Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)

Random House, Inc You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)

Help and hope is here for parents of strong-willed children. Writing from personal experience, Tobias provides specific strategies for motivating and disciplining your difficult child, help your child to succeed, and responding appropriately to you. You'll strengthen family relationships and gain insights about your child and yourself and experience greater peace within the whole family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
21 out of 2391%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Review 1 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Reference for Raising "Stubborn" Childre

Date:October 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
JGHmschl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No other books have helped me with my strong-willed child as well as this one has. Other books are so vague; I really needed "how to's", and this definitely has them. I now understand that my child isn't necessarily doing things just to "be disobedient", which was what we had originally thought. Our approach was ruining our relationship with our child. This book has saved our parenting skills and has helped provide our child with a more functional childhood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

thanks for the help!

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sydney
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book arrived on a day when my sister-in-law stopped in and told me of the difficulties her daughter was going through with their 3 year old. I told her that I hadn't read the book yet but had listened to some of Cynthia Tobias' audio talks and was intrigued by what she had to say, and sent the book home with her to give to her daughter. When I saw my niece a week later, she thanked me for the book and said that it was an answer to her prayers! When she got the book, she immediately started reading it and put some of the first ideas into motion and things were already improving with her child's behavior! She was excited to read the rest of the book. I have now also ordered her the other audio files of Cynthia Tobias and ordered another set for one of my other sisters!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ms Bel
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not quite finished ready yet but so far WONDERFUL~!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is really helpful

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Snoopy
Location:Peterborough, ON, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this book. It is most helpful to understanding and then being able to help the child that does need to be persuaded.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Deltona fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a parenting guide to handle the obstacles of having a strong willed child but I feel it helps you with adults also. It helped me tremendously. Would recommend highly and will buy as gifts for others!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What I needed

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marge Crocker Stewart
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is awesome. We are raising our 5-year-old SW granddaughter. Now if I can just remember to implement things as I am a SW adult!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ronnie
Location:Prescott Valley, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book & CD are filled with such great advice that can help any family deal with us strong willed personalities. Cynthia hits the nail on the head and could have used it for my children. One gets so busy, but we need to be still and listen more often. We have two ears but the mouth seems to win. The book will bless you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read For Christian Parents

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
tswinnett
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Parents often say they have a strong willed child. Some children are a little wiser, shall we say, about heeding correction than others. Strong willed children can cause early gray hairs in some parents and moments of counting the days until they leave home for others. Forget trying to dedicate him to God, you are trying to merely survive his childhood!
I believe every child has the potential to be self-willed at any given moment. Remarkably, the behaviors of the self-willed child resemble those of the strong willed child. As parents, we want the "magic" secret for handling those moments when our child has drawn a line in the sand and dares us to cross it. How do we teach them obedience and avoid World War III in the process?
Enter Cynthia Ulrich Tobias. I first because acquainted with her because of her wonderful book on learning styles. Recently, I was sent a copy of her latest book, You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded). If I were to ever write a parenting book, this would be it. Her advice is practical, concrete and easily arranged for quick referencing in a parenting crisis.
My main criticism is that I believe she undersells her book! I didn't see a strategy there that wouldn't work on almost any child. In fact, I would recommend this as an excellent general parenting book. She gives plenty of great advice on establishing healthy parent/child relationships and effective correction for a recalcitrant child (polite word for "try and make me"!). I would characterize her methods as loving, but firm. Children in her world don't get a free pass to misbehave, but are treated with respect and as if they may have something to offer.
Take my advice and skip the quiz in the first chapter. It is a little confusing and trust me, every child needs to be parented with her techniques. Some of her "tricks" just won't be needed as often with some children as with others. My only other suggestion (for her to change in her next edition) would be to encourage parents to use the word "please" instead of "okay" when asking a child to do something. I believe it conveys the same respect, with a little less wiggle room for the child. Of course, I think I passed her quiz in the first chapter, so maybe that's just my strong willed response to her coaching!
Take the quiz if you would like, but get the book and try her suggestions on your child. I believe you will find they work almost like "magic"! Remember God will be able to use a child who has been taught to be obedient more than He can use one who is constantly defiant.
(I received this book for free for this review. I am painfully honest though, and would tell you if I didn't like it. I am keeping it on my reference shelf of parenting books in my library!)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Strong Willed Children - HELP!

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am thankful to Blogging for Books for providing this book for me to review free of charge and this review is purely my own opinion. Always searching for helpful hints on how to lovingly encourage my red-headed four year old son to see the point of obeying, I chose this book . The subtitle is “Strategies for Bringing out the Best in Your Strong Willed Child”. In the first couple of chapters the author discusses exactly what a strong-willed personality is and that is is not necessarily a bad personality trait…as long as the individual learns to focus his will on positive results. Included is a short quiz to determine if you, your spouse, and your children are strong-willed. There are many different theories of how to raise a child with a strong will. You do not want to break the child’s will but you do want to enforce the rules. The author attempts to show how merely changing how you communicate your rules, your wishes, etc. can relieve a huge burden of parenting a SWC. The things I liked about this book were that points were made clearly and with examples. Already I have tried changing how I communicate and I have seen very positive results. I liked the Scripture verses provided with each chapter that strengthen the author’s concept that relationship will always be more important than rules. I liked, and disliked, the fact that certain points were repeated over and over again. I liked it personally because it helped me to retain those points after I finished the book. I disliked it as a reviewer because it was so repetitive. Yes, I have two separate opinions  Two of my favorite tips were : 1) Lighten up but don’t let up. This chapter went into the value that humor can have in your relationship. Using humor to defuse the potential battle that is to take place. 2) Ask more questions, issue fewer orders. This works with me too. Ask me to help you and I am more than willing. Order me around and I am resentful. It comes back to communication. This is also working with my child. Overall, I thought this was a sensitive addressing of the issue of strong-willed children and how to use love and humor to help nurture the child. It gave helpful examples and it was good to read of other parents dealing with the exact same situations that I have dealt with
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Does not line up with God's Word

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
momof4
Location:Fairfield, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Extremely disappointed. Author started out with helpful tips and insight into how strong willed people think however as she neared the end of the book she began contradicting herself. She says God expects obedience however she continually makes excuses and explains in numerous examples that strong willed people need to be given credit for their intelligence to evaluate a rule and determine who and what it was intended for and then determine if it really should apply to them and if they can just disregard it because they are intelligent enough to accomplish the task safely. She sees rules as merely suggestions to ponder. She also clearly has major issues with submitting to any authority as outlined in God's Word. I did finish the book but was very disturbed.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Skeletor
Location:Ks
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very accurate and helpful. I learned about myself as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Received good feedback

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jimbob
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this away as a gift and have received feedback that it is extremely helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is for older children/adults

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
giminy
Location:San Angelo, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I enjoyed this book, but was looking for advice on younger children. This did help w/understanding adults in my life and I passed copies onto 3 of our 4 children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I should have read this years ago!

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cynthia
Location:Puyallup, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No better person to teach about strong willed children than one who is so herself. Insights abound!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was very helpful

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ronnie22
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For anyone that has a strong willed child this book is definitely worth reading. I found a lot of comfort and explanation while reading this book. I heard Cynthia on the radio station and knew I had to read her book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product assist in guidance

Date:June 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beque
Location:Co
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thanks we need all the help we can get from a Christian perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is amazing!

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bren
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do not have children of my own yet, but I do work in a daycare! I thought this book would help me in the present time of my life and in the future!!! God is so good and amazing!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is great.

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
wilkie
Location:Demorest, Ga
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had time to read a lot of this book but what I have read is great. I wish I had this book when my children were home. This is about my granddaughter. I'm hoping the material will help us with her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

helpful book on parenting

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
mick g
Location:santa clara, calif
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
This is a very helpful book on the strong willed child
I have one and I was at wits end dealing with certain issues. I would recommend this book to all parents
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for You Can't Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Info

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has a lot of information. I am learning how to re-direct my son and change the way I ask him to do things. Highly recommended, great information for anyone with a child that has a Strong Will.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>