Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale Momentum Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook

Tyndale Momentum Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook

Help your daughters meet the challenges that come their way and become the healthy, happy, and successful women you want them to be. Based on research done by Dr. James Dobson and written in his down-to-earth and good-humored style, Bringing Up Girls will do for parents of girls what Bringing Up Boys did for parents of boys. Hardcover. A Focus on the Family Recommendation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.716 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
22 out of 2396%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Review 1 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Full of Resources for Parents Raising Daughters

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
AlyciaMorales
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have long respected Dr. Dobson for his wisdom and knowledge concerning the well-being of families. I've admired his writings and ministry since before I was ever married or had my own children. He is a resource I always turn to when concerned with any aspect of marriage, parenting or family matters.
Many years ago, I purchased Bringing Up Boys. I had two of my own and one step-son at the time. I now have three of my own, and my step-son is grown and on his own. I loved the book and the insight into the world of boys.
When I was offered the opportunity to review Bringing Up Girls, I couldn't pass it up. Out of the five children I am raising, I've been blessed with one girl. In the sea of testosterone we live in, I wondered if I could successfully bring her up.
In Bringing Up Girls, Dr. Dobson addresses how to raise a lady, how to protect her from the men and the influences of this world, how to teach her to respect herself and what true beauty is. His advice is sound and biblical, and it is something I will apply every day as I teach Hannah how to become a woman of God.
I appreciate that Dr. Dobson includes multiple chapters that discuss the importance of a father in a girl's life. Mothers are important in teaching a girl how to become a woman, but daddies are important in teaching a girl how a man should treat her when she becomes that woman. Fathers don't need to be absent to be "absent." Girls are protected when their daddy pays attention and provides the nurture and affection she needs, so I am grateful that this aspect is included in Dr. Dobson's book.
Another aspect I love about Bringing Up Girls is the fact that Dr. Dobson uses interviews and articles and material from other resources. He doesn't just write the book himself; he includes the advice of others to reinforce what he advises. I love it when an author can recommend other resources, knowing that one person doesn't have all the answers. I appreciate this.
I highly recommend Bringing Up Girls for any parent who is leading a daughter into womanhood. It is a book that I will keep on my shelf until the day I can pass it on to one of my children as they raise their own daughters.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I bought this for our son and daughter-in-law.

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
lucan grandma
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grand daughters are 11 and 13 and I am trusting that Mom and Dad will benefit from this book. I just skimmed it, but was very impressed with what I have already read. I really enjoyed the interview on the radio that rompted the purchase of this book. Thanks you for all you do to help us raise our children and grandchildren!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bringing Up Girls by Dr. James C. Dobson

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
GAhome2mom
Location:North Carolina, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bringing Up Girls by Dr. James C. Dobson
I wish this book had been written decades ago with my oldest daughter. Since then, I have had four more daughters.
Recently, I have become a single mom, just divorced, and it scares the heck outta me that my girls have lost their father figure. Bringing Up Girls has many chapters about the father and daughter relationship such as discussing the importance of why dads matter in their daughters life. With my recent divorce it has frightened me that my girls no longer have a good male role model. Yes, mom's do matter--and I must admit that I feel the burden of being the best mom in the world because of their father's shortcomings. I challenge you to pick up a copy today. Let this book speak to your heart and be open to the encouragement it has to offer.
Recommendation:
I highly recommend Bringing Up Girls by Dr. James C. Dobson for counselors, fathers, mothers and grandparents. If you are going to read one book this year, give a book this year as a gift, or in need an idea for a subject in a class, use this book. It will open your eyes very deeply by sharing how relationships between mother and daughter, father and daughter is vital for your daughters growth into adulthood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent source for practical advice

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
teresainnh
Location:New Hampshire
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book provides compelling, thought-provoking, and convicting guidance on the many challenges of raising girls in today's world. Dobson hits on many current topics, such as bullying, peer pressure and promiscuity, social media, and the importance of strong parent-child relationships.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-read for both parents and grandparents.

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Dobson has a unique way of presenting facts in an easy to understand format. His commentary and advice is relevant, based on scripture, and very thought-provoking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL RESOURCE FOR PARENTS

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
CASAGRANDMA
Location:LYONS, OREGON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent resource material for parents. Godly, relevent, current, helpful and handy. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
janine
Location:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book covering many of the dangers our little girls face with media influence and social changes over the past few decades. Dr Dobson gives valuable insight and advice on how to deal with these important issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kyula
Location:Somerville, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book as been inspired and very useful. It is no doubt a great material for people that has daughters, but as well to women in general. You can learn more about women and men can understand better women. It is a book that everybody should read. Excellent resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Fullerton, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really enjoyed the book. Alot of useful tips. I would highly reccomend to anyone raising a daughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jim A
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Actually we gave it to our son who reports he is enjoying reading the book an is learning a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked this book. You don't see many books on how to help a girl grow up to be a great Christian lady. The author is excellent and the book really helped me understand how to relate to girls better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good resource for raising girls

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chelle Lamb
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Dobson does a wonderful job of discussing how to raise girls. He does this with practical examples, down to earth discussion, charm, and wit. This is a wonderful, godly resource. Take it from a girl who can relate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not great

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trisha
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sorry, but this book just wasn't worth the money. Dr. Dobson seems to believe in the "good old days", yet doesn't seem to realize that in the good old days woman were oppressed, while at some points the woman's movement went too far, it was much needed. In bringing up boys we heard a lot on what being a boy involved, not so much in bringing up girls. As far as dr. dobson is concerned our girls only really need to be taught etiquette. He seems to miss any potential that there is in the girls of this generation. The only good points that I found were talking about the need of a father in the relationship. Sorry folks, but this book in my opinion was a fail.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book for parents of daughters

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alana
Location:Waverly, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very informative and helped to understand girls. I would highly recommend parents with girls to read this book. You won't regret it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wish we would have had this book for ourselves

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
june
Location:Dallas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I raised 6 great children, even though we made plenty of mistakes. I do wish we would have had Dr. Dobson's book and we would have better understood our daughter's makeup and thus done a better job of parenting effectively.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
lovetoread
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome book, great buy. I am enjoying it every page excellent book, thank you Dr. Dobson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very insightful

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pamela
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome guide to raising children in this unGodly world. All mothers should make this a definite read for 2011.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful for parents!

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol
Location:Roseau, Mn
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book for anyone with girls. Girls are very tricky to raise and this book give good insights for many areas and ages. It gives you core things that girls need in their life to be secure and stable going into the future.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Dobson classic

Date:December 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
becky
Location:LaCrosse<WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is packed with practical advice and reminders of why parenting is such an important job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bringing Up Girls: Practical Advice and Encouragement for Those Shaping the Next Generation of Women - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two chapters that stood out...

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gabrielle Robles
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read this book and was surprised to find how much value I was able to take away from it. Two chapters in particular stand out: Manners and Daughters and their dads. I would recommend parents read Dr. Dobson's perspective.
In addition, his presentation of focus groups was helpful to hear/read young women's opinions as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.