Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Have a New Kid by Friday

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Revell Have a New Kid by Friday

Parents teach their children their ABCs before they enter school; now it's time to teach them the ABCs of life (Attitude, Behavior, and Character). "How?", you ask. Stand up to the plate and take charge. In Have a New Kid by Friday, Dr. Kevin Leman urges you to take his 5-day challenge to implement a new parenting strategy. Based on cause and effect instead of threats or fears, you'll soon be seeing lots of improvement in your child's behavior and experience a closer bond as well. Let the fun begin! Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.489 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(182 Reviews) 182
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (182 reviews)
5 stars
131
4 stars
35
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
11
26 out of 2893%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Have a New Kid by Friday
Review 1 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book & it really works :)

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
mtndarlin79
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not finished reading this yet, but just after applying the principles from the first chapter or two, I am seeing results. Less stress in the home, a more level head, enjoying each other more instead of feeling like a dictator with a yelling problem. Thank you so much for giving us guidance in parenting. You could also call this book, Parenting for Dummies, it really would be great if your children came with instructions :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

NEVER RECEIVED THE BOOK-HAVE NOT READ BUT WANT TO

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sharon
Location:Miami, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have heard the author speak and many people review the book, and have been trying to get it for years. Still have not received the book, but still want to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has made a huge difference in our lives

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:Batesburg, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading Have a New Kid By Friday, and following the plan, our home is nearly stress free. If things start to get stressful again, it's because we have dropped the ball & didn't follow the book. As long as we follow this plan, everything runs SO smoothly. BEWARE though, it does require you to take a long, HONEST look at yourself as a parent. So thankful I ordered it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must for every parent

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gutsy
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish I had this book 25 years ago! I have seen results since putting into action the game plan in this book. Has it gotten easier? Not at first, but I have peace! When I get it wrong, I go back and start over. This game plan takes guts, but stick to your guns, don't give in, and you will see results!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom2KKMT
Location:Eden, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr Leman has practical strategies on dealing with parenting struggles..I highly recommend all of his books and this one is no exception!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Help is here!

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
MrsE
Location:NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this book's approach to dealing with child-rearing issues and the strategies offered. We have implemented these in our home and seen a turn-around!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rainy
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ways in which the author writes this book is an easy and well layed out form. He is precise and direct. I appreciate his personal stuff in the book as well. i am a grandparent and wish I had had this advice when I had my 5 children.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommend this book!!!

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Isabella Sacchetti
Location:Montreal, QC Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is the best parenting book out there! Kevin Leman is hilarious and brings everything into perspective.
God bless him!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very well written

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blondie
Location:Swift Current, SK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really like this book. I like that it has tons of answers to basic questions in the back for quick references.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Have A New Kid By Friday

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tony D
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am enjoying the book. I see how I can apply these principles to my life. The author uses humor and common sense in dealing with child. The best part was how he stressed that encouragement is good and praise in the incorrect context is damaging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT!

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
CaMH
Location:Hamilton, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This is a wonderful book. I wish I would have found it sooner! Easy to read, easy to understand. It works! It's the first parenting book that has worked with my child!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
jenni
Location:Pella, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I believe this product will be great help (when I finish reading it and start using it :) )
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good so far

Date:September 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Richard
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a grandparent dealing with a very bright kindergarten-er who doesn't always want to follow his teachers directions...or mine. I haven't finished this book yet but I expect it to help me and his school teacher. I'm seeing improvements from just applying the first two chapters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Simplistic strategies and some shocking attitudes!

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Emelle
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this book to find help to deal with a toddler that refuses to accept "no" for an answer. We found the advice to be woefully simplistic and definitely not the "quick-fix" promised on the cover.
As I read further in the book I was shocked when the advice on dealing with cheating started with the claim that everyone has cheated! Seriously? This Christian author believes that every person has cheated in school at some point? I never did and I'm sure I wasn't the only one. It may be common, but it's definitely not universal so downplaying it by saying everyone does it is incredibly unhelpful and a shockingly lax attitude towards academic dishonesty for a supposedly Christian author. I don't expect Christians to be perfect, but I do expect higher standards. It would have been far more helpful for Leman to advise parents to tell their kids that tests are like the height marks on a doorpost - the measurements help you see that you are growing/improving. Parents should focus on instilling a love of learning in their children (and in themselves first, if that's a problem) and help them develop a pride in real accomplishment not just cheating to get a fake mark. I haven't bothered reading the rest of the book since coming across that chapter.
Like others, I'm baffled why this is promoted in Christian bookstores when there are no biblical references or even Christian principles in the book.
-7points
6of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great guide in the back

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tye Green
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful tool for new and seasoned parents. For new parents it will be so easy to start right from the start. For us seasoned parents there is some over hauling that needs to be done (on our own attitude). The quick guide in the back is very helpful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amber
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to follow and apply. Has been a great asset in raising my two children.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dianne Rogers
Location:alberta, canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very genius and practical easy solutions love it....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
TPlum
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am enjoying this book, it is providing good ideas on parenting that I plan to add to my parenting with our children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great! buy the book and CD.

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Francine Eubanks
Location:Benton, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the book and the CD for my grandchildren and sisters children. It has only been a God send. It does work if you do what the book says to do. You can also use the habits you get from the book in everyday life. Start learning and exampling that is only what our Lord wanted us to do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Have a New Kid by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Richie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book. My husband and I have used the book as a guide to raise our four year old son. We have modified our parenting techniques which has led to improvement in our son's behavior.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345 ...10Next >>>