Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AMG Publishers Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1

AMG Publishers Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1

Action, adventure and inspiration as two teens meet their dragon past
A boy learns of his dragon past; a girl has known of hers for years. They combine their faith, courage, and love to overcome an evil dragon slayer who seeks to bring an end to dragon heritage, forever.

The kids at school call Billy "Dragon Breath" for good reason. His breath is bad! It isn't the normal morning-mouth bad; it's the hot-as-fire, "don't-you-dare-get-near-me" bad. Trouble erupts when his hot breath sets off the fire sprinklers in the boys' restroom at school, and his parents learn they they've kept their secret for too long. Billy finally discovers the secret. His father was once a dragon! Now that's a piece of news a guy doesn't deal with everyday! Billy feels betrayed, alien, lost. When the dragon slayer traps him on a cold mountaintop in West Virginia, Billy learns to battle with weapons of steel and spirit while relying on a power he doesn't understand, a power that helps him lean to trust again.

Bonnie, an orphan, tries to find a home, someone to love her, even thought she feels like a freak because of a body feature that she calls a deformity. But this unusual feature becomes a life-saving attribute as she discovers that her love for others and her faith in a creator hold the answers she's looking for.

Raising Dragons is a contemporary fantasy novel that inspires you to dig deep within to find your God-given strengths and use them to overcome any obstacle. It is both a hair-raising, modern-day adventure and a glimpse into another world -- a world of knights, dragons, and fair maidens. Recommended for ages 12 and up.

Average Customer Rating:
4.908 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Review 1 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classic In The Making

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
anthrozil906
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raising Dragons is an amazing book written by Bryan Davis, it is probably one of the greatest books ive ever read. Raising Dragons captivates its reader in a way you wouldn't expect. You feel as they feel, you cry when they cry, and you laugh when they laugh, and there is always a character whom you can relate to. All in all I would recommend Raising Dragons to anyone looking for an adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't wait to read this!

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
AnnaPL
Location:CF, IA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
The first time I read this book I couldn’t put it down. What with Billy finding out about his father’s past, and Bonnie struggling with loneliness, I had to know what would happen next and, most importantly, how it all ended. Thankfully, this was only the first in a series that has many surprises I never could have anticipated. I think you’ll love reading it and the rest of Billy and Bonnie’s story just as much as I did!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great beginning to a great series

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Victoria V
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always loved fantasy fiction books, but unfortunately there are not enough books out there that are fantasy that Christian teenagers can read. When I first discovered this series I was thrilled. Finally, a book series that I could read and absolutely loved! The story captivated me and the characters soon became my friends. Adventure, dragons, knights, ladies who aren’t helpless, in my opinion the perfect story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
DragonsAreSnazzy
It is action packed, with information about mid-evil times and it is awesome. it has great characters and great plots. it is a book that i recommend a lot! Billy Bannister is called Dragon Breath in school. He meets Bonnie, and he soon finds out about his family's past...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Danielle
WOW!!! I couldn't stop reading this book. I wanted to finish it in 1 night but stretched it out to 3. I love the characters, especially Bonnie, and the whole story was amazing! I can't wait to read the next book! I think anyone would enjoy this book... but that's just my opinion!:-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vernon
Bryan Davis's "Raising Dragons" is one of those books that you just can't put down! I wanted to stop and study his writing style to see how he had constrcted it so perfectly, but the storyline was too captivating! If you like adventure and heart stopping action, this book is for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Braydon
THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING!This was the first book that i read that got me interested in reading! I now wonder why i didn't love reading!The characters are Christian, the book talks about your faith, plus it has adventure! What could be better? Nothing!I love this book and would recommend it to anyone who loves to read!Thanks Mr. Davis for writing this book and helping me to see what i was missing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebekah Gyger
Raising Dragons allows people to have adventures in their own time period. Fighting for good while still having a some what normal life. I love the way it has a story I could connect with, while still being interesting. This book was what made me start reading fantasy and it gave me something to be excited to share with my family. The author constantly made me laugh and keep me on my toes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jessica Hill
This was the first Bryan Davis book I ever read, and one of the first Christian fantasy books I ever read (aside from the classics of Narnia and Lord of the Rings), so I was a little apprehensive about reading it to start with. The book did not disappoint, it wasnt as heady as Lord of the Rings, so you can read through it quite easily, and yet it wasnt as simple as the Narnia books, lots of information, but not too much that would make your brain choke. With lots of action, amazing storyline, and tons of surprises along the way, I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good fantasy book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole
This is a fantastic book that is the start of an amazing series. The characters are very real, and the plot is absolutely genius! I love all the action, romance, comedy, and even tragedy. I usually don't like to read books a second time, but this series just gets better each time you read it! I first got this book when I was 12, and I've read it at least five times since then. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Braydon
Raising Dragons was a great book! This is one of the books that got me to LOVE reading! Plus it talkes about how to live a Christian life. The whole story is so believable, it makes you feel right there aside the characters! I gave Raising Dragons to my friend to read, then maybe when i get it back i can give it to another, and hopefully be able to talk about what we have learned through these amazing books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
DragonsAreSnazzy
This book started out and ended in both the same way, with mystery and excitement! This book was a great way to start a series. I suggest this to everybody, from young to old!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vernon
Bryan Davis's "Raising Dragons" is one of those books that you just can't put down! I wanted to stop and study his writing style to see how he had constrcted it so perfectly, but the storyline was too captivating! If you like adventure and heart stopping action, this book is for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melaleuca Man
This is an epic book!!I love the characters and the're soooo real!!!!thew action and romance was also just awesome!!!Bryan davis is my favorite author,PERIOD!!!!and this would make such a great movie!I've read the book like 5 times!!!!!!YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thomas
Raising Dragons is a Christian Fantasy book, suitable for children, teens, and even adults! Raising Dragons is the first in the Dragons in our Midst series. Raising Dragons introduces Billy Bannister and Bonnie Silver, two teenagers who realize that something is different about them than other teens. Join Billy and Bonnie on their ... Read more
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ginacat
I picked up Raising Dragons because I am a fan of the fantasy genre. As a frequent reader of fantasy books, I have noticed that characters in this genre can sometimes be unrealistic. Its hard to connect with giant scaly lizards or teen heroes with extraordinary powers which is why this book took me by surprise. Author Bryan Davis has managed to intertwine a captivating fantasy world with protagonists that I can relate to. Billy Bannister, Bonnie Silver, and Walter Foley are three characters who now reside among my all-time favorites. From page one, Raising Dragons is a roller coaster ride chocked full of action, twists and turns, humor, and spiritual truths. So sit down, buckle up, and prepare yourself for an amazing to beginning to a fantastic series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ian Hancock
This fabulous story will ease you comfortably into the latter days of a fantastic, impossible tale....and then take off into a plot of roaring suspense and courageous deeds as the descendant of a dragon-turned-human, thrown into a spin-cycle of strange allies, powerful enemies, and traumatic events, tries to survive a bloodthirsty dragon slayer while seeking to regain the life he once had - with historical legend and ancient truths woven beautifully throughout it all. And the pace and brilliant orginality of this incredible series only pick up from there...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrew W.
Raising Dragons is one of my favorite books, second only to some other books in the same series! When I first got it and started reading it, I couldn't stop! I could so easily relate to the characters, feel what they felt, see what they saw. Bryan Davis has created a masterpiece with not only this book, but all the others in the series as well. I urge you to quickly get a copy of this brilliant work of art.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
FreakofNature
I loved this book. So many creative things about it. The characters were wonderful. I have never read a book even close to this one. There is dragons, suspense, mystery, and even jokes! Bryan Davis mixes fantasy and faith in this great book to start a great series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Raising Dragons, Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elijah Duval
This is a great start to a great series. I finished this book in one day and I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.