Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1

Revell The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1

Julia Lapp has planned on marrying Paul Fisher since she was a girl. Now twenty-one, she looks forward to their wedding with giddy anticipation. When Paul tells her he wants to postpone the wedding--again--she knows who is to blame. Perpetual bachelor and spreader of cold feet, Roman Troyer, the Bee Man.

Roamin' Roman travels through the Amish communities of Ohio and Pennsylvania with his hives full of bees, renting them out to farmers in need of pollinators. He relishes his nomadic life, which keeps him from thinking about all he has lost. He especially enjoys bringing his bees to Stoney Ridge each year. But with Julia on a mission to punish him for inspiring Paul's cold feet, the Lapp farm is looking decidedly less pleasant. Can Julia secure the future she's always dreamed of? Or does God have something else in mind?

Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 30100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Review 1 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Man calls it coincidence, God calls it a miracle

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julia Lapp is the oldest child of widower Amos Lapp and she is in love with Paul Fisher, she's known she would marry him since she was a young girl. Paul loves Julia too, he just isn't sure he wants to marry her at the young age of 21. He has just 'postponed' their wedding for a second time. When M.K., short for Mary Kate, starts telling about all of the other boys that have called off their 'courtin' it dawns on Julia, the Bee Man is back in town!
Amos is a sick man, he needs a heart transplant and can't keep up with the work so his uncle Hank helps out a little. Uncle Hank is always the talk of the community and writes for The Budget. When Fern Graber reads about the Lapp family in Stoney Creek she writes to Hank and volunteers her services to help the family out. Without asking Amos, Hank accepts her offer.
Fern is a strict no nonsense kind of woman, she knows there are four kids, Amos and Uncle Hank but she thinks she's coming to cook and clean for Amos. I don't know how she thought the kids would live in the house and eat when she won't allow anyone in her kitchen or even so much as get in the refrigerator for a glass of milk. Julia finally gives her an ultimatum to either cook for all of them or leave. She is so strict that M.K. is quickly up to rule 436 and counting.
What a wonderful story about how a man who is about to lose his life and won't accept a heart transplant. A young woman who is in love with someone and even after he 'postpones' the wedding twice still has faith that he will marry her. A story of how you can dislike someone and find out they aren't at all what they seem. What an encouragement to become an organ donor, as Amos always says, "What man calls Coincidences, God would call a miracle."
(The review 'title' is quoted from the story.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Location:Glen Ridge, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved it! Just finished it this weekend, and I'm reading the second book now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Read!!!

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gertrude
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book had my attention, and kept it, from the first page. It was a perfect blend of humor, romance, and touching moments. I fell in love with all of the characters and I didn't want the book to end! This is one of the few books that made me cry. A truly inspirational read, I can't wait to read the rest of the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprise ending!

Date:May 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
nelle
Location:Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most books, after a couple of chapters, you know how it is going to end. Not this one! I was really surprised on more than one front!
I got it as an ebook, for free! Which is a great price! I really enjoy the availability of free books. Cash is tight sometimes. Thank you CBD for this opportunity!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was both comical and serious

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dottie
Location:Cleveland , Tx
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was both entertaining and sobering as it was both comical and serious. I had many laughs as well as tears of sadness and joy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
This review is fromKeeper, The: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a really cool story! I loved the element of the bees and all of the talk of beekeeping. I thought the characters were great and have a special affection for Rome.
The way that this story wrapped itself up gave me goosebumps. It actually snuck up on me. I had given thought to what might happen to Poppa Lapp early on in the book but didn't see the ending coming at all.
This was a great story and I enjoyed reading it a lot. Well done Ms. Woods-Fisher! I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
mikie
Location:Indianapolis,Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good reading,and easy to get into.Always love the amish life.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Keeper!

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
In The Hammock Blog
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzanne Woods Fisher is one of the best writers of Amish fiction today and this is the start to another great series. Her Amish community is a kinder, gentler type of setting but her writing shows us that members of the Amish community are just like the rest of us. Her characters are never perfect or condescending in their faith or how they treat others. They make mistakes just like everyone else.
Julia is the lead in this installment, but the story is just as much about Rome (the beekeeper), and Julia's family, including her sisters and father. And we can't forget the mysterious Fern, the housekeeper. All of the characters are so sweetly flawed, and thus, so real.
I can't wait to read the rest of this new series from one of my favorite authors of Amish fiction. Her books would be a great introduction to the Amish fiction genre.
book sent by publisher in exchange for honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Keeper

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kaye
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzanne Woods Fisher is excellent author. The Keeper is excellent book and I look forward to other two books she is writing. I just couldn't put this book down. I felt like I was part of Lapp family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story!

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I get excited when I see Suzanne Woods Fisher's name on an upcoming blog tour list! It is a contemporary romance but what I like about Suzanne's books is the relationships and life lessons God is teaching her characters. There is always something for everyone in her books. Whether you are grieving, holding on to something that it has become an idol or plain need to slow down and take it easy The Keeper will teach you something.
I loved the Lapp's family dynamics. Their love and care for one another is as it should be within a family unit. I loved how the character Fern seemed to know just how to bring out the best in each of the family members. I loved the sweetness and innocence of Menno, may we all have child-like faith and love like his.
I grappled with the heart transplant issue as I have never really come to a decision on what I believe about it. And I truly wonder what the Amish think about it all. I know all the finer points and the benefits of organ donors and transplants, but there is a fine line there in harvesting them and truly knowing the heart of God in a matter like this one. This is a whole can of worms, I know, but I am just being honest here.
Suzanne had me laughing and thoroughly amused through most of the book. Then towards the end I was crying. My oldest said, "You always cry in her books." I snapped, "You would too if......." Sorry I didn't want to reveal a spoiler! You'll just have to read the book yourself.
Two thumbs up from me!
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive free products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Keeper by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
justpeachy36
Location:Morehead, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzanne Woods Fisher once again takes readers on a journey into the heart of an Amish community in her latest book, The Keeper, book one in her new Stoney Ridge Seasons series. Fisher is considered by many, one of the best in Amish fiction writing. Her patient story building and constant attention to detail make Fisher's books a must read for Christian fiction and inspirational fans.
Many of you may have seen the reviews I did for Suzanne Woods Fisher's Lancaster County Secrets series. It is probably obvious that I really enjoy Suzanne's work and find her writing both charming and inventive. I have been reading Christian fiction for a lot of years and when I find an author that I really like it is usually one that I stick with. Suzanne Woods Fisher is definitely one that is on my auto-buy list. She has a way of writing that just seems to stick with a reader. She has a message and she conveys it through her writing. She isn't pushy about it, nor does she overwhelm the reader with her values, subtlety is a virtue in this case and Suzanne Woods Fisher uses it well.
One of the things that I really liked about this particular book was that it didn't follow the typical Amish fiction pattern. In most Amish fiction books the story is usually the same. Boy likes girl or girl likes boy, either way. One of the two isn't satisfied with the Amish life and either leaves for a while and comes back or decides to stay away. Not in this book! Suzanne Woods Fisher's characters are Amish and their happy with it. In a way that was really refreshing. There was no "there has to be something more to life" kind of plot. It was certainly more realistic and showed a clearer look into the Amish way of life. These are people who do things the way they do them for a reason and this book showed that it can be a satisfying and happy life.
There were a couple of hiccups with this one, but nothing to take away from the overall impression the book made on me. Julia is a good character. She shows herself to strong and capable, taking care of her siblings and her ailing father. But she seems a bit to reliant on her relationship with Paul to give her true happiness. I was glad that throughout the book the author shows that what we sometimes think is God's will isn't exactly what he has in mind. Her happiness wasn't really dependent on Paul at all and I was glad she found that out. Paul was a little too wishy-washy to suit me. He didn't have quite enough backbone. He relied to much on what others were telling him, when he was the one who needed to make the decisions.
Roman was my favorite character for a lot of reasons. He has some secrets of his own including a tragic family accident that starts him on a path of roaming about the Amish countryside. He was all about freedom and being able to do as he pleased, while still keeping to Amish beliefs. But when he starts to realize that Julia may mean a little more to him than he originally thought, it's amazing to see the transformation in him. I never really thought of Amish people as the roaming sort, but it suited him well.
I thought Fisher's real strength in this book was her character building. Not only do the main characters stand out but the secondary ones as well. Julia's relationship with her siblings was well written and came across as realistic and easy to believe. I'm the middle child myself and I thought the interactions between the brother and sisters was spot on. M.K the youngest gave the story a lot of humor. Menno the shy and simple minded brother gave it a very heart warming feel and Sadie was just priceless! She was a less than skinny girl with a lot of heart. I loved her and can't wait to read her story in the second book in the series scheduled to release later this year.
I'll just come right out and say it... If you want to read good Amish fiction than look no further than Suzanne Woods Fisher. Her books have a certain charm that is undeniable. The writing is both heartwarming and full of wisdom. Her portrayal of the Amish people makes them come alive for the reader, who wants to learn about their simple way of living and how they use the truths they impart in their own lives. As a first book in a series, this one didn't need any grace, it stood up well to all the emphasis put on introducing the characters and setting up for future books. The story was solid and interesting. And the love story aspect was just as beautifully written as any romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzanne Woods Fisher has done it again. This book is a keeper. So are the bee keeper and the family.
Several of these people need a heart makeover, but will it actually happen? Some of them are too busy protecting their heart.
You’ll find a whole range of emotions in this book. You might as well have that box of tissues at your side while you’re reading this book. If you have a heart, dear reader, you’ll be downright sobbing before you reach the end of this story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Keeper

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first got this book, I had no idea what "The Keeper" was referring to. When I found out it was about a beekeeper who visits Amish farms so that his bees can pollinate their orchards, I was fascinated. I had never heard of that before, and I was interested in the Bee Man's history.
The story is told from the point of view of each of the many characters in this book, but it was fairly easy to keep everything straight. I always enjoy getting to see what is happening from the perspectives of both of the main characters, and this book took that a step farther by including the other characters. I especially liked that the 'voice' of M.K. was just right for an eleven year old.
I enjoyed The Keeper very much. Amish fiction as a genre is definitely growing on me, and this book helped that cause a lot. It was easy to read, it kept my interest, and I liked the characters. The ending was bittersweet (and pretty difficult for me to read), but I respect the author for deciding to have the story go that way.
I look forward to reading more about the Lapp family from Stoney Ridge in the next books in this series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
PatM
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My only complaint, the book ended too soon. The emotions were real, loved the way faith helps in all situations. I just wish they published thicker, longer books. Its always too long between books when you can't put the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great one from Suzanne Woods Fisher

Date:January 11, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julia, Sadie, Mary Kate (M.K.), and Menno Lapp are pulling together to do as much work as they possibly can since their father, Amos, is sick with a bad heart and probably won't be alive much longer. Their mom passed away a few years earlier, which meant that Sadie took over the kitchen duties while Julia helped hold the household together with the outside chores. Menno is a special child who needs direction. No one really knows what is wrong with him, but it is suspected that something happened to him at birth. M.K. is a highly enthusiastic girl that goes full speed into everything she does and has some tricks up her sleeves. Uncle Hank lives on the Windmill Farm with the Lapps but he is a different breed, or so everyone thinks. He makes life interesting, but has a hard time focusing on doing the things that need to get done. Uncle Hank writes for The Budget, which Fern happens to read. She heard about how the family was needing lots of help around the farm, so she offered to come stay and help. Fern was a blessing in disguise, despite the objections the Lapps had to her coming.
Once spring came, the Bee Man, Roman Troyer (Rome) showed up and decided that the farm needed lots of help and so did Amos. After having roamed for 6 years, Fern opens up a small house for him to stay in. Rome and Fern have a connection from Ohio that Rome is trying to stay away from facing. Rome did Julia's to-do list and then some while he was living on the farm, all without Julia ever acting like she noticed his good looks. Oh, did I mention that Roman played a part in Julia's postponement of a wedding to Paul? Twice. Each time when the Bee Man came into town. Julia is downright mad at Roman for the breaking of her engagement. However, through a series of events, they are able to at least become friends. Or will they become more than that? Will Amos decide to have a heart transplant to save his life? Will Roman stay or will he continue on with his roamin' ways? How did Fern and Roman meet? Why is Roman always wondering? And you think I'm going to tell you?!
This book had me laughing, smiling, and crying. I never predicted the ending. Some may have, but I found myself crying at the ending because I was in shock. Suzanne had me tied to her book for 2 straight days. Any spare moment that I had, I had her book in my hand. It is Amish fiction, but it's also a love story and a story of hope and all entwined into one.
Being the first book in the Stoney Ridge Seasons book, I can't wait to read the second. I do hope she mentions what happens to Julia and Rome in her next book!
________________
Available January 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
_________________
I received this book free from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish story with a controversial ending!

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book about an Amish family, but not in the usual, expected setting of a community set within a “modern” world of many years ago. This is a current, 21st century world and it appears that the Amish community featured is catching up – slowly – with the world surrounding it. They have telephones, electricity, are not against riding in automobiles though they have none themselves.
Picture
Windmill Farm is a very interesting, working farm with many different personalities inhabiting and playing their different roles to make everything work. Each personality is at different times focused on in the story and each is an integral part of the whole story. As the Bible makes clear, each part of the “body” has a very special function, and if one is missing or not performing, the whole takes a toll.
There are quite a number of puzzling mysteries within this story, and sometimes the reader may become a bit impatient to wait and read the in-between chapters in order to find out the answer. Between the Lapp girls’ interest in boys and hopes for marriage, and the Bee Man’s past history and odd habits, as well as the many youthful antics of 11-year-old MK (Mary Kate), the reader quickly comes to know and eventually appreciate each of the characters.
The father, Amos, is physically incapacitated with an ailing heart problem, his wife is deceased, and the house is in chaos as the story begins.
Eventually, they agree to hire a housekeeper/cook, Fern, who has a story of her own—but is slow to reveal it!
Uncle Hank, who repairs buggies, is not much help but has his own contributions to make, which are not realized until late in the story.
Menno, well, Menno is a lovable 17-year-old who may seem insignificant at times because of his lower intellectual capacity, but is most cherished and protected by all family members.
Julia and Sadie are the oldest girls and are as different as two sisters can possibly be, yet their interactions are never competitive and always loving. All together, they make up a family with all the normal problems any of us may have, and individually, they work through them and find a way to make the best of each situation.
This story has an amazing ending, one that might possibly be controversial, but at the same time, very revealing in showing how the grace of God can work even in extremely difficult situations. A great read, one that anyone will appreciate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting new Amish series

Date:January 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julia Lapp has always planned on marrying Paul Fisher, so when he postponed their wedding once she could understand, but when he decides to postpone a second time, Julia is sure she knows who to blame, The Bee Man, Roman Troyer, an Amish drifter who seems to have the effect of causing young men to get cold feet about marriage.
Roman Troyer has been friends with Amos Lapp for years and has always loved visiting Windmill Farms, but this year it seems that the heart of the farm is failing so Roman decides to spend the summer at the farm to try and help out however he can, so when the youngest Lapp daughter M.J. comes to him with a plan to try and get Julia and Paul back together he decides to try and help but soon he realizes that maybe Julia just might be the one worth settling down for.
Life on Windmill farm was never dull, and once Fern Graber came to the farm it picked up even more. I really enjoyed getting to know each character, and enjoyed each one so much it's hard to choose a favorite. Julia was the strong one in the family, trying to hold it all together because their father was struggling with health issues. Even though Fern's beginning at the farm was sort of bump she quickly became an integral part of the family. While I enjoyed the romance that slowly developed between Roman and Julia, I found the secondary stories just as interesting and also touched on the important topic of becoming an organ donor. I thought the storyline revolving around Menno was so touching, I could easily relate to him becoming so excited over spotting a rare bird, and his love of animals was wonderful. The author also provided an ending that allowed for heartbreak but also joy, really making my emotions run the gamit!
If your a fan of Amish fiction or just someone who enjoys a very well written story that has wonderfully positive inspirational messages, unforgettable characters, humor and a sweet romance to boot, along with a few twists that you won't see coming then you really should pick up this book and take a trip to Windmill Farms. I can't wait to read the next book in the series titled "The Haven" due out in Aug 2011.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suzanne Woods Fisher never disappoints!

Date:January 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Kansas City, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzanne Woods Fisher has done it again! I enjoy her writing so much and this book is another wonderful example of how she takes a pretty common theme (amish life) and takes it to a while new level. I love how deep her characters are and how she slightly changes her narration to match their personalities. I also enjoy that even though her characters are Amish, they still live in the 21st century and still act and think like normal people. She has a great ability to make me laugh and usually cry too. I would highly recommend this book!
Thanks to Revell Publishers for a free copy of this book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Keeper

Date:January 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
CKendall
Location:Burlington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have grown somewhat tired of Amish fiction. It has never been my favorite genre anyway, but I feel like it’s being overdone lately. There is one Amish fiction author I don’t think I will ever grow tired of, and that author is Suzanne Woods Fisher. I will never hesitate to read one of her Amish novels. Her books are different from other Amish novels and I have never disliked anything of hers that I have read.
I think The Keeper is my favorite of any of her books. This story was so enjoyable and so uplifting. Suzanne did a fantastic job not only creating a story that I enjoyed, but she also created characters that I enjoyed more than in any of her other books. If I had to say one negative thing about this book it would be that it felt a bit disjointed, especially the first half. There was a lot going on with all the different characters and the story jumped around a lot. But, I enjoyed every aspect of the story and all the pieces came together as the story moved along, so that minor issue did not affect my enjoyment of the story.
The Keeper is the start of a new series for Suzanne Woods Fisher and I couldn’t be more delighted with it. If the rest of the series is like The Keeper, and I suspect it will be, I know I am going to love it. Even if you are not an Amish fiction fan I highly recommend The Keeper because it doesn’t have that Amish fiction feel that I don’t care for. It is simply a delightful story, a sweet romance and a story of healing. It doesn’t get much better than that!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Keeper, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Redcurt
Location:Denver, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This is an excellent story. It was a page turner and I couldn't put it down. The characters were strong and interesting. I loved, loved it. I read almost all of the Amish fiction. Suzanne Woods Fisher is a wonderful author and I have read all her books. I have to say this rates up with the very best of hers..so that is saying a lot!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>