Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Lord, I Give You This Day

WaterBrook Press Lord, I Give You This Day

As Christians, we're invited each day to a special appointment with our Creator, who longs for us to say, "Lord, I give you this day." In return, He gives us the joy, peace and purpose our hearts long for. Kay Arthur invites you to join her on a 366-day journey to discover the bold faith, life-changing power and perfect peace found in surrendering each day to His plan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lord, I Give You This Day
Review 1 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Redemption Not

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Philip Tutt
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book, adapted and expanded from another of the author's numerous works on the Bible, follows the "daily devotional" format (one-page sermons, one for each day of the year, exhorting followers of Jesus in a particular matter, and suggesting related ideas for meditation during the day). Most of these devotionals are essentially useless as spiritual exercises, typically because the subjects (e.g., Christian interaction with the lives of others) are far too complex for such truncated presentation. This book fares no better. Some (myself included) may find its folksy familiarity offensive. For example, the meditation from January 6 begins "Precious one". Precious to whom? Certainly not to the author, who likely knows nothing about the reader. To God? Yes, but that is a serious matter which the author's usage (a form of introductory address) trivializes. To Jesus? Absolutely, but only the Son has been commissioned by the Father to call us to God in this way. I have to conclude, just from this, that the author is either thoughtless, or very arrogant. More substantively, the author's frequent reliance on Paul for her ideas gives away the undercurrents of the book. Pauline thinking is largely driven by obsession with sin, the burden of the "old law" which Paul despises, but from which he never escaped. Liberty in Jesus, on the other hand, is driven by commitment to others, in the example of Jesus' love (Jn. 15:12). The commingling of the two is toxic. It doesn't take long (January 23) for the author to offer the reader this poisonous cocktail: "I realize that the answer (to moral failing) goes back to the problem of inherent sin." (my parentheses). This point of view is reinforced from time to time, throughout the book (e.g., February 15: "Sin has its roots in independent action.", March 15: "Have you seen self as the root of sin?", and elsewhere, in variant forms). There you have it--the depraved nature of humankind, a concept engendering that self-loathing which underlies so much of humanity's misery. All of the sweetness which the author lays over this concept simply masks the toxin. The giveaway comes early in the book: "One of Satan's most effective strategies (for maintaining guilt or regret) is to remind us of sins we've already confessed ..." (March 9; my parentheses). Apparently, it does not occur to the author that this "strategy", usually in the form of a "lest we backslide" formula, is the basis for so much sermonizing by those pastors who see the devil lurking in every new cultural expression. How I wish that the author had found her way beyond these old traps. She writes well, and could have done far better. The title of the book itself could have led her in the right direction: Lord, I give you this day, because I love you. Unfortunately, it did not happen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful devotional

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful daily devotional to have. I thoroughly enjoy the daily insights as well as verses that accompany the thought and challenge. Ms. Arthur does a great job in such short paragraph's to challenge us to start our day with prayer and dependence on God. I love all of Kay Arthur's Bible studies and this devotional has her touch all over it. The questions she challenges us with really stir the heart. There is the right mix of challenge and encouragement. I recommend this to anyone looking for a short daily devotional.
I received this free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Delightful Devotional!

Date:February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I collect devotionals :). I'm glad to have added this wonderful book to my collection. Would you like to have 366 meaningful daily appointments with God? Are you willing to give each of your days to God? The book starts off with one of my all-time favorite hymns, "I Surrender All" by Judson W. Van DeVenter. The author, Kay Arthur, encourages readers to surrender all (including each day) to God and in turn find our strength, healing, hope, guidance, peace, joy, and encouragement in Him and His Word.
Each day's reading is only one page long and ends with a prayer. It includes one main Bible verse(s) in bold letters and then a few other relevant Scriptures. There are no themes or categories. There's no table of contents, either. Therefore, you never know what to expect from day to day's readings. At the end of the book, there are five blank personal pages for readers to write their notes or prayers.
You're invited to lay it all down at the feet of Jesus and spend time dwelling in His presence, resting in His grace, mercy, love, & faithfulness, and meditating on His Word. Any book which prompts readers to dig deeper in the Bible and rely on God's wisdom is a great book in my opinion :). Come taste and see that the Lord is good! When you give God your days, you will experience the beauty of surrendered and grace-filled living, no matter what challenges come your way. I really enjoy absorbing God's truths into my heart and mind day after day through using this devotional.
~I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Quality Devotional Book

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I didn't read the subtitle (366 Appointments with God) when I requested this book, so you can imagine my surprise when I received a daily devotional book. I was expecting a "regular" book, so I had to reset my expectations in order to write this review.
First of all, it's difficult to write a review on a book when you haven't had the opportunity to read all the way through it. Kay Arthur is a great Bible teacher though, so based on the portion I read and some of her radio broadcasts I've listened to, I can recommend her materials when you're looking for sound doctrine.
This book is actually an adapted compilation of a large amount of her writing (the copyright page told me so!). There is one "emphasis" verse that each devotional is written around, as is typical of many devotionals, along with a short sample prayer at the end of each day. I struggled with deciding whether I could actually recommend this book, since it's a devotional style (think "milk") rather than mostly Scripture with a smaller percentage being commentary (think "meat"). Personally, I would rather spend the time reading words straight from Scripture.
However, I think it could be a great "in addition to your regular Scripture reading" book. She makes some interesting points and has some thought provoking questions related to some of the Scripture she uses. On that basis, I can recommend it.
As a final note, the majority of the Scripture is quoted from the New American Standard Bible, with some being from the King James and New King James versions. I know that may influence some readers' decisions on whether or not to look into it, so I wanted to add that as well.
I received this book for free via WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. The perspectives above are entirely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Daily Reading

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
1kyteacher
Age:35-44
Gender:female
For those wishing to grow closer to the Lord, it is important to spend time in His Word each day. One way to do that is by using a daily devotional.
Kay Arthur has written an excellent daily devotional entitled Lord, I Give You This Day.
This 366 appointment book with God (let's not forget leap year), is set up in consistent devotions. Each day has devotional reading that includes bolded scripture that is the focus scripture for that day. It also includes other bible references so you can further your study. At the the end of each day, a suggested prayer is given.
Each day's devotion is just one page. This makes it convenient to those who have other devotional reading to complete or studying the Bible further. Not to mention the short devotions help those of us who may be in a hurry!The attached ribbon book mark makes it easy to keep your place as well.
If you are looking for a new daily devotional, I think you would enjoy this one. The devotions were heartfelt and moving.
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Press for the purpose of an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not Light and Fluffy, but Meaty and Refreshing!

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katie Meg
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I have always enjoyed the way that Kay Arthur teaches God's Word with passion and conviction; inspiring you to discover the rich treasures within it. This yearlong devotional delivers this same kind of experience; washing you in the truth and purity of God's Word each day. You will be exhorted and convicted as you come face-to-face with the words of the Holy One..."How can Christians keep from being imprisoned by the world? How can we keep our vision and not lose hope? By obedience to God's Word and by clinging to it in faith" (Feb. 12th entry, Kay Arthur).
This devotional is not light and fluffy, but meaty and refreshing; calling you to maturity in Christ. Kay sticks to the facts, not opinions, pointing you as an arrow, ready to hit the mark, of obeying God's Word everyday. Incorporate this book as part of your quiet time and I believe that you will be positioned to be built up and strengthened in your faith. As you take in these daily doses of truth you will be challenged to evaluate yourself in the light of the gospel and realign your thinking and actions according to it. This book is a call to action...to abide in Christ as you give Him each day.
*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Devotional for a small amount of time

Date:February 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
AmyT
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lord, I Give You This Day is a daily devotional by Kay Arthur. She gives you 366 days of devotions,which is great for those leap years. Thoughts, scriptures and prayer each day will bring you into the presence of God and help you focus on the Lord and not yourself. If you only have a few minutes a day - this is the devotional for you.
Right off the bat, Kay Arthur pulls no punches. She doesn't give you the cushy comfy gospel, but challenges you to look inside yourself and see where you might be skewed in your thinking. It is great! Many times devotionals are just feel good, but this one challenges you to change, to become more like Jesus to be a person of integrity and grace and mercy.
My only complaint is that it doesn't go deep into scripture or studying scripture. I would like more scripture to read and to investigate for myself. I guess the way to remedy this, which I did, is to have this devotional accompany other devotionals or studies. If you want a quick, challenging devotional this is the one for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Meaty!

Date:February 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dalyn
Location:Yakima, Wa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have, for years started my day out with a coffee (now decaf latte, preferably with raw goat milk) , a devotional book, and then my Bible reading. In quiet seasons (which I barely recall) I also then did some Bible study- often with my kids. These days I am so busy with babies that I only some days get my Bible reading in- which is terrible for me and I certainly feel the lack! But at least I do get a devotional reading in somewhere during the day and a portion of Bible reading on my iPhone app even though it's just not the same.
I get a new devotional almost every year. It's become a tradition. Some are so good I will re-read them in a few years. Lord, I Give You This Day by Kay Arthur is definitely a devotional that falls into that category. It's meaty. Not too long, and not too short. It's convicting and encouraging truth in bite size portions. There's also a prayer at the end of each day's reading that you can pray. It's short and purposeful.
I feel this lovely book is feeding me, and that's vital when I am stressed and vulnerable especially.
Personally I think this is one of the best devotionals written recently.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I am usually not a fan of devotionals because they are never really deep, nor do they really give you more than just a portion of Scripture. This one was refreshingly different.Kay Arthur incorporates Biblical truths in a small way that makes you want to open your Bible and dig in deeper, rather than "be done for the day".
This book is also beautifully bound with an attached ribbon bookmark which makes it a great gift choice.
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Devotional

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
gcwfarmgirl
Location:Ohio
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This devotional is packed with religious inspiration, mixing brief readings of Biblical passages with prayers designed to reinforce spirituality throughout the day
Kay is down to earth and writes as such, making Biblical truth extremely easy to understand. She makes the point of the entry short, easy to read, easy to understand and easy to remember.
This devotional is offers encouragement to draw you in to your time with Christ, eager to ask the Spirit to work in your life today.
I easily get caught up it the world of today, and forget what's really important. This book puts into prospective how important my relationship with God truly is.
Each devotion can be read in just a few minutes, but they are so substantial that you will reflect on them long after you put the book down.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent way to start the day!

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Phenix City,AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In all my years of having a quiet time, I have accumulated many devotionals. I had read "Lord, I Give You this day through several years ago. While cleaning out my book shelves, I was going to donate it to our church library, but felt let to give to a friend. Therefore, I ordered another one for me!
It is a blessing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brings insight and peace to each day.

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beeg
Location:Lafayette, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Puts an new perspective on my day and how I conduct myself. Kay Arthur is an excellent conveyer of God's Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
JustMeCD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For my daily devotional while riding on the train to work. Good for encouragement to start the day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rose Cuzick
I personally think this is one of the better divotionals around. This particular book was a gift, but I have one of my own and it is just special and I feel a peace come over me as I read. I really enjoy this one, it's almost like having a short, meaningful conversation with my Heavenly Father. thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lord, I Give You This Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Greta Smith
Each and every day this devotional pierces my heart, like each message was written just for me! It has already been a tremendous blessing. A great way to start the day. Highly recommend this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.