Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Mockingbird Parables: Transforming Lives through the Power of Story - eBook

Tyndale House The Mockingbird Parables: Transforming Lives through the Power of Story - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Mockingbird Parables: Transforming Lives through the Power of Story - eBook
Review 1 for The Mockingbird Parables: Transforming Lives through the Power of Story - eBook
This review is fromThe Mockingbird Parables.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Very Transforming

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Organized Chaos
Location:Austin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first received this book, I was pretty eager to begin reading it. I love the cover – the colors, design and the smooth feel of the paper are all very appealing.
For me, that’s where the appeal stopped. I felt this was a very dry book. It wasn’t at all a page-turner. There were some good points in it – the typical do-good-things, be-nice-to-others type stuff – but I didn’t find anything particularly fresh or new.
I think the original story is strong enough to stand on its own to teach us valuable principles. I didn’t find that Mr. Litton’s “parables” enhanced that at all.
------------
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Mockingbird Parables: Transforming Lives through the Power of Story - eBook
This review is fromThe Mockingbird Parables.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

insightful re-thinking of a classic book

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bethany LeBedz
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When Jesus wanted to make a point, he often utilized parables, stories to illustrate his intentions. Stories are memorable and often easier to understand than just saying something straight out. This is what Matt Litton does in The Mockingbird Parables. More than likely, few of us have spent much time wondering over the spiritual and moral lessons in Harper Lee’s classic To Kill a Mockingbird since we were required to do so in high school or college. Litton dissects Lee’s original masterpiece character by character and scene by scene.
The Mockingbird Parables is readable, sensitive, thoughtful, and detailed. It makes one rethink the true meaning of being a neighbor, building a community, and leaving society better than one found it. Litton makes more parallels between the Christian faith and Lee’s book than I imagined possible, but in doing so, he makes both living and real. Christian literary teachers, The Mockingbird Parables is excellent holiday reading and will add a new depth to your American literature lectures.
Disclosure: I received this book for free from Tyndale; the opinions expressed are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Mockingbird Parables: Transforming Lives through the Power of Story - eBook
This review is fromThe Mockingbird Parables.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer H.
The Mockingbird Parables: Transforming Lives through the Power of Story by Matt Litton is based on the characters and events from the book To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I must start off saying that I highly recommend this book! When I first started reading, I wasnt sure if I would have to read To Kill a Mockingbird (since I havent read the book in a long time), but I soon realized that there was no need.The author uses parables (i.e. short parts of the story) from To Kill a Mockingbird along with his own life stories and relates these parables to passages from the Bible, and in doing so, makes some good, down-to-earth points that everyone can relate to and think about. The main points of the book are loving our neighbors, building community, influencing society, having compassion, and being a good Christian (from the Bibles standpoint not the worlds.) Each chapter is broken down into smaller parts that are all based on the same theme.Matt Litton uses short, yet to-the-point, stories about different aspects of Christ-like attitudes and behaviors that we should all strive to possess. I personally believe that everyone who reads this book will be able to find numerous aspects in their own lives that could use a little work, and be able to think of ways to make themselves more Christ-like.This book is a great book, and I think it would make a good small group Bible study, also. (At the back of the book, there are a few questions to go along with each of the chapters.) The only things that I would change about the book are: add a few more Bible verses and remove the word freaking (I personally dont feel it belongs in a Christian-themed book.)Disclosure of Material Connection: Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Mockingbird Parables: Transforming Lives through the Power of Story - eBook
This review is fromThe Mockingbird Parables.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
There is much scriptural references and speak of God. It really shows us how to treat Gods creations, people and the earths growing and living things. This book could open up some debating between family and friends, or maybe just have you look at things a bit differently than your use to. Maybe you will have a light bulb moment or you will find something you disagree with. What ever the case maybe, this is a good book that will evoke thought.If you have never read How To Kill A Mockingbird, I have not but will, I am thinking this book might cause you to read it differently than if you would have having never read Mr. Littons book first. The Mr. Litton wrote this book because of how To Kill a Mockingbird spoke to him, more on a spiritual level. The book was written based on the authors translation of the story and people, not what the book To Kill A Mockingbirds meaning. Mr. Litton expresses his own thoughts of the characters and stories behind them. I received this book for free for an honest review from Tyndale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Mockingbird Parables: Transforming Lives through the Power of Story - eBook
This review is fromThe Mockingbird Parables.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debra Brinkman
Litton starts the book off by telling us about his background with To Kill a Mockingbird. How the story captivated him, how he has returned to the novel again and again, and how he currently returns to it with his students every year. How as he got older, he started seeing far more spiritual significance in the story.Chapters focus on a character, or an event, and what that means to our present society, particularly believers. Litton is covering a lot of ground with the stories he pulls from the book. He talks about the scenes from To Kill a Mockingbird with great familiarity -- if you haven't read it, or it's been awhile, you might want to re-read the novel first.Litton not only pulls from the novel, but he talks about how he has been influenced by the characters and situations throughout his life. What I loved most was some of his reflections on how he saw things as a young teen, vs. what he thought as a college student, vs. what he thought as a parent. I loved how how this "felt" -- you know, what you get out of the book is going to change with time and life experiences.This has made me really anxious to read the novel with my boys, and be able to discuss it more spiritually. Questions in the study guide in the back include ones like "How can we learn more about God and ourselves by spending time outdoors?" or "How does your faith affect or transform our definition of courage?"I enjoyed this book. It was a pretty easy read, which I needed. Maybe a bit too easy, actually. Much of the scripture quotations use The Message, which is not my favorite version of the Bible, or even one I generally consider acceptable. (He does also quote the NIV, NASB, and NKJV.) In spite of being easy to read, it still challenged me -- am I a positive influence on my society? Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Mockingbird Parables: Transforming Lives through the Power of Story - eBook
This review is fromThe Mockingbird Parables.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pastor Justin
Few Christian books are as well written as The Mockingbird Parables! If you are looking for an academic study of Harper Lee's classic look elsewhere. If you are looking for a conversation about how the themes and characters of the novel can impact your faith in a compelling way - you've picked the right book. Litton's conversational style, thoughtful theology, and insight into the classic novel makes for a wonderful read. I highly recommend this book and will be using in my sermons this fall! Litton's call to compassion is compelling and his Parable of the Last Word has deeply affected the way I live out my faith. Even if you have only seen the movie To Kill a Mockingbird -check this book out - it is worth your time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Mockingbird Parables: Transforming Lives through the Power of Story - eBook
This review is fromThe Mockingbird Parables.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daveana
Matt Litton uses the various scenes and characters of Harper Lees To Kill a Mockingbird to tell parables. Litton makes it perfectly clear in the first chapter that he is not trying to speak for Harper Lee, but how he himself was affected by the 1960 literary masterpiece To Kill a Mockingbird. Each chapter has a theme and within that realm of idea, various different parables are analyzed.The concept of this book is phenomenal. Taking a much loved book and putting a faith filter on, what a great technique. This book is a light easy read. There are few aspects about this book that disappointed me. The first is if you are not familiar with To Kill a Mockingbird, or if it has been a while since you last read it, you will need to read / re-read it to glean from the bountiful source of parables that Litton supplies. The second is that seeing how the title is called The Mockingbird Parables one would think this book would have mostly analogies from To Kill a Mockingbird. Much to my disappointment, a lot of the dialogue is the writer Litton's personal experiences. The book might have better been titled, "Matt Litton's Spiritual Interpretation of To Kill a Mockingbird." One thing I will say is, Litton's analysis of To Kill a Mockingbird, left me reaching for another read of the award winning classic book.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Mockingbird Parables: Transforming Lives through the Power of Story - eBook
This review is fromThe Mockingbird Parables.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
GiniB
The Mocking Bird Parables lives up to the endorsements on its back cover as few books have. It is insightful and enchanting. As the title hints, it is based on Harper Lees To Kill a Mockingbird, which just celebrated its fortieth anniversary. So Littons book is timely and a good follow up to the novel. Reading groups could easily use it for a great discussion guide. It does have a short set of reflection questions at the end for that purpose.Each of its ten chapters reflects on either a major character or scene from the novel. The reader finds relevant issues like building relationships, role of women, ecology, finances, parenting and several other topics presented by the author. His discussions are personable and pointed. Gently most of the time, happily. I liked his discussions of how his own perceptions have changed over time. Thats a good reminder that some issues arent static or settled by the time you graduate from college, or whatever milestone affects your life at a given age. It is a book that you should not devour, but one that should be savored slowly. I tried the devour style first. Dont do that. It will feel like a paper for a literature class. While the idea isnt unheard of in that setting, a quality implementation of it is rare. So slow down and enjoy this authors book. I guarantee that you will find yourself in agreement or dispute with him. You will feel pain in some discussions as well. You may even want to stop by the library and reread the now classic novel as well to see if all the author sees is really there. I think it is. Decide for yourself.Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Mockingbird Parables: Transforming Lives through the Power of Story - eBook
This review is fromThe Mockingbird Parables.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
What a neat idea! This book is an excellent homeschool resource or a good personal read. I love the scriptural relevence that this author brings to this book. His style is personable and easy to read. The book opens a whole new level of meaning to a book that has greatly enchanted and amazed readers for generations. I was so impressed with the scripture listed and the way the information was presented. Each character was brought more to life and some of the greatest moments in the book where given a richness I had never seen before. I have always loved To Kill A Mockingbird. The lessons it teaches about life, friendships and looking beyond what is easily seen are timeless. However, this author does an excellent job of diggimg further into this book, exposing truths of human nature that are backed up completely with scripture.I think it is a great way to teach children that all things should be lined up with scripture and truths be brought out. I would reccommend this to home school families seeking to enrich the lives of their children with good classical literature and biblical principles. Again the classical tale is timeless, but this book will also be a treasure in your library and ought to be placed right next to your copy of To Kill A Mockingbird.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.