Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell #1: The Jerk Magnet

Revell #1: The Jerk Magnet

When Chelsea Martin's new stepmother gives her a new makeover, she discovers that her appearance (and social standing) have changed completely! Having gone from geek to chic, she know finds herself getting attention from guys and now is sitting at the popular table. But she quickly finds out that 1. All of the guys that are attracted to her are jerks, and 2. Girls don't want to be friends with the girl that all the guys want. Will Chelsea learn that self-image isn't everything?
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #1: The Jerk Magnet
Review 1 for #1: The Jerk Magnet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very powerful read for teen girls! I really enjoyed this read, especially the ending with the social experiment and the results! I think girls really struggle with judging other girls by their external appearances! One thing I was bummed about considering this read was that Chelsea accepts Jesus into her heart, but you don't really hear her mention much about it again and how she is growing! I wish Carlson would have went a little further in her new walk of faith! Overall, great read!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #1: The Jerk Magnet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't have loved it more!

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dawn Turner
Location:Bisbee, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story captured my attention from page one. Not only does Melody do a fabulous job of nailing down the way a teenager thinks and reacts to their circumstances and peers, the "lesson" in this book is something that is, sadly, so overlooked today. A thoroughly enjoyable read. I look forward to passing it along to my teenage nieces for their enjoyment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #1: The Jerk Magnet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Girlz4ChristMagazine
Location:Nebraska
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chelsea Martin's life has been less than spectacular. She doesn't like the way she looks and doesn't have any friends. On top of that, her dad is marrying his girlfriend AND moving the family halfway across the country! When Chelsea's stepmom-to-be treats her to a makeover and new wardrobe, Chelsea thinks that starting a new school with a new look might be a great opportunity for her. For the first time in her life, she can attract boys and make lots of friends. Things start of great at her new house... she becomes friends with her neighbor, who takes her to a youth group where plenty of boys find an interest in Chelsea.
Although everything appears to be going great as the school year rolls into action, Chelsea can't help but notice that, although she's constantly surrounded by boys, the one boy she actually wants to meet seems to be going out of his way to avoid her. In fact, all the guys who do go after her are complete jerks! And she's not doing a very good job at making or keeping female friends, either. Did her makeover on the outside change who she became on the inside? Throughout this book, you'll discover with Chelsea what outward appearances really mean and who God has created us to be.
This is a great book for any girl- preteen, teen, Christian, or non-Christian. It's a fun read, understandable, and well-told. I'm excited to read the next books in the series!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #1: The Jerk Magnet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVED THIS BOOK!

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by Jill Williamson
Chelsea’s dad drops two bombs on the same night.
1. He has a new job and they’re moving! 2. He’s getting married!
Woah.
At first, Chelsea is overwhelmed in a negative way. Can’t say that I blame her! But her future stepmom starts to grow on her when she gives Chelsea a live-changing makeover. When Chelsea starts school, it’s like she’s a completely different person—at least that’s how people are treating her. She’s attracting all the wrong guys, and the one she really likes won’t even talk to her. What’s the deal?
I LOVED THIS BOOK! Seriously. At first I thought it was just your regular girl-gets-makeover-and-her-life-becomes-amazing book. I was thrilled to be so wrong! Melody Carlson wrote a great, thought-provoking story about the way we tend to stereotype people based on how they look. This is a wonderful story for all ages, but I highly recommend it for all teen girls. It will really make them think.
*I received this book free for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #1: The Jerk Magnet
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read for Teen Girls

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
When this book arrived at our house, my daughter scooped it up immediately. A day later she returned with it and plea for the next book. Melody Carlson is quickly becoming one of her favorite authors.
Here's more from my daughter:
What if beauty is more than just skin deep?
Chelsea Martin is a teenager who blends in and is tired of it. She wants to be noticed, but isn't sure how to make that happen. In steps her future stepmother with the expertise and her dad opens his wallet. The next thing she knows, she's going shopping, her old clothes are in the trash, and her eyebrows are waxed. She's gone from plain to jaw-dropping, a transformation that changes her life in more ways than she anticipated. The girls start ignoring her while the guys start gawking. She's not sure she likes the transformation.
After she's moved to California and made a friend, she and her friend hide their identity at youth camp. Chelsea transforms back into her original self with her wallflower ways. She learns that beauty is so much more than skin deep...it goes to who you are.
I enjoyed reading this book because it was filled with humor. At the same time Chelsea made lots of mistakes as she worked through her transformation. She learned to moderate her changes as she learned who she truly was. There are lots of lessons in that as we learn how to become who we really are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #1: The Jerk Magnet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All Chelsea really wanted to do was keep a low profile and get to the end of the sh=chool year. Now she has to adjust to the idea that she’ll soon have a stepmother.
That was definitely something she wasn’t happy about, but Kate, her father’s intended, decided to do a makeover on Chelsea. That is the thing that managed to win over Chelsea’s acceptance of her. After all, Chelsea was now a hot number.
She had guys swarming after her like bees to honey. Sounds good, but every one of them turned out to be jerks. The one who wasn’t a jerk wouldn’t even give her the time of day.
Chelsea did make a girl friend whom she helped with a makeover. But things weren’t all coming up roses. It took a surpries at a weekend camp to really turn things around.
Geek to hot stuff and back to geek. Chelsea just wants something in between.
Thank you, Melody Carlson. You always give us a good story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #1: The Jerk Magnet
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:January 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Jerk Magnet" is a young adult Christian general fiction novel. Chelsea was complex and Janelle was engaging, but we only got to know a few characters very well. To me, it seemed like the story moved too fast to really make the desired impact.
Perhaps because the story was so short, the focus was almost solely on how boys (and girls) were reacting to Chelsea's appearance. The story didn't really talk about the other struggles of going to a new school or deal with the changes that having a step-mother would bring. So instead of being a story where a girl going through a lot of changes happens to attract jerks and decides that the new way she dresses and acts has something to do with it, it seemed like a story designed to teach girls that dressing and acting in a certain way will attract the wrong sort of guys. The story was still fun, though, and I liked how Chelsea became comfortable with who she was by the end.
There wasn't much of a Christian element beyond the prerequisite "comes to Christ" scene (which we're told about more than are shown) and the lesson at camp that God cares more about the inside of a person than their appearances, so Christians should care more about that, too. There was no sex and no bad language. Overall, I'd recommend this book to Christian teens since it does explore (in a fun way) an issue they struggle with and it was an enjoyable story.
I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #1: The Jerk Magnet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great Teen novel by Melody Carlson!

Date:January 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know what it is about Melody Carlson's YA books published by Revell that I love so much, but it probably has to do with the relevant, timely subject matter and how well she puts everything together in a story that anyone can relate to. If the rest of the series is half as enjoyable as this book was, then I'm reading them all. In fact, I read this story through in one sitting. I didn't bet out of the chair until I'd turned the last page. Not even to take a break. That's a great book if I don't want to put it down for any reason.
I loved the theme in this book about how people treat each other based on outward appearances and that all people, good-looking and unattractive alike, have feelings that shouldn't be messed with based on preconceived notions people may have about them. I discovered when I was a teenager that acting like myself and having a brain didn't attract boys. But ramp up the appearance a bit and play the ditsy blonde, and I couldn't get them to leave me alone.
I've been at fault myself for judging people based on their outward appearance even as an adult. I assumed once back in the 1990s that our new pastor's young wife (who was my age) had plenty of friends because she was pretty and nice, only to find out everyone else thought she had plenty of friends, too, and for the same reason. Come to find out she had NO friends. Everyone assumed wrong. We ended up becoming friends and bonded over the movie "Sense and Sensibility" with some other ladies at church who had also judged incorrectly and we got to know each other. I'm glad we did.
What I enjoyed most about this book was how it showed that beautiful people have emotional insecurities too. While everyone says they want to be that way, the truth is if guys only wanted to date you because you were beautiful, and no one wanted to commit to you because they felt you were too pretty, you'd see it's a pretty lonely life. And no one likes to be surrounded by catty, competitive women, even as adults. So this book was a great reminder that even Christians fall into that trap, though I can honestly say that at my church I feel like we all blend very well and befriend each other with no biases, I'm sure that's not always the case.
Regardless, we need to get to know each other on the inside first, and let that be the measuring stick we use to determine whether or not we want to get to know someone better or not. The Jerk Magnet did a great job at presented all sides and reminding the reader not to be shallow and judgmental, but to love each other as Christ loved us. And most of all, to give each other a chance. We're all flawed, but we're all loved by the same God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.