Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1

Moody Publishing Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1

Read-Aloud Bible Stories, volume 1 by Ella K. Lindvall, is a Gold Medallion Book Award winner, and for good reason! These books (volume 2 is stock #71641) simplify Bible stories so that even the youngest children can understand and appreciate them, and includes a series of application questions. The large, colorful pictures are illustrated by H. Kent Puckett.
Average Customer Rating:
4.955 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Review 1 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barbara
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book for young children. Beautiful illustrations and simple text. Absolute favorite in our family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Illustrations, Great Preschool Concepts

Date:April 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
kipacha
Location:Cumming, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series is by far the best children's Bible storybook I've seen. The stories are written with preschool concepts in mind. And the illustrations overly exaggerate the concepts it is trying to convey. For example in the story of Zachheus (pg. 6-7), they say he "was too little to reach high things...." and then show him as a tiny man in a huge chair. Throughout the story of Zaccheus they stress Little / Big and Happy / Sad. Great preschool concepts.
The text is large with enough words on each page that describe the illustration with preschool concepts but not too many that kids lose interest with the staying on the same page for too long! For example in "The Boys and Girls and Jesus," the children come to see Jesus as part of families. So the preschool concept of family is described by saying "Every day lots of daddies and mommies came to hear Jesus talk. Grandpas and grandmas and friends came, too. Some days - there were too many people to get inside a house. Then, the daddies and the mommies and the grandpas and the grandmas and the friends stood right out in the sunshine..." (p.71-74)
The book has large enough font size that you can hold the book facing a group of children and still be able to read from it. It's great for older children to read to younger children, or for an adult to read to a group of children. The book is sturdy hardcover so it's easy to handle it for this purpose.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Top for Tots

Date:December 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nana
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series is the very best Christian literature I have ever seen for young children. I've used it with Sunday School classes and grandchildren. It's loved by all. The content is appropriate and keeps the child focused and involved.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great/kid friendly illustrations & involvement

Date:September 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Indiana
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this book series! I've used it in my preschool for many years. The children enjoy the large, wonderfully done illustrations on every page. The stories are written to include the reader's participation, helping them to become part of the story. I also often use the questions at the end of each story. All of these aspects help the children to remember the story they've heard. I just wish there were more of these books! P.S. They're also great for grandchildren & new baby gifts!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful books for children

Date:March 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nana
Location:Sioux Falls, SD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book and additional volumes were favorites of our children and now I'm introducing our grandchildren to these books. An excellent way to teach God's truth to children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blessed!

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Martha
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This whole series of books, by Ella K. Lindvall, are truly a blessing for not only little ones, but grownups too! I found that when I read them aloud to my son (who is now 31) I was blessed by the reading, just as much as he was. He used to ask me, "Mommie, is the Holy Spirit falling on you when you read these stories?" - as I would find myself starting to cry (due to the beautiful way in which the stories were told and illustrated) when reading them to him. (And, yes, the Holy Spirit was indeed falling on me during these readings.)
I have since ordered 4 sets, of the 4 volumes, to give to my niece's and nephew's children for Christmas. And when my son has children, his set will go to them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

timeless/classic/best children's bible stories

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
ginny
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started reading these books to my first child, 23 years ago. Then the next 2 heard them as well....we have used them for helping to teach sunday school, VBS, and gifted them to every young family we know as birthday, christmas, baptism gifts. Every family should have these books in their collection...children of all ages love the way the stories are told and illustrated. I can not recommend them enough...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Our favorite series for toddlers and preschoolers!

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have loved these books! They are true to Scripture and have simple pictures that are delightful for youngsters. We used them almost daily with our children, purchased them for our church nursery, and now give them as baby gifts. They are durable with sturdy pages and binding. The pictures of Jesus are white-robed back views to alleviate concerns about images of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous book

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
WoundedHealer
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book, and the rest of the series, are phenomenal. I have purchased sets for our Sunday school, birthday gifts and our own personal use. Lindvall has an incredible way of capturing scripture and adapting it to language that enthralls preschoolers. I've used this series with children as young as 18 months through early elementary. Seeing children mesmerized by God's word is a gift beyond words. And the illustrations! Get this book and the rest in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
osufan
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The kids love these books...I would recommend buying all four as a set! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Victoria Bergeron
This is book is great. I used it about 15 years ago when I taught preschool. It has big simple pictures and big words. Perfect for the little ones. I have all 4 volumes. I plan on using them for vacation bible school.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stacy Lane
This book is great! The illustrations are beautiful. One of my favorite baby gifts--and also sweet memories of reading it to my own children many years ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Henderson
I just bought two sets for two families with new babies. I used these books with my children and in preschool and SS classes and give them to new parents for their children to enjoy. I hope they never go out of print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anna Leversee
I bought this entire set of books. I plan on using them as my nursery curriculum at our church. The giant pictures and easy to follow wording in the books are perfect for small children. My only desire was that they covered more of the stories in the Bible. Several major stories are illustrated in this book, but a few were not in there! Overall, I recommend this series for younger children!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Juliann Thomason
Charming stories told in a simple yet engaging way. Very good way to introduce young ones to Bible characters and scriptural lessons. The follow-up question/answer piece at the end of each story is a helpful discussion starter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Becky Coleman
What a beautifully illustrated book! I bought it for my 2-year-old grandson; it will get a lot of use. It's a perfect way to teach little ones about Jesus.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deloris Hobson
I was excited to find Read Aloud Bible Series! Finally Bible stories that have my child turning the page to see what happens next. The pictures are vivid and help provide focus and understanding. My child is 4years old. I only wish I discovered the series earlier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Adams
My grandson (3)loves these Bible story books - lots of colorful pictures and simple stories. We have bought volumes 1 and 2 for both of our grandchildren.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Doris Keiter
The Board of Deacons at our church gives an inscribed copy of this book to the parents on day their child is baptised. It is a meaningful gift that can be interactively used with their child.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Read-Aloud Bible Stories, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Mathew Pothen
The absolute best children's Bible story book and series I've seen so far. Every single word in the book was carefully chosen to help convey the true meaning of the Bible stories and to also help children gain confidence in reading by themselves. The illustrations as well as the words encourage the child's imagination. This is the first time I've ever been so moved to write a review on any product. Lindvall and Puckett have created an excellent piece of work. These books can be read to your 2 year old and before you know it your child will be repeating these stories back to you from memory. I just wish there was a board book version of these books with the same exact words so I can read it to my one year old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>