Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook

Tyndale House The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook
Review 1 for The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook
This review is fromThe Prisoner in the 3rd Cell.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prisoner in the Third Cell

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reedi
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This is one of the best short books you will ever read. When you question (as we all do) "why, God?" -- this will help you understand that you're not alone. You are definitely in good company. Jesus did not intervene on behalf of His beloved John the Baptist. Don't you sometimes wonder why Jesus didn't shake the prison? Why Jesus didn't go to John? Why did Jesus allow a wicked king to behead his kin? This book addresses those very questions . . . and incredible read. As are all of Gene Edwards' books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
SaltKeeper
Location:Olean, New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book should be read by all people who want to understand God. It is written in a simple yet profound way that both inspires and convicts the reader. It also answers the question, "Why do bad things happen to good people?" I have read other books by Gene Edwards and I was excited to read this one. Like all of his other books, I LOVED this one. This is one of those few books that can change your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

To the point

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
jamesd5
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written in such a way to keep the readers interest without changing or altering the basic story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrlee
Location:Wendell, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Book. It held my interest from beginning to end.
I would highly recommend this book. I can't wait to read the other books Mr. Edwards has written. mrlee
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good story line..

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deanna
Location:NE
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great story about John the Baptist, I read through in one sitting. I enjoyed this short story. I will most likely read through it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook
This review is fromThe Prisoner in the 3rd Cell.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christine Walkowe
Absolutely inspiring. Gene Edwards has the ability to take a particularly disturbing event in the scripture and describe it in a way that we will never forget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook
This review is fromThe Prisoner in the 3rd Cell.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brad Weaver
Perhaps the pain you are going through at the hands of families, friends or enemies doesn't make any sense right now. You have cried out to God, but His answers don't seem to add up. This book is an incredible reminder that only God sees the BIG PICTURE of our lives. And His answers don't always seem to match our questions... Having just gone through a period of life where I was that prisoner in the third cell I only wish I had access to the book sooner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook
This review is fromThe Prisoner in the 3rd Cell.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kyle Martincic
This book is fantastic. It really makes you come to terms with your trust in God. Are you willing to serve a God who is sovereign and does not have to explain His actions or His ways to you? Great book that I will read over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook
This review is fromThe Prisoner in the 3rd Cell.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2008
A great work of fiction, this dramatic story give us a look at John the Baptist, imprisoned by Herod and awaiting death, as he struggles to understand a Lord who did not live up to his expectations. It gives a whole new perspective on what faith means. John's struggle to understand the whys of his situation echoes our own. When it turns to Jesus POV and how He wanted to reveal things to John, it's one of those "wow" moments that give you some understanding of God's ways. Its a book of comfort and an eye-opening look at what this thing called faith is all about. A book all Christians should read. It adds foundation the great words of Charles Spurgeon: "When you can't trace God's hand, trust His heart."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook
This review is fromThe Prisoner in the 3rd Cell.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2007
A great work of fiction, this dramatic story give us a look at John the Baptist, imprisoned by Herod and awaiting death, as he struggles to understand a Lord who did not live up to his expectations. It gives a whole new perspective on what faith means. John's struggle to understand the whys of his situation echoes our own. When it turns to Jesus POV and how He wanted to reveal things to John, it's one of those "wow" moments that give you some understanding of God's ways. Its a book of comfort and an eye-opening look at what this thing called faith is all about. A book all Christians should read. It adds foundation the great words of Charles Spurgeon: "When you can't trace God's hand, trust His heart."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook
This review is fromThe Prisoner in the 3rd Cell.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Diana Cintron
This is one of the finest books I have ever read. It touched me and gave me tremendous insight into suffering and prayer. I recommend this book highly to those that want answers to difficult circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Prisoner in the Third Cell - eBook
This review is fromThe Prisoner in the 3rd Cell.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2002
Customer Avatar
David A. Yeubanks
Wow! This is an amazing little book that presents the story of John the Baptist from a perspective I doubt that most people have ever considered! You will feel as if you are right there in the story with John and you will connect with him not merely as a "hero of the faith" but as a real person. The story is a fictional account but it is based on the true story of John the Baptist from Scripture. In fact, it is more than just "based" on it because every element from the story here is consistent with Scripture and history. Gene is a wonderful storyteller and has created dialogue and included historical elements to piece the story of John's life together in a way that introduces you to the real character. The story does not depart from Scriptural truth at all but actually will help the reader to see it in a clearer, more personal and meaningful light. The message of this book will grip your heart and pull you closer to Jesus Christ. If you are struggling as a Christian, whatever your circumstance (be it sickness, emotional pain, depression, discouragement, or just feeling and wondering if God has forgotten about you or that He has not lived up to your expectations of Him) this is a remarkable book you need to read. It may change your entire perspective on suffering and give you strength and hope when all seems to be crumbling around you. I wish I could have shared this book with my father before he passed away. This book is not what you expect and it is not typical. Gene himself is no stranger to suffering and brokenness and God has revealed much to this brother. Gene has such a tender heart for the Lord and this element of his life is so beautifully sensed in his writing. Highly recommended reading. In fact, all of the books by this author are quite good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.