Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ZonderKidz #1: Natalie and the One-of-a-Kind Wonderful Day!

ZonderKidz #1: Natalie and the One-of-a-Kind Wonderful Day!

Natalie wants to do something no one else has ever done, something spectacular! But everything she tries goes wrong from the egg wreck to the purple wallpaper mess, and that's just her morning. Through it all, Nat discovers something truly wonderful.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #1: Natalie and the One-of-a-Kind Wonderful Day!
Review 1 for #1: Natalie and the One-of-a-Kind Wonderful Day!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great JBJ alternative

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
CPfam
Location:MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't stand the poor grammar of Junie B. Jones and was despirate to find something else!! That's Nat is perfect!!! Same crazy antics but loving Christian family discipline and complete sentences using whole words!!! I always recommend That's Nat to families with readers who are getting ready for their first chapter books!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #1: Natalie and the One-of-a-Kind Wonderful Day!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kim Strahan
Location:mississippi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book for my 6 year old who is a struggling reader. We read one chapter together every night at bedtime. She loved it so much we have asked our local librarian to purchase more in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #1: Natalie and the One-of-a-Kind Wonderful Day!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gift

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Emily
Location:Texas
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natalie reminded my of my precocious granddaughter...This will be a Christmas gift that I hope to add to over the year with additional volumes about Natalie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #1: Natalie and the One-of-a-Kind Wonderful Day!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great gift!

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Frances Watson
Location:Cleburne, TX
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought three of these books for my little sister for Christmas. She was in 1st grade and just learning how to read. I had wanted to get her some Christian books that she could start reading and these were perfect! They are beginning chapter books that include good Christian virtues but are written from a little girls perspective. I could not have asked for a more perfect gift! These books truly apply the Bible to real life situations. I would recommend these books to anyone looking for a positive, Christian easy-reader book.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #1: Natalie and the One-of-a-Kind Wonderful Day!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emily Edwards
This book was wonderful. The chapters were just the right length and was very easy for even my 3 year old to understand. Would defianetly recommend to anyone with a rambuctious 5 year old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #1: Natalie and the One-of-a-Kind Wonderful Day!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
VIcki
My almost five year old enjoyed Natalie's antics and foibles as she tries her hardest to do good but ends up getting into trouble with her parents. In the end they express their love for her over their frustration. Junie B. Jones for a Christian audience - Natalie is sweet, endearing and spirited and enthusaistic about her faith. I didn't appreciate her use of words like "hate", "stupid" and "stupidhead" as we try to discourage these words in our girls' vocabulary but these can be edited out as I read aloud.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #1: Natalie and the One-of-a-Kind Wonderful Day!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
holy4him
I was looking for a Godly series of books for my daughter who just turned six. Natalie is 5 1/2 and although she means well, she gets into lots of trouble! This, of course, gives her parents plenty of opportunities to practice patience. Also included are lessons of God's love and forgiveness. We have been so pleased with the Natalie books!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #1: Natalie and the One-of-a-Kind Wonderful Day!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2009
Natalie wants to do something fabulous that no one else has ever done. Yet every time she tries, things go terribly wrong. First, she tries to make purple omelets...but instead, she makes the kitchen so filthy, it takes her mother most of the morning to clean up the mess. She tries to make her daddy some one-of-a-kind shoes...but only succeeds in ruining his church shoes. She tries to save some ants...and ends up infesting her house with them."Only Natalie!" her mother says over and over again, exasperated. Natalie feels horrible. At the end of the day, after Natalie's been sent to bed, she prays: "'I'm sorry...I don't like being Only Natalie.' Then Natalie's parents walk in, so Nat pretends to be sleeping. Her father says: "Dear God...thank you for this wonderful day you've given us. And most of all, thank you for giving us our wonderful daughter, Natalie..." Her mother agrees: "Our Nat is one of a kind, heavenly Father. Who else could make our lives so full and wonderful...Only Natalie.""And as I float into that sleepiness, my mind whispers thanks to God for making me, Natalie...the one-of-a-kind wonderful thing."What I Like: Every preschooler can relate to Natalie and all the trouble she gets into - with the best of intentions. Mackall does an excellent job getting into the head of a five year old. My three year old loves this book, and asks me to read it to her over and over again. I also appreciate the message: Even when everything seems to go wrong and you can't do anything right, you are a one-of-a-kind wonderful person that God has made.What I Dislike: The first chapter or so, you may find yourself tripping over the text, which is entirely written as if Natalie were talking. But as you continue reading the book, I think you'll find (as I did) you get more used to the writing, and the text sounds more and more authentic.Overall Rating: Very good.Kristina SeleshankoManaging EditorChristian Children's Book Review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.