Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Summer of Cotton Candy, A Sweet Seasons Novel #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan The Summer of Cotton Candy, A Sweet Seasons Novel #1

Most people think The Zone is an amusement park, but Candy Thompson knows it's really a slave labor camp. What else would you call a summer job that requires a teen to set aside her whole social life for the privilege of standing out in the hot sun selling cotton candy? There is an upside. Particularly the mysterious gentleman in the Lone Ranger costume. Who is that masked man? But someone else is just as interested. And romantic competition isn't the only problem. Besides being hard work, her job is eating up major time. How is Candace supposed to stay involved with her church? Worse yet, will she lose her best friend, Tamara, who resents how Candy's job limits their time together?
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Summer of Cotton Candy, A Sweet Seasons Novel #1
Review 1 for The Summer of Cotton Candy, A Sweet Seasons Novel #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As sweet as cotton candy!

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Candace Thompson’s dad has ordered her to get a summer job and earn money of her own. She gets a job at The Zone, an amusement park where she’s a cotton candy operator and salesgirl. Candace starts to make friends at The Zone, including handsome guy who dresses up like the Lone Ranger. She also makes a few enemies. Plus, Candace’s best friend, Tamera, who happens to be rich, is upset that Candace doesn’t have time for her anymore and is jealous of Candace’s new friends. Can Candace learn to balance her new friends with her old? And can she stand up to the enemies she’s made at The Zone?
What a fun read! It zipped right by. I loved Candace, and The Zone was so well thought out that it read like its own fantasy world. I can totally imagine going to that theme park! The story was funny in parts, frustrating in parts, and sweet too. I’m curious what’s going to happen in Candace’s life yet and am going to have to read book two. Recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Summer of Cotton Candy, A Sweet Seasons Novel #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delicious Read!!!

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie703
Location:Marksville,LA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thrown into the book within the first paragraph and it held my attention till the end. I felt like I was Candace and I understood her reactions. Like when she heard, "Don't date a guy you ain't willing to marry." We were both like, "HARSH! I just wanna enjoy myself!" But that isn't, like, smart. Why? If there's no point you are only setting yourself up for heart break.
The book was SO not preachy. But yet, it carried an evident message that has me craving a taste of the rest of the series. Candace learned and I kinda did to. It was like a glimpse into the choices she will make, did, and don't wanna make. And you saw the end result.
Overall, the book was epically sweet. I loved it. And I SOOO reccommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Summer of Cotton Candy, A Sweet Seasons Novel #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Summer of Cotton Candy is a cute junior novel about a first job, a first boyfriend and the drama of high school age teenagers. You'll love the main character, Candace, who manages to find unique disasters as only a teenager can, and whose love of the Lord shows throughout this series. I hope everyone enjoys this book as much as I did!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Summer of Cotton Candy, A Sweet Seasons Novel #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun, Light-Hearted and Sweet Teen Series

Date:July 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: The Summer of Cotton Candy- Book #1 Sweet Seasons Series- Debbie Viguie - April 2008
It must just be me , but for some reason I have a knack for reading Series out of order and back to front as for the Sweet Seasons Series, I read Book #4 first , then Book #2 and now Book #1 and Im still holding out for Book #3. Though for some strange reason, libraries tend to purchase series in odd ways. In the first book, The Summer of Cotton Candy- we meet Candace Thompson who has been forced to get a summer job at The Zone , however because she has left it too late the only jobs available are as a Janitor cleaning toilets or a Cotton candy operator. Thus the beginning of Candace's time as a Snack Operator. However as we have witnessed in the other books, trouble seems to follow Candy as we see her failed a drug test though she doesnt take drugs , nearly sue somebody for Sexual Harrasment , have a case of Identity Fraud and has a series of creepy customers, not too mention that this is the book she first meets Kurt , who as we know becomes her boyfriend - though Kurt has an evil ex Lisa , whose decided it's her job to make Candy's life a living nightmare. We also discover the storyline behind the making of the Maze in Book #2 The Fall of Candy Corn.
A fun, light-hearted and sweet series and for those parents who are worried about the worldly view. Debbie Vigiue has written this as the perfect read for Christian Teen Girls, so you don't have to worry.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Summer of Cotton Candy, A Sweet Seasons Novel #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vicki
I think that this book truly showed how a teenage girls mind works, the detail was amazing and I felt like I could relate to Candy in a way. Even though she dislikes Candy Floss (as we call it in New Zealand)her passion for serving grows. I strongly recommend this book to anyone on a winters night (the detail of heat warms you up)!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Summer of Cotton Candy, A Sweet Seasons Novel #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ashten
Well.. This book was pretty good, it is a really easy read. Although, I didn't agree with all the things that Candy did, such as when she goes out with a guy she doesn't know all that well. I just don't want younger girls to get the idea that you meet a guy that is cute and it is like, your cute, you like me.. let's date! It really all depends on what your standards are.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Summer of Cotton Candy, A Sweet Seasons Novel #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susy Flory
The Summer of Cotton Candy is a sweet and lighthearted story that brings to life the summer adventures of Candace Thompson, a 17 year old who is forced to leave her comfort zone the summer between her junior and senior years to work at The Zone, a gigantic and amazing amusement park.Assigned to work a cotton candy cart (that is mechanized and unexpectedly takes off at will to zoom to new locations throughout the park), Candace must learn how to deal with rowdy customers, best friend problems, the challenges of holding down a summer job, and, best of all, the joy and pain that comes with having a boyfriend for the very first time (who, by the way, has bright blue eyes and plays Robin Hood at The Zone).A wholesome and engaging coming of age tale, Cotton Candy shows us a young woman of faith coming to terms with who she is, and who she wants to be in the future, as she grapples with a wealthy best friend who always wants to buy her things, even though she can't return the favor, and a high school dropout boyfriend who is gorgeous but only lives for the moment, although he is bright and talented. Will Candace be who her friends want her to be? Or will she find her own path?Highly recommended for teen and pre-teen girls, and those who want to remember exactly what it's like to be that age, with all the worries, concerns, and simple pleasures that entails.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Summer of Cotton Candy, A Sweet Seasons Novel #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2008
I really wish that an amusement park like The Zone existed. It sounds like an awesome place to not only visit but to work as well. The job doesn't sound too hard and the perks are great. I wish this could have been my summer job! I really liked how Candace evolved throughout the story. She starts off dreading everything and wishing she was somewhere else. She sort of self-centered in the beginning with no drive or motivation. As the story continues, she grows up, makes friends, and begins to see her herself as someone with a purpose. Working at the amusement park is chaotic but it's a colorful and exciting ride. I could totally picture the park with the great descriptions the author had made. I could see the costumes, hear the rides, smell the food, and immerse myself in the crowd. The book was a total sensory experience, the next best thing to actually being there. The only thing that irked me was the whole Becca situation. I personally would have reacted exactly the same way Candace did whenever someone would only casually warn her about Becca. If it was such a life threatening issue, she really should have been officially warned by the park. I also didn't like Tamara's attitude throughout the book. She was being VERY petty in my opinion. Just because she has money to throw around doesn't mean everyone else does. I understand her being jealous of Candace having new friends but for Tamara to keep giving her a cold shoulder for obeying her parents just really irked me. This series is a great alternative to fans of Gossip Girl and other trashy teen lit series. There's nothing offensive at all in the books, but teens will relate to reading about people just like them in real situations. I'm looking forward to enjoying the rest of the seasons with Candace and the rest of The Zone gang!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Summer of Cotton Candy, A Sweet Seasons Novel #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2008
My 14 year-old daughter adored The Summer of Cotton Candy. In fact, I was almost unable to pry it from her hands to review it, myself. But I feel this was a wonderful thing because of the moments I spent with my teenager discussing the story of Candace and her job working the cotton candy cart at the colorful amusement park. I enjoyed hearing about the friends she made and the dates she went on.This author really captured my daughters attention and kept her reading! And thats a tough thing to do with teenaged girls. The characters engaged her right away, and kept her interested through to the last page of this wonderful novel! In fact, not only did my daughter tell me about the book as she read and enjoyed it, she also read to me! Debbie Viquie has a crisp writing style that captures the readers attention to the point that even a teenager doesnt want to put the book down. We cant wait to see the rest of the books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.