Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Whisper on the Wind - eBook

Tyndale House Whisper on the Wind - eBook

In Brussels at the height of WWI, a small, underground newspaper is the only thing offering the occupied city hope-and real news of the war. The paper may be a small whisper among the shouts of the German army, but Edward Kirkland will do anything to keep it in print. Meanwhile, Isa Lassone, a Belgian-American socialite whose parents whisked her to safety at the start of the war, sneaks back into the country to rescue those dearest to her: Edward and his mother. But Edward refuses to go, and soon Isa is drawn into his secret life printing the newspaper . . . And into his heart.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
Review 1 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:December 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book right after I finished it's prequel "Look To The East". (this series needn't be read in order)
The other book was good, but I much preferred this story. Since I was expecting a captivating war story with some excitement and a little romance, Maureen Lang didn't let me down! I'd recommend this product to anyone who enjoys a great historical novel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an enchanting story

Date:December 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
PharmD
Location:Johnston,SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This is a wonderful story. I found it very hard to put down. It is full of suspense, drama, and most importantly Gods word. I enjoyed how scripture was incorporated within the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic, Just know there is one before it!

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
AJH
Location:CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a FANTASTIC read! I love stories of War times and the things these people had to go through. And this one has a great love story (or stories) and great heart and great instruction for faith as well. The only thing was that it didn't warn you that it was the 2nd book in the series. So if you can read the "Look to the East" so there won't be any spoilers. I am looking forward to still reading that one as well as the 3rd in the series! It's a must buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God is great!

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
ashjcass
Location:SLC, UT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book reminded me of how great God is during trials. Great historical fiction that made you want to keep reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great World War I drama

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth Axtell Morren
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book hooks you in from page one all the way to the epilogue. Riveting danger in World War I occupied Belgium, mainly Brussels. We usually don't think of the occupied cities during World War I, only W.W.II. We think of trenches and Red Cross nurses, and yet there were real people suffering in the villages and towns the Germans occupied in these years.
Lang has a gifted way of drawing characters who suffer, struggle with their faith, find joy even in the midst of tough circumstances and in the end prevail.
I particularly liked the secondary romance between a Belgian/British woman and a German major.
If you want a book that you read with baited breath, brings a tear to your eye, and keeps you guessing till the end, this is it. Can't wait to read the other two in this series (which seem to be standalone novels).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Whisper on the Wind

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adrienne
Location:U.S.A
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually don't read war books, but I had read a nice review of this book and figured I would give it a try. I was definitely not disappointed. Though this was a long novel, Maureen Lang really drew you into a different time. Somehow it was a nice read if such can be said of a book on war. To me the best part was the end, though it was abruptly cut off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another good historical by Lang!

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While a bit long, I found this story thoroughly enjoyable. I always appreciate stories about the two world wars. This one was unique in that it was set during WWI, and some of the things available in the 1940s weren't available during The Great War. I loved the whole underground newspaper theme and the idea of keeping the spirit of Belgium alive through the power of the written word. That, of course, made the German occupiers crazy, and thus more determined to destroy the "traitors," which increased the tension.
Whisper on the Wind had a lot of conflict and a wonderfully subtle romantic thread. As a lover of romance, I enjoyed that very much. The spiritual thread was also pretty well done. It didn't feel contrived and flowed naturally with the story. The theme of forgiveness and loving others regardless of their background was powerful, too. There was just enough danger in this story to keep me stressing out as I worked my way through the war along with the characters. I waited for the inevitable to happen, and of course, it eventually did. But a Phoenix rose from the ashes in this story and their actions turned the hearts of several people back to faith in Christ. This story was very well done, and I commend the author for her amazing gift when it comes to craft, setting, dialog, and showing faith in action.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
The German Imperial Army overtook the town of Louvain, Belgium, in 1914, but not the spirits of the people. One especially stands out, Edward Kirkland. Using an underground newspaper, he helps to keep the spirits of the people alive by giving them hope and the truth of what is really happening throughout the warat the risk of his own life.Isa Lassones family fled to America at the first rumblings of war. Two years later, unbeknownst to her family, she was deliberately smuggled back into Belgium to rescue Edward. He sees her as a wealthy, silly girl, once cared for by his mother. The naivet of Isas idea of rescuing Edward is evident in her attempts to convince him to leave. He refuses and the story begins!Maureen expertly brings to life the dangers and horrors of being overrun and controlled by an enemy regime. She pens about the tenacity and willingness of named and unnamed citizens living undercover lives amidst enemy control, while trying to maintain some semblance of normal life, and still publishing the underground paper. Maureen pulls you into the characters intimately, feeling the terror, danger, love, fear, loss of life, suspense, tension, and the groping for daily sustenance. She transports you back into the war zone, creating scenes of stealthy maneuverings around the enemy soldiers. You fear for the characters lives as though they are your own friends and family. The portrayal of her characters are as real as the people you know today, trying to survive horrendous destruction and inhumanity under brutal enemy hands.You will find Whisper on the Wind a book thats real to life and suspenseful enough to keep you reading until you find out if the characters survive. Hope, salvation, faith in God, and sacrificial love reign supreme throughout the story regardless of the outcome.Special thanks to Maggie Rowe of Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. for sending me a review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
A strong story line goes a long way to make a novel enjoyable, and this book has just that. The reader can easily envision occupied Belgium during World War I by the author's use of La Libre Belgium, an underground newspaper's headlines heading each chapter.Characters are well written, and this reader connected the to headstrong Isa Lassone. Even though romance blossoms, war-time demands restraint.However, one thing that unsettles me is the use of sentence fragments which appear throughout the tale. Some might claim that is a writing style, but I prefer Standard English.Overall, this is a novel worth reading.Thank you to First Wild Card and Maggie Rowe at Tyndale for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly Edwards, Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
I've become a Historical novel fanatic lately. I absolutely love the History! It takes me to another place in time that I wish I could have truly been a part of, not just reading fantastic novels that take place there! I'm so glad to have been able to review this novel by Maureen Lang, a wonderfully talented author who captures her readers instantly! Whisper on the Wind takes place, not only in another era, but in a whole other place: Belgium in 1916. Isa and Edward's characters are fantastically chiseled, giving the story it's depth. Isa has been in love with Edward since childhood and returns home, after 2 years gone, to a war torn, German run Belgium in hopes that Edward may leave with her this time. He refuses and stays to secretly work on the underground newspaper, so Isa refuses to leave also, and instead, stays and helps Edward.....in hopes that he will fall in love with her. There were times that I wanted to tell Edward, "hello! wake up!" and see beautiful Isa for who she is. These two amazing characters quickly found their place in my heart as I read this intriguing novel! Maureen did a phenomenal job with this novel. I didn't realize it but I have book 1 to this Great War series here in my TBR pile that I won from a blog. I will definitely have to go back and read Look to the East and do it soon! She did an incredible job researching the historical aspects of Whisper on the Wind and incorporating it into the story. Maureen blended romance, page turning action, gripping suspense and wonderful faith making this second installment a 5 star one that I won't soon forget. Though this was book2, I wasn't lost or confused by the events of the story or the characters, so this would make a great stand alone book! I highly recommend this to everyone, especially if you love history and war-themed novels! *This book was provided for review by Tyndale House Publishers*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
mama2sx
I love history and one of my favorite topics is World War I. It is not a subject that is written about often, especially in fiction books. Needless to say, I was excited to get started. Maureen Lang does a great job of drawing you into the story and characters lives right away. You will enjoy getting to know Edward and Isa and following their adventures in occupied Belgium. One thing that impressed me was the historical accuracy. Now, I am not an expert, but can usually pick out inaccuracies and it ruins the rest of the book. Ms. Lang did her research and put a lot of time into drafting a story that worked with the events of the time period. I especially enjoyed that she uses real quotes throughout the book from the actual La Libre Belgique. It was a very nice bonus. I hope you enjoy Whisper on the Wind as much as I did!Tyndale House Publishing provided me with a complimentary advance reader copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emily Kirk
I assure you that this book is one that you should read! I loved the characters; their description, demeanor, and the chemistry between them was captivating. It was one of the best modern-time historical fictions I have read in a long time. When I thought historical novels had been overdone, Maureen Lang surprises me with a gripping, tear jerking, epic read. You won't be disappointed with this book. Put it on your to-read-list! It's a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Sikora
This book was really good. I enjoyed the story line very much. From page 1 to the very end you are captivated to the point you do not want to put it down.!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2010
I enjoyed this book, I liked how it was set in a different location for a WWI book. The characters are very well written and the story is a great story of hope and love admist a war torn country. It makes you wonder would you risk everything not only for something you believe in passionately but for love. That is exactly what Edward and Isa are faced with. This is a great book and one I will be recommending to my fellow christian book lovers and historical book lovers too :). Again thanks to Tyndale I have another author I have never read and enjoyed so my list of authors I want to read more from keeps getting longer and longer.Tyndale Media provided me this book for review but my review is honest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
The book takes place in Belgium during World War 1 after the Germans have occupied the country. Isabella Lassone, daughter of wealthy Americans, was able to escape the country before the occupation but now she is returning to try to save the man she loves and his family. Edward Kirkland remembers Isa as a spoiled child with a very materialistic family consumed with living a life of wealth. He is not happy that she has returned and is especially determined that she will not become involved in his secret work for the La Libre Belgique- an underground freedom newspaper for the people of Belgium. Isa proves him wrong in many ways as she and Edward grow closer to God and closer to each other even as their lives and endangered.Historical fiction is one of my favorite genres, and the World Wars are one of my favorite time periods to read about. I didn't know much about the Belgian resistance, and the facts of the resistance were very interesting for me to learn. The characters were interesting and the story drew me and in and kept me interested in what was happening to Isa and Edward throughout. Some parts of the book were rather predictable and I wished for a little more historical information, but overall the book was a very interesting and entertaining read.Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Casey
This book takes you back to Belgium in 1916 during the German corruption of World War I.During this time in history Germany has conquered Belgium, but Belgium has not accepted defeat. An underground paper surfaces to keep the hope of the Belgium people alive. This paper is called the La Libre Belgique .Young Isa Lassone leaves the comforts of her rich family to go back to a war torn Belgium (of which her family fled when rumors of war were happening) to save the family that was more closer a family to her than her own parents and brother. During this time she learns that Edward (the man she has loved for a long time) has helped publish this paper and refuses to return with her. Isa decides that she will than stay with Edward and his loving mother and young brother. Throughout her time there she learns of Edwards involvement in the this underground paper she offers to help. Edward at first tells her not to get involved but later he takes her offer of help. But than the Germans close in on the paper and Edward learns that he has put more than just his own life in danger.I also enjoy the fact that shares the insightful thoughts of all the characters about God and the people involved in the war. This is the first book I've read by Maureen Lang. She is a great writer and it shows through this book. I love some of the history that she shares in it. Although not all of the information is true in the book (which she states at the end of her book) it is still nice to read and think of what it must of been like to live in Belgium during World War I. Two of the main characters are introduced at the beginning of the book and capture your interest right away and continue to engage you throughout the rest of the book. As you continue to read you meet other characters like Genny and Max. I got this book courtesy of the Tyndale Publishing Company for the purpose of reviewing it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Whisper on the Wind - eBook
This review is fromWhisper on the Wind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Ive learned that when were in trouble, we should let those troubles carry us higher close to God Himself, who is never unaware of what we face. The wind or our trouble isnt necessarily our foe if we let it take us closer to God. Somehow, like the little bird whose flight itself brings Him glory, Hell let us bring Him glory too. (p. 357)Oh, dear reader! If you could know what was sacrificed for these words to have meaning - to give hope! If only you knew the desperate circumstances in which these words were offered!! Maureen Langs soon to be released novel, Whisper on the Wind, is the story that contains this beautiful truth, and it is couched in a story that you will remember long after you read the final page!Whisper on the Wind carries the reader to Belgium during the First World War, and introduces us to a lady the is the epitome of patriotism and loyalty Isa Lassone. The opening scenes that introduces Isa to the reader also introduce Edward the man Isa has loved in secret many years. Both have chosen to risk their life to bring information to the people of Belgium to fight the Germans who have so brutally ransacked their beloved country. And thus begins a tale of bravery and intrigue that will keep your eyes glued to the story, page after page. Edward and Isa participate in running an underground newspaper, and they agree together that it is worth any cost. What a cost it turns out to be! All along the way readers are introduced to strong, memorable characters such as Genny and Max who add depth, believability and strong emotion to the entire story!I highly recommend Whisper on the Wind, and I am so very thankful that I had the opportunity to share this story with you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.