Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AMG Publishers Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4

AMG Publishers Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4

This contemporary fantasy gives young readers all the adventure and excitement they love while opening their eyes to great themes such as faith, courage, wisdom, and redemption. Compared to The Chronicles of Narnia for its spiritual power and The Lord of the Rings for its depth of scope, this series has the makings of a classic. It inspires you to dig deep within to find your God-given strengths and use them to overcome any obstacle. It is both a hair-raising, modern-day adventure and a glimpse into another world--a world of knights and dragons. Recommended for ages 12 and up.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Review 1 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Amazing!

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
doglover5
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The "Dragons in our midst" series was wonderful, the characters truly applied to modern christian teens, their struggles with temptation, and their triumphs. These books are most definitely going on my top five favorite series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sooo cool!!!!!!

Date:June 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
danielle
Location:Idaho
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Believe me when I say that once you start, you won't be able to stop! This series is so unique and action-filled that I would be utterly shocked if I heard anyone say they hated this series! I have read it twice and am planning to read it again soon. Plus, I just recommended it to a friend and she has started the first book, saying that is is awesome, and I agree with her! It has a little bit of romance, but tons of captivating action that will keep you up late in the night! The characters vary between faith-filled anthrozils and courageous dragons. I can't even describe how much I've grown to love them all, especially Bonnie! Please do a favor for yourself and read this series...you will never regret it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very well written

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda Welter
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these for my 12 y/o, but have started reading them myself! Very well written and riveting. The bonus is that they're Christ-centered - a nice twist from the usual fantasy novels out there. They come packaged as a set of four, so they're a great gift.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!!

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunnydeb
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only read the first 2 books and can't wait to get into the 3rd. Great imagination, adventure, values, God, Bible, dragons, knights, relationships. I am enjoying the series. Books were bigger than I thought they would be. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
mad
This series is made up of danger and adventure so dark you would wonder why people would want to go there. It is full of love for people who you care for and how to know and battle the true forces of evil. I thought this inspires people to think outside what they have been told and to accept and love people the way they are. I know this book inspired me to understand people better I hope it inspires you too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
mad
This series was full of adventure and action it made you wonder weather there really were dragons out there. It was based on god and him creating good dragons not just the devil. I thought it was a very good series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hanna, age 15
"Looking back on my adventures with Billy, Walter, Ashley, Karen, and all the rest of my friends was very memorable to me. Mr. Davis has chronicled our adventures so perfectly and in such detail that when I read these books I feel like I'm there again, reliving all of the excitement. I thank my Heavenly Father for protecting me no matter what kind of dangerous situation I was in. Also, to whoever is reading this review, I would like to share two of my favorite Bible verses: Proverbs 3:5-6. "Trust in the Lord with all thine heart, and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths." My prayer for everyone who reads these books is that their faith will be strengthened and they will grow closer to Jesus through reading about our struggles, mistakes, and victories. God bless you!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hannah P.
I found this series at a christian book store recently and decided to try it out. From the moment I started reading "Raising Dragons" (book 1) I was hooked! I am now partway through "The Candlestone" (book 2)and I'm thoroughly enjoying the engaging plots, poetry, and wonderful characters. If you've been hopelessly searching the library for something good and wholesome to read, look no further! It doesn't get any better than this. Bryan Davis is a masterful Christian author; I like this series even better than "The Chronicles of Narnia." Keep up the good work, Mr. Davis!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shari Draayer
Our family homeschools and we have been very disappointed by the literature of major textbook publishers. It's often meaningless, boring and lame or the content is unacceptable for the age group. Davis is such a good writer that I am able to adapt the lessons (educational goals and benchmarks)to chapters in Dragons in Our Midst so that my children learn what they need to learn and are excited about it. My teens are willing to get up at 5 in the morning to do literature now. Thank you Bryan. I hope my books will be as meaningful and valuable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
A wonderful series! Definitely on my top five list of favorites. It is dramatic, exciting, inspiring, and engaging. The characters are smart, fun, and likeable. You won't regret buying this series! With books this good you can't go wrong. I wish there were more books out there as good as these. If there were, the world would be a better place - and i'd have something to read in the libraries! :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kaden
I am 9 years old and these books are just what I like! I like reading 350 page books and these books have everything that I like in them...suspense, action and happy endings!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Braziel
We purchased Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4, for our 15-year-old grandson, Isaac, for Christmas. He has already finished Volume I and is halfway through Volume II and has no intention of putting the books down until completed, reporting they are the best books he has ever read and is enjoying them even more than the Chronicles of Narnia. So, even though I'm not the reader, our grandson, an avid reader, would undoubtedly give a rating of 5-plus and we are extremely pleased he is enjoying his Christmas gift from us so much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rachel
I LOVED this book series! They are written wonderfully! If you haven't already read them I'd advise you read the first book called "Oracles of Fire" and then start into these books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
I love this series! And the Oracles of Fire which follows this series is just as good. These books are full of fantasy which I love. My favorite thing about these books however, is the faith the author brings out in the characters. Bonnie's faith in God is particularly inspiring. I highly recommend this series!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kellie Pirkle
I bought this set for my son. He received them on the 14th and is halfway through the 3rd book today (which is the 21st). He loves these books and has trouble putting them down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon Burris
Billy and Bonnie find out about their dragon heritage and foil the plots of Morgan and the watchers, an ancient race of fallen seruvim. They follow the guidelines of Merlin, the powerful prophet of God. they also must look out for Devin, a dragon slayer who has tasted dragon blood... and liked it. I think these books are really good! I like how they put Christianity with fiction. I have always liked dragons and now there is a Christian perspective. -----Matthew age 11
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sarah Cottier
This is by far the best series I have ever read. It is action-packed and adventurous. Beware! If you read it, you will not be able to put it down! It has inspired me to write my own Christian fantasy that is quite long, not finished, but I hope to get published. You should also check out the sequel series Oracles of Fire!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Paige
So i just recently finished the fourth book (Tears of a Dragon). Whoever said they were grounded from reading...same here! These books are some of the best I've ever read! They have a hint of romance that gets better and better with each volume. Plus major action throughout all four volumes! Definitely a book to put at the top of you "to read" list!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Adda
I can witness to the fact that once you read the first book you're stuck. I have read two of Mr. Davis's books and am now searching for the best place to buy all the books of both the Oracles of Fire series and the Dragons in our Midst series. They are by far the best books I have ever read. I'm not a big reader and am not often 'excited' about finding out 'what happens'. However, with these, I couldn't wait till I had a chance to read. It was always a joy being able to pick it back up and dig my way through the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dragons in Our Midst Chronicles, Volumes 1-4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lesley
I am a huge bookworm. My parents have to ground me because I read too much. Imagine that! Being grounded for reading too much! Anyway, this series is one of the best I've ever read!!! It's so intriguing. There is romance, adventure and plenty of mysteriousfantasy. I strongly recommend this one for big readers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>