Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Revell Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days

In Have a New Husband By Friday, author Kevin Leman shows women how making a few changes in attitude, behavior, and communication style can revolutionize their marriages and bring out the very best in their husbands. Leman's popular common sense method sprinkled with his humorous wit makes his advice to women irresistible and easy to swallow. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.453 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
31 out of 3394%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Review 1 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Reminders of What We Wives Should Be Doing

Date:January 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ben Lundquist
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Many of the tips in this book I was already doing, but it was a good reminder to do them out of love again instead of out of habit. Attitude can make a huge difference. If you are not already do his recommendations, though, you really should for a healthy/healthier marriage. Basic ideas to put your spouse first, like you did when you were dating & first married.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

All I have to do is Adopt the priniples in this bo

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
hilly
Location:Kimberley ,BC <Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is very informative, I just need the will to recieve and do the changes it advises. VERY GOOD ADVICE
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great information presented with humor

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MiBella
Location:San Diego
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVED this book. I read it cover to cover....and enjoyed every minute of it. I know this information is valid as I have talked to women who put it to use....
I encourage you to read it and try it before you knock it.
Dr Leman is a great communicator
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed in the compromise

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
eleni
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read this book in consideration of a women's book study I lead at my church. I was very excited to read it but disappointed halfway through. Most of the content is GREAT, funny, encouraging, real. What I found to be VERY problematic however was Leman's suggestion of divorce if things have been bad enough for long enough and the husband is not showing any signs of willingness to make change. God is bigger, better, stronger and LOVES to show up in impossible situations. I have seen Him move in "impossible" marriages when the wife became willing to receive His direction...all God needs to move is willingness, and though it can be, it doesn't have to be the husband's. Another problem with this book is that it encourages the wife not to engage sexually with her husband if she is feeling offended or hurt...if there is any problem with him, it must be sorted out FIRST before she gives in...that is NOT Scriptural, and neither is divorce because of a bad marriage/difficult husband. I have also seen, throughout my experience in women's ministry thatoften when a woman surrenders to her husband sexually, it softens him in a way that he becomes willing to make changes to serve her needs as well...someone's got to be the first to give in, and it's usually the wife...it's not fair BUT it is what is is. As a Bible believer, I would not recommend this book for anyone who really loves the Lord and needs God to move in their marriage.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Arlene Prada
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just started reading it, good so far. The price was excellent, I bought it when advertised as one of their weekly bargains. I've always wanted to read this book. also bought How to have a a new child by Friday - gave it to my daughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great bride gift

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dave
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a therapist myself, I've admired Dr. Lehman for years. I confess to buying the book as a gag gift for my daughter at the rehearsal dinner. However, it is a legitimate help volume well worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun read.

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
SueGee
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book has great tips in it. Unfortunately, in this day and age, it is difficult to state gender differences without someone taking offense. The author tries to be matter of fact and fair, and he has a great sense of humor. If you are sensitive about gender differences, and/or want to improve your marriage without acknowledging gender differences, this book is not for you. Indeed, in my opinion, some of the societal issues surrounding marriage difficulties are because of everyone having to be politically correct in what they say. I'm anxious to finish the book and begin to practice some of the author's insights into the male personality. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good reminders!

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lissa
Location:SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The title was comical, so I read this merely for the entertainment of it. To my surprise, there were some truths that reminded me of how my husband, and even how my son, is wired. I found myself more capable of overlooking some of my husband's behaviors that normally pushed me over the edge. I'm a Christian, a mother of 3 small children, and a public school teacher. I do not consider myself a feminist or old fashioned in my thinking. My husband and I work together sharing a variety of responsibilities and struggling with the same pitfalls as most every other married couple. Leman's insight into the male mind puts things into proper perspective. However, there were a few points that my husband and I disagreed with. Nonetheless, a worthy read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dr. Leman is very funny is delivering his message

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nneedofgrace
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book about changing as a wife first to see the desired results in your husband. My husband saw the book and was very offended so be cautious. I told him that God is never interested in our changing people but us seeking the change in ourselves but Dr. Leman had to make the title appeal to women so they would buy it. don't buy if you aren't ready to change yourself first
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well written and presented

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From a man's point of view, we are so simple. I don't undersdtand why it takes women sooooooo long to figure us out. Or, maybe they have and don't think we're worth the trouble. If the suggestions in the book are followed I'll bet it will work 99 times out of 100.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Don't bother

Date:December 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
luvhim
Location:Central Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Started reading the book and realized the author considered "normal" to be a husband who works and a stay at home wife and mother. Our family, and many others, are the total opposite where I work and he is at home, so this book was worthless to us. Perhaps if the author thought it out and gave more options to other families it would be more appropriate.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful advice and easy to read.

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dorrie
Location:New Hampshire
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this book as a tool in counseling couples. I personally know the advice in the book does work. The author has a humorous writing style which makes the book easy and fun to read, despite it's serious content. I recommend this book to any woman struggling in her marriage. Actually, I recommend it to newly married women to give them tools to avoid some of the problems married couples encounter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book gives great insight.

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kaye
Location:Washington
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book gives insight into a man's thinking that a wife might not have. I wish I would of been given this book as a bridal shower gift! I bought this book for a friend, and decided to buy myself one as well. I didn't realize that my marriage could benefit from it too. After reading it, I realized that after many years of marriage, I didn't know what a husband really longs for and needs in a wife. I was glad to have a man's perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read and Help

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shay
Location:Philadelphia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a women I have often heard some of the same information or advice. However, hearing it from a male's perspective, with additional insights was great. I've already started using some of the techniques and have received positive results. It's definitely a book for women and causes one in a gently manner, to self reflect and self correct. For example, I used to get worked up when asking my husband to perform a task and when it wasn't completed in my time frame, would get anxious, angry and irritated. But now I internalize that men have a different apprecitation of time, so I will either leave task allow it to get down whenever without nagging OR will add some deadlines to ensure it can be done by a certain time. And if it's not done, it's just not done and allow him to take accountability for it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Even if you only have time for Ch. 1

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
oladybug
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book. Easy; quick; and even humorous read. I think my husband was a little nervous when he saw me with the book. Husbands be rest assured this book is for the woman in your life. Dr. Lehman discusses what men need, how they think, how they don't think, how their brains work, etc. These aren't excuses made for them, but explanations of what comes natural to a guy/about a guy. You will laugh, roll your eyes, shake your head and shout AMEN as you read and learn that it's true "boys will be boys". But most of all, I learned and now believe that my guy wants to protect his family and does love his wife, but these things are in his way and I know how to see those ways now. In addition to reading this regarding husbands you will understand your son's or any guy really. It's well worth the time and money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy read

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Molly
Location:Illinois
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of great ideas and a very easy read. I finished it during a flight. I ordered the CD for a friend dealing with a rocky marriage and thought it best to get a copy for myself. I have already applied some principles and am reaping the results.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can't hurt

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wife
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It was one of those quick-reading books. You can get through it real fast. Page-turner for me. Finished it in just a few short days. And that's with having 4 kids under 5 in the house. lol
I've read Dr. Leman before. He generalizes a bit-too much for me. He stereotypes a lot. (Example: Men are messy, can't dress themselves appropriately, thoughtless, forgetful, etc. Women talk too much, are organized, proper, embarrass easily, etc.)
This is one of tons of marrige books I have read. We are going through a crazy hard time. 15 months ago, my husband came out of the sex-addict closet. I am attempting to do what I can to help/not hurt the situation further. As a partner of a recovering sex-addict, A LOT of this didn't apply. So the generalizations of men and women kind of discouraged and depressed me. (Example: If you give your husband plenty of attention and sex, he won't look for it elsewhere. Baloney! And kind of ignorant, if you ask me.) The book didn't hold a lot of answers for me. :( And what's sad is the population and statistics of us are growing rapidly.
So yet another marriage book that can't hurt, but doesn't help.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
JABA
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read for both husband & wife! We both learned much in reading it together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I didn't realise how much I needed this book!

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rest4Mum
Location:Sydney Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been married for 20yrs and now have 2 teenage sons. My marriage has been a struggle for so long, and now with 3 men in the house, things were becoming very challenging. This is a book that I wish I'd read years ago. The content is so helpful and practical. I've gained understanding that I needed so desperately.
Today we have far less tension in our home, and we're enjoying each other so much more. I now have more realistic expectations about my husband and my sons.
Sometimes I think Dr Leman's titles are very sneaky. Perhaps I would change to title to How to be the New Wife So You Can Have the New Husband by Friday! That wouldn't sell so well, would it?
This book is a MUST for all women whether you have a great marriage or not. It is fun to read, and very insightful. I am now on to my second reading, just so I don't miss anything.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Have a New Husband by Friday: How to Change His Attitude, Behavior & Communication in 5 Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
abirgen
Location:Puyallup, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I saw how good of a deal this book was I thought I would give it a try. Kevin Leman makes it so easy to understand men & in doing so I have come to realize that my husband is really quite wonderful & we really do have a great marriage. Everything makes perfect sense in this book & is a great tool for any marriage. I just wish he would have a book for men on women but than of course most men wouldn't read it lol!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.