Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Unfinished Gift

Revell The Unfinished Gift

Can a gift from the past mend a broken heart? Ian Collins is an old man without his son. Patrick Collins is a young boy without his father. On his Christmas list are only three items. He wants the army to find his father. He wants to leave his grandfather's house. And he wants the dusty wooden soldier in Grandfather's attic - the one he is forbidden to touch. Set at Christmastime in 1943, The Unfinished Gift is the engaging story of a family in need of forgiveness. With simple grace, it reminds us of the small things that affect powerful change in our hearts - a young boy's prayers, a shoe box of love letters, and even a half-carved soldier, long forgotten. This nostalgic story of reconciliation will touch your heart.
Average Customer Rating:
4.702 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Unfinished Gift
Review 1 for The Unfinished Gift
This review is fromThe Unfinished Gift, eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
mommyz7
Location:yakima, wa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So.warm.and. Inspiring. In todays society there is sometimes not enough quality and inspiring literature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Unfinished Gift
This review is fromThe Unfinished Gift, eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christmas is for miracles

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
memakf
Location:Ephrata,PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful Christmas story! It pulls at your heartstrings immediately as you are introduced to the little boy who you want to just wrap your arms around and protect from the harsh realities of life in the 1940's. This is a broken family that has much to work through, but this little boy just knows how to bring everyone together. He has an old soul in such a young boy but the story keeps you reading and cheering for him to succeed. It definitely is worth reading every year at Christmas!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Unfinished Gift
This review is fromThe Unfinished Gift, eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
MrsRice
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. Deffinately a great read.awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Unfinished Gift
This review is fromThe Unfinished Gift, eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Christmas Story

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a heartwarming story for the Christmas season. I enjoyed it from beginning to end. God's amazing grace changes lives when we submit to him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Unfinished Gift
This review is fromThe Unfinished Gift, eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended to All

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blessed in Texas
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this book. I would give 10 stars if allowed! I enjoyed reading this book so much I purchased the rest of Dan Walsh's novels. The Unfinished Gift is an excellent Christian fiction book. A must for every Christian fiction reader. Don't miss this one!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Unfinished Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Winner from Dan Walsh!!

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
GBCPastorsWife
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!! This is my second Dan Walsh book, and he knocked it out of the park again!
I was almost afraid to read this book--afraid I'd be let down after the last book I read of Mr. Walsh's. I needn't have worried. Once again, a quiet story that wraps itself around your heart and won't let go. I read this book in one sitting because I just couldn't put it down! The characters are well rounded and feel real--like someone I could sit down and chat with awhile. There wasn't huge suspense, and I could guess sometimes what would happen next--or at least pretty close to it--but that didn't seem to matter. Dan Walsh is a master at his craft and I look forward to reading more of his books!! Five stars out of five!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Unfinished Gift
This review is fromThe Unfinished Gift, eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was captivating from page 1 to the end

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie B
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of the most captivating books I've read in a long time. The characters were believable and the author was able to entice me to empathize with them from the beginning to the end. This was the first book that I had read by this author, and since then, I've read all of the books written by Dan Walsh (6 so far). I'd say the best is yet to come, but I don't know how he could improve on perfection!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Unfinished Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ashley
Location:London, Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book taught me a lot between parent and sibling. It showed me how even though our family are to be strong and teach us certain things that they can be so hurt that they don't partake of the role they should be teaching us.
It is a wonderful read and I would recomment it to any one who enjoys reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Unfinished Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dana
Location:Spicer, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book & wouldn't be surprised if it were made into a Hallmark special.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Unfinished Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting read, wholesome intertainment

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
chattyone
Location:NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time reading this author's work and I was interested from cover to cover. I would love to read more of his work. This story shows that most of us has good in us but at times it just won't come out. Very rewarding!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Unfinished Gift
This review is fromThe Unfinished Gift.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A heartwarming story for Christmas

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Martha Rogers
Location:Houston TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book because I met Dan Walsh and decided I wanted to read this book. I started it after my family left on Thanksgiving and couldn't put it down until well after midnight when I finished it. A powerful story of how God takes the bad things that happen in life and changes lives for the better, The Unfinished Gift, draws the reader into the world of seven year old Patrick. A child whose mother died and his father in the war, an unhappy old granpa, a deligtful no-nonsense neighbor, and a compassionate social worker all come together to make a story that had me laughing and crying all the way through. One thing that made the story even more special to me is the fact that the story is set in 1943 during WWII, and I was seven years old in 1943 just like Patrick. It brought back a lot of memories for me. This is a book I'll go back to every year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Unfinished Gift
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Corine Sool
An excellent first novel for author Dan Walsh, I'm really looking forward to the sequel "The Homecoming" due for release June 2010.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Unfinished Gift
This review is fromThe Unfinished Gift.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Corine Sool
An excellent first novel for author Dan Walsh, I'm really looking forward to the sequel "The Homecoming" due for release June 2010.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Unfinished Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bernadine
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed The Unfinished Gift in Nov 2009, I gave it as Christmas gifts to two friends. One friend told me she couldn't put it down till she finished reading it, and she passed it on to her children and grandchildren to read. When the other friend unwrapped her present, she asked if I gave it to her because she needs to reconcile with a family member. She read her copy last week, thanked me for giving it to her and said she loved it. I'm ordering it again for 3 more friends who are now recooperating from surgery and need a good book to read. It's a good read anytime, not just Christmas.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Unfinished Gift
This review is fromThe Unfinished Gift.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bernadine
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed The Unfinished Gift in Nov 2009, I gave it as Christmas gifts to two friends. One friend told me she couldn't put it down till she finished reading it, and she passed it on to her children and grandchildren to read. When the other friend unwrapped her present, she asked if I gave it to her because she needs to reconcile with a family member. She read her copy last week, thanked me for giving it to her and said she loved it. I'm ordering it again for 3 more friends who are now recooperating from surgery and need a good book to read. It's a good read anytime, not just Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Unfinished Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kerry Santiago
I just finished this book and thoroughly enjoyed it! I loved the details of the states of life during the war and how trusting your faith could bring you through the darkest times. One of the reviews on the book said to have a tissue handy, and they weren't kidding. I look forward to more books written by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Unfinished Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann Harrell
a very heart warming story. a christmas story , but would be good to read anytime of the year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Unfinished Gift
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denise
Keep your tissues handy! This book is heart-warrming, moving, well-written. Just found out there WILL be a sequel. YAY!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Unfinished Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Unfinished Gift by Dan Walsh is an unexpected treasure. Patrick Collins is having a terrible Christmas. His mother killed in a car accident, his father fighting the Nazis overseas, he's sent off to wait for his father's return with a grandfather, Ian, he's never met. Ian is Scrooge personified: angry at the world, curmudgeonly, stingy, and holding on to a burning anger at Patrick's father that spills over into his relationship with the seven-year-old Patrick. Kathleen Townsend, Patrick's social worker, is doing everything she can to care for the sweet little boy, but when bad news comes, no one can protect him from the consequences. Walsh's rendering of Ian is that of a harsh almost brutal man, who turned his back on anyone who refused to do things his way. Patrick is a lovely, sweet boy who wants nothing more than to please the adults around him, but there's no pleasing Ian. Walsh reminds readers that Christmas is a time of second chances and to offer forgiveness. Keep tissues handy while reading this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Unfinished Gift
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mark
One of the best Christmas books I have ever read. Very moving, totally awesome story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.