Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell A Simple Christmas Wish

Revell A Simple Christmas Wish

Rachel Milligan is caring for her seven-year-old niece, Holly, at her home in Chicago when she receives devastating news: Holly's parents have been killed in a plane crash. Because Rachel is Holly's only known relative, she assumes that she will be her beloved niece's guardian. However, custody is awarded to Lydia, a distant aunt who happens to be Amish. Just a week before Christmas, Rachel takes Holly to the Amish community in the hopes of persuading Aunt Lydia to relinquish custody. Instead, Lydia sets out to teach Holly to live according to the Amish way. As family secrets emerge and old wounds are healed, Rachel realizes that she will do whatever it takes to ensure that Holly has the loving family she needs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Simple Christmas Wish
Review 1 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed the book. It had a great ending.

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Joyce
Location:Fresno, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Even though it was short, it had a lot of suspense in it, and I wanted it to turn out a certain way. It had a wonderful ending to it. I know the readers will enjoy reading it even when it is out of season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A perfect Christmas novella full of warmth & love!

Date:January 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
shhhhmommysreading
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melody Carlson’s Novella’s never disappoint! Give me a wonderful, warm Christmas story, and I’m a happy girl; also include an Amish aspect, a child, and a budding romance? You’ll probably be able to hear me sigh! This story will pull on your heartstrings, making you cry on one page and smile on the next.
I am always amazed when an author can convey such a depth of emotion in such a limited amount of pages, but my heart broke for Holly and for Rachel a couple of times over the course of this read. That being said, this story was written so beautifully that I couldn’t bear to put it down and leave these characters for a second, I had to know how it turned out.
It was very easy for me to identify with Rachel, and not see the situation from Lydia’s point of view, but Miss Carlson even remedied that with a conversation between Rachel and Lydia’s mother asking Rachel (and readers), to think about what is truly best for the child. The romance aspect of this book is incredibly subtle so as not to take away from the central storyline of the “fight” for Holly, but entirely refreshing, sweet and sincere.
Please pick up a copy of this book, it will make you feel real emotions for characters that you will quickly love, and leave you feeling satisfied and happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Christmas Read!

Date:December 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a pleasant Christmas read even if I had to grab a few tissues!
From the very beginning I really liked Holly! A sweet little girl with such a big heart that shines through in her love for Rachael and others! It absolutely crushed my heart to see her go through the pain that she endured! However it paved the way for her to meet other family members that she probably never even dreamed of such as Benjamin who was another favorite character for me! He was such an interesting Amish character that brought a uniqueness to this story! I also liked Rachael as well and could easily relate to her!
I really appreciated that Melody explained some of the beliefs of the Amish in a nutshell! It was extremely interesting to hear Benjamen's story! I could tell their was a good amount of research put into this novel with a focus on family. However not just at Christmas time, but year round!
Overall, I liked this novel! A good short Christmas read to remind the importance of family, but I wish Melody would have included more of a Biblical message!
I give "A Simple Christmas Wish" a 3.5 out of 5 stars!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2013
Each year I look forward to reading Melody Carlson's Christmas novella. This year's offering is A Simple Christmas Wish. It is a beautifully moving love story. It is about the love of an aunt for her niece, the love of a man for a woman and most importantly the love of a Father for His children.
As I said before it is a novella so it is easily finished in an afternoon. Just grab your favorite warm beverage and curl up for a delightful couple of hours. The nice thing about this story is that it felt complete. I want to know what happened next, as in I'd love to see a sequel, but all the particular threads of this tale were neatly tied up. The story didn't feel rushed especially at the end but flowed to a natural conclusion.
I found that Melody's introduction to the Amish lifestyle was honest in its portrayal of the strictness but not derogatory. While the story-line does deal with death it also celebrates life. I liked the characters and felt that they came across as genuine.
I highly recommend this book as a great getaway in the midst of all the holiday craziness!
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Such a sweet story...

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Due to an unforeseen event, Aunt Rachel Milligan and her niece, Holly, are about to spend their birthdays and Christmas in a very unexpected manner. Finding themselves in an Amish Ohio homestead, Rachel must deal with her own selfishness as well as the stirrings of her own heart. Through family secrets, regret, heart-break and jealousy, Rachel and Holly learn the true meaning of Christmas.
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
Another short Christmas story from Melody Carlson…true to the style and deeper meanings I have come to anticipate at Christmas time from her. Short and sweet yet moving at the same time, it has become almost a tradition for me to read a Christmas story from this author. I enjoyed the Amish customs, a family’s forgiveness and even a brief romance all in one read. I am already looking forward to next year’s new Christmas novel.
RATING:
4 (out of 5) pennies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It might be a simple wish, but the rest of the mess is definitely complicated.
Rachel was babysitting her niece while Holly’s parents were on a cruise. In the middle of the Christmas holiday season, their world begins to crumble.
In the middle of grief and despair, they ended up on an Amish farm. But Rachel isn’t finding peace and comfort. Her sister-in-law’s family makes her feel very unwelcome. But one of Miri’s brothers is friendly and tries to help her figure out what is going on and how to handle the inevitable separation from her niece.
Will she be able to find God’s peace in the midst of all the turmoil in her heart?
Once again Melody Carlson brings us a Christmas story to touch our hearts. I’m really hoping she plans a sequel to this book. My heart is just calling out for a continuation of this story line.
***A special thank you to Lanette Haskins for providing a review copy.***
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Quick Amish Christmas Story

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Melody Carlson's A Simple Christmas Wish is a quick Amish Christmas read with a twist. The story begins in a very modern English setting with characters who have no clue of any connection with the Amish world. Unexpected circumstances beyond their control send Rachel Milligan and her young niece to Holmes County, Ohio, and falling head-long into a world totally foreign to the life they knew in Chicago. Rachel struggles to accept the fact that she may lose the only family she has left -- and then some hidden truth comes out and love begins a process of healing in several hearts.
This story contains elements that appear a little unlikely and some that have unrealistically quick resolutions. But that is to be expected in a short Christmas story. All in all, this is a very enjoyable read. Anyone who enjoys good Amish fiction or a heartwarming Christmas story should enjoy A Simple Christmas Wish.
Thanks to Revell Publishing for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel has agreed to look after her 6-year-old niece for her brother and his wife while they take a trip to the Caribbean to celebrate their 10-year wedding anniversary. Shortly thereafter, Rachel receives a phone call that will change their lives.
Unbeknownst to Rachel, Holly’s mom was raised Amish. Reluctantly, Rachel takes Holly to meet the Amish side of her family who live in Ohio. Holly is very excited to learn she has cousins and that they live on a farm with animals and ride around in a horse and buggy. Rachel stays longer than she intends due to bad weather and the holidays. Lydia, Holly’s aunt, is not happy with Rachel having such a close relationship with Holly and urges her to leave. Holly thinks living like the Amish is fun at first, but when Rachel tells Holly that she will be leaving soon and not taking Holly with her, she doesn’t really understand.
Rachel is torn apart, having to leave Holly with her Amish relatives, but she has no choice. Benjamin Schrock, Holly’s uncle, is a tremendous help to Rachel and a good listener. He grew up Amish, but left the community for several years. He has returned only to help his widowed mother out and will soon be returning to the outside world. Benjamin seems to understand the difficulties Holly will have adapting to the Amish way of life. He also wants to begin a relationship with Rachel, but can she feel for him true feelings or is she just feeling close to him because he is close to Holly?
One of the things that I wish was different about this story is the length. It would be nice if the story were a little longer to give Rachel and Benjamin’s story more of a chance to develop and deepen. Their relationship just seemed too rushed. Otherwise, I thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful look at Christmas from a different viewpoint. There were some scenes that will tug at your heart pretty hard and Holly is just a treasure of a little girl. Readers won’t soon forget this author’s take on what one of the important aspects of being obedient to God’s command to love one another, putting what is best for another before what we want. I’m already looking forward to next year’s holiday season to see what charming book Melody will write.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A GREAT CHRISTMAS READ!!

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A SIMPLE CHRISTMAS WISH by Melody Carlson is an interesting inspirational Christmas Fiction. I simple love this author's works and this was no different. With her usual finesse for life, love, Amish culture and holiday spirit, you can not go wrong with "A Simple Christmas Wish". An emotional tale of tragedy,Christmas spirit, faith,family secrets and the Amish community. When tragedy brings Rachel and Miri together only a Christmas miracle can make it all seem quite possible,life,forgiveness and love. A must read Christmas novella. A quick, but fulfilling story! Received for an honest review from the publisher.
“Available November 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tragedy, Family At Christmas and Romance

Date:November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melody Carlson in her new book, “A Simple Christmas Wish” published by Revell lets us experience Christmas with Rachel Milligan and Holly.
From the back cover: One girl in need of a home. One woman in search of a home for her heart. One Christmas where it all seems possible.
Rachel Milligan never imagined that she and her seven-year-old niece would spend the week before Christmas on a quaint Amish farm in Ohio. But with so many unexpected occurrences of late, perhaps she shouldn’t have been surprised.
With her young niece Holly in tow, Rachel anxiously makes her way from Chicago to Ohio’s Amish country. As love begins to blossom, family secrets emerge, and old wounds are healed, Rachel realizes that she will do whatever it takes to ensure that Holly has the loving family she needs.
Join bestselling author Melody Carlson on an emotional journey into the heart of what family truly means at Christmastime.
There is a reason why there are so many stories about Christmas on the television about this time and that reason is everyone loves a good story where the spirit of Christmas changes a person by healing them of old hurts to free them to be themselves. That’s why everyone wishes Christmas could last all year round. Melody Carlson knows how to write and she has delivered one of the finest Christmas stories yet. What makes a family? Obviously a mother and father. But what happens when they die and you are seven years old? What do you do for a family? Rachel, Holly’s Aunt, has to answer these questions and more as she is forced to travel from Chicago to Ohio’s Amish Country. ”A Simple Christmas Wish” is all about Rachel and Holly coming to grips with the knowledge that there is another part of the family that is Amish and has custody of Holly. This is a wonderful story that begins with a tragedy, exposes old wounds and brings about healing in a family and on top of everything there is a romance. ”A Simple Christmas Wish” is one sweet read that you might want to read twice and then keep it handy to read again next year.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
“Available November 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not The Usual Amish Story

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very quick Christmas read. Only 168 pages, and easy read for an evening. This is both an English and Amish story. We find fate bringing Rachael Milligan, a world traveling flight attendant, wearing Amish attire. Huh? There is a lot that leads up to her spending time living with the Amish. The main reason is her seven year old niece Holly. We find Holly quite infatuated with all the newness of Amish life, like most children, their love the animals. Dogs, cats, horses, cows....a dream place. Can you imagine being a child and ending up at an Amish 3 hour service in German? She had to be one sweet girl to endure what was so unfamiliar to her. She has all this family she has never known.
This is not your typical Amish story, and the reality of everything that has happened to both Rachael and Holly. Will Rachael be able to return to her previous life after being with the Amish? Or will God have some other plans for her. How about Holly can she stay with this new family, Grandmother, Aunts and Uncles, and Cousins she has never know?
Melody Carlson has woven a really refreshing Amish story, and you won't be disappointed.
I received this book through Baker Publishing Group Publishing Blogger Program, and was not required to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Simple Christmas Wish

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
lauren
A Simple Christmas Wish by Melody Carlson is a cute but sad story about family during the Christmas season. Rachel Milligan is taking care of her young niece Holly while her parents are celebrating their anniversary overseas. She was not expecting the call that would change all of their lives forever: Holly’s parents died in a plane crash. Rachel begins to make plans for taking care of Holly when her brother’s will is discovered she finds out a distant Amish aunt is Holly’s new guardian. Rachel and Holly soon find themselves in an Amish community. As Holly struggles to adapt to her new life, Rachel must also come to terms with not having Holly in her life every day. Along the way, they meet new people in the Amish community as they both find their lives changing.
This book was a very easy read, and the main characters were likeable and relatable. This would be a great Christmas gift for any friend who likes to read!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book from Revell as part of a blog tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

3.5 stars

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I want to start out by saying, I love Melody's Christmas books, I eagerly await them each year. But this year's book, just wasn't up the level of her other books. I have thought and thought about why, and I think for me it lays in the fact, I felt rushed reading it. Not because there was a deadline to finish it, but because the story was rushed. The characters and the story line was more suited for a full length novel, than a novella. That being said, I loved little Holly and Aunt Rachel. Benjamin was a favorite also. He provided a friendly listening ear for Rachel as she dealt with the sudden changes in her's and Holly's lives. Over all I give this book 3.5 stars. It has the makings of a great story, just needs further exploration and deepened.
This book was provided by Revell for review purposes only. No payment was received for this review.
Available November 2013 from your favorite seller of Revell Books, a division of Baker Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Heartwarming Christmas Tale

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melody Carlson writes the BEST of the BEST Christmas fiction!!! I haven't read one yet that disappointed me and this one, in particular, was a true winner!!! Her previous novels, "The Christmas Dog", "The Christmas Bus" and "The Christmas Pony", were all wonderful, heartwarming tales, but this one just outdid them all, in my opinion. First of all, I love Amish fiction and this book did have an Amish trend to it, secondly, I am always attracted to the subject of adoption, and this tale just happened to deal with both!!
Rachel Milligan was an independent woman, single with a good job. Never, in her greatest imagination, would she ever have dreamt that she and her seven year old niece would spend the week before Christmas on an Amish farm in Ohio, celebrating in a way very different from her usual style. Perhaps, she shouldn't have been so surprised, the way there have been so many unexpected occurences of late, but this indeed was a shocker!!
With her beloved, young niece in tow, Rachel, anxiously made her way from the busy city life in Chicago to Ohio's Amish Country- a whole different world! Family secrets begin to come to the surface , as love begins to blossom, old wounds are surprisingly healed. Rachel has to come to terms with the fact that she may no longer have her niece with her. Although this is a struggle, she comes to terms with the fact that she is willing to do whatever possible to ensure that Holly has a loving family to care for her.
Melody describes her characters realistically and in depth. You easily identify with the struggles and heartache that Rachel feels! Her fears become the reader's, in such a way, that you become part of story with her.
The plot is well developed . The quick pace of intertwining secondary plots keep you on the edge of your seat. There is not a dull moment in this story. It is full of action, producing all kinds of emotions in your innermost being.
This book is truly an emotional book of love, showing a family's journey into what a family's heart means at Christmastime. It truly makes you feel the importance and reason for the season, as the characters are willing to give up what they love dearly for the good of others.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Christmas Read!

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do we believe in life changing situations that are out of our control? In this story that is just what happened. Life was going pretty good for Rachel Milligan when a terrible tragedy struck. Heart broken and left with a niece to care for Rachel set to work trying to create a good life for her young niece. Just when she thought everything was under control another life altering situation blind sighted her. How did she not know of this secret life of her sister-in-law? Why was she not told?
I read this book in one day because I had to find out what happened. I found myself getting a little antsy because things just didn’t seem to be going the way I would hope this book would go.
This is a book you don’t want to miss for this Christmas season. I found it to be frustrating on one hand and heart warming on another. One thing we do learn is God is in Control and it is all in His time, not ours.
I would love to see author Melody Carlson write a follow up book on the characters. Perhaps a Christmas sequel is in order for 2014? I do hope so!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming Christmas Story

Date:November 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Getting a new Melody Carlson Christmas book is becoming a tradition for me. I love the way she delivers holiday magic that never fails to touch my heart. A Simple Christmas Wish is just such a story. And it has all the earmarks of a another classic seasonal tale that you won't mind reading year after year. Of course I'm thrilled that we head into Amish country for this one.
Rachel and Holly make an endearing duo with a dilemma that left this gentle reader indignant and defensive. Emotions definitely engaged, I devoured the story in an afternoon because I just couldn't bear to stop without my happily ever after. It even brought me to tears. Sniffle. There is something to be said for a good sad/happy Christmas cry to start off the season.
An engaging tale that will lift your spirits (after you've been put through the wringer first.)
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Simple Christmas Wish
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christmas read

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Scrapestas
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ms Carlson captures the essence of an orphan and family dilemma. This wasn't so simple but God does answer our prayers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.