Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan #1: Starlighter

Zondervan #1: Starlighter

Jason Masters doubts the stories he's heard about humans being taken to another realm and enslaved by dragons -- until his brother suddenly disappears! Once through the legendary portal, he joins forces with a prisoner named Koren who's trying to destroy the "black egg of doom." Can they rescue the captives and save two worlds from annihilation?
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #1: Starlighter
Review 1 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING book

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
holz
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVED this book. When I started reading, I couldn't put it down. I finished it before the next book was out and it was hard to wait. Now I have finished that one too.
Bryan Davis is an amazing author and this is one of his best books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dragons, danger & the search for the truth A+

Date:June 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DRAGONS OF STARLIGHT: STARLIGHTER
by Bryan Davis
Jason Masters and Koren, two very different people from two very different worlds, are being drawn together. Jason is trapped in a plot that leads to murder and he is now running for his very life. Koren tries to help a friend but is captured by her dragon masters. As events draw these two together the danger increases.
Can Jason and Koren survive long enough to join forces and fulfill their individual destinies that the Creator has for them? Will the truth free two worlds?
Starlighter, the first book in the DRAGONS OF STARLIGHT series, is thrilling adventure involving dragons, swords, hidden gateways, and treachery. This series is appropriate for readers over 13 and is a Christian alterative to Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance Cycle series. Bryan Davis has created a “can’t put it down book” that leaves you anticipating book 2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Story

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole
Location:Georgia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Starlighter is another wonderful book from Bryan Davis. The story is fantastic, I loved all the characters and plots! I can't wait to see what the next book is like. Mr. Davis has truly created another masterpiece here, and I would recommend this book to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is such a great book!

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
AnnaPL
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Starlighter is the first in a series of books about a world filled with an interesting mix of warriors, dragons, and a portal to another planet that only a few even believe exists. The main characters, Jason and Koren, as a peasant boy turned warrior and a slave girl from a distant planet, have their faith tested as they strive to do as the “Book of the Code” instructs them. Their belief in God and heartfelt prayer during many dangerous circumstances make this a wonderful read for anyone wanting to enjoy a story that represents all their Christian beliefs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Start to a New Series!

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ginacat
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Starlighter is the first of the Dragons of Starlight series, and I couldn’t read it fast enough! Like all of Bryan Davis’s books, it features a unique storyline, wonderful world-building, and fascinating characters. I found myself rooting for Jason as he and his companions strive to locate the portal and rescue the Lost Ones, and for Koren, whose extraordinary gift puts her in danger. Packed full of action, excitement, and inspiration, this is one book you’ll want to read again and again. The sequel just can’t come fast enough!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New adventures, new characters, another great stor

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Victoria V
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I found out that Bryan Davis was writing another dragon book different from the world of Dragons in Our Midst and Oracles of Fire, I was curious to see what it would be like. I knew it would be interesting but I wasn’t prepared for the intriguing story that captured me as soon as I read the first line. Again I found myself swept away in the adventures of new characters that soon became friends. Also I would just like to say I love the fact that the main female characters are strong women who are still ladies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrew W.
Starlighter is an awesome book, when I first got it and started reading it, I couldn't stop! I could so easily relate to the characters, feel what they felt, and see what they saw. Bryan Davis has created a masterpiece with not only this book, but all the others in the series and companion series as well. I urge you to quickly get a copy of this brilliant work of art.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Watt
This is a really good book! following the journey of Jason, Elyssa, and Randall as they struggle to free the lost slaves (including a starlighter named Koren) from the dragons planet called "Dracon". Left me wanting more, I can't wait for the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vernon
Once again, Bryan Davis has created a masterpiece! Starlighter brings an incridible story of mystery, sacrifice, and the age-old battle between good and evil. The characters' strength and bravery are encouragement to us all. Definately a favorite!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
DragonsAreSnazzy
This book had such a spiritual feeling and it demands for five starts! i suggest you to also read this book too! I loved this great series-starter!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melaleuca Man
Starlighter is awesome!!!!!a great book,full of everything we have come to love from Bryan Davis'!!!!!must read!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Braydon
This is an awesome book! Mr. Davis has perfected his writing skills by making you part of the adventure in Starlighter. Starlighter is about Jason Masters, and Koren to help free the slaves from the evil dragon world. This book holds an epic adventure inside! This is another must read from Mr. Davis!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vernon
Once again, Bryan Davis has created a masterpiece! Starlighter brings an incridible story of mystery, sacrifice, and the age-old battle between good and evil. The characters' strength and bravery are encouragement to us all. Definately a favorite!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
FreakofNature
A boy who is searching for a world that he doesn't think exists, a girl who doubts there is a free world for humans. Both find each other. And that is only the beginning of the adventure. What if there was another world where dragons were in charge and humans were slaves? Would you want to go save them? Well you can be there with Jason as he tries to figure out the mystery of the planet of Starlight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie Wills
Jason Masters is searching for the portal to free the humans in the dragon's world. A slave girl slips through the night to help her friend. What lies at the end of their quests? Is it more than they can handle?Bryan Davis has once again woven a tale that will keep readers enthralled from the first page until the last! I was eagerly awaiting this first enstallment of the Dragons of Starlight series and only with the greatest self control waited until I got home to read it! I couldn't put it down after I started! The story of courage and loyalty draws you in to these pages. I think this is a wonderful book for anyone who loves to read and I recomend it for anyone and everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dancing Oracle
Starlighter is the first book in the Dragons of Starlight series. Bryan Davis has composed another fantastic fantasy novel! I was held captive by the sway of the story from the beginning. This book holds a beautiful concept of love. Travel with Jason, Koren, and Elyssa as they are thrust into an adventure, caught between two worlds and the stories of the lost ones. I remain excited to see what the next book has it store; this is an addition for all libraries, home or public, which will certainly be read many times over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Galadriel
As a huge fan of Bryan Davis' Dragons in Our Midst/Oracles of Fire series and the Echoes from the Edge trilogy (I spend more time on his forum then on Facebook), I eagerly anticipated the release of Starlighter.One aspect of the story that will immediately surprise readers of DioM is the presence of inherently evil dragons. But instead of traditional treasure-hording, maiden-devouring beasts, the dragons of Starlight enslave humans to mine extane, a gas necessary for dragons to breath. Meanwhile, on another planet, stories of the "Lost Ones" who were stolen by dragons and taken to another planet are laughed at as myths, but the young swordsman Jason Masters is forced to make a difficult decision when he discovers the legends are true.Although the twin settings of this book are different from the mixed modern realistic of Davis' prior series, I found both worlds delightfully fresh and exciting. The mixture of modern and medieval technology in Jason's world raises questions for the next book in the series, and the characters are well-written and lovable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for #1: Starlighter
This review is fromStarlighter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
aknight4a
Location:Eau claire, wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome book i would definetly pass the book on to friends and family
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for #1: Starlighter
This review is fromStarlighter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very good

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
CamP
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After the governor gets killed and the murderers blame Jason Masters, Jason has to go along with their plans, for now. Jason is told to go release Elyssa and then escape through the back entrance to the dungeon. After escaping Jason, Elyssa, some other unexpected friends, find a gateway leading into another planet. The planet they call, Dracon. When they get on that planet through the gateway and Jason kills one of the dragons, thinking that he is helping the slaves, he finds out how angry dragons really get.
What all can Koren do with her powers? Will Jason and Elyssa ever meet again? Most of all. Will the ever, find their way home?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for #1: Starlighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Danielle
I love this book! I like the characters and how the story ends without too much peril, while still being a cliffhanger. I recommend this book to anyone who wants an adventure packed,fun filled read, that still has a christian theme. I can't wait for the next book, called uprising, to come out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>