Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Disaster Status - eBook

Tyndale House Disaster Status - eBook

Charge nurse Erin Quinn escaped personal turmoil to work on the peaceful California coast. But when a hazardous material spill places Pacific Mercy Hospital on disaster status and stresses staff, she's puts to the test. And thrown into conflict with the fire department's handsome incident commander who thinks her strategy is out of line.

Fire Captain Scott McKenna has felt the toxic effects of tragedy; he's learned to go strictly by the book to advance his career, heal his family, and protect his wounded heart. When he's forced to team with the passionately determined ER charge nurse, sparks fly. As they work to save lives, can they handle the attraction kindled between them . . . without getting burned?

Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Disaster Status - eBook
Review 1 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Good Read

Date:April 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ER charge nurse Erin has to find the source of poisoning that sent quite a few patients to the ER. The ER is on "disaster status" until the find and fix the problem. Handsome fire captain Scott keeps the media away and forms a bond with Erin.
I liked this book. The story of an ER nurse and a fireman both having to ovecome personal problems was interesting and I particularly liked the feisty grandparents and their pets.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great story.

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
imabrassy1
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the interaction between the characters ad the situations. It's tough to be in a new city and trying to get everything working at top efficiency. Can see Erin's view on that. Scott is by the book and inflexible to begin with but I can also see his side.God has to work wonders in all people. This is just an example of how we in the real world must act and react. Great book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Much Improvement Since Her Debut Novel

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I will forever stand by the opinion that authors always deserve a second chance. Truly, I did not enjoy Candace's first novel, Critical Care. I thought it was a copycat version of Grey's Anatomy that was unrealistic and over the top.
However.... :o)
Disaster Status was oh-so-much better! I was a little nervous going into the first few chapters that Candace was still on the Grey's Anatomy kick, but she quickly proved me wrong. This story was much more genuine, and had realistic characters that slowly crept into my heart. I got to reconnect with Erin, and watch as she grew into a "woman of strength." And I also got to meet hunky Scott McKenna, and cheered him on while he struggled to make the right decisions for himself and his family. Last, but not least, little Cody stole my heart with his sweet disposition and brave front--all the while not knowing if he would lose his leg because of a dangerous infection.
It was very apparent that Candace knew her stuff when it came to ER procedures and patient care. Those portions of the book were expertly written. On the flip side, I didn't enjoy her sentence structure. There were far too many sentence fragments for my taste, and with a little more work (or a better editor), I believe she could get her point across more effectively with complete sentences. Also, I wish that Scott's occupation had been mentioned more. All I knew throughout the story was that he was a fire captain who had some medical training, but there were no scenes that had him actually on the job putting out fires.
Candace shows a lot of promise as a Christian fiction author, and clearly, medical dramas are her forte. I'm eager to see how she progresses with her writing, and I plan to search out the next and final book in this series, Code Triage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Warning: Environmental Disaster in progress

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When an environmental disaster in progress becomes a media circus and danger to the community Pacific Mercy Charge Nurse Erin Quinn calls for reinforcements. What she gets is Fire Captain Scott McKenna, a handsome incident commander who insists on doing everything by the book -even when that means refusing Erin entry into her own E.R. Tempers flare and sparks fly as these two battle it out, each trying to do their version of the right thing.
I thoroughly enjoyed book 1 in this series and was expecting book 2 to rate at the same level. In many ways it does. Author Candace Calvert builds deep, believable characters with all the quirky nuances that make them, well…characters. The plot took off right from the start, built in intensity as the story went on, and did not disappoint. This being said, I did not enjoy this book as much as book 1. It seemed that throughout this book Calvert was setting the stage for book 3. She took too much time building characters and situations that did not matter to this book.
This book would be great for a book club wanting a light read. There are many aspects that would make for great discussion, especially the differences between being a strong woman and a woman of strength.
I am only giving this book 4 stars, but would definitely still choose to read it if I were going back to make that choice. Even though this book can be read as a stand alone, I suggest reading book 1 first as it will help you understand the relationships between the characters better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fast Reader
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second book in the House of Mercy Series that I
read. It is a quick read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book has a surprise angle on every page.

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Barr
Location:Columbiaville, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first book with this author and I'm looking forward to reading all of them. It included a thorough introduction to the world of ER written to involve you in the complex lives of nurse Erin and Fireman Capt Scott. Christian living is naturally woven into the daily lives of the characters. It has it all; drama, romance, conflict, faith struggles, mystery. I wanted the book to never end!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More good reading by Candace Calvert!

Date:October 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great read by Candace Calvert. I was so glad to read this one after reading the first in the series.....I just couldn't wait. Again, I fell in love with the characters....they just seem real. I found myself wanting to pray for their situations!! And more real life drama, and realistic stuff that goes on behind the scenes in an ER setting. I encourage you to read both books....and grab the third one when it comes out too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mae L. Emenheiser
A very good book. Well written and a good story with a good message in it. If you're looking for something to read I say go for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet Thompson
Disaster Status, by author Candace Calvert. Published by Tyndale House Publishers, Inc, 2010. The main characters in Disaster Status are Erin Quinn, ER charge nurse, and fire captain Scott McKenna. I loved this book! As a retired nurse, Im a sucker for a good medical story!Its Erins day off and she is enjoying it. Working out with her punching bag, thinking about the rest of the day and what she and her grandmother would be doing. Her cell phone rings and changes Erins plans in a huge way.Scott rushes into the ER with a child in his arms. She is having a seizure and needs immediate help. The little girl, who is only 6 or 7, falls into a coma. Her family comes in and there is a language barrier. They speak only Spanish. The parents do get across one thingthere are many more sick people.When Erin gets to the ER, she has forgotten her ID badge and Scott is in charge of security. He wont let her pass. Finally, she gets into the hospital and is thrown into a critical situation. More people are brought into the ER with similar symptoms as the little 6 year old girl. Things get really tense when one of the nurses becomes symptomatic. Erin is thrown together with Scott in trying to find out what is causing all of this mayhem. Neither one is really happy about it at first but later, sparks begin to fly between them.Erin came to the California coast and Pacific Mercy Hospital to escape personal turmoil and a cheating husband. Scott is recovering from his own personal tragedy. His sister was killed in a car wreck, when her husband ran the car into a tree. Their son, Cody, was terribly injured and is in Pacific Mercy Hospital. Scott feels like he couldve prevented the accident if only he would have called his sister back that day.I highly recommend Disaster Status to everyone. Wonderful story of overcoming lifes disasters with Gods help.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
I give this book 3 stars for the medical aspect of the book. That part was well written and seemed correct. However, a book either has to have a great storyline or a beautiful romance to it if it considered a fictional romance. This book had neither. I thought the first book in the series was better. I'm assuming the writer is planning another book in the series since so much time was spent with another character in the book. Too much time if you want my honest opinion. A secondary character should not have that much "time" in a book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ashley (ibreathe2read)
I had first hear about the Mercy Hospital series on a fellow blogger's blogaversary and I instantly loved . Then, I heard from another friend that Tyndale was offering it up for review (Thanks Casey!), so I knew I had to put my name on the list. And I'm sooo glad I did. The story is about the strong and independent Erin Quinn, charge nurse at Pacific Point hospital. And Scott Mckenna, a hunky firefighter who lives by the proverbial book. And when they butt heads, oh my! do the sparks fly. Now, from the cover I was expecting half the city to be burning down but, the book centers mainly on the ER, and it alone had enough drama and excitement to write more then a couple books. I liked Ms. Calvert's writing style and how her story just flowed, and at a good pace that wasn't too fast, but that wasn't so slow that you'd fall asleep There were several different stories going on at the same time and yet the blending of them all into the one story plot, wasn't overwhelming or confusing. My only "thing" with Disaster Status was Erin Quinn. I LOVED all the other characters (well,...maybe not Sarge so much) but, Erin kind of grated on my nerves the way she was always so impatient and anxious. She just annoyed me little during the story but, perhaps that was the feeling Ms.Calvert was trying to illicit from the reader. And towards the end, Erin eventually won me over. Overall, Disaster Status is a great story that is full romantic tension, a little suspense, and charged with a whole lot of drama. And the ending of this book, had me in major need of an oxygen mask and maybe a gurney or two to faint upon. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves ER , House or a great dramatic romance.*Many thanks to the Tyndale Blog Network for providing a review copy of Disaster Status. This is my honest opinion of this book and is in no way influenced by the author and/or the publisher*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
I really loved this book, I hadn't read the first book and rushed to the library to get it. I'm hooked I have to read the whole series. Reading medical drama books are fun I love the fast paced environment that goes with these books. Plus lets face it that fireman on the cover is nice to look at while your reading :). I love that its fast paced, action, love and not sappy love story. She writes what she knows she was a ER nurse and knows what she is talking about. So Go Grab this book and add it your summer reading list. It will make a great Beach or Poolside reading but have some sunscreen around because your not going to want to leave till your done reading.thank you Tyndale for allowing me to review this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jolanthe
When a hazardous material spill floods Pacific Mercy Hospital with patients, its all the ER can do to keep up. Erin Quinn, the charge nurse has her hands full with the trauma overload. Fire captain Scott McKenna was at the hospital from the start of the disaster and then put in charge as the on-site incident commander ~ putting him smack in Erins way. Despite the attraction between them, the sparks begin to fly. Scotts family has experienced much tragedy, especially in the last year. Will he be willing and open himself up to the possibility of loving and losing again ~ or pull further away from everything he loves and holds dear?My ThoughtsDisaster Status is a story of forgiveness and the love of family that will keep you interested from the very start. If youre a fan of medical drama, the Mercy Hospital series by Candace Calvert might be one that you would enjoy. Candace is a former ER nurse, so the trauma {and drama} are very realistic ~ and much more wholesome than tv shows today! I was unaware that the book was part of a series until reading the epilogue of the book. A few things didnt quite make sense, until I realized there was a book before this one in the series and another one to follow soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Erin Quinn loves her job as an ER charge nurse, except today. She's called into work on her day off when the ER becomes overwhelmed with victims from a hazardous material spill. In the rush to get to work she forgets her ID. That's when she meets up with Fire captain Scott McKenna. He is a hard-nosed, by-the-book, kinda guy and their personalities immediately clash. Scott is not happy about working with Erin at first but as he slowly gets to know her he begins to see her in a different light. Past experience tells Erin that you can't really rely on men but as she sees Scott interact with his nephew, Cody, she begins to think maybe he's one of the good guys. Will they both live up to each others expectations? Will their faith be strong enough to get them through some tough situations?This is the first book I've read by this author and I have to say that she drew me into the story and totally brought the pages to life. The story was spellbinding as the details unfold and you became acquainted with each character. They seemed so real to me. Erin had a strong faith and loyalty to family but was dealing with issues from childhood. Scott was a great hero. Rugged, tough as nails but always felt like he was living in the shadow of his hero dad. I loved the dialog and interaction between these two. I also liked the sub-story going on between Leigh and Nick which will be played out in the author's next book called Code Triage.Disaster Status was a terrific blend of drama, romance, mystery and even some humor. Even though its the second book in the Mercy Hospital Series I didn't feel at all lost. I would definitely recommend this book and am really looking forward to Code Triage. Thank you Tyndale House Publishers for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
First I would like to say:Tyndale House Publishers have provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. This review is my opinion.Disaster Status is the the second book in this series. This book follows ER Charge Nurse Erin Quinn to Pacific Mercy Hospital. Erin is living with her Grandma Iris, helping support her. The books starts out with hazardous materials being spilled and causing panic. Not only were civilians brought in with exposure, a nurse in the ER was also exposed by a patient and falls very ill. Erin meets Fire Captian Scott McKenna and sparks fly.Disaster Status is a medical drama/romance story. Candance Calvert doesn't use a lot of medical terms that aren't understood. The characters are very deep. They develop right along with the story. You learn about each of them as the story goes. There is more than one storyline but they all tie together. Candace Calvert does a wonderful job weaving everyone together. This book shows strong faith of Erin and Iris. Also people struggling with faith like Scott and Leigh. Candance Calvert's story shows how faith and forgiveness bring everyone together. This book was a wonderful book that balanced drama and romance. The focus was always on praying, faith, struggles with faith, and coming full circle. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
This book didnt even make it to my to be read pile. It came straight from the bubble wrap and into my hot little hands.What a novel! Medical dramas, cant even compare to DISASTER STATUS. I had the distinct feeling of standing in the middle of a trauma ward as everyone rushed around me. You dont have to understand medical terms to know what is going on. But this book wasnt just medical disasters, it was a love story and a story of life outside of trauma that made it jump to life.There was a very real sense of immediacy throughout the entire novel. I felt like I was there and found it nearly impossible to stop reading. Making this probably the fastest book I have ever read, in just under 6 hours.The characters were unique, coming alive on the page. I saw their growth. I cheered and I groaned. There was intrigue and action. Drama and love, but not the sappy inappropriate soap opera kind, the kind that makes you stand up and cheer or curl your toes in anxiety.I can no longer watch medical dramas on TV. Only give me DISASTER STATUS and plenty of time to read!This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to Tyndale publishers for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
This is one of the best books I've read in awhile! So often when I read a book, I find myself frustrated with the lack of depth of the characters. Not so with this book! There was passion in these characters that made me both care about and understand them. Their struggles weren't rushed through or glossed over. The development of relationships felt natural and believable. The medical scenarios were far beyond my understanding, but it made these peoples' lives all the more compelling and realistic. I can't say enough good things about this book. It was intelligently written, it had down-to-earth, likeable characters who grappled with an authentic faith , the story was well-paced, and the storyline was both interesting and engaging. There was actually ROMANCE in this book that was neither saccharine-y-sweet nor overly erotic. Wow! Great book! Can't wait for the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
This is one of the best books I've read in awhile! So often when I read a book, I find myself frustrated with the lack of depth of the characters. Not so with this book! There was passion in these characters that made me both care about and understand them. Their struggles weren't rushed through or glossed over. The development of relationships felt natural and believable. The medical scenarios were far beyond my understanding, but it made these peoples' lives all the more compelling and realistic. I can't say enough good things about this book. It was intelligently written, it had down-to-earth, likeable characters who grappled with an authentic faith , the story was well-paced, and the storyline was both interesting and engaging. There was actually ROMANCE in this book that was neither saccharine-y-sweet nor overly erotic. Wow! Great book! Can't wait for the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie from Genre Reviews
"Disaster Status" is a suspenseful medical drama that will appeal to both men and women. A hazardous material spill brings together two people whose coping mechanisms--picked up from their parents and grandparents--threaten to destroy any chance of a lasting relationship.While there is a romance (more than one, actually), the author went beyond the "romance formula" to deal with deeper issues.The world-building was excellent. The details about the town and the ER brought the story alive in my imagination without slowing the fast pacing. The tension remained high throughout the story.The likable characters were complex and realistic, and they faced realistic problems. It felt like this story really could have happened. I liked that the main characters were better people for having met the other and their strengths and weaknesses forced the other person to grow.The main characters were Christians who were struggling with their perceptions of God and what God wanted from them.The was no sex. There was a minor amount of "he swore" style bad language. I'd highly recommend this well-written novel. I honestly don't think you'll regret giving "Disaster Status" a try.I received this novel as a review copy from the author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Disaster Status - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Toews
Candace Calvert delivers another top-notch drama in the world of Emergency personnel right from her chilling opening scene: Fire Captain Scott McKenna, carrying a child in jerking seizures, bolts through the ER doors of Pacific Mercy Hospital just as farm trucks filled with sick people pull into the parking lot. Immediately the ER doctor and staff are dealing with possible hazardous material contaminating the local water supply because of a plane crash. Into this adrenalin-pumping situation, Candace delivers a conflicted hero -- the fire captain who wants to move away from Pacific Point and tragic memories -- and a spunky red-headed heroine -- the day-shift charge nurse Erin Quinn, whom he won't let past the barricades because she rushed in to help without her badge clipped to her uniform. It's all here: pride and prejudice, action, conflict, authentic medical and firefighting trauma, believable love story that grows slowly as trust develops, humor, flawed characters you want to embrace because they battle the same self-doubts in faith many of us share, and inspiration to hearten your soul and heal your heart. I couldn't put the book down. Candace Calvert has established her niche, and I look forward to her next story in the Mercy Hospital series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>