Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2

Revell The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2

As Sadie Lapp steps off the bus in Stoney Ridge after being in Ohio for the winter, she faces a decision--one that goes against her very essence; yet how else can she protect a loved one?

Schoolteacher Gideon Smucker has been crazy about Sadie since boyhood. But his response to her surprising decision undermines his own reputation--and his relationship with Sadie.

Will Stoltz, a college student, finds himself at the Lapp farm as a guard for a pair of nesting Peregrine Falcons--courtesy of the Lancaster County Game Warden. Will needs to get his life back on track, but his growing friendship with Sadie threatens his plans. The lives of these three individuals intertwine, and then unravel as unexpected twists create ripples through the town of Stoney Ridge . . . and through Sadie's heart.

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Review 1 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suzanne did a good job!

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sadie Lapp has been in Berlin, Ohio shadowing an elderly Old Order Amish woman learning to be a healer and gets a sudden urge to return home. She doesn't know what is calling to her but she thinks it could be her daed's heart, he had a heart transplant not long ago, so she decides to surprise everyone and come home immediately.
The family is very happy to see her but surprised at the same time. The bigger surprise is that she comes toting a baby boy in a basket. It doesn't take long for the rumor to get around the Stoney Ridge community, I mean M.K. only told a 'few' people. When Gideon Smucker finds out Sadie is home with a baby he's willing to stand beside her but his willingness to marry her makes her so mad she won't talk to him.
Will Stoltz came to the Stoney Ridge area shortly before Sadie returned home and soon finds himself living in an old farmhouse on the Lapp property. He was sent there by his father because he got in trouble at medical school and right before he was to leave he got a DUI which leads to him getting into an illegal mess with his lawyer.
Very good read, Suzanne didn't let me down and I'm looking forward to the next book, "The Lesson". This is a series that you should read in order so keep that in mind. I like Sadie's story and how she handles herself but there is one thing that she does need to remember, as we all do sometimes, 'Practice What You Preach'. It is always easier to see what someone else is doing wrong but we don't realize that we may be doing the same thing. There is a good ending to the story but I'm still left hanging on one or two things, so I'm off to start reading "The Lesson".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Amish Story

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I began reading this, I honestly didn't care much for it. I found it boring, and I wasn't really connecting with the characters. But I felt I was also at a disadvantage since I did not read the first book in the series. Word of caution--it is better to read the first book in the series before reading this one, but as you will see, I absolutely fell in love with this book in spite of this oversight.
About halfway through the book, I suddenly found myself drawn into this book, and it was all I could do to put it down. Sadie is an amazing heroine, and when the truth was discovered about the main situation in the book, I was amazed. I did not expect it. And the author continued to surprise me as the story went on with Gid and Will sparring for her affections.
I cannot believe how much I have come to love Amish fiction, and Suzanne Woods Fisher is a master at it. The intricacies of the love stories, and the little surprises she delights in inserting throughout the writing truly captured and kept my attention.
The best part of this book was the ending. No, not because it was done, but because you, as the reader, are left hanging. The ending is not assured. I can see it going several different ways. One love story is tied up, but the other is not. And I did not find myself upset or disconcerted. My initial thought was "I will have to read the next book!"
The spiritual messages throughout the book are wonderfully woven into the framework of the story. It is the simple faith of the people that impresses me so much. And the spiritual journey of Will and his father could certainly speak to many who have left the church and wondering if they should go back. I was also glad to see that in every occurrence, the right thing was done.
If you like clean Amish romances, this is definitely the book for you. Read the first in the series, and then read this second book, and I think you will connect with this book even more than I did.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story About Forgiveness!

Date:February 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book and picked it up as often as I could. It is one of those stories' that grabs you from the first page to the last page.
Sadie Lapp returns home after spending the winter in Ohio with her sister and brother-in-law. She brings a surprise with her that causes tongues to wag in the community. This causes much distress for Sadie to think that people could actually think the worst about her.
Mary Kate (MK) is up to being her same old self when it comes to spying on others and spreading gossip. I loved her in "The Keeper" and she is still one of my favorite characters.
This is a heart warming story about God's grace and forgiveness. It is always easy to see other's that need to forgive but how often do we see it in ourselves? It's about doing the right thing. We find that God's love comes through once again.
I can't wait to read book 3, The Lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ANOTHER WINNER...

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE HAVEN by Suzanne Woods Fisher is an exciting inspirational contemporary Amish romance set in Stoney Ridge,Ohio. #2 in the "Stoney Ridge Seasons",but can be read as a stand alone. See,"The Keeper". Another winner for this author. Follow Sadie Lapp and Gideon Smucker on a journey of faith,family,healing,forgiveness,Amish community,renewal of faith,friendship,with a bit of humor and love. A charming story with engaging characters and an interesting plot. This will draw you into the story. A must for Amish readers as well as contemporary readers. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at the author's website,Revell Books and My Book Addiction and More.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Forgiveness is the best medicine of all"

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
poochiepepper
Location:Corpus Christi, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished reading "The Haven" and loved it. Sometimes you need to read a book to have an aha moment and this book provided that moment for me. I consider myself a pretty forgiving person but...it seemed I could forgive a big item but was disregarding the little things. So I will be working harder on that. I can't wait for the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Charming Read!!!!!

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gertrude
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another awesome read from Suzanne Woods Fisher!!!
'The Haven' is a charming continuation of 'The Keeper', giving you a chance to fall in love with the characters all over again!
Thus far, Stony Ridge Seasons is my favorite Amish collection from this author. It was an enjoyable book to read and I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in Amish fiction. Can't wait for 'The Lesson' to come out!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Amish Tale

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish tale of family and heart.
Quiet Sadie Lapp bring home a baby from her trip to Ohio, sending more than a few tongues wagging. Along the way Sadie finds herself caught between the affections of two very different young men.
After reading The Keeper I just knew that I had to read its sequel and I was not disappointed!
I loved so many of the characters and even though I missed Menno terribly, I appreciated how he was remembered and still remained a part of the story. Because he was one of my favorites from the first book.
This is one of those books that I believe that I was better able to appreciate because I had read the first book, because it picks up not too much after the last book ended.
I loved how each of the characters had their own distinct personality, M.K. hadn't changed much, that's for sure!
I loved the relaxing but engaging pace, which I believe is perfect for an Amish novel, because it captures the gentleness of their way of life. I believe that Ms. Woods Fisher gets that perfectly :)
Uncle Hank is still one of my favorites, because his jovial spirit never failed to bring a smile to my face.
Overall I loved this book and how there were so many lovable, diverse characters within a close knit family. This is a charming, engaging, heart-filled read that I highly recommend!
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book opens with Sadie Lapp having spent the winter in Berlin Ohio but now she is headed back to Windmill Farms. When she arrives she notices dozens of cars and buggies parked at the farm,and because of her shyness she dreads facing so many people. Add to this the fact that Sadie has something of her own that is going to surprise her family,something that will have tongues wagging, and the community turning against her. Meanwhile Will Stoltz is an Englisher who has been sent to babysit some rare birds at the Lapp farm, as he gets to know the family he is especially drawn to Sadie, but he has issues that just might cost him the trust of the Lapp family. Thing is Will isn't the only person enamored with Sadie, but Gideon Smucker feels like everything he does around Sadie just seems to upset her.Will Sadie fall for the Englisher, or will she choose Gideon, and what will the community do?
"The Haven" is the second book in the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, and while I feel like the author gives plenty of information that allows this book to easily be a stand alone read, it's such an interesting series that you really should read "The Keeper" as well. This book picks up right were the last one left off. I really enjoyed reconnecting with the Lapp family, and learning how Sadie's father was doing. One of my favorite characters in the story easily had to be Mary Kate, her character literally jumps off the page. I also enjoy the aspect of bird watching that is woven into the story. Overall, a wonderfully written series that makes me feel like I am visiting old friends. Suzanne Woods Fisher certainly knows how to pen a story filled with rich detail, and a story line that just begs to be read. I am eagerly anticipating the next book in the series.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet and thought-provoking

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While Amish fiction isn't my usual genre, I love Suzanne Woods Fisher's writing. Her humor and heart make every one of her novels a delight. In The Haven, Sadie, Will, and Gideon are interesting and complex characters--and Sadie's little sister MK steals every scene she's in. I also loved the thought-provoking message about gossip and passing judgment. This story is a treat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gossip, birds, outsiders, and the Amish

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Haven takes us on a journey into the daily lives of the Amish but it also brings to the table an outsider thrust into their midst somewhat against his wishes. The Haven also brings to the forefront bird watching and game preservation, and a study (somewhat) in falconry. So this is an interesting mixture with which Suzanne Woods Fisher stirs her story and shows us that a haven is not always a haven.
Our story opens with the gentle, healer Sadie Lapp traveling home after an extended stay away from the farm learning at the side of a healer. On her journey she picks up a basket containing a hidden treasure. This treasure turns out to be an albatross for the sweet Sadie. Instead of finding a haven in her home and community, she finds she is virtually locked out of the fellowship a haven brings to the folks who reside therein.
The young outsider who ultimately lives in a cabin on the Lapp farm is tending and watching the falcons as they nest on behalf of the local game warden. The nesting of the falcons is a major event because it is so rare. So they must be protected. Will is just the man to do that.
However, "outsider" Will begins to see a sweet beauty in the lovely Sadie. But since Sadie is Amish and Will is not, it does pose major problems. One of the problems though, is Gid who has been "courting" Sadie.
So we have a number problems with which our characters must deal: the troublesome treasure in the basket, the lack of a haven for Sadie, the "outsider" so close on the scene, and Gid who is so troubled with all that is going on.
Ms. Fisher has woven an interesting and enjoyable read that has multilayers of plot and interest.
DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy for the purpose of rendering an honest review. All opinions expressed are strictly my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this series!

Date:August 28, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hooked on this new series by Fisher, the Stoney Ridge Seasons, from the very first book which was The Keeper. I had been looking forward to the rest of the series because I loved the characters from the first one! I was so excited when I opened Book 2, which is The Haven, and saw that I got a quick update on how life was going for a certain married couple and then it focuses in on Sadie Lapp and home life back on the Lapp farm.
Amos is doing well with his heart transplant, Sadie has brought home something that has caused people to have a certain opinion of her, and M.K. and Fern are still battling with their personalities.
Sadie has just returned home after an extended stay away from Stoney Ridge. Thanks to the package she brings with her home,she gets a lot of unfair judgment when people perceive the gift to be something of the reason why she left a few months back. Before she left, Gideon Smucker thought he might be getting somewhere with his relationship with Sadie. He loved her and even demonstrated honor and responsibility when Sadie brings her package home. He still wants to marry her and soon.
Will Stoltz, and Englischer, is now living on the Lapp farm so he can watch the endangered peregrine falcons to make sure that no birdwatchers would disrupt them. He has had some difficult things happen over the last 6 months and his father has arranged for him to learn hard work and stop being so lazy. He doesn't want to do either, but he especially doesn't want his father to find out a little secret....so he carries on. As he becomes better friends with Sadie, sparks start to fly. This makes Gideon a little uneasy, but makes Will quite happy.
Will Sadie learn to love Gideon again after his distrust of her, or will she be swept away by Will?
This book was just as good as the first book! I loved the ending, because I wasn't quite for sure which way she would go. I'm so glad she ended up with who I wanted her to end up with. Now....when does book 3 get released?!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sadie Lapp returns home to Stoney Ridge after a long winter visit to Ohio. As she approaches her home there seems to be a large crowd on the road and property. What a wonderful surprise she is told there is a pair of peregrine falcons preparing to nest on their property. Her brother would have loved watching the falcons. As she greets her family it is very apparent she also has a little surprise for them. She isn't sure how they will react to her surprise, especially Gideon Smucker whom she has been in love with since childhood.
She also finds out there is a newcomer to her home. Will Stolz is a handsome Englischer and college student. He has been assigned by the Game Warden to log all the activity of the endangered peregrine falcons nesting. The best way for him to do that was to stay in the small cabin that is on their property so he would have easy access the the falcons.
As Sadie gets settled in she is surprised as to how easy it is to talk with Will. When I say with I mean he actually talks to her. Will has also proven to be a big help with her little surprise. She has never had this kind of friendship with Gideon. Now she is reevaluating her relationship with Gideon. It seems Sadie is not the only person in Stoney Ridge that is reevaluating their lives and the need of companionship with someone to share their lives with.
The author never fails to write from her heart and soul. She writes of the importance of prayer, faith and hope in God's Plan. She emphasizes self esteem in one's self, forgiveness and repentance. Then there is the big issue of gossiping and the the damage and pain it has on everyone. The author reveals a good approach to the sin of gossiping.
I really like this excerpt from the discussions questions:
What is the difference between sharing information and spreading gossip? The Amish proverb might help: "There is a vast difference between putting your nose in other people's business and putting your heart in other people's problems."
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure
I received a copy of this book from Litfuse/Revell/Baker Publishing for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the family dynamics!

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The family dynamics of the Lapp family is at the heart of what makes this book series so enjoyable. There was one part that I literally laughed out loud (LOL for those not familiar with internet lingo ;) ).
Sadie Lapp really grew up in this book and I enjoyed seeing her blossom with strength of character. Like in real life, life’s experiences have a way of making us grow in ways we never thought possible, if we let them.
There are a few things I took away from The Haven:
~ Gossip. It can tear family, friendships and even communities apart if gossips are allowed to spread their rumors and lies. Esther, Gideon, Edith and so many more of the Lapp’s neighbors chose to believe the gossip rather than find out the if the rumors were true or not.
~ Expectations. Sometimes as parents, we have very high expectations and it can cause undue stress on our child and our relationship with them, as was the case with Will and his dad.
~ Love. Gotta have love. Relationships without love are not relationships. If the Knapp family wasn’t fictitious, I would say it was the family love to model after.
~ Forgiveness. This is such a powerful one. Forgiveness can be hard to give out. I appreciated the reminder that our health is affected by not only physical symptoms, but our emotional and mental well-being as well. This was revealed in Esther and Amos.
~ Choices. All choices have consequences. It’s whether or not we move on from the bad ones that will make or break us.
As I said in my review of the first book, I love the Lapp family dynamics. I have always enjoyed learning more about the Amish ever since our family visited Amish Country in Indiana over 10 years ago. I think there is much to learn from them.
The Haven by Suzanne Woods Fisher gets a two thumbs up from me!
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Haven

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book continues where The Keeper left off...I recommend you read that book...but you can read this one alone. Enough facts are given to make this a great read.
Sadie Lapp arrives home to see people all over her farm. She is a quiet soul and does not like attention. When Mary Kate sees her, the rest of the family do too. We find that Sadie is not alone, she has brought a basket with a baby in it??
M K does what Mary Kate does best and starts the Amish Grapevine going. Poor Sadie is beside herself, but she does not want to part with the baby.
Also new to the farm is Will Stolfz...he is there to help on the farm, and to watch the Falcons, which look like they are going to nest. Hence the many people on the farm...looking to see these rare birds.
Gid Smucker has loved Sadie forever, and is thrilled to have her home, but does Sadie still have the same feelings for him?
This one has a lot of questions being asked, and it finished with more questions.
Will Sadie be shunned? Does she choose Will or Gid, also will Amos declare his feelings for Fern? or will Ira win her heart?
Don't miss this book, you will wish it would never end..a real page turner. Enjoy....and then pray for the next book to be out soon!!
I received this book from Litfuse Publicity Tours, and the Publisher Revell, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lovely, original story!

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
amyrjoy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will be on my favorites shelf- The Haven, book 2 in Suzanne Woods Fisher's series, the Stoney Ridge Series. I enjoyed this book even more than the first. Fisher's writing is exquisitely perfected and I find myself totally engrossed in her tales. I love that these books are not "cookie cutter" romances, or "Amish." It's very pleasant to read fiction like this.
Sadie was a unique character. I really found so many things about her that were unusual but sweet, challenging and hopeful. So her story went....I was on the edge of my seat wanting to know about her relationship with the two boys in her life, and how various secondary characters turned out. VERY good book. I COMPLETELY recommend this! Five stars!
Thank you to Revel/Baker Publishing Group for the complimentary copy in return for an original review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

MAKE SURE YOU READ BOOK ONE FIRST!

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sadie Lapp returned home from her visit to Berlin, Ohio with a surprise. Not a large surprise in size, but huge in the effect it had on her, her family and the community. When she arrived with a baby in a basket, she never imagined the chaos and confusion that would ensue.
Gideon Smucker has been waiting for Sadie to return from her trip, but he never dreamed she would not be coming home empty handed. Gideon's assumptions and well-meaning attempts to help only hinder his pursuit of Sadie. Gideon has a rival in Englischer Will Stoltz, who is working for the Game Warden. As the three lives entangle, Sadie has to make a decision which will affect her entire future.
First, I would like to say that this is Book Two of the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, a fact of which I was unaware when I began reading the book. Therefore, for the first few chapters, I was "plumb ferhoodled". When I got the characters straightened out and understood the background a little better, I began to enjoy the story. There was a little more comic relief than I prefer in these series, but this is not a terrible problem. I enjoyed it enough to know that I have to look for Book One before Book Three becomes available.
3 stars
“Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fabulous addition to the series

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, once again Suzanne Woods Fisher is to blame for causing me to stay up way too late at night to finish one of her books!
As the clock ticked past midnight, I truly tried to walk away from Sadie's story but just had to reach the end. The Amish family at Stoney Ridge may very well be one of my favourite family of characters to come along in some time. I simply can't get enough of reading about their adventures and seeing their unique perspectives on life. Sadie is a wonderful character who I felt like cheering for as she grew to become comfortable in her own skin, and discovered that God uniquely gifted her and she's able to do more than she even dreamed of. The scene where she boldly helps an older Amish lady let go of her bitterness and discover anew the power of forgiveness was a powerful one indeed. And who ever thought she'd catch the attention of not one but two men interested in her? The resulting tension results in some hilarious scenes!
Fisher's writing continues to be filled with both humour and deep emotion, with smooth flowing words and plenty of action to keep the scenes moving. It is truly Amish fiction at its best, and I award this book 5 out of 5 stars. I can't wait for the final book in the series, The Lesson, featuring one of my favourite characters (M.K.), coming January 2013!!
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don’t know how I wanted this book to end, but it didn’t end the way I wanted.
Sadie comes home to find her drive and surroundings filled with a whole passel of people.
Two birds spotted on the family’s grounds lead to numerous adventures. The fact that she returned with a tiny baby does not increase the family’s level of serenity either.
Sadie came home to two men in her life - one Amish, one not. There’s more than one love story in this book. Then there’s mystery and dark undercurrents, al well.
This was a good follow-up to The Keeper, but it’s a very good stand alone read. There’s still more stories in the Stoney Ridge Seasons series. I’m looking forward to the next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Beginnigs arrive in Stoney Ridge!

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Welcome back to Stoney Ridge! Spring usually signals the rebirth of life and the end of a long winter. Hope returns and there is beauty to be found everywhere. Now that spring is here, I want to introduce you to a few new friends!
Sadie Lapp, she lives in Stoney Ridge on Windmill Farm and today is her first day back after being away in Berlin, Ohio, and helping her sister Julia, and her brother in law, Roman settle into Roman's childhood home. While she was there she spent every day learning from a healer, an elderly Old Order Amish women, Deborah Yoder, in hopes she can bring some of that back to her home and the people who live here. But Sadie shows up at her family's farm with an unexpected bundle in her basket, a baby. How will she ever explain this to her father?
Will Stoltz, has now been assigned a task to baby sit a family of Peregrine Falcons who have made their home on Windmill Farm. Being an endangered and rare species to bird lovers everywhere, game warden Mahlon Miller wants to endure they remain that way. Since Will was suspended from the university, his father has worked out an arrangement with Mahlon that Will be permitted to intern as a game warden and babysit the falcons until the babies have hatched and are ready to leave the nest. Will isn't exactly thrilled with this new assignment and makes arrangements to stay in a cottage on the Lapp's farm to avoid causing the family any undo hardship having him there in exchange for helping out around the farm. But Will always made it a point to dodge physical labor - academics were more to his liking. Oh, this wasn't good. not good at all. But will he be able to keep his mind on his work? Maybe this was a gift in disguise.
Gideon Smucker is the newest school teacher this year at Twin Creeks School house and can't wait to teach all the kids from town this year. However he has a school boy's crush on Sadie Lapp and has since they went to school together. Now if he can only keep his mind on school work in between writing letters and sharing books with Sadie when she was in Ohio. Seems like life is about to get very interesting this spring! Hope you'll decide to join us and pick up a copy of The Haven to find out just what is going to happen next!
I received The Haven by Suzanne Woods Fisher compliments of Litfuse Publicity for my honest review and since haven't read The Keeper, the first book in the Stoney Ridge Season Series, I couldn't wait to see where Suzanne would take some of her characters in this sequel. If you haven't had a chance to read The Keeper, Suzanne does a great job at catching you up in the first chapter with where the characters have come from before this story picks up, but trust me, this one is so good, you'll want to pick up The Keeper to get the back story on all the details! I have to say, I can't wait for the next one in this series and rate, The Haven a 5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Haven, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A story of love, friendship, and facing decisions

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannahetrotter
Gender:female
The Haven is a story of love, friendship, and the many decisions that life brings along our way. Sadie Lapp lives a simple life filled with her family and her love for helping others with natural remedies. But things become much more complicated when Sadie dozes off at the train station, and awakens to find someone has left her a baby, with no explanation whatsoever. Things get even worse when Sadie brings home the baby, and nasty rumors start to swirl.
The Lapp family’s life wasn’t already without heartache though. About a year ago, Menno, the only son in the family was killed suddenly in an accident. Amos Lapp, a widower, was in grave need of a heart transplant, and doctors quickly worked to place in him the heart of his son. However, as Amos battles feelings of fatigue he fears his body may reject this precious gift.
We also meet Will Stoltz, who while trying to make something of his life, seems to be falling farther and farther away from his father’s high expectations. When he eventually gets suspended from law school, he ends up spending his summer on an Amish farm babysitting endangered falcons. While he anticipates his time there to be dreadful, he quickly finds himself falling in love with the lovely Sadie Lapp, and he discovers the love of his Heavenly Father as well.
This sweet, coming of age story will be sure to capture your heart, and the identity of Sadie’s mystery baby will surprise and touch you!
Suzanne Woods Fisher is also the author of other Amish fiction, including The Choice, The Waiting, The Search and The Keeper.
Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book from a publicity agency. However, I was not required to write a positive review. The thoughts expressed above are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>