Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Scoop, Occupational Hazard Series #1

Random House, Inc Scoop, Occupational Hazard Series #1

TV news producer Hugo Talley is desperate to boost ratings and attract a younger demographic. But an aging anchorwoman, a know-it-all weatherman, a reporter who shuns sensationalism, and young Hayden Hazard---an assistant who can't leave her faith outside the newsroom---are jeopardizing Hugo's dreams. Will Hayden's personal convictions destroy Channel 7's shot at success? 352 pages, softcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Scoop, Occupational Hazard Series #1
Review 1 for Scoop, Occupational Hazard Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2008
This was one of those, "I'm desperate, so I'll read it" buys, but it turned out to be much more than that. This book got me giggling in several places, and in general, the plot is a great mix of comedy and suspense. The characters, too, are easy to root for, especially Ray, and I think Rene did a great job of painting him as a Christian with some real faith issues--and in turn, a real faith. I enjoyed the way she gently "poked fun" at some Christians' fixation on the idea that certain authors are always right when it comes to doctrine, as well. My only criticisms lie in the names--to my ear, most were horrible and some sounded too similar--and in the fact that some of the plot mechanics were a bit clunky (i.e., the Botox disaster). All in all, though, this was an enjoyable read that made me anxious to see what Rene would come up with for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Scoop, Occupational Hazard Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2007
Hilarious! I actually laughed out loud with this. Few books can do that for me. Laughs are throughout, plus a strong message of faith, and also an inside-look at the world of news-media. Also, the character of Hayden was a definite inspiration, and shows how a Christian should really act. A delightful story and an engaging mystery, Scoop is a definite must-read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Scoop, Occupational Hazard Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lee Harris
OK I'm a retired broadcast journalist, so I'm a bit prejudiced. Scoop is a funny, stimulating read with twists and turns that keep your going. It's so good -- or I read too much -- I've bought it and read it twice. Saving for another romp through TV land and the life of egos in action. Give it a read -- you won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Scoop, Occupational Hazard Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2007
The first of Guttridges Occupational Hazard series is a rousing story of life, love, and laughs at a busy television news station. From the stressed out news producer popping Happy Pills to cope, to the aging newscaster experiencing a Botox disaster, to the clueless, sweet and curiously savvy assistant who just cant seem to leave her faith at home where it belongs, this story is a delightful romp through the behind-the-scenes world of TV News. I laughed out loud several times. A thoroughly enjoyable tale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Scoop, Occupational Hazard Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2007
HILARIOUS!! I actually laughed out loud several times. The only reason that I gave this book a lower score was because we never 'heard' from Hayden Hazard (besides the prologue) whom I had assumed was the main character. I would have liked to hear the story from her point of view.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Scoop, Occupational Hazard Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Narelle Mollet
Rene Gutteridge's diverse writing talent continues to amaze me! Scoop, the first in her Occupational Hazard series, details the inner workings of a television news team struggling in the ratings and looking for the one big "scoop" that will boost their popularity.With a stressed out producer, a young and dedicated reporter, an ageing news anchor and an ethically-challenged news director, Channel 7's 10 o'clock news is looking down the barrel of oblivion if the team doesn't find a story so the news director sees no problem trying to make the news instead of just reporting it. Into this mix comes Hayden Hazard, assistant to the producer, Hugo, home schooled with an honesty about her faith that is both endearing and confronting to her colleagues. When their news anchor disappears, it seems Channel 7 finally has a story that will be a ratings winner and save their futures.Rene gives fascinating insight into the stressful and fast paced news environment and fills it with genuine and unique characters. As always her writing is injected with humour yet with an underlying depth that encourages the reader to think and contemplate their own workplace behaviour. My only niggle with the book was not hearing more of Hayden's own "voice". Hayden is portrayed through the thoughts of her work colleagues and no doubt while I imagine this was a deliberate choice by Rene, it would have been great to hear directly from this interesting character.Scoop has left me highly anticipating Snitch (releasing in May, 2007 ) and Skid (releasing in 2008).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Scoop, Occupational Hazard Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Scoop is a creative novel with a well-done plot, fantastic dialogue, and great characterization. The setting is superb and I truly felt like I worked in a television news station throughout the story. Scoop is highly entertaining with a strong theme tucked within it's pages regarding the power of a true Christian witness to nonbelievers we work with. Scoop also contained several points of view. On the one hand, I enjoyed getting to know the cast, but as a result, I didn't feel like I had much time to get to know Hayden Hazard--the main character. I think that was the downside to this otherwise riveting novel. I suppose seeing Hayden through others' eyes did work for the book, but by story's end I wished I'd had a chance to know Hayden more, to discover the way her mind worked. I really enjoyed her philosophy of life and how well the author portrayed it through her actions. Sometimes her naive perspective was downright funny. I also thought the author did an amazing job showing the various character arcs. Well done! Overall I'd say I enjoyed Scoop enough to recommend it. Though not "hilarious", in my opinion, it did bring me indescribable satisfaction as I perused its pages. Most importantly, I didn't experience a dull moment in this novel. Not once did Scoop feel like a chore to read. I'm looking forward to reading more about the Hazard family though future books in the Occupational Hazards series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Scoop, Occupational Hazard Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2006
Hayden Hazard is the new assistant to the Executive Producer at Channel 7. A former homeschooler, no one quite knows how to handle her upbeat outlook and faith that invades every aspect of her life.I cringed when I first saw she had been homeschooled. I ducked and waited for all the tired, old stereotypes to fly. Rene didn't rely on them. Instead, she painted Hayden as a young woman who was comfortable in her own skin, had a gut-level faith that flowed from her naturally (even as it made her colleagues uncomfortable), and had a basic level of common sense and wisdom that much of the world misses these days. Hayden is the focal character, but only the first and last chapters are in her point of view. The rest were told from various colleagues points of view. There's Gilda, the slightly long in the tooth anchor; Ray, the agressive, hiding his light Christian reporter; Hugo, the pill popping executive producer; you get the idea. The story picks up as sweeps week descends on the station with Gilda mysteriously AWOL, Hayden suddenly sitting in her chair, a sewage plant exploding, and someone a viewer attacking Ray. Add Ray's desire to date Hayden and it makes for quite a mix. If you're looking for a funny read, I think you'll enjoy this book by Rene. If you're looking for suspense, ala her Storm series, this one isn't for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.