Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Revell The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4

FBI Special Agent Patrick Bowers's cutting-edge 21st-century geospatial investigative techniques and impeccable logic have helped him track some of the country's most grisly killers. But those skills are pushed to the limit in this new installment of the highly-acclaimed, award-winning The Bowers Files series.This time it's a congressman's daughter who is found dead even as her killers launch a spree of perfect murders in the Northeast. With nothing to link the crimes to each other, Agent Bowers faces his most difficult case yet--even as his personal life begins to crumble around him.
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Review 1 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great mystery

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Olson
Location:Riverton Wy
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been enjoying Stephen James books to the fullest.
The Bishop was very exciting and as his other books very hard to put down. It grabs you from the first page and holds your interest to the very last page. Patrick Bowers is an amazing FBI agent that leaves you on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next. He stays with the crime until he gets his man. Stephen James writes a great novel without using curse words or filthy language. I am now reading his last novel The Queen and will be waiting for his next novel to come out. I have read all five of his books and have enjoyed all immensely.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
omie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love reading Steven James' books. It is hard to put it down. The only thing is he has a lot of characters in his books. He does keep you on your toes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exciting!

Date:June 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
ilove2read2
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
If you like this kind of fast paced mystery thriller, but don't like the overly graphic violence and sex that usually go with it, this book provides all the page turning exciting plots and characters. But it's still not for the faint of heart!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly readable

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
glnnster
Location:New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book follows the Bowers series and matches suspense with the best of them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!!

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed every one of the Patrick Bowers Series and have waited anxiously for this one. The graphic detail hasn't bothered me in any of Steven James' books and I feel that it adds to the books. As I read this book I felt that James' writing style has changed somewhat and I was somewhat disappointed that I knew who one of the killers was right away. The other Bowers' books had me guessing until the end and that was one of the aspects that I liked about his books. That comment aside, I LOVED this book and am waiting impatiently for summer to come so I can read The Queen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this series!

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I was blown away last year when I read THE KNIGHT by Steven James and have been looking forward this book since then. Of course by the time I started reading it I had read over 200 other books so I was a little hazy on the details. Not to worry, Steven does a great job of bringing it all right back and more. I suddenly remembered why I loved the THE KNIGHT so much - Steven James is a brilliant writer! His characters explode off the page while his storylines are unbelievably believable and the suspense and tension in the books are amazingly gripping. I settled in for this really long book to take me all weekend - I finished it in a 24 hour time frame, I couldn't put it down. His books are not for the faint hearted, there is a distinct Ted Dekker feel to some of the more descriptive scenes, while his subject matter can be very intellectual, in this book there is a lot on primate research and stuff like that. I was thoroughly engrossed in this book from start to finish and was sorry to see it finish. The good news, there will be more Patrick Bowers. The bad news, not until 2011.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen S
Excellent series...my 14 year old son loves these books! Can't wait for the next one to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
The Bishop (The Patrick Bowers Files, Book 4) revolves around FBI Special Agent Patrick Bowers, his step daughter Tessa or 'Raven', and how their lives are impacted by the newest case he has been assigned ... as well as their own personal complex life situations. This suspense novel is the 4th in a series surrounding Agent Bowers, and is part of an 8 book series named after a chess theme (it was preceded by the publishing of The Pawn, The Rook, and The Knight.)During his launch party hosted earlier this week, author Steven James stated "When I approach a new book I always let a deep moral question drive the story forward. For example, in The Bishop, the question was 'What makes humans different from animals?' It led me to some surprising conclusions. I don't set out to teach a lesson but to bring up issues and questions about the human condition that matter. I do learn as I write and it give ms a good place to sort through what I believe."In The Bishop, this moral question is wrapped up in the chase of two very strong and complex villains who are 'scary good' at their own form of detached and evil game play. Additionally, the book covers the topics of teen angst, stepfather/stepdaughter relationships, job tensions, and multiple love interests.As I read the book I kept asking myself ... if you were surrounded by death and murder in your work life and your personal life were also filled with more than the average amount of complex situations, how would you cope with the stress? A great read, and very hard to put down! I have not yet read the first three books in this series and found that I was able to enjoy this book as a stand alone read. I also feel that the book would appeal to both male and female readers who love suspense.* This book was provided to me for review by Revell Publishing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Bishop by Steven James is the fourth book in the Patrick Bowers series. FBI agent and geospatial specialist Patrick Bowers returns with stepdaughter Tessa to track down a new killer who is framing innocent people for his crimes. Tessa's biological father makes a play for custody and Patrick finds that working with former girlfriend Lien-hua makes this case even more fraught with danger. James is an incredibly intelligent author who creates terrifyingly demented antagonists who Patrick has to stay one step ahead of in order to keep those he loves safe. Some old characters pop up, stretching Patrick to his limits. James also makes insightful commentary on contemporary issues through his characters. In another author's hands, these could weigh the book down or slow the action, but James keeps the action thrilling and the story moving. There's something for every fan of police procedurals: inter-agency conflict, terrifying villains, complex crimes, a romantic triangle, and family drama. I don't think 500 pages have ever flown by so quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Penny Wiggins
I enjoyed this book, however I found it to be a little to technical. This book was not quite as good to me as the other 3 in this series but I did enjoy it and would recommend it to others. I am looking forward to his next book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle C
I knew what I was getting into when I picked up this book. Last summer, a friend had the first book in the series with her on a camping trip. She shared a portion of the book with us, due to the graphic nature, we begged her to stop. While this book is very graphic, the suspenseful nature grabs you and holds your attention to the point where you dont want to put it down. It definitely is not a book for those with a weak stomach. It's strong characters lend to an entertaining and enticing read. I can't wait to hit the bookstore to check out the previous 3 books in the series, and I am anticipating the release of The Queen next summer.A definite recommended read if you like suspense, thriller type books.Thank you Revell for providing this book complimentary to me in return for my honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Moses
I have enjoyed all of the Patrick Bower novels, but this one has been great to read! you better be ready to read it all at once because you will so want to!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
I waited and waited and waited for the release of Stephen James' next novel and The Bishop did not disappoint. This is the perfect book for people who like a gritty, forensic serial killer type of book.The one caveat I have to put on it is that if you can't handle gruesome murder scenes, either skip those pages or the book.But Patrick Bowers and many characters are back from earlier books with all the many layers to the book that involves. Finding the killers is still the driving force of the book, but there is so much else going on the book has a richness I love. It also moves quickly through the 500+ pages -- I finished it in 24 hours. And even though I anticipated a couple of the twists, I thoroughly enjoyed the book. Steven James is a master of taking a basic plot and twisting it up with so many knots and layers that as a reader I am compelled to keep reading.I can't wait for the next book because I see a large confrontation looming. So if you like books like Lisa Gardner's FBI forensic series, you will thoroughly enjoy this book and series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
I have been anticipating this book since last summer and it did not disappoint. I had to force myself to read it slowly because I couldn't wait to finish it.I love how the story lines have interwined between the series and I'm constantly shocked at what happens next. I am bummed that I have to wait until next summer for the next book!Yes a bit gory in parts, but that's what you should expect from a thriller. It was challenging and a good read! I can't decide which one of the series is my favorite!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sheila Diamond
A page turner! I could not put it down. Steven James had enough twists and turns that I had to keep reading to find out how everything was resolved. I never suspected the final culprit. I like the way he draws the reader into the next book. It's awful that I have to wait another year to learn what happens next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Danielle Krause
All of Steven James's books in the series have been researched and written superbly! Beware, these books are hard to put down once you pick them up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michele
This book is too graphic and "gory" with twisted people in the plot.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rita Sloan
Steven James' "The Bishop" was every bit as riveting as the "The Pawn", "The Rook" and "The Knight." His ability to weave an intricate tale, develop complex characters, and maintain extreme tension over 400-500 pages while energizing the reader is all but miraculous. I don't even consider myself 'a reader' and yet I couldn't wait for this book to arrive. My only disappointment is that the next in the Bowers Series isn't due out until summer of 2011.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jacob
This was the best book in the series. The entire book kept you on the edge of your seat. If you are a fan of Ted Dekker, you will definitely enjoy this book. You can't put it down
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Bishop, Patrick Bowers Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipferling
Great read as always. Bower's story line continues with great characters and action. Can't wait for "The Queen" next summer. Wish he would write sooner!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>