Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for Revell The Deepest Waters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Revell The Deepest Waters

What began as a fairytale honeymoon in 1857 for John and Laura Foster aboard the steamship SS Vandervere becomes a nightmare when a hurricane causes their ship to sink into the murky depths of the Atlantic. Laura finds herself with the other women and children aboard a sailing ship while John and a hundred other men drift on the open sea on anything they could grab as the Vandervere went down. Suspecting her John is gone but still daring to hope for a miracle, Laura must face the possibility of life alone--and meeting her new in-laws without their son if she ever reaches New York.
Average Customer Rating:
4.885 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 26100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Deepest Waters
Review 1 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent historical novel

Date:November 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joan K. Landis
Location:Perkiomenville, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great love story as well as family healing. Plenty of excitement and drama to keep the reader involved through the book. Well written, great description of location and characters which enables the reader to feel as though they were part of the the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Betty
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When you finish, read the afterward -- amazing true stories on which some of the story was based.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surviving is never easy!

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the characters in this book: The principled, newly-wed husband, the tender bride, the Christian captain, the scarred old slave who was a hero just by living his faith, even the dubious other family members of the groom!
This exciting story of adventure is inspired by a true story of the mid-1800's of a steamship that did go down off the eastern coast of the U.S., loaded with tons of gold from the California gold strike and a newly married couple on their honeymoon among the passengers. The men on that ship did put the women in the lifeboats and were left to sink with the ship.
This is a story of courage and love for fellowman that will inspire your heart to be brave and true in the face of horrific adversity and to yearn to ever lean, yourself, into the all-knowing, all-loving heart of the Savior. Enjoy the ride!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's on sale! Grab it!

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leona Koziarski
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great story! I just started to read the book today, I'm not far into it, but am loving what I have read so far. Take a chance and buy 'The Deepest Waters!'
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jannie
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This is such a good book. It was full of suspense and romance. It was difficult to put the book down when I needed to do other things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
love to read
Location:Helotes, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy Dan Walsh's books, but so far I believe this was my favorite. An interesting story,especially when you find out that a lot of it was based on actual events.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Engstrom
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant, outstanding writing of a touching and sensitive story.
When I first opened the book I had reservations. I wondered if reading a saga about a shipwreck written by a man would really appeal to me. I couldn’t imagine this “man’s book” would draw me in. However, it captivated me. Not only is it so well crafted I became part of the story. I felt as if I were one of the women on the rescue ship.
Walsh is a gifted storyteller creating multiple layers that connect characters and circumstances. His characters are life-like and believable, real people with whom the reader connects. Laura Foster is a brave woman who endures almost unbelievable circumstances, yet reaches out to other women despite believing her own husband has been lost at sea. Still, she endures. She is the ultimate heroine ~ a strong woman to admire and emulate, regardless of the readers’ faith.
This is a perfect book to include in your library, yours or your community one. Although set in the 1800s, its message is relevant for all time. Snuggle down and enjoy a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

spellbinding read

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story got my attention right from the start, although I was reading another one at the same time. I couldn't get into the other one until I finished this one, however! The story moved along at a good pace, never getting bogged down. The characters were endearing and good Christian principles were put into actions. Dan Walsh is a new author for me, and I just ordered another of his titles and will be buying his new Christmas story soon. He is a very gifted writer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story of hope.

Date:August 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patricia A Perry
Location:Northern Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lovely novel is inspired by a true event, the sinking of the SS Central America off the North Carolina coast in 1857. The historical facts are heartbreaking, and author Dan Walsh doesn’t shy away from the sadness, hardship, and loss of life. But he also writes about the hope and miraculous rescues involved in such a way that the reader is captivated and emotionally invested in the story’s outcome. We experience the parallel journeys of John and Laura Foster, the newlyweds who are separated when the women and children are the only ones rescued before the ship sinks. We watch the best and worst in people emerge when valor is tested. And we experience what can only be the loving hand of God in bringing about circumstances that are all the more fascinating for having actually happened in real life. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Epic Story of Love and Survival

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Location:Atlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was thankful to receive a review copy of such a heart-wrenching story of faith, hope and unconditional love. Set in 1845 when men were gentlemen and women were ladies. It was a time when ocean liners were fun and luxurious to ride on. Newlyweds John and Laura Foster were embarking on their new life together aboard the SS Vandervere for the most romantic honeymoon voyage ever. All was wedded bliss until tragedy strikes the ocean liner! The SS Vandervere is damaged beyond repair! With only hours before the ship is swallowed up by the sea decisions have to be made.
Visions of the movie Titanic rushed through my mind as I read of this horrific scene. Unlike the Titanic the SS Vandervere had life boats, unfortunately not enough to save everyone on board. Quickly women and children are loaded onto the life boats and separated from the men they love.
My heart hurt for John, Laura and the other families separated from their loved ones. I was inspired by these characters faith, honesty and love for one another. This was a captivating epic love story! It’s an honest story that touches your heart and soul!
I enjoyed how Dan Walsh gave the reader the inside scoop of life on the SS Vandervere and how life was lived in 1857. I appreciate the picture of the ship in the forward to the book that named all the parts of the SS Vandervere. It was really helpful especially for someone like me who doesn't know anything about boats. It helped me imagine what was happening on the boat and where exactly on the ship events took place. This was a moving larger-than-life story. I was inspired as I read about these characters holding out for God’s best for them, whatever that may be. This novel would make a great movie. I enjoyed Dan Walsh’s other books the Unfinished Gift and the Homecoming, and The Deepest Waters was no exception. . I look forward to reading Dan’s next book which is a Christmas story.
Nora St.Laurent
The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
Finding hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All three books will be keepers on my bookshelf!

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:SC
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The historical event was not familiar to me. The book brought it to life. I can't imagine the living conditions below decks etc.
The food situation - yes.
The lady's conversation with the Captain ref. Micah left me hanging, sort of, and the solution to his situation was somewhat predictable.
Having said all that, I thoroughly enjoyed a book without cursing or euphemistic cussing. I like the thief's name! I also liked that I could not guess about the men surviving or not. Neat touch about the dog.
Since this is published 2011, the promise of 'the next novel' is good but when??? Are we waiting a whole year till 2012? I hope not. But if the longer wait makes for another well-written book, I'll be content.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

an excellent book

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
June Beeler
Location:Sutter, Il.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was wonderful and kept my interest to the end. I could hardly put it down once I started reading. It was also so much better because it was based on actual events. I highly recemmend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book.

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elaine Gittus
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book written by this author that I have read, and they both have been excellent. It is one of those "page-turner" stories that makes it almost impossible to put the book down. Our "luxury" lives today contrasts greatly with the lives lived at this period of our history. I'd recommend this book without any reservation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely amazing!

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Historical fiction inspired by a true story, Dan Walsh knew a good story when he heard about this particular bit of history and he was right. But for him to take that and turn it into an absolutely amazing tale that kept me glued to the book - fantastic! I totally loved this book. Probably my favorite of the year as of right now. Fans of Nicholas Sparks and Karen Kingsbury will love this book - Dan builds rich characters and strong plot lines as he takes us on a ill fated voyage with John and Laura on their honeymoon. I can't even attempt to go into details because I don't want to give anything away. All I know is that I actually recommended this book to my sister-in-law for her book club, it would be perfect. And definitely a must read of 2011 for any reader!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gripping story of love and faith in the storm

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Deepest Waters by Dan Walsh is a surprising story of love that cannot be destroyed by distance or death. John and Laura Foster embarked on their honeymoon on the SS Vandervere with all the hopes and dreams any newly married couple shares, but their trip became a nightmare when the ship was caught in a storm and began to sink. The women aboard were ferried to another ship, but the men were left behind to go down with the ship and pray for a miracle. The story follows Laura as she travels to meet her in-laws, who are unaware of her existence, believing that the love of her life is dead, and John in his fight to stay alive and return to his soulmate. Aboard the rescue ship, Laura meets the slave Micah and they quickly bond over their shared faith. Walsh truly brings to life the terrors of surviving day after day adrift at sea as well as the devastating grief of a love lost before it had a chance to grow. The story is compelling and readers who qualm at the coincidences therein should know that much of it is based on a true story. Walsh excels at telling stories about people of faith and how it affects the world around them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story for all: men, women, homeschoolers

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
dliesner
Location:Racine, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best kind of story to me is a true story or a story that answers the “what might I have done in that situation” questions that arise with elemental historical fact.
This is one of those best kinds of stories. Yes there is a bit of romance, not overdone or unrealistic – even the romance in the story is more about real love than emotional romantic feelings. It’s more about real life.
So often slaves are projected as less than human or people consumed with vengeance. This story also opened the doors of realism and understanding of a portion of what some people of color endured through no fault of their own.
I would find it hard to believe that anyone reading this story would not emerge with inspiration to be a better person in some way. The characters were real, humanly flawed, and except for the villain, moral.
A wonderful resource for homeschoolers to stir imagination of other historical events and get them thinking what if that were you – what might you have done – do you think you would have been that brave, that faithful, that connected to God to follow such unusual leading…
The review copy was sent from the publisher. I’m pleased to have the opportunity to add my honest remarks about a fine writer who brought this historical event to life (and kept me awake most of the night to finish a well-written story.)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A GREAT STORY OF LOVE AND SURVIVAL AT SEA!!

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE DEEPEST WATERS by Dan Walsh is an exciting historical romance set in 1857 aboard the steamship SS Vandervere off the coast of the Atlantic. It has in intriguing plot: survival at sea,a sea rescue.lost loves,faith,love.and coming to terms with the possibility you may have lost your one true love.This story is told from both the hero and the heroine.As they both try to survive not only the harsh sea,both the loneliness,while separated by the rescue of the women and children of the SS Vandervere another ship.The are men left behind,hoping to be rescued by another ship or make it to shore.This is an intense story at moments.The characters will capture your heart.The hero,John,is determined to survive,faces the unknown with an open heart,faith in his God and has saved several of the men from drowning.He is a very unselfish person.The heroine,Laura,facing the unknown possible alone,carries on,helps the other women on board the new ship,befriends a slave and his dog.It is about miracles not only on sea but also on land. It is a spiritual and inspirational message that show that God is still in charge of our lives.This story is based on some actual facts such as the sinking of a paddle-wheel steamship off the coast of North Carolina,the rescue of the women and children by an old sailing ship,the rescue ship running out of food,the captain of a second giving the rescue enough food for them to get to New York, and last but not least the most amazing of all was a bird flying out of know where,hitting the head of the captain causing him to change course,finding and rescuing fifty-three men adrift at sea for days.This is a must read not only for any and all Christians but for any and all historical romance readers.It is fast paced and a page turner.I actually read it in a few hours. I have read all his books and each and everyone are great from the first page to the last page.This book was received for review from the publisher and details can be found at Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction and More.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jump in The Deepest Waters!

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
kherbrand
Location:Midwest
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like a good love story, then you must read this book. I can't tell you how many times I cried throughout this story. It progresses as it rotates between Laura, John, and John's family in New York. But it isn't just a love story.
Through Micah and his dog Crabby we learn to have joy in the present and not worry about things that haven't happened yet. Through Laura we learn about faith and strength to face the unknown. Through John we learn about hope and the strength of love and through his family we learn about forgiveness and acceptance. There is a strong thread running throughout the book about God and things happening according to His time and His plan.
This is my first book by Dan Walsh. He also wrote The Unfinished Gift and The Homecoming. He is definitely going on my list of authors to watch for!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW!!!!

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I devoured this one! Started in the evening and woke up thinking about the story at midnight so I read for an hour. Woke up again at four and kept on reading.
Walsh is a powerful storyteller. He grabs his readers with the first sentence and doesn’t let them go until the last one.
I love the flow of words – The Deepest Waters would make a fantastic read aloud. It’s rich timing and cadence begs to be shared.
The fact that the story is loosely based on a true one makes it all the more poignant. But Walsh’s characters really captured my heart, right down to the dog! I, in fact, developed a bond with Micah (a secondary character) who, in a way, became the book’s central force – propelling circumstances and action in a surprising way. Brilliantly crafted by Walsh.
I will remember Micah’s devotion to God and his willingness to rejoice in the moment while not belaboring the past or an uncertain future. Walsh brings comfort, understanding and hope through Micah. This book is a gift to be savored again and again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Deepest Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Beautiful Story of Love and the Grace of God

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Seize the Book Blog
Location:East Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was glad to get a copy of this book because I knew it would probably be good. I had read Walsh's previous book and reviewed it on this blog last year. I enjoyed The Homecoming, so when I heard about The Deepest Waters, I decided to read and review it.
The Deepest Waters is the story of John and Laura Foster, who become victims of a hurricane when the steamship they are traveling on sinks in the Atlantic. The year is 1857, and the couple is on their honeymoon when the storm strikes.
Laura is rescued along with the other women and children. She mourns the loss of her new husband and wonders how she can go on without him. But with the help of a gentle-hearted slave named Micah and his dog, Crabby, Laura learns of the love of her Heavenly Father and how He will never leave her, even in the midst of life's greatest tragedies.
This author reminds me of writers such as Richard Paul Evans and Nicholas Sparks. It is the kind of prose that leaves the reader with a sense of the "rightness" (is that a word?) of all that is good in the world. I think we all need books like this at some time or another, especially when our lives seem so out of control.
I like how Mr. Walsh incorporates the gospel in his stories without being "preachy". Here is one especially good portion from The Deepest Waters:
(Micah said) "Jesus say, 'Whoever committeth sin is a slave of sin, and a slave does not abideth in the house forever, but a son do. They'fore, if the Son maketh you free, you be free indeed.' All at once it come to me...no man is free when his heart ain't free. All them massahs I have, and all the bad things they done to me...they may be free the way man see it, but not the way Jesus see it. 'Cause they ain't free in here." He pointed to his heart. "But if Jesus can make my heart free, can't no man make a slave of me. Maybe they can on this earth, the way man judge a thing. But one day, God will set everythin' right. 'Tween then and now, Jesus set my heart free from all the hate and fear and sadness inside. And...if the Son maketh you free, you be free indeed."
I can think of no better way of expressing the way of salvation.
There's lots of adventure as well as romance in this book. I recommend it to all who love a good, heartfelt story.
I give The Deepest Waters 4 1/2 out of 5 stars.
(I received this book from Revell for review purposes. I received no monetary compensation for this review. All opinions expressed are completely my own.)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>