Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover

Revell GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover

One of the best ways to get to know God on a deeper level is to know the names and titles both he and his people give to him. Now the bestselling author of Praying the Names of God reveals the richness of God's character and love found in his names. The Names of God Bible restores more than 10,000 occurrences of specific names of God—like Yahweh, El Shadday, El Elyon, and Adonay—to help you:
  • Discover the Hebrew names of God within the biblical text
  • Understand the meaning and significance of each name
  • Encounter God in a new way through prayers, promises, and devotional readings
Perfect for personal study, prayer, and reflection, The Names of God Bible includes these special features:
  • More than 10,000 names and titles of God restored to their Hebrew equivalent and printed in brown ink to stand out within the biblical text
  • Names of God Reading Paths lead you to the next reference of the name so you can pray the names of God throughout Scripture
  • Name Pages feature
    • Background information associated with 68 names and titles of God
    • Key Scripture passages in which the meaning is revealed
    • Devotional readings on each of the featured names
    • Specific Bible promises connected to each of the featured names
    • Introductions to each book of the Bible highlight the main themes and list the names and titles that appear in that book
  • 300 callouts highlight key Scripture for memorization and reflection
  • Calling God by Name sidebars shed light on the relationship between biblical people and the specific names they called God
  • topical prayer guide, pronunciation guide, name index, and Bible reading plans to assist in study
Desiring a deeper understanding of God and new insights into the Bible, you'll cherish The Names of God Bible as it opens a door into the Hebrew roots of our faith and the Scriptures.
Average Customer Rating:
4.806 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 out of 3697%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Review 1 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Knowing names of God-valuable; Duravella is lovely

Date:July 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sue S.
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this edition of this Bible: Names of God Bible Duravella Cover (GW) Mahogany [dark brown], Hebrew Name Design 2011. ISBN-13: 978-0800720667 (Had to really look hard for the ISBN--not on the publication page, but stamped on the back.)
I am not going to comment on the translation or organizational features of this book because other reviews have gone into that.* (see below)
This is probably the most beautiful-looking Bible I own. It's just a pleasure to behold. (a newer edition is available in the fall of 2014). The Duravella is the most authentic-looking imitation leather there is. It is smooth to the touch like high quality leather shoes. Some of the flexi-soft, leather touch, etc. are very nice (I have Bibles with those covers) but often the thread does not match the cover, and most are not as smooth. The names of God in Hebrew on the cover are really nice. The pages are kind of off-white a bit and faintly browned on the edges as if it is an old manuscript. The Bible lays flat. The gold edges are nice and shiny. Because it is so lovely I am enticed to pick it up and read.
One good feature this Bible has (Most of the God's Word Bibles are like this) is that there is only one column, making it feel that you are just reading a regular book. (In fact, it was a God's Word (GW) translation that really introduced me to the Bible; I got hooked. I since have gotten many other translations, but the one-column layout is most comfortable, not intimidating. (I STRONGLY SUGGEST A GOD'S WORD SINGLE COLUMN BIBLE, OR PERHAPS CEB SINGLE COLUMN Bible for people just starting to read the Bible. If it's an ordinary paperback it's easy to read it anywhere--on the bus or train--because it's like an ordinary book.)
*I will say that NO translation of the Bible is perfect. Gordon Fee in the book co-authored with Eldon Epp, "Studies in the Theory and Method of New Testament Textual Criticism" states that if you are doing exegesis, and don't read the Greek texts, then you should compare seven different translations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For every serious bible student!

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
TrueBeliever
Location:Harrisburg, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love , love this bible! it exceeded my expectations.I love the pronounciation key in the Bible to help me pronounce the Hebrew Names correctly. I love the information that is provided in each chapter to help me better understand the various titles and customs during that period. I would highly recommend this Bible to anyone who is interested in developing a deeper knowledge of the Word of God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is an excellent translation.

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Alfonso
Location:Bronx, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible, it fulfills its purpose, to acquaint the reader with the Names of God in Hebrew. The only thing is that the fonts size is a bit small for me( I'm into my old age)and have a bit of difficulty checking the verses numbers, other than that its excellent!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sugarbear
Location:Chestertown, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the Different names for God based on Hebrew writings and the explanations for each name.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A full coverage of the names of God in one place

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancy E
Location:Chula Vista
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I started reading this bible, I didn't realize all the different names of God that there were. This book opened up a door for more understanding in more ways than one. Truly a book to have in your Christian library.-
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yahweh or no way!

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brian
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A quality Bible made out of quality material. Very impressed with the feel of the Bible, and I love the consistency of the use of the distinct names and titles of God. Christians need to remember that we do not serve a nameless God, his name is Yahweh!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book.

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sammie
Location:NM
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book and excellent comments on the names of God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Names of God in Hebrew on leather cover

Date:May 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doc Dawn
Location:Williamsport, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for a friend's birthday. She and I had read Ann Spanglers' book on the names of God so we knew her work was excellent. Her work on this Bible is no exception. When my friend's Bible arrived I had tears running down my face when I saw the beautiful cover with the names of God in Hebrew along the right side. This is not really evident in the picture and it was quite a bonus that I didn't expect. My friend has been using this Bible in a study we attend together and now when we need a Scripture read everyone wants this Bible read because we want to know the name that was used for God in that particular situation because it provides such richness of context. This Bible is a treasure!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this book

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Location:Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book fits in with my learning plan for Kingdom Building.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A True Blessing

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alan Smiddy
Location:Benton, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The God's Word Translation has been one of my favorite English translations since it first came out. This version with the names of God in Hebrew is a great way to learn about the names God has used and been known by, by actually reading them within the Scriptures themselves. There are also study helps throughout on each name. The only drawback is I wish this bible was also available in genuine leather binding...I LOVE the names of God stamped into the cover, so having a leather bound edition would make it something to treasure for generations.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beautiful
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Names of God is a excellent Bible for everyone to read and to help you understand who God is The Lord Most High, Jealous, Sovereign. Each people who read this Bible will have a more intimate relationship with the Father.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
M. Simmons
Location:Atlantic IA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Names of God Bible" includes a topical prayer guide for you to "pray" God's Name for the desired need in your life. Each Name of God is totally explained; every scripture reference for each Name is listed for quick research. Easy to understand pronuciation guide. Names are printed in the Hebrew Language or Greek for added knowledge. A Fascinating addition for your studies.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A kind of Bible about the Bible

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andrew
Location:Helsinki, Finland, Europe
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read quite a few books about The Book, but never really got my fingers on one like this, although I have eyed something about "The Names of God".
Analyzing it all will take some time, but trusting readers will use their God given brains in some possible cases of differences of understanding, I heartily recommend the book. Can see no harm in studying it! Quite the contrary, it will most likely deepen the concept of faith. Just remember, all but the Bible are words of men.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A neat bible!

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
dddmom3
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very sturdy bible that is great to have for small groups because it adds an interesting dimension when read aloud. I like how God's names are defined and explained...it gives me a deeper view of the God I love. The commentaries of different topics interspersed throughout this bible give added clarity and are very interesting to read.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent study aid

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
RosyJean
Location:Strasburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the format! Imagine the ease of reading a passage and inserted into the verse is the particular "face" (characteristic) of God, in Hebrew, which so very greatly enhances the understanding of the verse or verses. Whereas the Old Testament was thoroughly researched and translated, I was disappointed at the apparent lack thereof, in the New Testament. However, I would recommend this Bible, for the 'ease of reading' translation, and for its illustration of the characteristics of God, to anyone for personal Bible study.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

text size

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marchien Marshall
Location:MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. It has become my favorite one to read from. I like the introductions,devotionals and having an understanding of God's names.The only thing I would like to see changed is one with larger text.
I use a magnifier to read it. I am sure there are others out there who would like to buy it but the text is so small (8pt)
I knew that when I bought it but so like anything by Ann Spangler I bought it and would buy another one when or if they come out with larger text.
God Bless
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT BIBLE

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jonathan Lally
Location:Kodiak, AK
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After getting this Bible my son Enoch had a slight cold we thought. So my wife and I began praying the name of Yahweh Ropheka, the Lord who Heals.
I got this Bible because I knew I would get to experience a whole new level of who God is!! Having the names that Abraham, Hagar, David and others from the Bible called our Lord is awesome.
I've always been told...there's meaning in a name and it reveals the true nature of someone.
I highly recommend this Bible to anyone who wants to take their relationship with ABBA Father to a whole new level.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grandma
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The New Testament names for God and Jesus were not spelled out in Hebrew or Greek like I expected. The Old Testament was clearer on which name was used in the statement. I thought every mention of His name would be clearer throughout the entire Bible. In spite of this slight lack it is a good source. I really like the special pages detailing each name of God that is expressd in this Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Looks great - be careful about translation.

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mimi
Location:Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The appearance of this Bible is beautiful. The cover looks and feels like expensive leather and the Hebrew symbols are wonderful. I love the study of the Hebrew names of God. I had purchased this with reservations because I had no knowledge about the God's Word Translation. Being a fan of the NASB, I want to be able to trust the translation. However, in this area, I have been disappointed. Readability is good, trustworthy translation, not so much. This same Bible with an ESV translation would be so much better.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for GWT The Names of God Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the Different Names of God!

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
susanlkh
Location:Olathe, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful bible for reading the original Hebrew Names of God in place of the limited and sometimes over used names that we are accustomed to seeing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>