weird for Jesse to have an adult who cares. The writing is funny and thoughtful. The characters are fabulous, real, and struggling like the rest of us. I flew through the book and hope I’ll be able to read all the books in this series. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read!

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Buttercup
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I saw a new teen series coming (from author Nancy Rue) I flipped! I believe I have read every good contemporary teen books there was so I'm always happy to see another one. This book did not disappoint. It starts when Jessie, who has ADHD, freaks when her father, who she believed was dead, shows up on her front door. When circumstances force her to move in with him, she tries to show her "bad" side so she can get back home. So she steals a book, which when she opens says it was meant for her to find it. This creeps her out and Jessie leaves the book untouched for a while. But when she reads it, she finds it tells the story of salvation, which she desperately wants. Add that with a little romance, a great dad who owns motorcycles, and the secrets of sushi, you get one fantastic teen read! Way to go Nancy Rue for another winner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun read, but heavy topic

Date:October 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Nancy Rue has started a great new series here. It may be for young adults but not too young. This first book deals with ADHD, bipolar disorder, parental suicide and much, much more. The second book dives into dating abuse (older boyfriend beating up his younger girlfriend) and takes it all the way through the trial. Heavy issues, but very well written. Great characters and realistic scenarios. For young people in high school and college these books are very appropriate, but I think it'll be awhile before my 14 year old, homeschooled daughter will be reading them. I am a huge sushi fan and found the insight into the sushi restaurant fascinating. In the second book Nancy gives us a great insight into surfing - that was also very interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon Pierce
I really enjoyed this book. It was written about real situations and people. I think it will make girls really think about their relationship with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathy Fitzhugh
I really liked this book. While written predominately for teens, the message is powerful for all ages. Through many changes in her life, Jessie finds much growth and much to love about herself and her father. Life is never easy, but respect for one another helps us see life through another's eyes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly Forrester
Normal??Not me either. This a great read, whether you are an adult or young reader. This book reminds us, those with ADD, that through the Father, we can, "Let Yeshua, drive your demons out."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Todd Langdon
My first "e-read" and I thoroughly enjoyed it ... especially since I had been in St. Augustine this summer and many of the references were still fresh in mind. I found this to be a great book on relationships ... the "reasons" for such were simply plot lines - but the presentation and concepts were exceptional! A little disappointed by a somewhat abrupt ending, but all in all, a good read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark McIntyre
I downloaded the book knowing nothing about it, but was intrigued by the title. I was pleasantly surprised by the book. The characters are very real and drew me in; I was reluctant to put it down. My guess is that teens are the target audience, but this 50 something loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie from Genre Reviews
"Motorcycles, Sushi, & One Strange Book" is a fast-paced young adult novel with some romance. This is the first book in the "Real Life" series, but you can read them in any order without missing information or spoiling the other books in the series.The world-building was excellent in all areas and brought the story alive in my imagination. I liked the characters. They acted realistically and dealt with realistic, hard problems. I cared about what happened to the characters, so I had a hard time putting the novel down.This was definitely a Christian novel. Jessie found a strange, RL book with stories from the Bible about Jesus but they seemed written just for her and the situation she's going through. The Christian element was a main part of the story, but I didn't feel like the author was lecturing the reader or Jessie. It was handled in a way that was both comforting and challenging.There wasn't any cussing or swearing. There was no sex. Overall, I highly recommend this novel as a well-written, clean reading.I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol Gehringer
I've read the first two books in this Real Life series -- I don't think the Christian aspect is overplayed or misleading. In fact, I think it is understated. The strange book mentioned in the title is the RL (Real Life) book that each girls reads while dealing with her real-life issues (as opposed to a fantasy adventure or historical fiction). This series provides a wholesome alternative to other series in popular literature. It is contemporary teen fiction. In Motorcycles, Sushi & One Strange Book (Real Life), fifteen year old Jessie struggles to deal with her own ADHD and her mother's bipolar disorder. Jess' parents were not married when she was born. In fact, her father didn't know about her until recently. Her mother is seeking treatment and unable to care for her. So she has to adjust to life with her biological father who lives in another state. Her dad, a man who both owns a Harley motorcycle and has battled his own problem with alcohol, gets her a job with a sushi chef. Through this, Jessie learns personal responsibility and builds her self-esteem. On her way to live with her dad, Jessie found a mysterious RL book. It seems to echo her thoughts and helps her sort through the issues of her life. The RL book communicates to her where she is at, emotionally and spiritually, as she tries to find out more about Yeshua, the main character in the RL book. This book can be easily read by students 5th grade and up. It's not a heavy book that promises false hope, but one that shows how a real girl faces her personal demons and tries to search for spiritual significance. In this case, it is her own ADHD and her family's dysfunctionality. In the next book Boyfriends, Burritos& an Ocean of Trouble (Real Life)), it is an abusive relationship and what happens when you stand up for the truth. Taken from the review published in the Christian Library Journal, August2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.