Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Revell A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1

Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Review 1 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet, real and engaging

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, after successfully completing my first book by Kathleen Morgan, I can honestly say that it was a worthwhile journey. She's a good writer, and I was soon transported into the lives of the characters. Each of them had struggles, and I think they were portrayed in a very real, honest sort of way. Nobody was perfect, (although they came pretty close a couple times) and their love was beautiful and genuine. I'd recommend this to those historical fiction lovers who want to spend a quiet evening with a hot cup of... something :)
It's not a book that I would say, "Wow! I am definitely reading this over and over again!" I enjoyed my stay in the life of Cord and Sarah but whether I go back remains to be seen...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I can definitely recommend this book

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynelle
Location:South Africa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Young woman was torn between the loyalty for her father and two brothers who lived a life of crime. She fell in love with the arch enemy. But there was one problem both sides refused to forgive and look at the past. When Cord's father dies by the hand of her Father's hand a ravine formed between the two lovers. She only had her faith to believe that God will turn the hearts of her love ones around.
I loved the plot and how the author brought the message of forgiveness in. Even when the odds was against her she still trust in the unwavering love of a Heavenly Father
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can Love Mend Old Time Rifts ?

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanting a historical Christian fiction with a tale of Feuding and Romance ? Kathleen Morgan's "A Heart Divided" tells the tale of two feuding families -The Caldwells and The Wainwrights. Years ago, when Nick Wainwright was eight years old . His family won the Caldwell ranch in a poker game from the Jacob Caldwell. This ruined the Caldwell family and ended in not just a tragedy but an long-standing rivalry between the Caldwells and the Wainwrights. Now the youngest of the Caldwells - Danny is unwell with asthma and the Caldwell family have come to collect what they are owed to pay for his medical bills. However , this is done the Wild Wild West way which in other words means it's robbing time . With the Wainwrights supposedly out for the night , the Caldwells make their dash in to steal the money . It's up to Sarah as the only girl to distract the ranch-hand guarding the farm , however what they don't realise is that the ranch hand turns out to be Cord Wainwright- one of the sons. As the story unfolds , Cord ends up holding Sarah under house arrest in his cellar and soon the pair of them start to hit it off until Nick Wainwright comes into the picture and it soons turns out to be every brother for themselves. When a decision is made to save not only her family but to also mend the rift - Will Sarah accept ? Will Sarah eventually marry her true love or will their loyalties lie with their families and the tension and anger between the Caldwells and Waiwright men prove to be too strong that even love cannot mend it or will God provide Sarah with the strength to perform a miracle of sorts ?
Find out in Kathleen Morgan's new series " A Heart Divided".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Revenge never is sweet

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Caldwells and Wainwrights had been feuding for years.
Sarah is forced by her father to tempt Cord Wainwright so he
and the brothers can rob them. Little did her father realize
what a new world he was opening up for his daughter and how
the feud would come to an end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A favorite!

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessie LWG
Location:NY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had never read books by Kathleen Morgan but decided to try this one ( I am cautious about new authors). The book became a favorite before I had finished chapter 2! For anyone who likes western romance this is a have-to- have! I can't wait for book # 2!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic Family Drama

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only read Kathleen Morgan's Scottish Highlands series so what a surprise this was -- to 'hear' her distinctive style in Western drawl. LOL. A Heart Divided is definitely a sweeping saga -- an epic family drama that hopefully isn't finished yet. I'm very anxious for Nick and Noah and Shiloh to have their own stories so I hope their books will become part of the Heart of the Rockies series.
Full of intense passions and emotions this is a consuming read. I just flew through it. Morgan has a knack for creating multi-dimensional characters and she puts them through the wringer while building to a powerful climax of forgiveness and redemption. And she doesn't mind throwing in some sizzle along the way. Blissful sigh of pure contentment. I can't wait for Book Two in the series.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More Like 4.5 Stars!

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
What a wonderful experience I had with A Heart Divided! Except for a very few pages early on, I read this book from start to finish, and loved it. Stories involving feuds are not something new to the world of fiction, but this story will surely rank high on my recommendations list. The last feud story I read was a great deal more humorous than this one, so from the get-go, I appreciated the fact that I was in for a story all it's own.
I didn't have to wait long for the story to grab my interest. Right from the start, there was one heck of a kiss that was enough to make my hair stand on it's end! (Well, not really...but you get the picture.) :o) Then, there was the introduction of a brother, which brought on a whole new set of decisions of the heart. And if all that wasn't enough...there's the feud itself! It was no wonder that I couldn't put the book down!
I'm no stranger to Kathleen Morgan's books, and without a doubt, A Heart Divided has to be one of her very best. I'm quite curious what the next book in the series will be about, as this story had no loose ends. So long as a certain girl named Allis and a certain fella named Spence are not part of it, I'll be a very happy reader. :o)
4.5 Stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable read

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
I've always enjoyed Kathleen Morgan's novels and have been eagerly awaiting her return to writing following her recent hiatus. A Heart Divided reflects Kathleen's talent for penning complex characters, historical detail and an engaging romance. Cord and Sarah are appealing characters backed up by minor characters, like Cord's brother Nick, that will have you hoping they feature in subsequent stories in the series. The long standing feud between the Caldwells and the Wainwrights enables Kathleen to weave spiritual themes of forgiveness, reconciliation and sacrifice and provides the requisite conflict and tension that keeps Sarah and Cord's relationship on edge. While Kathleen's Scottish novels remain my favourites, A Heart Divided is an enjoyable read I can recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story line! A must have!

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
addicted reader
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wrote this review on my blog and I thougt I would share it with you here.
I'm a sucker for Romance novels that date back to pioneer days. I have never read a book with this story line before. I was so thrilled with it. A feud between two families.... the fathers so bull headed that they can't see what is happening to there families. A jealous female in the mix. You have the making for one great story!
I just could not bring myself to put this book down. It has some funny parts in it... for example there is a tomato fight, a rumble in the mud, and more (I just cant think of any right now!).
A Heart Divided is not just a wholesome love story, but a story about forgetting the past and beginning new friendships.
I can't rave enough about how much I enjoyed reading this.
I recived this book free of charge to read and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Keeps your interest

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Biblegal
Location:Chesapeak, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was an amazing story of what God can do in peoples lives. We don't know why, but He does. Then as we learn through the things we go through, sometimes He reveals what it was all about. But one glorious day we will all know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Add this one to your summer reading list!!

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What if you had to choose between family and love? Remember the Hatfields and the McCoys? You will soon forget them as you pick up the newest novel from, Kathleen Morgan. She has taken that story that we have heard over the years about feuding families and brings together a story that engages us in each character as hope comes alive. In a feud is there really ever a winner? I don't think so. Not much can come from fighting continually over who is right and who is wrong. As we see here in, A Heart Divided, we see just how much pain comes with a feud and how it separates us from not only family, but all our Savior has for us.
We meet the Caldwells and the Wainwrights in this vengeful story. Two families feuding over property rights. On one dark night in the Colorado Rockies in the late of June in 1851, one family loses a son as gunpowder ignites. This is just the beginning.
The story travels over twenty years later and the feud is still alive. Cord Wainwright and Sarah Caldwell are the main characters. They are now the new generation. They set themselves apart from all that once was and only want to move forward. These families are not only feuding one another, but there are feuds within the family as the father's of these two young people place pressure on them to continue the anger and hate. Cord can't seem to gain his father's love and affection. Sarah is beating herself up trying to stand by a father she has lost all respect for. The Caldwells believe that once, Cord, is out of the picture there are no Wainwrights left to battle, but the story finds a twist around every bend. Sarah finds herself in love with this young man.
We see love come alive and blossom between two young people that were not to be together. We see just all that the Lord can do in bringing peace if there is just one willing to take a stand. This was one of those stories you just don't want to put down. It takes us back to another time and place, but also brings us to a place of searching in our heart. This is one I would put on my summer reading list!
This book was a gift from Revell for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Family Feuds

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
You’re really going to need that box of tissues before you finish this book. It’s not easy to come out on the other side of a horrendous feud.
Lives are destroyed and people die while Cord and Sarah attempt to get past this family feud. One of the families includes seriously stubborn people.
It took nearly the entire book before I saw it. This is the story of the prodigal son and the emotions of that son.
My heart’s still back in the Rockies. I’m glad this is the beginning of a series. I’m looking forward to more about these families.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, Reconcilliation,

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
he saga of the Caldwell's and Wainwrights unfolds against the backdrop of the beautiful Rocky Mountains in 1878. A feud that spans over 20 years threatens to destroy the future.
Jacob Caldwell and Edmund Wainwright are both driven and controlled by a deep, dark hatred of each other. Each one blaming the other for there mistakes and hardships. Both bound tightly by ineffectiveness and blind to the destruction they have left in their wake.
Born on the night that his older brother was shot and his mother died Cord Wainwright has built walls around his heart to protect himself from further hurt. The only daughter of Jacob she is bound by her family through a promise she made her dying mother and her own loyalty to her father. In constant turmoil about the life her father has forced them to live, Sara is constantly on guard for attack.
Against her better judgment Sara takes part in a robbery. Pressured by her father, she is sent to distract the ranch hand while her brothers and father rob the Wainwright home. Little did she know that the man she was to distract was Cord Wainwright. Little did either on know that this would change the course of their life forever. This one act would set in motion things that would bring the feud to a boiling point.
These two are set on a path that could easily bring more destruction or could lead to the healing of both families. The book is filled with twists and turns and keeps the reader constantly guessing and hoping for a good outcome. Kathleen Morgan does an excellent job of creating characters that are filled with depth and emotion. One can not help but be drawn into the story - to the point of having great empathy for the different characters and their struggles.
I especially loved Nick - with his gentle and kind spirit his words are filled with wisdom. Always looking for the good and seeking reconciliation he guides the others on this journey that will change all things.
An amazing read.
Thank you Revell for this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Heart Divided by Kathleen Morgan

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
CKendall
Location:Burlington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really wasn’t sure I was going to like this book when I first read the description. The idea of a long running family feud did not appeal to me. I felt like the book would start out with too much tension to be able to relax and enjoy it. Lately, I have been wanting to read books that had more relaxing themes and less tension.
A Heart Divided did start with some very real tension, but as the story moved on, several other aspects began to emerge which softened the tension and created a much more well rounded and relaxing read. The romance between Sarah and Cord was very enjoyable. There was no mistaking their attraction to each other and their learning the importance of forgiveness gives this book a good Christian message.
Overall, I really liked Kathleen’s writing. Her descriptions made the setting come to life, which is something I really like about books like this. Having a pleasant setting and being able to picture it in my mind is one of the reasons I like to read as much as I do. I like to “see” where these stories are and I like to experience the sounds and the environment of the story. Kathleen has done a terrific job there and in many other places, which makes A Heart Divided a very good historical romance novel. I really enjoyed this book and I look forward to more from the Heart of the Rockies series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great story!

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
amomwithablog
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Heart Divided is a wonderful story of Sarah Caldwell and Cord Wainwright. Each raised by fathers who were feuding long before either of them were born, yet both expected to carry on the family tradition of vengeance against the other. Feeling a strong sense of devotion to their own families, while longing to rid themselves of the bitterness that is destroying those they love, can they ever leave the past behind and move to a happier future?
Kathleen Morgan did an excellent job in showing both sides of the story. I found myself struggling right along with the characters as they were torn between honoring family wishes, or choosing to forgive and trust God. I had a hard time putting the book down as I went from supporting one family and then the other. It was truly filled with emotion as the story played out.
I enjoyed the supporting characters as well. A great mix that rounded out the story. Romance, love, faith, and forgiveness... even a little action and mystery. This is the first book in the Heart of the Rockies series. You won't be disappointed. I can't wait to read the next one!
*Baker Publishing Group has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.
~ Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good historical romance

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stormi
Location:missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's the Hatfields and McCoys and Romeo and Juliet all rolled into one! Well except for there is no tragic death of the hero and heroine..lol. :) Though there is some emotional, tragic things that happen in the book.
Most of the Christian Romance books I have ever read always has some sort of underlining theme and the hero or heroine, or sometimes both have to get past this certain thing before they can be together. In A Heart Divided the message is about forgiveness.
Ever since the day the Edmund Wainwright won Jacob Caldwell's home in a gambling match there has been a feud between the two families. Instead of it being a feud between just those two men they have both manipulated their children into it. Which is a very horrible thing for fathers to do to their children.
Sarah Caldwell is eighteen and really wants nothing to do with the feud but her father talks her into doing something wrong for the sake of her little brother Danny. Sarah is very strong willed, and in Cord's eyes down right feisty and a bit of a hand full. She also has a tender, sweet side and Cord can't help but fall for her.
Cord is handsome, strong and stubborn and every bit a cowboy even though he went away to New York and became a lawyer. He has come back to help his father with his ranch but there is a lot of tension between Cord and his father. When the Caldwell's rob the Wainwrights and Cord takes Sarah into custody awhile waiting for the sheriff t return, he begins to see how this feud is affecting Sarah. He knows its not her fault that their fathers act like they do and something in him gets protective.
I love some of the secondary characters in the book as well as the main characters. Nick is Cord's brother who was shot by Jacob Caldwell a long time ago on accident. Now he is in a wheelchair and quite taken by his 'Angel' (Sarah), but he knows she only has eyes for Cord. Emma is the spunky housekeeper who is not afraid to speak her mind when it comes to Cord and Nick.
Even though it is a Christian book I felt that the religious aspects of the book did not override the storyline of the book. I have never liked a preachy book and I believe that this book is not in anyway preachy. It is a story about forgiveness and how God can help you to forgive those who have heart you, its a book about healing hearts so they can be open to love. I recommend this book to anyone who loves historical romance books because all together it was a very nice, clean, fun romance book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than just a romance book!

Date:May 15, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah Caldwell reluctantly agreed to her father’s plan for her to distract a ranch hand while he and her brothers rob the Wainwrights. However, when she realizes that the ranch hand is Cord Wainwright, one of the heirs of the ranch, Sarah knows the stakes have escalated and barely manages to rationalize her family’s actions. Unfortunately, Cord isn’t feeling so rational. A quick trip into town finds Sarah under citizen’s arrest by Cord. Living as his prisoner is terrible, but as the days pass, she begins to see Cord as more than an angry rancher. Growing affection between the two complicates their lives. Having a relationship would mean betraying their families. Are they willing to give up their families in the name of love? As Cord comes to terms with his father and Sarah begins to realize how unhealthy her family is, there seems to be a hope for their future. However, when Cord’s cattle begin to disappear, they both struggle in the newfound relationship. Will their relationship survive? Or will they continue the patterns set by their families so many years ago?
When I read the back cover of A Heart Divided by Kathleen Morgan, I thought it was going to be a Christian version of Romeo and Juliet with a happy ending. I am happy to say that it is far more than a simple story of two people from feuding families who fall in love. The plot included plenty of romance fused with character development and spiritual lessons. I appreciated the author’s realistic depiction of a dysfunctional family. I have personal experience with dysfunctional families and I can say the author was right on target with her depictions. To someone outside of a dysfunction family (i.e. Cord), Sarah’s love and actions may seem irrational. However, in a family like Sarah’s, her actions and emotions make complete sense. The way the author brought Sarah around to a healthy mindset was perfect. I really connected with Sarah’s character and in a way the book reaffirmed some personal decisions I have made. I will definitely be keeping this book and reading it again!
I can recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Christian romances.
Available May 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers as part of a blog tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

RATING:4.5! A MUST READ! A FEUD BETWEEN TWO FAMILI

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A HEART DIVIDED by Kathleen Morgan is an exciting inspirational historical romance set in 1878 Colorado Rockies. It is the first in the first in the series "Heart of the Rockies". What a wonderful story of love,fear,forgiveness,vengeance,faith,a feud between the Wainwrights and the Caldwell's that has lasted for decades.When Sarah Caldwell meets Cord Wainwright,she was pressured into helping her family rob Cord's ranch house.When they first meet sparks ignite,Cord is beaten by Sarah's family into unconsciousness.Then they meet again in town by accident,Cord recognizes her and attempts to take her to the sheriff,but the sheriff is out of town.So Cord takes Sarah to his ranch as a prisoner. Sarah who is feisty,beautiful,proud,determined will not break out,but she finds that she is attracted to Cord,a Wainwright.Cord who is a lawyer back east,handsome,proud,determined to get justice,cut finds he is attracted to Sarah,a Caldwell.Cord sends Sarah's father a message if he returns the cash they stole,he will let Sarah go,but the cash is never returned.Sarah's young brother Danny,who also is sick,has asthma,comes to rescue her.Danny having an asthma attack is cared for by the Wainwright's and Sarah is allowed to be by his side.The Wainwright's generosity will only
cause Sarah more confusion.She also learns she has falling in love with Cord.Lord help her and him.for Cord is also falling in love with Sarah.It will take more than their love to bring the feud between their families to an end.There will be deaths,rustling of cattle,deceit,and an inconvient time for love to bloom.Cord and Sarah will have to stand together,to see if their love to strong enough to withstand their families feud.What engaging characters and plot.Move over the Hatfield's and the Mccoy's for the Wainwright's and the Caldwell's are in town.It will keep you turning pages,it is fast paced,action packed heart thumping with tension,love,faith,betrayal,hurt,romance that has the beauiful Rocky Mountains as a backdrop during the 1870's. While romance and love blooms between Sarah and Cord they will have to choose between their family ties and their love.A must read.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Revell,a division of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction and More.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More like 4.5 stars. Enjoyable read!

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed A Heart Divided. The hero in the novel was like many men who have a lot of anger bottled inside them. The hero was justified in what he was upset over, but at the same time he learned like we all do that holding resentment only hurts the people you love, and hurts you even more. I enjoyed getting to know the characters and witnessing the softening of Cord's heart over time. I loved the ruse that Nick and Sarah put together that failed miserably. I also appreciated the realism in the romance. I don't typically enjoy stories where the hero and heroine are angry with each other so much, but in this case I did see the stubborn hearts of each of them as key to the plot as opposed to a way to fill in space and create artificial tension.
The romantic elements of the story were very delectable. I have to admit that I love a story that gets my heart pounding, and this story definitely did that for me. The kisses were worth waiting for and the anticipation kept building. I loved that. I also appreciated the spiritual thread. It was intricately woven into the plot in a way that made sense to me. It's funny how I've read so many books lately with hard-hearted heroes in them when it comes to faith in God. This theme was more well done in this novel than in most cases. A Heart Divided is the perfect title for this book, but ultimately it's the hearts uniting that brought me the most inspiration. I enjoyed this novel and will definitely read more stories penned by Kathleen Morgan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Heart Divided, Heart of the Rockies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classic story of feuding families with a twist.

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:o fallon, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Classic story of feuding families with a twist. This is a well written story of redemption that makes your heart ache of choices that have to be made by Sarah Caldwell.
How do you choose between good and evil if it means not honoring your father and a promise to your dying mother. And it could save your brother’s life.
Sarah and Cord Wainwright each have a reason to be vengeful to the other and yet they fall in love despite the odds of surviving the relationship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.