Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Through Gates of Splendor

Tyndale House Through Gates of Splendor

In 1956, five young men, including Elliot's husband, traveled into the jungles of Ecuador to establish communication with the fierce Waorani Tribe. In a nearby village, their wives waited to hear from them. The news they received---all five missionaries had been murdered---changed lives forever. A lasting story of God's grace and great courage. 269 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Through Gates of Splendor
Review 1 for Through Gates of Splendor
This review is fromThrough Gates of Splendor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great read. This story is moving, impacting, and powerful. It truly shows the fearlessness and courage of these five men who were willing to obey the command of their Lord. The testimonies of these men will honestly convict your life. Highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Through Gates of Splendor
This review is fromThrough Gates of Splendor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved it

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
flying j girl
Location:galion, ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
through gates of splendor was a great missionary story... elisabeth elliot did a great job telling the story of the lives involved...... and to show how they trusted god for everything even till the end ..... and the widows kept that trust in the lord even after the deaths of there husbands...that shows what great faith they have in our almighty lord who always watches over his people....I know I will read this book again and again and will let others enjoy reading it to...... thanks for a great book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Through Gates of Splendor
This review is fromThrough Gates of Splendor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real story of real missionaries

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
debbie k
Location:Partlow, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The way this book is written, it was as if I were there with these young missionaries. This was a good reminder of how things really are in the field. While I'm home in my comfortable home with all of my stuff, missionaries are busy reaching the lost with very little comforts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Through Gates of Splendor
This review is fromThrough Gates of Splendor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
ElizabethInHisGrip
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading this book gave me a picture of what is required of being a missionary - total surrender to the Lord and total trust in Him. What an amazing, true, account of people who had given the ultimate for others to come to Christ. Christ wins! I couldn't put the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Through Gates of Splendor
This review is fromThrough Gates of Splendor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judith Walker
I read this book when I was growing up. It had a profound affect on me. It reminds me that God has a plan for each life and decides the length and impact that life will have on others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Through Gates of Splendor
This review is fromThrough Gates of Splendor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Baird
This was an excellent book - an adventure better than any fiction. I could not put the book down! It is such a picture of amazing faith and service. I am looking forward to reading it to my son. It is very well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Through Gates of Splendor
This review is fromThrough Gates of Splendor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ana
Wow! Book makes me cry! I love it! Such a sweet story!!! all i can say is wow wow wow!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Through Gates of Splendor
This review is fromThrough Gates of Splendor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ronald Wallace
This was a wonderful story of God working in our lives regardless of what we think we are going to do. He can guide and direct and even put it on our hearts to want his will and desires. I enjoyed it to the max.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Through Gates of Splendor
This review is fromThrough Gates of Splendor.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Julie Camp
Another good Literature Book. Our Christian children can glean from book like these and learn the religous freedom we are proud of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Through Gates of Splendor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dan Ford
This is a great book for graduation gifts! These men and women both put Jesus first in their lives and their marriages. Their desire was to please God and live totally for him. Plan on using a highlighter when reading this story, esp. pages 171 and 172. It would be good for an exciting group Bible study as well.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Through Gates of Splendor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dan Ford
This is a great book for graduation gifts! These men and women both put Jesus first in their lives and their marriages. Their desire was to please God and live totally for him. Plan on using a highlighter when reading this story, esp. pages 171 and 172. It would be good for an exciting group Bible study as well.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Through Gates of Splendor
This review is fromThrough Gates of Splendor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kevin S. Smith
He who loves his life will lose it, but he who loses his life for Christ's sake will gain so much more. We hear and say those words so often, but few of us really live it. It is amazing to read a modern account of men who lived what they believed, even unto death. You cannot finish this book the same person who began it. If I could have one book in my library other than the Bible, this is the one I would pick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Through Gates of Splendor
This review is fromThrough Gates of Splendor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Debbie Jensen
Excellent book. If you have read the book you would also enjoy the Movie based on these events.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Through Gates of Splendor
This review is fromThrough Gates of Splendor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lyle Beabout
I'll never look at mission work the same again. For some missionaries, their calling is a dangerous one, and these five men knew it, yet they still did it because God told them to. Inspiring account--a must-read for anyone interested in missions or the dedication of faithful Christians!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Through Gates of Splendor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Brother George
I travel the world in missions, lecture to University students, and the one author I recommend to my students worldwide; is at all costs, buy anything written by Elisabeth Elliot. As Ruth Bell Graham said, "we have a way of making Christian concepts complicated, and Elisabeth Elliot has a way of untying the knots with grace"...
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Through Gates of Splendor
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chantel
I am in a Christian Junior High, and we are reading this book. What this book is based on is inspiring, and incredibly awesome, but it is not very interesting for junior highers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Through Gates of Splendor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2002
Customer Avatar
Shaun Price
One of the best books I have read. An excellent story of five men who gave their all for Christ. As a college student it encourages me to read about young men who live out the great commission. This book is a blessing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Through Gates of Splendor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2002
Customer Avatar
A reader
All I can say is, WOW! This sure puts our little worries about cars and work and school and gaining weight and paying bills into perspective! This is the story behind Steven Curtis Chapman's phenomenal song "No Greater Love." That song expresses the story better than I can, but I'll try...this story is a story of faithful martyrs from this century. It's the story of five young men who were willing to give EVERYTHING, and I mean everything, for the sake of spreading the gospel of Christ. When you say that you are surrendering to Christ, are you willing to give that much? Read about these men who are part of generations of faithful Christians who were willing to give up everything for the sake of the call."Man of courage, with your message of peaceWhat is that look in your eyes?Why have you come to this faraway place?What is this story you would lay down your life to tell?What kind of love can this be?There is no greater love than thisThere is no greater gift that can ever be givenTo be willing to die that another might liveThere is no greater love than this"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Through Gates of Splendor
This review is fromThrough Gates of Splendor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2001
Customer Avatar
Allison McElroy
Very, Very awesome book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.